A great assortment of carefully curated Appalachian foods, crafts and home goods.

Plans as low as $38.00 / month

The Appalachian Mercantile reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Made in USA? Yes please!

Sep 06, 2020
Alicia M.
1 Review
1 Picture
2 Helpful Votes
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love subsc boxes but stopped them because literally nothing was made in USA. Imagine my joy when I found this box AND I live in Charleston, WV so this is my Appalachian heritage. Why did I not know about this before?? Loved my first box and will support JQ Dickson as long as I can!

The Appalachian Mercantile said...Sep 08, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to review us, Alicia
I'm so glad you love our products. We work hard to find the best Appalachian made food, crafts and home goods.

Outstanding Subscription

Nov 19, 2020
Chris T.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I subscribed to this box 3 months ago; and I can say with all honesty, I absolutely love this box. The shipping is so quick. The items are not your normal "sample" sizes. These are full sized items and high quality stuff I may add. I do get excited every month when I know my box is being mailed to me. I have not been disappointed. I would recommend this company and this subscription.

Verified Purchase
The Appalachian Mercantile said...Nov 19, 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to send such a rave review into Cratejoy. We love to hear how our customers like their boxes. Cheer! Nancy, owner

Delightful selection of artisan products

Jan 31, 2021
Jocelyn T.
11 Reviews
3 Pictures
20 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Quite pleased with everything this box offers - we will use every item! Looking forward to the February box.

Verified Purchase

Good variety

Nov 26, 2020
Carol S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

3 month order of Appalachian Mercantile as a gift. Recipient is thrilled. Excellent variety, good quality products, unique regional fare

Verified Purchase

Wonderful products and amazing box!

Sep 28, 2020
Lora N.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Absolutely loved this box! This as well was a gift for my boyfriend's birthday, and he loved how creative every box was! the recipes are wonderful as well. I will probably re-subscribe in the future. Thank you!

Verified Purchase
The Appalachian Mercantile said...Sep 28, 2020

Hi Lora
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our box. I'm really glad you and your boyfriend are enjoying the items and the recipes. I hope you'll resubscribe. We have more good things to come.
Nancy Bruns, owner

Excellent box!

Sep 22, 2020
Nicole M.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I've really enjoyed these boxes, especially during quarantine when pleasant surprises are welcome. There are unique and tasty finds in each box, and the customer service has been fantastic.

Verified Purchase
The Appalachian Mercantile said...Sep 22, 2020

Hi Nicole
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us! I'm really glad you are enjoying our boxes. There are more great products to come!
Nancy

Makes my day

Jan 22, 2021
Susanne J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 24 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I purchased a 3 month subscription for myself. I have received Dec / Jan & I am in love with this Box! The customer service, shipping, presentation & products are100% !
I may just keep gifting myself this for a long time :)
thank you Appalachian Mercantile for a great product & giving me a little sunshine monthly during COVID!

Verified Purchase
The Appalachian Mercantile said...Jan 22, 2021

Thanks for your glowing review, Susanne! We love it when the right people connect to our subscription. I hope you keep enjoying it for many months to come.
Nancy Bruns, owner

Cool stuff

Jan 09, 2021
Sarah S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 14 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Really cool stuff! It was a gift and greatly enjoyed.

Verified Purchase

I love it!

Jan 05, 2021
Lisa E.
1 Review
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This box was just perfect and exactly what I hoped it would be. It was safely and beautifully packaged and was, I felt, a good value for the cost. I am looking forward to receiving my next package.
In addition to the included items (I won't give them away in case you haven't gotten yours yet), there was a list of included items with a description about what they were and who made them as well as a recipe to go with one of the main food items that was included.
I bought this as a little Christmas for myself and opened it Christmas morning since I was unable to be with my family for the holiday. It was fun and lovely.

Verified Purchase
The Appalachian Mercantile said...Jan 05, 2021

Hi Lisa
Thanks for taking the time to review our box. I'm so glad you are happy with the products. I hope you keep enjoying it!
Nancy Bruns, owner

Appalachian mercantile box

Oct 23, 2020
Martha C.
5 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 7 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I loved this box.

Verified Purchase

First box and looking forward to more!

Sep 24, 2020
Claire L.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 7 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was my first box and it is lovely! The packaging is great and well-insulated, especially for international shipping (which was pleasantly fast!). I haven't had a chance to try out the recipe or most of the other ingredients yet. I did, however, make sweetcorn fritters for dinner, and the sorghum syrup went REALLY well with a leftover one for dessert! :-D

Verified Purchase
The Appalachian Mercantile said...Sep 25, 2020

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our box, Claire. I'm really glad you are enjoying it. Sorghum syrup is great on lots of things!
Nancy

Customer Service Brought Me Back

Jan 09, 2021
Jennifer
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

There was a little bit of a bumpy road when it came to the December box, but Nancy made sure that any issues were taken care of and that there were no worries with the box going forward. I had chosen to cancel my subscription with everything going on, but after the great customer service shown I'm giving Mercantile another go. Thank you so much for not leaving us customers in the dark. Can't wait for January's box to get to its destination.

Verified Purchase
The Appalachian Mercantile said...Jan 09, 2021

Thanks for taking the time to give us a good review. We know there are a lot of choices out there and we appreciate that you are giving us another chance. I wish shipping hadn't been so unpredictable during December. Things should be on a much smoother road this year!

A really nice box!

Dec 31, 2019
Diane L.
41 Reviews
40 Helpful Votes
Overall
Shipping
Quality