The Book Drop

by The Book Drop
Enjoy staff favorite reads from a women-led independent bookstore at the beach!
203 reviews

Plans as low as

$6.99/ month

Buying Options

The Book Drop reviewsReviews

Write a Review
203

Very happy w/ middle school book

Aug 06, 2020
Heather B.
1 Review
3 Pictures
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Very few book clubs offer “middle school” as a genre. I’m 50+ and enjoy mostly fantasy & YA but sometimes older audience versions are a bit more heavy/ serious/ intense than I’m looking for.
I like my 1st book (it’s a fantasy with Chinese zodiac themed superpowers), will probably buy the next in the series, like the packaging (recyclable, and a present wrapped attractively somehow delights more), and I really appreciate the surprise factor (I’m 5 mos into what’ll likely be a +/- 12mo coronavirus quarantine so the same-ness of life, inc books I’d pick myself, has been wearying).
I love these book clubs!!!!!!

Verified Purchase

AMAZING

May 10, 2021
Brennon B.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Can’t praise this service enough! The book selection is superb and always interesting. Supporting a small local business is also a plus.

Verified Purchase

The Book Drop is Awesome

Apr 08, 2021
Leann B.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Just finished my second Book Drop book. I have a coffee and tea blend subscription and so far am loving it. One of the books was on my “to be read” list. The other I would not have picked out if I was browsing but I throughly enjoyed it. It is so nice to have books show up in your mailbox once a month.

Verified Purchase

Wonder Package to Get in the Mail

May 01, 2020
Carolyn B.
1 Review
2 Pictures
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We received "The Book Drop" from Bethany Beach books and it was an absolute delight. Every year we wind of heading over to Bethany Beach Books from OCMD because no matter how many books we pack, my daughter will read through them all. It's become an annual trip while at the beach. We were so excited to see that they offer a book club. It's a great way to remember our time in the shop while at the beach and support a great local store.
The book sent was perfect for my daughter who is all about mystery reading at the moment.

Verified Purchase

The best indie book sub

6 days ago
Carrie B.
6 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

It's all in the curation with this sub. The Book Drop is like having a personal shopper just for books. I feel like every order was picked out just for me by a good friend. Even when the book isn't something I'd have selected for myself, it's always a stellar read which I enjoy immensely. Also, I like knowing that I'm supporting an independent bookseller. Is this the cheapest way to find new reads? No, but it's one of the most fun if you like a surprise and sometimes enjoy a feeling of exclusivity. Be sure to sign up for their mailing list, too. The Memorial Day Mystery book sale was amazing!

Verified Purchase

Great books!

7 days ago
Mary U.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Book drop is affordable and you get great books you would not ordinarily pick!

Verified Purchase

Love!

Jun 11, 2021
Bryana C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

LOVE the concept of a surprise book subscription. The staff was also super responsive when I had a question regarding my subscription.
Thanks for offering such a unique book subscription!
@bryana.reads

Verified Purchase

Fantastic Subscription

Jun 10, 2021
Tinalauren
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I am never disappointed in the Book Drop! I have loved being exposed to new authors and books I wouldn't have picked out myself but have loved. Fantastic subscription!

Verified Purchase

Treat yourself

Jun 08, 2021
Anne F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The Book Drop subscription feels like giving yourself a holiday gift every month. The box is packaged with care, and this also makes a fun gift for loved ones. I get overwhelmed trying to decide what to read. This takes the pressure off and introduces me to new authors.

Verified Purchase

Book mail is the Best!

May 28, 2021
Margaret W.
5 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 21 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Great book....looking forward to reading it.

Verified Purchase

First Box

May 25, 2021
Erik C.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 22 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Just got my box - once I read the book, I'll give a full rating!

Verified Purchase

Book Drop is the best mail!

Jun 29, 2019
Christina G.
1 Review
1 Picture
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I'm loving this book subscription! It is such a great feeling when I get an email that my package is being sent. And the anticipation of it arriving is so exciting!
Every month is a surprise, you never know what book will be the chosen one. They are always great and sometimes the books are ones I've had on my wishlist. I definitely recommend trying it out. ❤

Verified Purchase

Great Subscription

May 17, 2021
Janet S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Very good selections and a fun subscription.

Verified Purchase

Love The Book Drop!

May 15, 2021
Celeste O.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love this book subscription! As someone who literally defaults to the same genre over and over (which, The Book Drop does have - books for coffee lol), I love that you can pick a genre and they surprise you. I do the “Tea/Bubbly” alternating subscription and even after only 2 months in, I’m super satisfied. I’ll be a subscriber for a long time.
I also love their little upgrades - my April upgrade included a plant you can grow, which is growing nicely already :)
Only one slight mark down on shipping. If you’re used to the speed of a larger company, this will not be overnight service. This is a small, independent bookstore with a small staff doing their mailing. Please be mindful of that and kind :)

Verified Purchase

I love The Book Drop

May 13, 2021
Karin N.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I am 4 months in on my 1st Book Drop subscription and am hooked. All 4 books in the Books for Tea category have been wonderful. 'Bride of the Sea,' 'The Invisible Woman' and 'Conjuring Women' in particular are excellent. Books I doubt I'd have found on my own. Exceptional taste and selections. Plus seeing the package in my mailbox is like getting a bday surprise every month. The author letters are always interesting. This is just an overall well-done and well-run program. The only word that fits is delighted - I am delighted at discovering this bookstore and service. Their customer service is also personal and excellent. A real bright spot amidst trying times.

Verified Purchase

Love this Book Subscription

May 13, 2021
Ashley S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I've subscribed for several 3-month Books for Tea subscriptions (and am planning to buy a longer subscription soon!) This is a great book subscription! The books have been ones that I hadn't heard about so it allowed me to find books I wouldn't ordinarily have picked up! I enjoy the extra touched, like the letter from the author, the bookmark, and the tissue paper wrapping. I also like the ease of renewing or skipping a subscription - no jumping through hoops if you need to skip a renewal. Overall, I highly recommend this subscription box!

Verified Purchase

Good box!

May 10, 2021
Deeann H.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Have been very happy with this box! Books have been good! Enclosures are interesting and pertinent.

Verified Purchase

Really love the Elixer box! Magic!

May 10, 2021
Annie P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I really love this box - the books have all been fabulous and I've really enjoyed the cute packaging and curated descriptions. I always look forward to the next one.

Verified Purchase

Great middle grade & YA subscriptions

May 10, 2021
Nancy Q.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have gifted both the middle grade & YA subscription to my kids and both have been incredibly well received! The books chosen by The Book Drop are unique, interesting and fully capture the attention of my tween & teen. The YA picks are especially good and my teen commented that the books she receives are often titles she sees talked about on tik tok.

Verified Purchase

Great gift!

May 02, 2021
Zoe V.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was a gift for my stepmom's birthday. She loved it and said the items included with the book (especially the gardening themed add on) were fun and creative. Living in DE, she's looking forward to visiting the store in Bethany.

Verified Purchase

You won't be disappointed

Apr 13, 2021
Michelle M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Love the books I have received thus far and would recommend this subscription to everyone!!

Verified Purchase

my favorite subscription

Apr 10, 2021
Chelsea P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love my book drop subscription! I look forward to seeing what book is picked each month and I never fail to love it! The packaging and shipping is also great.

Verified Purchase

Absolutely Love It

Apr 09, 2021
Jessica S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My favorite time of the month! I absolutely love the books they choose. I get exposure to so many books I otherwise wouldn't have heard of. Very excited about their new fantasy subscription!

Verified Purchase

Hilla I.

Apr 05, 2021
Hilla I.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My boys have been loving their books. I got them a young adult and elementary package and the books have been diverse with great themes so far. I love that we may not have picked them out ourselves but getting them in the mail is so special (with beautiful presentation) and we have trusted in the curation. So far all have been great and I know my boys may have been surprised at how much they liked some of the stories. It has been a great way to introduce them to new genres. I have been reading along with them and enjoyed each of the books so far! I am actually going to gift a girlfriend with a subscription since we have been loving it so much!

Verified Purchase

Worthy Book Subscription!

Mar 24, 2021
Amarina R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I purchased a 12 month book drop subscription and I mixed tea and coffee books and have loved the selections and the bookmarks that come with each book. The letter from the author is a neat touch.

Verified Purchase