Escape boredom! A monthly adventure box, part escape room, part choose-your-own adventure!

Plans as low as $25.00 / box

The Conundrum Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Best escape room box I’ve done.

Nov 17, 2019
Evan F.
1 Review
1 Picture
6 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is the best escape room box I’ve played. I like how they include a sound track and recipes and such. It’s a fun evening and their website works well for hints and such.

Verified Purchase

Love this escape room box!

Nov 01, 2020
Megan C.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Honestly, I love the challenge of this box over other boxes.
Pros:
- The boxes work out well to play with friends via Zoom (great for those Friday friend nights via lockdown)!
- The puzzles are challenging in that they make you think hard as opposed to other boxes where the puzzles are sometimes too straight forward.
- The extras they give like music, food recipes, etc. are really great.
- The hints make sense.
- The storylines are intriguing and fun. They're also non-repetitive in theming which is nice.
- Flows through with passwords and envelopes for each section of the game.
- They sell some of their old boxes online for when you need something to do between monthly shipments.
Cons:
- Could use some proofreading. There are some corrections posted online on the game itself, but there are also grammatical errors in some of the text (though the grammar does not affect the game itself).
- The paper quality works in that it does what you want it to do, but the quality could be a bit higher when it comes to how they cut some of the printer paper aspects. This is really nitpicking though as most of their items are really nice.
Overall, I still really love this box and will continue subscribing as long as I can. :)

Verified Purchase

atlantis

Dec 01, 2020
Luann C.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We had a great time. We wished they had the excerpts read by a narrator on the website, we may listen better if we are all listening together. It took us about two hours to finish, my advice to others is to take notes of solved problems and locations visited. The website graphics of sea creature was cheesy, I bet there are graphic artists dying to create a fantastical video with you.

Verified Purchase

Try it and you’ll be hooked!

Oct 04, 2020
Molly G.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Absolutely love everything about this escape box. Thrilling themes, challenging and non-repetitive puzzles, easy-to-navigate hints, and wonderful extras (especially the scene-setting Spotify list). I’ve enjoyed some of these more than physical escape rooms. One of the absolute favorite things I do during quarantine. Take the plunge and buy a year’s worth, like I did!

Verified Purchase

Great Mystery Game Box!

Oct 01, 2020
Irene H.
5 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is a great mystery box! The stories are interesting and fun. The puzzles are varied in both type and difficulty and are well thought out and clever. The props included in the boxes are also really well done, immersing you in the story while adding extra fun to solving the puzzles and mystery. The inclusion of a playlist and recipes in each box is genius and further adds to the fun and immersion. Plus, their customer service is outstanding-easy to communicate with, very helpful and responsive. I highly recommend The Conundrum Box!

Verified Purchase

A Covid-19 Sanity Saver

Jun 28, 2020
Kaleigh J.
1 Review
11 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My grandpa (86 years old) and my uncle (58 years old) live together thanks to my uncle being his primary caretaker. Due to covid, its just been the two of them. They have the basics of tech (literally just a TV) to entertain them. My uncle thankfully has a phone he can use to call the rest of the family, but that's largely all he uses it for. Bare basics. They've been driving each other crazy!
To help things, I started doing research and founds this box. I ordered and it sent/arrived roughly about a week after I started the subscription. Oh the excitement of my uncle/gpa when they received this was amazing! Something they've kept busy for hours trying to solve the mystery (and with both their memories a bit on the faded side, they struggled but in a good way). My uncle was excited to try the recipe that came with it (due to covid, he's become a bit more of an adventurous cook) and they turned it into a theme night between the two of them. We participated over a zoom call when they got stuck (since they don't have internet access and clues were on the website) and it was a big hit! My father's super happy with me too for finding this little treasure to keep his dad and bro busy. Give's him a break LOL (bonus points there).
My favorite part about these is that the themes are relatable to even my grandpa. If...

Verified Purchase

Great as a different kind of date night

Today
Kristin C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 26 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I thought this box was really fun for a nice night of something different. The puzzles were entertaining and thought provoking without being extremely difficult. The overall puzzle theme (vikings) was unique for me, which was great given the number of these types of boxes I've done. There were a few issues with spelling errors and in one case one of the puzzle's answers was off by one number, which we only figured out by revealing all the clues. Other than that though, it was a creative and different date night activity. I would recommend it for those looking for medium difficulty puzzles to fill an evening.

Verified Purchase

Solid escape room in a box experience!

Jan 24, 2021
Terry H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

During the 2020 (and now 2021) pandemic my partner and I have played almost all of the escape room in a box games found in retail gaming stores and Amazon. Unlock, Exit, Escape Room the Game, Prof Puzzles, Escape Tales, Trapped, Deckscape, Escape the Room... we've played them all. Seriously, we were bummed when we ran out.
Then I found createjoy and the Conundrum Box. I decided to get a 3 month subscription to see if we liked it and we just played our first, Escape from Nottingham Jail.
This game was well themed with a story you read online. Like other games it was envelope based and we were pleased that we didn't have to destroy anything (unlike the Exit games). The puzzles were mostly easy to medium difficulty (for us) and only one we required hints (4 out of the 15 provided for the one puzzle, and really we only needed #4) and yet still took us just shy of 2 hours to complete.
There were a couple of grammer errors and at one point we needed a second internet device as I could not go back a page on the website to review a graphic since our solution was wrong. Other than these 2 things the experience was solid.
What was also solid was the quality of the items. Nice paper with fun use of fonts, some cutout and assemble items (the tents setup & escape was our favorite puzzles overall), and there was even a 6 sides...

Verified Purchase

My New Favorite Mystery Subscription

Jan 14, 2021
Shawn W.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 5 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have done several different brands of mystery boxes and I currently subscribe to 4. I did my first Conundrum Box today and it was great. It might be my new favorite and I subscribed to the monthly box as soon as finished the Emerald Isle. The story is good. I really enjoyed being able to read backstory on the website. I loved the puzzles. Everyone’s brain works differently so it’s wonderful to have lots of different types of puzzles. Some I did quickly and others I had to use the hints. The hint system is set up so well. One hint will clue you in to which items in the box might be used for the puzzle. That was often enough for me and led to a few “duh, how did I not see that moments.” If that wasn’t enough of a hint there are several hints for each puzzle so you don’t have to use all of them...just a nudge. The materials and pictures were nice too. I didn’t use the Spotify playlist or the cocktails on this one but I will definitely add that in next time just to see what that adds. Overall this is a great box!!!

Verified Purchase

A Great Mystery Box Choice!

Jan 03, 2021
Jana G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We love doing these boxes! It is the third mystery box subscription we have tried, and we like it the best! It is challenging without being discouraging....a few of the puzzles in the other boxes we tried didn't even make sense AFTER we were told the solution. If you are an experienced mystery gamer, do the advanced version that some puzzles offer. We haven't taken advantage of the play list OR the food suggestions while doing each box, but plan to on our next one - to really make an event out of it! Thanks, Conundrum Box folks!

Verified Purchase

SO. MUCH. FUN!!!

Dec 27, 2020
Michele D.
21 Reviews
25 Pictures
42 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 28 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

BEST puzzle box EVER!!! And, I've subscribed to a BUNCH. I was so surprised and delighted to see that it comes with a playlist and recipes for dinner, dessert and drinks. I am having a total blast playing my first box and had to stop and leave a review...it's that good ;-) I am finding it to be a great game on my own but could easily share it with the hubby, too. Now, I am regretting buying it bi-monthly instead of monthly...LOL

Verified Purchase

Fun family activity

Dec 27, 2020
Amber S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 20 days