The Conundrum Box

by The Conundrum Box
Escape boredom! A monthly adventure box, part escape room, part choose-your-own adventure!
59 reviews

Plans as low as

$25.00/ box

Buying Options

The Conundrum Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review
59

Best escape room box I’ve done.

Nov 17, 2019
Evan F.
1 Review
1 Picture
7 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is the best escape room box I’ve played. I like how they include a sound track and recipes and such. It’s a fun evening and their website works well for hints and such.

Verified Purchase

Wonderful Puzzle Game

Jan 14, 2021
Shawn W.
3 Reviews
1 Picture
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love these boxes. I took several on vacation with me and even my 23 year daughter couldn’t help but get sucked in. The stories are good and entertaining. Some puzzles are easier and some are hard so it’s a good mix. The hint system is perfect. I love that it starts with a hint that is simply which items you will need for the puzzle. That was often enough to let me solve alone. The historical times and places make it fun too!

Verified Purchase

A Covid-19 Sanity Saver

Jun 28, 2020
Kaleigh J.
1 Review
13 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My grandpa (86 years old) and my uncle (58 years old) live together thanks to my uncle being his primary caretaker. Due to covid, its just been the two of them. They have the basics of tech (literally just a TV) to entertain them. My uncle thankfully has a phone he can use to call the rest of the family, but that's largely all he uses it for. Bare basics. They've been driving each other crazy!
To help things, I started doing research and founds this box. I ordered and it sent/arrived roughly about a week after I started the subscription. Oh the excitement of my uncle/gpa when they received this was amazing! Something they've kept busy for hours trying to solve the mystery (and with both their memories a bit on the faded side, they struggled but in a good way). My uncle was excited to try the recipe that came with it (due to covid, he's become a bit more of an adventurous cook) and they turned it into a theme night between the two of them. We participated over a zoom call when they got stuck (since they don't have internet access and clues were on the website) and it was a big hit! My father's super happy with me too for finding this little treasure to keep his dad and bro busy. Give's him a break LOL (bonus points there).
My favorite part about these is that the themes are relatable to even my grandpa. If...

Verified Purchase

A fantastic, engaging activity for teens

Jun 14, 2021
Alexandra S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I seriously can not say enough good things about your boxes. Our autistic teen has had a tough year, and it's been virtually impossible to pry him off screen or get him to engage in anything remotely creative or challenging. We have signed up for a few subscription puzzle boxes but this one is in a league of its own; the days our son has spent working on a Conundrum Box have TRULY been the very best days of 2021.

Verified Purchase

Solid escape room in a box experience!

Jan 24, 2021
Terry H.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 5 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

During the 2020 (and now 2021) pandemic my partner and I have played almost all of the escape room in a box games found in retail gaming stores and Amazon. Unlock, Exit, Escape Room the Game, Prof Puzzles, Escape Tales, Trapped, Deckscape, Escape the Room... we've played them all. Seriously, we were bummed when we ran out.
Then I found createjoy and the Conundrum Box. I decided to get a 3 month subscription to see if we liked it and we just played our first, Escape from Nottingham Jail.
This game was well themed with a story you read online. Like other games it was envelope based and we were pleased that we didn't have to destroy anything (unlike the Exit games). The puzzles were mostly easy to medium difficulty (for us) and only one we required hints (4 out of the 15 provided for the one puzzle, and really we only needed #4) and yet still took us just shy of 2 hours to complete.
There were a couple of grammer errors and at one point we needed a second internet device as I could not go back a page on the website to review a graphic since our solution was wrong. Other than these 2 things the experience was solid.
What was also solid was the quality of the items. Nice paper with fun use of fonts, some cutout and assemble items (the tents setup & escape was our favorite puzzles overall), and there was even a 6 sides...

Verified Purchase

Merlin Mystery

Apr 06, 2021
Kathryn P.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We had so much fun with this box. We had the Merlin legacy crate. Which was perfect because my daughter who is 12 just strarted watching the tv show. So this went over perfect with her. The puzzles were very tricky for us. The nice part was that every corresponding page on the website had clues and the answer if you got stuck. Everything was well laid out and easy to follow. They also provide you a link to a spotify playlist that goes with the theme and recipes for food and drinks. Overal, a great box. I would definitely recommend this box.

Verified Purchase

A Great Mystery Box Choice!

Jan 03, 2021
Jana G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We love doing these boxes! It is the third mystery box subscription we have tried, and we like it the best! It is challenging without being discouraging....a few of the puzzles in the other boxes we tried didn't even make sense AFTER we were told the solution. If you are an experienced mystery gamer, do the advanced version that some puzzles offer. We haven't taken advantage of the play list OR the food suggestions while doing each box, but plan to on our next one - to really make an event out of it! Thanks, Conundrum Box folks!

Verified Purchase

SO. MUCH. FUN!!!

Dec 27, 2020
Michele D.
29 Reviews
40 Pictures
53 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 28 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

BEST puzzle box EVER!!! And, I've subscribed to a BUNCH. I was so surprised and delighted to see that it comes with a playlist and recipes for dinner, dessert and drinks. I am having a total blast playing my first box and had to stop and leave a review...it's that good ;-) I am finding it to be a great game on my own but could easily share it with the hubby, too. Now, I am regretting buying it bi-monthly instead of monthly...LOL

Verified Purchase

Fun family activity

Dec 27, 2020
Amber S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 20 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is a fun family activity! We enjoyed all the puzzles and the hints were nice :) There was a mixture of difficulty levels which worked great. Our 9 yr old enjoyed doing this as well. If you are playing with younger kids they may get bored with the story, but us adults enjoyed it :)

Verified Purchase

scam?

Jun 03, 2021
Charlotte F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I reached out to this seller on May 20 asking where the box I was charged for on May 11 was. Today is June 3, have heard nothing. There is no shipping information provided. This really looks like a scam to me.

Verified Purchase
The Conundrum Box said...Jun 03, 2021

Hello Charlotte,
Please check your email, I responded to you this afternoon. As mentioned there, we do not have any further communication from you via email before the email this morning. Also mentioned in the email is that your next box is scheduled for June, and went out this afternoon. Cratejoy bills renewals about three weeks before the shipping date so that we have a headcount of how many boxes to make and time to make them all. Please reach out to us if you have any further questions. Thank you, and have a nice day.

Lack of communication

Mar 31, 2021
Gloria C.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping

I meant to order a 3-month gift subscription but selected the regular subscription because I wanted to receive the first box to personally give as a gift. Contacted the seller and received email from seller that he's unable to convert from a regular to a gift subscription. However, he would cancel the active subscription and go ahead and send as a gift. All seems well.
Four months later, I get a charge on my card. Sent seller several emails, and still have yet to receive a response.
Account shows boxes as delivered. However, had to relocate due to burst pipes from winter storm, so I'm not even sure where the last box(es) are.
I wanted to try a few boxes for myself, but after this experience, I've decided to hold off for now.

Verified Purchase
The Conundrum Box said...Mar 31, 2021

Hello Gloria,
Could you let us know how you attempted to contact us? We do not have an email from you since a change of address request back in December (The change of address was to an address for another person, so perhaps they received the boxes you are looking for?). Since then you canceled the subscription after the renewal and we were informed of a charge dispute for the renewal, but we don't have any email contact directly from you. We would love to help solve this problem, please reach out to us at our email directly (Cratejoy will not let us post it here, but you can find it on our website under contact). We sent you an email after...

Great as a different kind of date night

Mar 03, 2021
Kristin C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 26 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I thought this box was really fun for a nice night of something different. The puzzles were entertaining and thought provoking without being extremely difficult. The overall puzzle theme (vikings) was unique for me, which was great given the number of these types of boxes I've done. There were a few issues with spelling errors and in one case one of the puzzle's answers was off by one number, which we only figured out by revealing all the clues. Other than that though, it was a creative and different date night activity. I would recommend it for those looking for medium difficulty puzzles to fill an evening.

Verified Purchase

Do not recommend

Feb 23, 2021
Kami L.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Low quality- looks like it’s made is someone’s garage. Lots of typos. Some of the puzzles are very poorly thought out. Wouldn’t buy again.

Verified Purchase
The Conundrum Box said...Feb 23, 2021

Hello Kami, Thank you for your feedback; we are always looking to improve. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience, and we understand that our games are not for everyone. We are a small operation, but we put a lot of labor into this business. We have most materials in our games professionally printed, but we do have hand-made items in some games. If we miss a typo here or there, we correct them as soon as we find them and support the fixing of any errors in our games as soon as we find out about them. Even with a playtesting team of a couple dozen, we can still miss something from time to time....

Surprise inside

Feb 01, 2021
Susan C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality

Just finished our second box, Nottinghill Jail, my mom and I did it together and I won’t give away any secrets but there was one new twist/clue placement that was a super surprise. I’ve done these types of boxes for a few years and this was a first! Thanks for changing it up a bit!

Verified Purchase

First time review

Jan 24, 2021
Dianne C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Interactive game play was different.. I liked it.. nice challenging puzzles and some easy. Waiting for next box to see how the game continues but stays separated....

Verified Purchase

Typos

Jan 08, 2021
Lauren
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We did 3 boxes, and enjoyed them BUT the last 2 had typos that severely affected our ability to complete the puzzle. The hints solved the issue, but we are stubborn, so it added about an hour to each puzzle.

Verified Purchase

Great Family Experience!

3 days ago
James C.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The family absolutely love these games, and they keep us entertained for hours. They came highly recommended and the people who run the company are quick to answer any questions we have had in the past. Altogether, a great product and well worth your time!

Never Received 2nd Puzzle - No response

Apr 12, 2021
Shane K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Purchased this as a gift in February 2021. This sounded like a great way to pass the long boring winter days.
The first puzzle arrived on time. The puzzle was confusing at first, but in the end was a fun challenge.
Waited 2 months for the next puzzle and it has never arrived. There is zero response from the seller. I do not recommend this puzzle.

Verified Purchase
The Conundrum Box said...Apr 12, 2021

Hello Shane, Please check your spam folder and white list our email address (sorry, Cratejoy won't let me post it in this response, but you can find it on our website). We replied to your March 27th email within two hours. The second box was sent on April 3rd, when it was scheduled to send. When purchasing from Cratejoy Marketplace, we send the first box ASAP, even though it is the next month's shipment. In this case, your February 9th package was your March box. Cratejoy then schedules your second box at its normal time, in this case, April. We send all boxes beyond the first box during the first week of the month. This policy is communicated on our...

Poor Billing Practices

Apr 09, 2021
Jaime D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping

I'm giving this product a low review due to the poor billing practices of being charged one month in advance of the item shipping. However, my first month the charge occurred and the box arrived shortly thereafter. So I had incorrectly assumed that is how future billings/shippings would operate...obviously my bad, I suppose.
I was charged on 1/7 and had my first shipment arrive 1/16
I was charged again on 2/7 ... the shipment arrived on 3/13
Then I was charged on 3/7 .... the shipment was sent on 4/9
Unfortunately I was not paying enough attention and when I saw the charge from 3/7 I had again incorrectly assumed it was for the box that arrived just a few days later, and NOT for a box that would be shipped a month later! So when I canceled the service in early April, and then about a week later received notice that my box was shipping, that is when I realized what was happening. The billing / shipping timeline for the Feb and Mar boxes doesn't make sense to me based upon my initial experience in Jan.
Somewhat deceptive billing practices. Due to this I do not recommend and would not subscribe again.

Verified Purchase
The Conundrum Box said...Apr 09, 2021

Hi Jamie, thank you for your review. We follow Cratejoy's required billing practices. When you first place an order, it is for the next month's box - however, Cratejoy requires us to send a box ASAP. We then send the box. Renewals happen on the 9th or 10th of the month for the next month's box. This gives us about three weeks to know the number of boxes to produce and to produce those boxes. Every Cratejoy subscription we personally subscribe to works in the same manner, so I believe this is standard for all subscription boxes. We need enough time after an order to create the boxes. We ship out the first week of the month, which is stated on...

Date Night for Old Empty Nesters

Jan 24, 2021
Jenny P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality

The story was way too long. I spent more time reading the story than playing the game. Most of the puzzles were fun and great to figure out. Except that last one to complete the game. After needing the hint that tells me the answer, I STILL don't know how you came up with that one!! Over all....it did exactly what we purchased it for....us 2 recently and newly empty nesters to find and do something together that isn't just to make the other happy...like watching sports or going out to eat and spending a bloody fortune on date night. I had to make hubby do the first game like this with me....now he watches for the mail delivery closer than i do....hoping that another one arrives!! Lol

Verified Purchase

We had a ton of fun!

Apr 13, 2021
Garret Z.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Such a fun service! We zoomed with another couple for our whole subscription, and we absolutely loved it. The recipes were a great touch, we didn't use the music, but that is a nice idea too. When we sent an email for help with one of the games we got a response within an hour from the actual creators of the game. That was impressive. We totally recommend this subscription.

Great Box, I Want Sleepy Hollow!

Apr 12, 2021
Brian D.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Played the Maui box today and it was the best escape room box I have ever played. Also, very friendly support when I emailed them about options to buy. I want Sleepy Hollow, bring it back!
edit: bring back the Anastasia box too.

Great fun for the whole family!

Mar 11, 2021
Matthew K.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We had a great time! Did this with my family during COVID. We really like escape rooms, and this filled that void. It wasn't too hard or too easy. I look forward to the next one. Keep up the good work.

Fun Date Night In

Jan 21, 2021
Brittany M.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was our first box and we loved it! We did Escape from Nottingham Jail. What a fun way to do an escape room from our own home. I liked the not timed aspect. The clues were pretty good. A couple stumped us but the bonus clues helped us figure it out. We tried to find the playlist but couldn’t find where to get those, or the current menus. The website says there is a repacking list included in the box which we also did not get. Great experience over all. We look forward to others in the future

The Conundrum Box said...Jan 21, 2021

Hi Brittany, we are glad you had a fun time! I just noticed what you said about the playlist, menus, and reset list - these are all located on the EXTRAS page when you are in the game. (In Escape from Nottingham Jail, it is the second to last page in the drop-down menu / left bar menu.) On that page, you will be able to find all three of these things! (And in future games as well.)

Fun for the family

Jun 01, 2020
Shelley B.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My family has completed four of these boxes thus far. All of them so far have been appropriate for my 8 year old to play along (though he couldn’t solve the problems all by himself). Other game companies are too scary and dark for him, but these have been great! There are multiple hints for each puzzle, so if you get stuck, you can start with a small hint. If you are really stuck, you can use multiple hints. The storylines are fun and well thought out. The extras - music playlists, as well as food and drink recipes - are a great bonus! This is a great adventure for a family, a couple, or just on your own. Keep up the great work!

Verified Purchase