The Book Drop: Adult Readers

The Book Drop: Adult Readers

by The Book Drop
Enjoy fabulous hidden-gem reads from a women-led independent bookstore at the beach!

Plans as low as

$22.92/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (300)

  1. Reviews for this product (298)
  2. Reviews for this seller (2)

Shiver

Feb 05, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Joan P.
1 Review

The book Shiver was curated as my January selection. It wasn't a book I would have chosen. Overall, it was an alright read. Guessed the ending early on. A little too predictable. I'm not into snowboarding, so...

Poor customer service

Jul 27, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Teresa W.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months

I received two of the same book. I had two subscriptions and instead of just canceling the 2nd subscription, they shipped the same book twice. I sent them a message and they explained how that happened. Which was fine. I have emailed them twice to ask if I could return the duplicate for a different book. No response. I probably will not be keeping this subscription.

Verified Purchase
The Book Drop said...Jul 27, 2021

Hi Teresa,
Thank you for your review! You received two of the same book because you purchased two subscriptions =) You can most definitely return a book in exchange for another, as we explained in our email. Please give us longer than 24 hours to reply when emails are sent on weekends, we are a small team! Thank you so much & happy reading!

I'm New, But Love it So Far!

May 25, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Stitch C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

I received a romance book (teen romance i believe) as my first book! while i am still young and all, teen romance isn't really my go to for reading. overall though i received the book on time, it was in great condition and i love the bookmark! i look forward to my next one

Verified Purchase

Book Drop subscription cute and fun!

May 10, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Elizabeth A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

Just got the first novel from my new book subscription, The Book Drop. I love that it's a women-led independent bookstore (rather than shopping from a company owned by the world's wealthiest). It arrived promptly with a cute bookmark and some info on the subscription service. The book was quick and easy - light reading - but entertaining. I finished it in about 2 days. I signed up for a hybrid of light "chick-lit" reading and historical/literary fiction called Books for Bubbly and Tea. All their subscription options are cute monikers like that. I appreciate having books just arrive, without having to do tons of research into authors, stories, reviews, etc., as I get decision fatigue too easily. It allows me to keep up my reading and still select a few other hot books to fit in, too. Definitely thinking about getting my mom a subscription for her birthday!

Verified Purchase

Great curation of middle school titles

Mar 26, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Caitlin Y.
1 Review

I purchased the middle school box as a present for a niece who's a voracious reader. All the kids in my family are big readers, and love them as gifts, but it's hard as an adult to keep up with their various genres and know what books they might appreciate. All of the selections have gone over well, and we talk about the books and what they're about while we go on walks. I had a cool aunt who worked for a publishing house when I was a middle schooler, and this feels like Cool Publishing Aunt As A Service. I'm planning to renew my niece's subscription and try it out for myself as well.

First book in and I'm ready for more

Mar 07, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Brad B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months

Have yet to read my first book, currently finishing up a book about Lou Reed by Anthony Decurtis. It looks like a good choice and I'm looking forward to digging into it. Shipped with care in tissue paper. The only problem so far is the long delay from shipping to delivery. You can't fault bookdrop for that , it's that mess of a delivery service called USPS. Looking forward to more books. It's nice having someone pick a good book for you . Even though I buy and read a lot of books it's skmetko daunting to find something you like. Prices are comparable.

Verified Purchase

The book drop young adult subscription

Jun 04, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Angela A.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 5 months

This was my first book I got from the book drop and loved the mystery and friendship that brought Sydney and June together. I always like reading books from authors I haven't seen before .

Verified Purchase

Make Getting Mail Fun Again

Aug 03, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Allison D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

This is a small company in Bethany Beach, DE. I like to support small businesses and an author that I follow, Abby Maslin (Love You Hard), supports Bethany Beach Books (the shop that runs the Book Drop). I decided to give it a try and am so glad that I did. You receive a book of their choosing each month, so the surprise of what you are getting makes it fun to receive mail again. I also purchased a 3 month subscription as a Mother's Day gift for my mom, who is also an avid reader.
I'd say if you are looking to treat yourself or want to buy a gift that is different, please give this service a try. The only drawback is the mail delivery is sometimes slow, but that is on the USPS not the Book Drop. You may discover books and authors you have never heard of but are now excited to read.

Verified Purchase

I love it!

Jun 29, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kyla P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

I got my first box last month and I was a bit nervous spending money on something I didn't know if I'd like or not. But the shipping was pretty quick! Especially since I live in Canada. I don't know how they did it but they chose a book I related to so much, I really enjoyed it and will keep renewing my subscription! I'm so glad I am able to support independent bookstores and read books I would not have heard about.

Verified Purchase

Great gift idea!

Jun 30, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rachel R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months

I gave this suscription as a gift for my aunt who loves to read, but hates picking new books. The process was super easy and really well laid out, I don't feel like there was anything that was hard to follow.
Here's what I love:
-You can pick a genre or you can mix it up, which makes it easier to give as a gift!
-If you want to try another kind of book, you can, even in the middle of a subscription.
-I got an email with a tracking number when the book was shipped.
-The price, even with shipping, is cheaper than some of the big book stores.
-I get to support a small, local(ish) business, and a bookstore at that!
I am only in the first month and I plan to renew. I will update at that point with any additional thoughts.

Verified Purchase

Nice book, Bad package.

Apr 24, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Claire K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I have enjoyed the book I got through the Book Drop. It arrived earlier than expected, but there was a large tear in the package. Luckily, it did not damage the book itself, but when I opened the package a bunch of ripped up tiny bits of paper flew up into my face and got all over my room. I do not know where they came from. The bookmark and note from company were bent, but that is not that big of a deal.

Verified Purchase

Disappointing :(

Mar 03, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Ash H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months

I love books, independent bookstores, and getting mail, so this seemed like the perfect subscription for me! I signed up for 6 months of the "books for coffee" box and was disappointed with the books I received. They seemed like cast-offs: poorly rated and generally not very good reads. (One was even pretty racist and xenophobic.) The extras were a nice touch, but I haven't recommended the books I received to anyone else and won't be renewing my subscription.

Verified Purchase
The Book Drop said...Mar 12, 2020

Hi Ash, thank you for reviewing The Book Drop. We're very sorry to hear that you have been disappointed with our selections. We're also very concerned that you found one of our selections racist/xenophobic - we'd love to continue this conversation as we strive to send open-minded, diverse, and mindful selections to our readers. We'd love to hear your thoughts. We'll be in contact via the email on your account. Thank you again for the feedback and happy reading!

YA Subscription

Jun 29, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Elisabeth O.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 years

I have the Young Adult book subscription since I am a teacher. The books chosen are quality books, even if they aren't in my taste. There is a variety of genres included, which makes it fun. I appreciate the switch to more environmental friendly packaging. I enjoy this subscription and love getting it every month!

Verified Purchase

Great idea! 😍

Mar 25, 2019
Overall
Samantha C.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 25 days

I liked the idea of the box. It's really great. The price is good too!! 😊
I just personally didn't like this book this time. It's not a bad book just not my style. Which I understand it's bound to happen and it's in no way the box's fault. I will say tho... The box made a big mess when I opened it 😅 it's made of recycled materials so when u open it and it rips the cardboard then all these tiny gray and white flakes of (I think) paper spills out. It's not that big of a deal and easy to clean up tho 😊
I highly recommend this box 😊 it's great!! And just keep in mind it's a blind book box.

Verified Purchase

Customers who bought this also bought...