The Conundrum Box

by The Conundrum Box
Escape boredom! A monthly adventure box, part escape room, part choose-your-own adventure!
58 reviews

Plans as low as

$25.00/ month

Buying Options

The Conundrum Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review
58

Best escape room box I’ve done.

Nov 17, 2019
Evan F.
1 Review
1 Picture
7 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is the best escape room box I’ve played. I like how they include a sound track and recipes and such. It’s a fun evening and their website works well for hints and such.

Verified Purchase

Wonderful Puzzle Game

Jan 14, 2021
Shawn W.
3 Reviews
1 Picture
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love these boxes. I took several on vacation with me and even my 23 year daughter couldn’t help but get sucked in. The stories are good and entertaining. Some puzzles are easier and some are hard so it’s a good mix. The hint system is perfect. I love that it starts with a hint that is simply which items you will need for the puzzle. That was often enough to let me solve alone. The historical times and places make it fun too!

Verified Purchase

A Covid-19 Sanity Saver

Jun 28, 2020
Kaleigh J.
1 Review
13 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My grandpa (86 years old) and my uncle (58 years old) live together thanks to my uncle being his primary caretaker. Due to covid, its just been the two of them. They have the basics of tech (literally just a TV) to entertain them. My uncle thankfully has a phone he can use to call the rest of the family, but that's largely all he uses it for. Bare basics. They've been driving each other crazy!
To help things, I started doing research and founds this box. I ordered and it sent/arrived roughly about a week after I started the subscription. Oh the excitement of my uncle/gpa when they received this was amazing! Something they've kept busy for hours trying to solve the mystery (and with both their memories a bit on the faded side, they struggled but in a good way). My uncle was excited to try the recipe that came with it (due to covid, he's become a bit more of an adventurous cook) and they turned it into a theme night between the two of them. We participated over a zoom call when they got stuck (since they don't have internet access and clues were on the website) and it was a big hit! My father's super happy with me too for finding this little treasure to keep his dad and bro busy. Give's him a break LOL (bonus points there).
My favorite part about these is that the themes are relatable to even my grandpa. If...

Verified Purchase

A fantastic, engaging activity for teens

5 days ago
Alexandra S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I seriously can not say enough good things about your boxes. Our autistic teen has had a tough year, and it's been virtually impossible to pry him off screen or get him to engage in anything remotely creative or challenging. We have signed up for a few subscription puzzle boxes but this one is in a league of its own; the days our son has spent working on a Conundrum Box have TRULY been the very best days of 2021.

Verified Purchase

Solid escape room in a box experience!

Jan 24, 2021
Terry H.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 5 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

During the 2020 (and now 2021) pandemic my partner and I have played almost all of the escape room in a box games found in retail gaming stores and Amazon. Unlock, Exit, Escape Room the Game, Prof Puzzles, Escape Tales, Trapped, Deckscape, Escape the Room... we've played them all. Seriously, we were bummed when we ran out.
Then I found createjoy and the Conundrum Box. I decided to get a 3 month subscription to see if we liked it and we just played our first, Escape from Nottingham Jail.
This game was well themed with a story you read online. Like other games it was envelope based and we were pleased that we didn't have to destroy anything (unlike the Exit games). The puzzles were mostly easy to medium difficulty (for us) and only one we required hints (4 out of the 15 provided for the one puzzle, and really we only needed #4) and yet still took us just shy of 2 hours to complete.
There were a couple of grammer errors and at one point we needed a second internet device as I could not go back a page on the website to review a graphic since our solution was wrong. Other than these 2 things the experience was solid.
What was also solid was the quality of the items. Nice paper with fun use of fonts, some cutout and assemble items (the tents setup & escape was our favorite puzzles overall), and there was even a 6 sides...

Verified Purchase

Merlin Mystery

Apr 06, 2021
Kathryn P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We had so much fun with this box. We had the Merlin legacy crate. Which was perfect because my daughter who is 12 just strarted watching the tv show. So this went over perfect with her. The puzzles were very tricky for us. The nice part was that every corresponding page on the website had clues and the answer if you got stuck. Everything was well laid out and easy to follow. They also provide you a link to a spotify playlist that goes with the theme and recipes for food and drinks. Overal, a great box. I would definitely recommend this box.

Verified Purchase

A Great Mystery Box Choice!

Jan 03, 2021
Jana G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We love doing these boxes! It is the third mystery box subscription we have tried, and we like it the best! It is challenging without being discouraging....a few of the puzzles in the other boxes we tried didn't even make sense AFTER we were told the solution. If you are an experienced mystery gamer, do the advanced version that some puzzles offer. We haven't taken advantage of the play list OR the food suggestions while doing each box, but plan to on our next one - to really make an event out of it! Thanks, Conundrum Box folks!

Verified Purchase

SO. MUCH. FUN!!!

Dec 27, 2020
Michele D.
28 Reviews
40 Pictures
53 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 28 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

BEST puzzle box EVER!!! And, I've subscribed to a BUNCH. I was so surprised and delighted to see that it comes with a playlist and recipes for dinner, dessert and drinks. I am having a total blast playing my first box and had to stop and leave a review...it's that good ;-) I am finding it to be a great game on my own but could easily share it with the hubby, too. Now, I am regretting buying it bi-monthly instead of monthly...LOL

Verified Purchase

Fun family activity

Dec 27, 2020
Amber S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 20 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is a fun family activity! We enjoyed all the puzzles and the hints were nice :) There was a mixture of difficulty levels which worked great. Our 9 yr old enjoyed doing this as well. If you are playing with younger kids they may get bored with the story, but us adults enjoyed it :)

Verified Purchase

We had a ton of fun!

Apr 13, 2021
Garret Z.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Such a fun service! We zoomed with another couple for our whole subscription, and we absolutely loved it. The recipes were a great touch, we didn't use the music, but that is a nice idea too. When we sent an email for help with one of the games we got a response within an hour from the actual creators of the game. That was impressive. We totally recommend this subscription.

Great Box, I Want Sleepy Hollow!

Apr 12, 2021
Brian D.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Played the Maui box today and it was the best escape room box I have ever played. Also, very friendly support when I emailed them about options to buy. I want Sleepy Hollow, bring it back!
edit: bring back the Anastasia box too.

Great fun for the whole family!

Mar 11, 2021
Matthew K.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We had a great time! Did this with my family during COVID. We really like escape rooms, and this filled that void. It wasn't too hard or too easy. I look forward to the next one. Keep up the good work.

Fun Date Night In

Jan 21, 2021
Brittany M.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was our first box and we loved it! We did Escape from Nottingham Jail. What a fun way to do an escape room from our own home. I liked the not timed aspect. The clues were pretty good. A couple stumped us but the bonus clues helped us figure it out. We tried to find the playlist but couldn’t find where to get those, or the current menus. The website says there is a repacking list included in the box which we also did not get. Great experience over all. We look forward to others in the future

The Conundrum Box said...Jan 21, 2021

Hi Brittany, we are glad you had a fun time! I just noticed what you said about the playlist, menus, and reset list - these are all located on the EXTRAS page when you are in the game. (In Escape from Nottingham Jail, it is the second to last page in the drop-down menu / left bar menu.) On that page, you will be able to find all three of these things! (And in future games as well.)

Fun for the family

Jun 01, 2020
Shelley B.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My family has completed four of these boxes thus far. All of them so far have been appropriate for my 8 year old to play along (though he couldn’t solve the problems all by himself). Other game companies are too scary and dark for him, but these have been great! There are multiple hints for each puzzle, so if you get stuck, you can start with a small hint. If you are really stuck, you can use multiple hints. The storylines are fun and well thought out. The extras - music playlists, as well as food and drink recipes - are a great bonus! This is a great adventure for a family, a couple, or just on your own. Keep up the great work!

Verified Purchase

Love this escape room box!

Nov 01, 2020
Megan C.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Honestly, I love the challenge of this box over other boxes.
Pros:
- The boxes work out well to play with friends via Zoom (great for those Friday friend nights via lockdown)!
- The puzzles are challenging in that they make you think hard as opposed to other boxes where the puzzles are sometimes too straight forward.
- The extras they give like music, food recipes, etc. are really great.
- The hints make sense.
- The storylines are intriguing and fun. They're also non-repetitive in theming which is nice.
- Flows through with passwords and envelopes for each section of the game.
- They sell some of their old boxes online for when you need something to do between monthly shipments.
Cons:
- Could use some proofreading. There are some corrections posted online on the game itself, but there are also grammatical errors in some of the text (though the grammar does not affect the game itself).
- The paper quality works in that it does what you want it to do, but the quality could be a bit higher when it comes to how they cut some of the printer paper aspects. This is really nitpicking though as most of their items are really nice.
Overall, I still really love this box and will continue subscribing as long as I can. :)

Verified Purchase

atlantis

Dec 01, 2020
Luann C.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We had a great time. We wished they had the excerpts read by a narrator on the website, we may listen better if we are all listening together. It took us about two hours to finish, my advice to others is to take notes of solved problems and locations visited. The website graphics of sea creature was cheesy, I bet there are graphic artists dying to create a fantastical video with you.

Verified Purchase

Well designed game with good story

May 09, 2020
Karen C.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is my first subscription to an escape room box, and I am thrilled with it. I tried one of a different series with a friend, and while enjoyable, I felt I could have been challenged a bit more. After reading a variety of reviews, I decided to give the Conundrum Box a try. My 10 year old and I finished the box, not with a great time, but really enjoyed the adventure. There were some puzzles that were a little beyond her but many she could help with that kept her engaged. The puzzles were challenging but had logical solutions. There is a hint system which lets you determine how much help you need without just giving the answer away. The storyline was really interesting and enhanced the game’s atmosphere. Overall, we’re really glad we took the plunge with this crate. Shipping was quick.

Verified Purchase

Try it and you’ll be hooked!

Oct 04, 2020
Molly G.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Absolutely love everything about this escape box. Thrilling themes, challenging and non-repetitive puzzles, easy-to-navigate hints, and wonderful extras (especially the scene-setting Spotify list). I’ve enjoyed some of these more than physical escape rooms. One of the absolute favorite things I do during quarantine. Take the plunge and buy a year’s worth, like I did!

Verified Purchase

Great Mystery Game Box!

Oct 01, 2020
Irene H.
5 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is a great mystery box! The stories are interesting and fun. The puzzles are varied in both type and difficulty and are well thought out and clever. The props included in the boxes are also really well done, immersing you in the story while adding extra fun to solving the puzzles and mystery. The inclusion of a playlist and recipes in each box is genius and further adds to the fun and immersion. Plus, their customer service is outstanding-easy to communicate with, very helpful and responsive. I highly recommend The Conundrum Box!

Verified Purchase

Love this game box!

Jul 31, 2020
Suzie
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We initially ordered one box just to try it, and didn't realize it came as a subscription. When our second box came, we were so pleasantly surprised and excited- and have been subscribers now for months! My boyfriend and I have really enjoyed playing each game, solving the puzzles (even though sometimes they are really hard!), and we especially love that each one comes with unique themed dinner recipes, drink ideas, and a playlist! We have loved them so much, that we even ordered boxes for our friends!

Verified Purchase

A lifesaver during quarantine.

Jul 08, 2020
John Z.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My wife loves escape rooms. With the attack of the 'Rona, and having a toddler around, escape rooms are tough to make time for. Originally, I signed up for a three month subscription. After playing through the first box, we quickly upped it to a year long subscription, and have bought almost every available previous box.
We love the puzzles, and how incremental the hint system is. We look forward to the boxes arrival every month.
We also love how responsive the creators of the box have been when we have had questions.

Verified Purchase

Great Box!

Apr 07, 2020
Isabella B.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Fun, interactive and challenging box that allows you to solve puzzles and put your mind to use, go on adventures around the world and find out the answer to unsolved mysteries. Great for families!

Verified Purchase

Issues resolved quickly

Dec 19, 2020
Teran P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 days
Overall

After further inspection the communication issue was not the sellers fault. They never received my first message and the second one didn't go to my inbox. The issue was resolved quickly and the seller was very polite and helpful.

Verified Purchase
The Conundrum Box said...Dec 19, 2020

Hello Teran, I think there may be a misunderstanding here. Please check your spam folders. We replied back to the one email we got from you within 24 hours and had applied the refund you requested at that time (there should be a second email confirming this as well). Please consider changing your review. Thank you and have a nice day!

An Absolute must if you want a challenge

Oct 17, 2020
Yvonne R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love this subscription box, it is exactly what I was looking for and i love the little envelops and all the little details they put into it and being able to use the website for clues is also so interactive . LOVE THIS BOX

Verified Purchase

Made quarantine fun!

Oct 10, 2020
Susan F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Love you guys! I plan on resubscribing when I can!! I just have to save money since jobs are scarce right now! These are great for date nights (minus my husband being a puzzle solving hog)!!!

Verified Purchase
The Conundrum Box said...Oct 17, 2020

Thanks Susan! One of these days we will make one that is a competition, and then you can just have your own puzzles to compete against him! :)