Monthly Mercantile Box

Monthly Mercantile Box

by The Appalachian Mercantile
A great assortment of carefully curated Appalachian foods, crafts and home goods.

Plans as low as

$45.00/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (45)

  1. Reviews for this product (41)
  2. Reviews for this seller (4)

Appalachian box

May 10, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Joyce M.
1 Review
1 Helpful

I received the Appalachian box as the first of a three month subscription gift from my son for Mother's Day. The products were awesome! It was fun to see what surprises were in the box. I'm really looking forward to receiving the next one.

???????????????????????????

May 12, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sandy P.
1 Review
1 Helpful

Caused lots of smiles

This box was a success!

Apr 23, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sandra C.
1 Review
1 Helpful

My daughter loved everything in the box from the strawberry preserves to the honey candle.

exceded expectations

Mar 03, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Patsy G.
1 Review
1 Helpful

The products
were all great. Really liked the "Snake Oil"! The packing was great.

Perfect Gift!

Dec 23, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lauren F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 days

Got this for my mom who is from rural Virginia and really missing home these days. This really brightened her day, and she’s so excited for the next box. Everything in the box was both lovely, useful, and tasty!

Verified Purchase

Gift from my daughter

Sep 24, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rochelle B.
1 Review

Only disappointment was the cornbread mix bag was not sealed on one side and there was mix all over the box and other items

Awesome!!!

Aug 23, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Brenda N.
1 Review

Awesome products!!! Used the recipe for Grilled hamburgers with sweet pickle chips using products in this package and they were so good!!!

Thank you for responding so promptly.

Jun 18, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Dan M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I specifically opted out of an auto-renew of this box and was charged twice. Otherwise, the products are solid. (EDIT: Appalachian Mercantile addressed my concerns in the span of a day. Thank you so much -- I'll be happy to recommend this crate to anyone. No cheap plastic baubles to be found anywhere, and the included recipes are a hit.)

Verified Purchase
The Appalachian Mercantile said...Jun 19, 2021

Hi Dan
I'm sorry you had trouble with our cancellation. I am happy to refund you. It looks like you cancelled after the box had shipped. Please let us make this right. You have been charged for two boxes and we shipped two boxes. If there is a problem please let us know. Email me directly nancy at jqdsalt dot com
I'm glad you enjoyed the products though
Nancy, owner

Delicious and fun

Jun 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Allison G.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 11 months

We have really enjoyed receiving this box every month. The combination of items has been wonderful and comes from various Appalachian communities. There are typically some food items as well as home goods. I really like the treats (i.e., drinking chocolate, candy) and the home good/ craft items (i.e., tea towel, small hanging plant, cutting board, soap, etc.), whereas my husband really loves the food items. The food products typically contribute to a meal or snacks like soup, hot wings, or deviled eggs. We especially like the recipe(s) that are including with the mailing. We've been really pleased with the diversity of items. Plus, who doesn't love getting a surprise box of treats in the mail every month??

Verified Purchase

Give this Crate a try!

Jun 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Ann-marie C.
8 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

A good Crate. Not what I thought it would be.
I love the Appalachian Mountains & the "culture" & the items that are made & sold there.
Try this Crate, I was pleasantly surprised!

Verified Purchase
The Appalachian Mercantile said...Jun 17, 2021

Hi Ann-Marie!
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our subscription box. I'm really glad you are enjoying it.
Please reach out if you have any other comments or suggestions.
Nancy Bruns, owner

A good experience

Jun 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Wedad A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

I had a smooth time ordering and enjoyed the products very much. The packaging was really attractive and professional. I will eagerly order again from you/

Verified Purchase

Try It~

Jun 10, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jl W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

I've 100% enjoyed the two boxes I've received so far. The product has been unique and I appreciate that! Having a recipe in the box has been a fun way to utilize the ingredients.

Verified Purchase

Great!

Jun 04, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Alma G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months

I love all the boxes I’ve received from Appalachian Mercantile! Great quality and good price for what you get.

Verified Purchase
The Appalachian Mercantile said...Jun 05, 2021

Thank you, Alma, for taking the time to review our box! I'm so glad you are happy with our products. Please let us know if there's anything we can do to improve our service and your experience.
Nancy, owner

Great gift box!

May 17, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Carissa M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months

We gave this gift as a Christmas and birthday gift to my in-laws. Being from WV, we had to try it. My in-laws loved it. They thought it was fun and enjoyed most of the choices. I hope to give it again in the future!

Verified Purchase

May box

May 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Michele O.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 11 days

Nicely boxed. I have used the
chicken spice and it's delicious. I liked the wooden book mark. Can't wait for the opportunity to try the other products. The box come in a timely manner, and undamaged.

Verified Purchase

Loved it!!

May 06, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sharon H.
5 Reviews
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 7 months

This was a gift for my Mom and she loved it. She's in FL now but from SE KY so she was pleased with the taste of home. We'll be keeping this subscription for sure.

Verified Purchase

Very nice box

May 26, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Therese C.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 7 months

My new FAVORITE box. Love the themes of each, the recipe card. Well packaged

Verified Purchase

Awesome box

Apr 22, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Shirley N.
4 Reviews
Subscribed for 8 months

Love this box, everything is full sized and quite a variety. Have already purchased more items from the various merchants. Great stuff!

Verified Purchase

Unique

May 07, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Amanda S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months

Everything was fabulous!

Verified Purchase

Made in USA? Yes please!

Sep 06, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Alicia M.
1 Review
1 Picture
2 Helpful

I love subsc boxes but stopped them because literally nothing was made in USA. Imagine my joy when I found this box AND I live in Charleston, WV so this is my Appalachian heritage. Why did I not know about this before?? Loved my first box and will support JQ Dickson as long as I can!

The Appalachian Mercantile said...Sep 08, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to review us, Alicia
I'm so glad you love our products. We work hard to find the best Appalachian made food, crafts and home goods.

Delightful selection of artisan products

Jan 31, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jocelyn T.
11 Reviews
3 Pictures
21 Helpful
Subscribed for 10 months

Quite pleased with everything this box offers - we will use every item! Looking forward to the February box.

Verified Purchase

Makes my day

Jan 22, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Susanne J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I purchased a 3 month subscription for myself. I have received Dec / Jan & I am in love with this Box! The customer service, shipping, presentation & products are100% !
I may just keep gifting myself this for a long time :)
thank you Appalachian Mercantile for a great product & giving me a little sunshine monthly during COVID!

Verified Purchase
The Appalachian Mercantile said...Jan 22, 2021

Thanks for your glowing review, Susanne! We love it when the right people connect to our subscription. I hope you keep enjoying it for many months to come.
Nancy Bruns, owner

Outstanding Subscription

Nov 19, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Chris T.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 10 months

I subscribed to this box 3 months ago; and I can say with all honesty, I absolutely love this box. The shipping is so quick. The items are not your normal "sample" sizes. These are full sized items and high quality stuff I may add. I do get excited every month when I know my box is being mailed to me. I have not been disappointed. I would recommend this company and this subscription.

Verified Purchase
The Appalachian Mercantile said...Nov 19, 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to send such a rave review into Cratejoy. We love to hear how our customers like their boxes. Cheer! Nancy, owner

I love it!

Jan 05, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lisa E.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months

This box was just perfect and exactly what I hoped it would be. It was safely and beautifully packaged and was, I felt, a good value for the cost. I am looking forward to receiving my next package.
In addition to the included items (I won't give them away in case you haven't gotten yours yet), there was a list of included items with a description about what they were and who made them as well as a recipe to go with one of the main food items that was included.
I bought this as a little Christmas for myself and opened it Christmas morning since I was unable to be with my family for the holiday. It was fun and lovely.

Verified Purchase
The Appalachian Mercantile said...Jan 05, 2021

Hi Lisa
Thanks for taking the time to review our box. I'm so glad you are happy with the products. I hope you keep enjoying it!
Nancy Bruns, owner

Cool stuff

Jan 09, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sarah S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months

Really cool stuff! It was a gift and greatly enjoyed.

Verified Purchase

Customers who bought this also bought...