The Conundrum Box

by The Conundrum Box
Escape boredom! A monthly adventure box, part escape room, part choose-your-own adventure!
61 reviews

Plans as low as

$25.00/ box

Buying Options

The Conundrum Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review
61

First time review

Jan 24, 2021
Dianne C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Interactive game play was different.. I liked it.. nice challenging puzzles and some easy. Waiting for next box to see how the game continues but stays separated....

Verified Purchase

Typos

Jan 08, 2021
Lauren
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We did 3 boxes, and enjoyed them BUT the last 2 had typos that severely affected our ability to complete the puzzle. The hints solved the issue, but we are stubborn, so it added about an hour to each puzzle.

Verified Purchase

pressured

Oct 23, 2020
Wendy N.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 8 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

haven't had the time to do the box yet, but they are on me for a review. So, it came quickly and looks great. I am excited to gather my friends and play through.

Verified Purchase

Website will not work

Sep 27, 2020
Christy R.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I bought a gift subscription of this box for my husband as a gift. When we went to do the box the website that is given in the instructions could not be found. We have tried several times on several different devices but cannot get the website to come up. In order to do this box you have to go to the website and type in the code to know how to start. Because we can't get the website to load we can't do the box. I am so disappointed.

Verified Purchase
The Conundrum Box said...Oct 17, 2020

Hi Christy, it has been a few weeks since we reached out to you via email after you left this review and we hope you were able to play and enjoy the game since you were able to access the game after we communicated. We are already changing future games to mention that the www part of a URL is important and that the full URL mentioned in the starting note must be used as written. Again, we hope you enjoyed the game once you accessed it!

A really good escape room-like game!

Sep 23, 2019
David B.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was a good time, we played Mardi Gras Mystery. We enjoyed the depth and content of the game. It was a little long, but the puzzles were great. We liked the extras features like the drink recipes and playlists. We are excited to play the next one!

Date Night for Old Empty Nesters

Jan 24, 2021
Jenny P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality

The story was way too long. I spent more time reading the story than playing the game. Most of the puzzles were fun and great to figure out. Except that last one to complete the game. After needing the hint that tells me the answer, I STILL don't know how you came up with that one!! Over all....it did exactly what we purchased it for....us 2 recently and newly empty nesters to find and do something together that isn't just to make the other happy...like watching sports or going out to eat and spending a bloody fortune on date night. I had to make hubby do the first game like this with me....now he watches for the mail delivery closer than i do....hoping that another one arrives!! Lol

Verified Purchase

Great activity while apart

Nov 22, 2020
Elizabeth S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Loved it! Bought both myself and my BFF a subscription so we could play together while apart - and it worked great! Totally works on zoom calls bc you need to navigate a website anyway. Challenging tasks that are not frustrating bc there are small clues that still let you keep working at solving the riddle. Easily spreads out to two evening sessions if you want. It would be great if there was a zoom/ virtual hangout discount bc most people can’t hangout with people outside their household, so we have to buy duplicates to play one game. Like maybe have the pieces sent to one house and the other half sent to the second?

Good Over Zoom!

Sep 27, 2020
Judy F.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We played this during quarantine with some friends, but via Zoom! We both got the Storyteller box, and we took turns reading to each other and solving puzzles. There were puzzles for all of us, so we all got to contribute in our own way. And if we needed, the hints came in handy. There were a few times we’d do half and then my friends would finish it because they figured out what was next. And the “big puzzle” was great we could work together. Definitely recommend this if you are wanting a fun night socially distance gaming with friends - especially if you can use Zoom to FaceTime or something like that.

Great puzzles with a wonderful story

Mar 15, 2020
Dustin B.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My wife and I love these boxes. We really enjoy almost all of the puzzles that come in them (obviously no one will love each and every puzzle), We love the fact that the website provides such great hints if we do ever get stuck on something, including the answer if you're really stuck - although if you're going through the hints, you'll likely be able to figure it out long before the solution hint. A few of the boxes are completely stand alone, but some of them within the series actually require items from previous boxes, which is also fun.
Having said all of that, the best part of the Conundrum Boxes, by far is the story that goes with each of them. Like most boxes, you enter in your answers on a website, but the website actually walks you through an enjoyable story as part of the puzzle solving. The stories are interesting, funny, and are a fantastic addition to the mystery boxes. Having tried other services, we find that the story that goes with the boxes is the primary reason we still subscribe to Conundrum over any of the others.

Fun Date Night In

Jan 21, 2021
Brittany M.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was our first box and we loved it! We did Escape from Nottingham Jail. What a fun way to do an escape room from our own home. I liked the not timed aspect. The clues were pretty good. A couple stumped us but the bonus clues helped us figure it out. We tried to find the playlist but couldn’t find where to get those, or the current menus. The website says there is a repacking list included in the box which we also did not get. Great experience over all. We look forward to others in the future

The Conundrum Box said...Jan 21, 2021

Hi Brittany, we are glad you had a fun time! I just noticed what you said about the playlist, menus, and reset list - these are all located on the EXTRAS page when you are in the game. (In Escape from Nottingham Jail, it is the second to last page in the drop-down menu / left bar menu.) On that page, you will be able to find all three of these things! (And in future games as well.)

Highly recommend!!

Jun 06, 2020
Gail M.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This small puzzle company is big on fun! The puzzles are interesting, colorful, different! Not too easy, not too hard. The stories are cool and the props are extra fun. Keep em coming!!