The Conundrum Box

by The Conundrum Box
Escape boredom! A monthly adventure box, part escape room, part choose-your-own adventure!
61 reviews

Plans as low as

$25.00/ box

Buying Options

The Conundrum Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review
61

A lifesaver during quarantine.

Jul 08, 2020
John Z.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My wife loves escape rooms. With the attack of the 'Rona, and having a toddler around, escape rooms are tough to make time for. Originally, I signed up for a three month subscription. After playing through the first box, we quickly upped it to a year long subscription, and have bought almost every available previous box.
We love the puzzles, and how incremental the hint system is. We look forward to the boxes arrival every month.
We also love how responsive the creators of the box have been when we have had questions.

Verified Purchase

Great Box!

Apr 07, 2020
Isabella B.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Fun, interactive and challenging box that allows you to solve puzzles and put your mind to use, go on adventures around the world and find out the answer to unsolved mysteries. Great for families!

Verified Purchase

A Great Mystery Box Choice!

Jan 03, 2021
Jana G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We love doing these boxes! It is the third mystery box subscription we have tried, and we like it the best! It is challenging without being discouraging....a few of the puzzles in the other boxes we tried didn't even make sense AFTER we were told the solution. If you are an experienced mystery gamer, do the advanced version that some puzzles offer. We haven't taken advantage of the play list OR the food suggestions while doing each box, but plan to on our next one - to really make an event out of it! Thanks, Conundrum Box folks!

Verified Purchase

SO. MUCH. FUN!!!

Dec 27, 2020
Michele D.
31 Reviews
39 Pictures
52 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 28 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

BEST puzzle box EVER!!! And, I've subscribed to a BUNCH. I was so surprised and delighted to see that it comes with a playlist and recipes for dinner, dessert and drinks. I am having a total blast playing my first box and had to stop and leave a review...it's that good ;-) I am finding it to be a great game on my own but could easily share it with the hubby, too. Now, I am regretting buying it bi-monthly instead of monthly...LOL

Verified Purchase

Fun family activity

Dec 27, 2020
Amber S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 20 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is a fun family activity! We enjoyed all the puzzles and the hints were nice :) There was a mixture of difficulty levels which worked great. Our 9 yr old enjoyed doing this as well. If you are playing with younger kids they may get bored with the story, but us adults enjoyed it :)

Verified Purchase

Issues resolved quickly

Dec 19, 2020
Teran P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 days
Overall

After further inspection the communication issue was not the sellers fault. They never received my first message and the second one didn't go to my inbox. The issue was resolved quickly and the seller was very polite and helpful.

Verified Purchase
The Conundrum Box said...Dec 19, 2020

Hello Teran, I think there may be a misunderstanding here. Please check your spam folders. We replied back to the one email we got from you within 24 hours and had applied the refund you requested at that time (there should be a second email confirming this as well). Please consider changing your review. Thank you and have a nice day!

BE WARE - Box is not in a shipping box

Dec 01, 2020
Mary O.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 6 days
Overall
Shipping

be aware that the Conumdrum box is shipped as is - it is not packaged in a shipping box. The label is pasted right on the box and when I tried to remove it, it peeled away information that was on the box. The person the gift is
for picks up the mail so the game is not a surprise and it was raining so the box got wet.
be careful if you wanted this for a gift
i have not opened it yet so cannot review product

Verified Purchase
The Conundrum Box said...Dec 01, 2020

Hello Mary, We feel as if this review was given in an unreasonable amount of time. Your first email to us was four hours before this review, and in that short period of time, we did not have time to reply to your concern. (I am replying just minutes after you wrote this review, so not even half the workday has gone by yet.) We are a small family-owned business of two people, and although we are usually pretty fast about replying to all communication (as noted by many of our reviews), under four hours would be quick for even much larger companies with full-time customer support staff. I wish you would have waited for our reply since I think this is...

An Absolute must if you want a challenge

Oct 17, 2020
Yvonne R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love this subscription box, it is exactly what I was looking for and i love the little envelops and all the little details they put into it and being able to use the website for clues is also so interactive . LOVE THIS BOX

Verified Purchase

Made quarantine fun!

Oct 10, 2020
Susan F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Love you guys! I plan on resubscribing when I can!! I just have to save money since jobs are scarce right now! These are great for date nights (minus my husband being a puzzle solving hog)!!!

Verified Purchase
The Conundrum Box said...Oct 17, 2020

Thanks Susan! One of these days we will make one that is a competition, and then you can just have your own puzzles to compete against him! :)

We love it!

Oct 05, 2020
Nicole M.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 5 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We started this over the weekend. Great family fun!!!

Verified Purchase

Great First box

Aug 26, 2020
Christine W.
4 Reviews
3 Pictures
15 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I had heard many times about the another box and I was skeptical I'm trying it because one case spanned over several boxes. So I went on a search for a box that was one case per box and came across conundrum box. I was very happy with the Box. My daughter and I daughter had a great time solving it. I even adapted it to Virtual play to be able to play on Zoom with my mother and sister. I can't wait until the next box.

Verified Purchase

Great ambience for a game night

Jun 06, 2020
Agnes P.
3 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Not only are these games well-constructed and clever, there are cocktail recipes and playlists included for each pack! This series is obviously created by someone who actually likes playing puzzle games. Also, their responses to queries are prompt and useful.

Verified Purchase

Love it.

May 16, 2020
Angela L.
6 Reviews
Subscribed for 23 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was looking through everything in the box (not opening anything vital yet) and had the thought that this is absolutely genius. I love stories and solving mysteries, this box promises to satisfy both.

Verified Purchase

Loved this!

May 13, 2020
Lauren S.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 22 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was a great, engaging and fun activity that my husband and I completed. We were missing a page and emailed to ask for it, we were sent the page within minutes of us emailing. Would recommend this for anyone.

Verified Purchase

Conundrum

May 10, 2020
Nichole M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 22 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Box had a high standard to live up to (avid Brain Chase fan). Products were cheaply made, not treasure or memento worthy. Game play, however, top notch. Appreciate the playlist and interactive gameplay with materials and computer. Kept two teens engaged and challenged. Which is itself high praise!

Verified Purchase

AWESOME!

May 04, 2020
Taylor A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 16 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is a very well curated box! The puzzles are great and you can tell a lot of thought has gone into this. The puzzles are hard but not too tough to figure out. Of course, the interactive online page allows you to get hints where you are stuck. Highly recommend this box!

Verified Purchase

Exactly What We Needed for Date Night

May 02, 2020
Mandy B.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was planning on writing a three or four star review when we found that one of our letters was missing a key piece. I expected to have to wait for at least 24 hours before hearing back and getting the missing printout. BUT they got us the missing piece in 20 minutes and we were able to keep playing. This was super engaging and challenging. And honestly, I'm bummed that I cannot get more than one box a month because this will be date night for a while! Thank you so much!!! It's been monotonous with covid19 and trying to find date night ideas that are at home, but this took us to another world entirely. We had SO MUCH FUN!

Verified Purchase

A fun and challenging subscription!

Apr 24, 2020
Emily C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 24 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We had a great time playing this box! I'm living with my sister and BIL and we have been plowing through puzzle rooms in a box since stay at home started. We've tried them from at least four different publishers and this one is on par with our other favorite brand. We do it with the three of us and the puzzles were a good difficulty level for our skills. I can't recall if the game page had a way to reprint consumables but I'd love that option when possible. This box is on the more expensive side and it makes it easier to justify if we can pass it on to a friend after (and maybe get them hooked too!) ;)

Verified Purchase
The Conundrum Box said...Apr 24, 2020

Thank you Emily!
I am glad you liked the game! Your review made me realize that we did not put up the file for that consumable puzzle in Emerald Isle, so I will have it up by tonight! You will be able to find it on the extras page. Just in case you did not see it, there is a reset list on that page as well, and it explains how to "reset" the other consumable in this game. Again, thank you for the wonderful review, and have a great day!

Family Fun!

Mar 29, 2020
Elizabeth G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Shipping was fast and the experience was amazing! My husband and I used it as a Saturday stay-home date. We really enjoyed storyline and the puzzles. Highly recommend !

Verified Purchase

These games are so much fun!

Mar 13, 2020
Gladys H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I bought a season for my husband as a Christmas gift, and it was fantastic. For 3 months the gift kept coming. We took our time with the game and enjoyed the process. No only the game, but the customer service, and turn-around email response was excellent. Highly recommended!!! Your inner Private Detective will be so pleased.

Verified Purchase

Favorite Subscription Box!

Mar 12, 2020
Mark G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My favorite subscription box! Love the unique storylines, puzzles, ciphers, tasks, everything! So much fun!

Verified Purchase

Fun family activity

Feb 11, 2020
Dona G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Great ciphers and attention to detail. I also bought the special boxes for Christmas and Valentines which were so much fun for the family. I also had a question and got a quick reply. Great customer service.

Verified Purchase

Great!

Jan 09, 2020
Emily M.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Worth it.

Verified Purchase

Great Addition to the Monthly Box Game W

Nov 17, 2019
James N.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We have played all of the games from these guys and they just keep getting better and better. Unlike a few other boxes we've played where the game play and storyline seem a bit disconnected, Conundrum does a great job of weaving the two together extremely well. I will note that there are usually more puzzles than the standard game, which I personally love. I'll also note, unlike one big name mystery game, each of these boxes has a definitive end, even if it shares an overarching storyline with later games. It's always frustrating to get to the end of a game and not realize it's the end because it is done part of a larger story and done poorly, thankfully there is none of that nonsense here. I would highly suggest giving this one a shot if you're looking for a fun mystery/escape room in a box style of game.

Surprise inside

Feb 01, 2021
Susan C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality

Just finished our second box, Nottinghill Jail, my mom and I did it together and I won’t give away any secrets but there was one new twist/clue placement that was a super surprise. I’ve done these types of boxes for a few years and this was a first! Thanks for changing it up a bit!

Verified Purchase