The Comic Garage

by The Comic Garage
Premium Curated Comic Books Straight to your Door! Something to Read and Collect each Month.
53 reviews

Plans as low as

$21.99/ month

Buying Options

The Comic Garage reviewsReviews

Write a Review
53

Comic Subscription

May 26, 2021
Jesse S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Great product. Exactly what I was looking for. They go off of your favorites and hit the mark!

Verified Purchase

Amazing fit!

May 20, 2021
Tab B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Comics were great! Came in on time and all the comics were what I asked for and more!!

Verified Purchase

Great customer service, box issues

3 days ago
Julia G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

--Edit/Update--
After my original review was posted, Comic Garage promptly contacted me and offered a one month refund. I am very happy that they read they're reviews, and address some of my issues. However, It should be noted on their website & in the description that they only really carry DC/Marvel comics (I had some Image, Dark Horse, and Boom titles on my list), and it sounds like they do not really carry those. I believe this should be disclosed to buyers, as it directly impacts what you may receive.
----Original review----
I tried the box for three months, and was honestly underwhelmed with each box. I didn't see my preferences reflected in the box, and felt like I was stuck with whatever random DC comic they happened to have sitting around (. Value wise, again, it was alright. I know they have to make a profit, but for 2/3 months, buying the exact same comic, it would have been 3-6 dollars cheaper to buy them off of Midtown ( and I would have actually had some control).Of the three months, only one had comics that had a value equal to the box cost. Again, they have to make a profit so I don't have an issue with it. However, as they consistently sent me comics that were way off my preferences, the box was not worth it for me. If you collect a lot of series, it maybe what you want, but for me (I have 5-8 series I collect), it...

Verified Purchase

Green Lantern Corps

Apr 28, 2021
Devlin C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The picks were excellent

Verified Purchase

Exceeded Expectations!

Apr 01, 2021
Steve S.
4 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 9 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Box was a gift and exceeded expectations. Very happy with the comics that were chosen and the value of them greatly surpassed cost of the box.

Verified Purchase

Excellent

Nov 17, 2020
Kyle P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Always exciting when it comes

Verified Purchase

Freakin' Awesome!

Feb 22, 2021
Rafael B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

FREAKIN' AWESOME. Got a HULK comic that has been going for $40 on ebay. Crazy!!!

Verified Purchase

5 stars

Jan 30, 2021
Brittany B.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Got a subscription as a gift for my comic-loving bf. He was really thrilled with his box and said the value was easily $50-$60. Will order again.

Verified Purchase

Great comics!

Jan 16, 2021
Loretta K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My boys absolutely loved each of the comics selected, they can't wait until their next box.

Verified Purchase

Boyfriend Loves His Comics!

Jan 15, 2021
Morgan N.
1 Review
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

After not receiving the first box because USPS lost it in the mail 😤, I messaged The Comic Garage and they were kind enough to send me another box at no additional charge. The packaging was very sustainable with two cardboard papers on each side to keep the comics from bending (USPS shoved the box in my tight mailbox and I struggled to pull it out 🤦🏽‍♀️). My boyfriend loves his box of comics! I highly recommend The Comic Garage for the comic book lover in your life.

Verified Purchase

Didn't dissappoint!

Jan 14, 2021
Michelle S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was purchased for my 12 year old son. He loved it the assortment that came in his box was perfect. He is looking forward to the future boxes as well.

Verified Purchase

Great First Box!

Jan 13, 2021
Daniel M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I received my first box from The Comic Garage yesterday and I must say that I am extremely happy with it! It arrived very quickly and was packaged with care. The comics were all in great shape and things were exactly as promised.
I was very pleased with the variety of the selection sent. It was obvious that they took the time to customize the selection to include specific things that I indicated as an interest.
I am very happy that I chose The Comic Garage for my comic box and I'm excited for my next box to arrive!

Verified Purchase

A Box For Geeks

Jan 13, 2021
Michael N.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

As a comic collector and reader I've seen a few of these boxes but never ordered. I read a few reviews and saw the description and decided to give it a try. What I like is that the box is catered to you which means you aren't stuck with a bunch of comics you won't read. I was still skeptical until the box arrived and then I was impressed. The comics are in great shape and were the characters I had picked so they fit right into my collection.

These are comics you're not only going to read but bag and board as well. There a lot of recent comics but it wasn't a deal breaker by any means. If you're new to comics or a collector this a great box to subscribe to and I can't wait to see what arrives next month. What surprised me the most was that I have over three thousand comics and I don't own any of the comics that came in my box.

Verified Purchase

Better than I could have even hoped for

Jan 08, 2021
Shane B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I signed up for a 1 month crate to test this subscription, since it had better reviews than similar crates, especially about curation. I sent an email right away with some questions and concerns I had and the owner responded to my email surprisingly quickly. He was very helpful and even though I had a lot of questions he has always answered quickly, professionally, and been very helpful. My first box arrived yesterday (a day sooner than expected!) and was even better than I expected. A lot of the comics are newer runs, which I have no problem with, and my favorite characters that I had listed made up almost the entire 10 comics. I even got a Punisher comic from the 80s. As a new comic reader and collector, this has solidified my desire to collect comics and I have decided to upgrade to the 3 month subscription. I look forward to doing business with Comic Garage for a long time!

Verified Purchase

The perfect gift

Dec 27, 2020
Jessica B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My son absolutely loved this. It was a perfect host and it arrived on time and had plenty in it. So worth it. Thank you.

Verified Purchase

Great Christmas Gift

Dec 26, 2020
Isabella P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was a Christmas gift for my nephew. Shipment was quick and included some comic books that I had stated in the comment area. My nephew loved them!!!

Verified Purchase

Look No Further!

Jul 24, 2020
Gabriel H.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Dude... This is perfect. I asked for an introductory set of comics that would give me a nice footing from which to build the hobby, and they sent me just that!
This issue of Iron Fist: Damnation #80 is INCREDIBLE. Comic Garage ignited my love for Iron Fist! Seriously, if you're having any doubt about this subscription service, put them away because this is the comic book sub-service for you.
Back to my comics!

Verified Purchase

Pretty good comics for new collectors

Sep 11, 2020
Steven F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Im new to collecting comics, i decided to give this subscription box a try since it allowed me to add customization on what characters i like.
This first box i got of comics was good, mostly all newer comics but not bad, some very cool titles and art works, i would of liked to seen some older comics just so i could broadened my comic book collection.
update:
gotten some pretty cool and neat , anbd mix of new and old types of comics since my first box, really do enjoy this subscription box.

Verified Purchase

Pleased but not surprised

3 days ago
Travis W.
1 Review
1 Picture
Overall
Shipping
Quality

Overall review: you get what you pay for.
Packaging is always 10/10 it’s shipped in great mailers and shrink wrapped to avoid banging in mailer. However, no bag, no boards. Books are in decent shape but nothing has come through that didn’t have a least 1/2 spine ticks or wear and tear. Not and issue as this was a birthday gift subscription.
All books are $1/2 bun stuff. A couple possible spec books came through but in the end. At 21 bucks a month plus shipping and what not. I got about $21 bucks worth of dollar bin books.
Final verdict.
Save your investment and just go on eBay and buy the big keys you want. The images of people walking away with rare books. It may happen but it didn’t happen here.

Updated Review

Apr 01, 2019
Cody T.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

Had some issues with not getting the comics I had asked for but after communicating my issues they were resolved and I just received my first box of comics I’m actually looking forward to reading.

Verified Purchase

It's Christmas every month.....

Jan 30, 2020
Stephen H.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My son is a MASSIVE comics fan and even though he is a 6'4" 18 y.o., he acts like Ralphie and his “official Red Ryder, carbine action, 200-shot, range model air rifle, with a compass in the stock and this thing that tells time.” every month. This was his Christmas gift this year, and I don't think he realized at the time that the initial 2 boxes he got to open on Christmas was only the beginning. After he got the January box, he hasn't stopped bugging me to let him know when the next box ships.
Fantastic quality and selection. High quality and value in every shipment. Collectors and enthusiasts should not hesitate.

Verified Purchase

Pleasantly Surprised

Nov 07, 2018
Paula F.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Overall

This was the first time I have ever purchased a subscription box and don't know why I haven't bought one sooner. I took a shot with this box and couldn't believe the variety of comics and #1's given. This box hands down beat my expectations.

Verified Purchase

Great selection

Dec 10, 2020
Joel S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I rarely leave reviews, but I felt compelled to today. I received my first 10 comic box today and was totally blown away by the variety of comics. I read the first one in my pile this afternoon, a Morbius issue. It was from the Midnight Sons era, and there were tons of guest stars. Including some of my favorite characters from when I used to be able to find comic books at my local newsroom, Ghost Rider, Vengeance, and John Blaze. Zarathos even made an appearance. I can’t wait to read the other issues.

Verified Purchase

Great!

Dec 09, 2020
Brad K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Provided my interests and a little background to my comic collection. Sent me exactly what I was hoping for. Introduction into new characters and some classic edition comics. Thank you!

Verified Purchase

I love my comics

Nov 19, 2020
Jack V.
1 Review
Subscribed for 26 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Love my box when I received it, only complaint I would like to get newer comics then older. Besides that I loved it enjoyed reading every one I got and will definitely order again!!!

Verified Purchase