The Initiate

The Initiate

by Box of Shadows
Welcome to Box of Shadows; a nature inspired subscription for seekers new to a pagan path!

Plans as low as

$27.25/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (616)

  1. Reviews for this product (210)
  2. Reviews for this seller (406)

Nice box

Apr 26, 2019
Overall
Jessica W.
1 Review
1 Picture
34 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

I've been a practicing witch for 26 years, so I've seen, heard, read or done most stuff. This box was a nice collection of items that actually ended up being very fitting for my current situation at home. It was nice to get some new energy flowing, and I got a book I've never heard of, so that makes me happy too!

Verified Purchase

Varied and interesting items

Jul 12, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Joanne C.
5 Reviews
3 Pictures
7 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

Update: Nov 2020
I cannot say enough good things about the Priestess level of Box of Shadows. It's informing and supporting my magical and pagan practice. I couldn't afford to continue all the subscription boxes I had, but I kept this one. It's that good. It fills both my self-care and spiritual needs.
I subscribed to the Priestess Box, and I have to say I am surprised each time. I love it. From the well-written newsletter that includes lore, rituals, spells, and sometimes recipes, to the beautiful and interesting variations of incense and useful objects. I am never disappointed, and always learning.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jul 14, 2020

Thank you for sharing your experience, Joanne. We hope to remain a part of your practice. Blessed Be!

The best box!

Nov 14, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Erin L.
1 Review
3 Pictures
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

I bought my first box and i absolutely love it. The products were amazing. I will definitely be getting more!! There was a great assortment of goodies in the box, all of it was stuff I didnt already have in my collection yet.

Verified Purchase

Terrible Customer Service

Apr 30, 2022
Overall
Ladonna H.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 16 days

I accidentally ordered 2 weeks earlier than I wanted to, and I spent 5 days messaging the seller to get my money back cuz my account was overdrawn, and all they did was send me a link that didn't even work to their terms and conditions. This company processes you. They don't treat you like a human, so if you have questions or concerns don't even bother trying to message them cuz they're not gonna answer you, and if they do it's not going to make any sense, like you should see what they sent me, it's not even a full sentence.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...May 04, 2022

Hi LaDonna! We are so sorry to hear that your experience with our company has not met your expectations. Customer satisfaction is our top priority, and we are genuinely concerned that this wasn't demonstrated here. We understand your frustration and would love the opportunity to regain your trust. Our deepest apologies for any inconvenience we have caused you. Please let us know if you have any additional questions, concerns, or comments.

My favorite subscription box <3

Apr 15, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Ashley M.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 26 days

As someone who is coming into her craft in her early 30s, I've been looking for inspiration and ideas on how to further my knowledge. I figured a subscription box would be a great idea! I am over the moon that I chose to go with Box of Shadows Initiate's box. I especially love the monthly themes (April's being all about Beltane!) and the informational pamphlet that comes with the box that educates the receiver how they can use each item. I love the box so much, I decided to just go all the way and get the biggest box they offer. Don't shop around, this is the one for all your witchy needs!

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Apr 18, 2022

Thank you for your glowing review, Ashley! We are truly blessed to have you as a member of our Circle.

Perfect for beginners!

Nov 24, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tasha M.
4 Reviews
3 Pictures
Subscribed for 2 months

This was my first box and it was perfect for a beginner like me. Everything was perfectly packed for shipping and it arrived quickly. Products are great...can't wait for my next box!

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jan 16, 2022

We are so thrilled to hear that, Tasha! Thank you for being a part of Box of Shadows.

Yule (Priestess) Box

Dec 18, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Constance C.
1 Review
1 Picture
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 7 months

I thought the Yule box was nice. I really love the Garnet obelisk as it is my birthstone. The Yule candle and jasmine incense smell really nice as does the cedar cleansing bundle. The only complaint I have about how this box was curated is that it has 2 incense holders which I really don’t need anymore of. The only other problem that I have is that the post says it was sent on 12/7 as priority mail 2 day. I just received my box today which is 12/17.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Dec 18, 2020

Thanks for your feedback, Constance! Unfortunately, there isn't much we can do regarding delivery once a package is in the hands of USPS. Due to the current health crisis, many shipping platforms, including USPS, are experiencing delays. We appreciate your patience with this matter. Thank you for being a part of Box of Shadows.

First Box

Jan 15, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Secret S.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

I love the items I got. I would have liked to see a few more items. I like the monthly reflect card. The sample rituals are good too.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jan 16, 2022

Thanks for your feedback & welcome to the Circle!

Reported to BBB

Nov 20, 2018
Overall
Katie J.
1 Review
11 Helpful
Subscribed for 13 days

So now this company saying I threatened them. I demanded a refund. Sure their policy states no refunds but I didn’t think I would pay $45 for nothing but cheap stuff. What a joke. It’s funny how all their recent reviews are from unsatisfied customers. Karma will get them. Hope they go out of buisiness. Anyone scamming people like this company should be ashamed of themselves. I will not stop warning others

Verified Purchase

No shipment....seller unresponsive

Feb 06, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Alexis J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I wish I could leave a decent review but I prepaid for 6 shipments and they can't even get me 1. I have reached out to the seller and they don't respond. I don't know what else to do but at this point I feel like I'm out nearly $200 and the seller shows no intention of making it right :(

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Feb 11, 2022

Hi Alexis! Your January package was returned to us due to an incorrect address but hasn't yet reached our warehouse. In these cases, we typically reach out to the member to reship, but it looks like Cratejoy has already taken care of your issue. Your February box shipped as scheduled and is still in transit. We ask that you keep an eye on your tracking for its delivery. Please understand that once packages are in the hands of the carrier, delivery is out of our hands, but we are happy to replace/reship any missing packages.

great box+craft level appropriate

Dec 05, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sera H.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

i think between ordering the initiate abd getting it, myy craft went up a level. gre3at box though.
ps. how do I move up a level

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jan 16, 2022

Thanks for your feedback, Sera. Manage your subscriptions from the "My Subscriptions" page of your account. Hope this helps!

Don't waste your money

Mar 18, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jordan R.
1 Review
8 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

Honestly, I'm pretty disappointed. My favorite part of the box was the Modern Magick candle, but everything else was cheap and I could've purchase it for far less than the box total. I'm supposed to be getting my second box soon but I just received an email saying that my order should never have been gone through because they were already at their capacity for orders, which makes no sense because I already received one of my three boxes. They gave me a 40% coupon for my next renewal, even though I already placed a review saying I wouldn't renew so that was also a slap in the face.

Verified Purchase

Dissappointed

Nov 19, 2018
Overall
Valerie T.
7 Reviews
14 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

This month's box was pitiful. All the products were cheap and there were not very many. I will be cancelling my subscription.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Nov 19, 2018

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your November box. The products in our boxes typically exceed the price of the box itself. Our team works hard to provide a consistent experience each month; from the carefully selected items to all the information included in our Seeker's Guide. Cleary, we've missed the mark with you this time. We hope we have the opportunity to make it up to you in the future.

Very disappointed

Mar 14, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Ashley T.
4 Reviews
7 Helpful
Subscribed for 16 days

I was very disappointed that's all I can say about this box just absolutely disappointing

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Mar 17, 2020

We're very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your March box. It seems we've missed the mark with you this time but we hope to have the opportunity to make it up to you next month. If you have any specific notes on how we can improve going forward, please feel free to reach out to us directly.

Best ever

Nov 23, 2018
Overall
Julie H.
1 Review
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

I was really excited to get my first box!! When it arrived and I opened it the bottle of oil was broken. I emailed and stated that although the bottle was broken I love the way the oil smells.
I got a quick response and an apology. I've NEVER had customer service this great and quick.
I appreciate you immensely!! I am a forever customer

Verified Purchase

The Initiate arrived dec 9 2018

Dec 10, 2018
Overall
Alexandria G.
2 Reviews
7 Helpful
Subscribed for 27 days

This is my first box opening of The Initiate Box. It arrived on time and everything was intact. The cost compared to other similar companies is amazing as well as I was pleasantly surprised at the amount of items I received for only paying $25. I received an amazing smelling smudge stick, a candle votive, a pendulum, a garnet bracelet as well as an awesome looking alter box and some frankincense incense cones. Everything smells so good, I am beyond pleased and will be looking into other boxes this company has to offer.

Verified Purchase

Apr 24, 2019
Overall
Trisha F.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 8 months

I love the iniate and the priestess box. It is a lil pricey but worth all the goodies you get. You can tell they care what they send out

Verified Purchase

"Revamp" ruined it

Dec 19, 2017
Overall
Kristie B.
6 Reviews
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 7 months

This used to be a great subscription. It was revamped in November though and the value to cost ratio is completely changed. All three box tiers get very close to the same value despite three different costs. Prices are also raised for new incoming customers. Has a Facebook group for feedback but either ignores suggestions for improvement or removes the post under false pretenses. Please save your money.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Dec 19, 2017

Our Circle Members are very important to us. Feedback from all channels is taken into consideration when curating your experience. We seem to have missed the mark this time. However, we are working very hard to make sure that we continue to provide the experience our Circle Members have become accustomed to.

Terrible

Apr 16, 2017
Overall
Kenneth C.
1 Review
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

The first box contained broken items. After contacting the seller, I was able to get it replaced but not with a like item.
When I tried to cancel the sub, I was still made to pay for the next box before I was able to do so.
Next box came with a bundle of Italian Cypress labeled as a Sage smudge stick. Aside from the fact that it was so obviously not Sage, Italian Cypress is toxic when burned.
I'm shocked by the low quality of the items, the lack of responsive customer care, and the harmful materials and instructions.
Do not waste your money on this service. Go spend your money at a local shop and invest in your own regional economy.

Verified Purchase

Missing items

May 13, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Grace W.
3 Reviews
6 Helpful
Subscribed for 22 days

I’ve contacted the seller to try to resolve this, and nothing. I was willing to give them a chance to make up for the missing items right before I gave them a negative review and canceling my subscription. Apparently bad reviews and canceled subscriptions still aren’t worth sending missing items. $43 is a lot of money to spend.. Especially when you don’t get all the items you paid for. EDIT: seller finally reached out to me and did not offer to replace missing item, but to give me a lousy discount on another box. Hell no I wouldn’t do that.. I’m not getting scammed again. Avoid this company like the plague.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...May 18, 2020

Greetings! We are sorry your box arrived with a missing item and have since reached out to you regarding this issue. We appreciate your patience as it may take up to 24 hours to receive a response from us.

Unfortunate Disappointment

Nov 20, 2018
Overall
Megan A.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 14 days

I was excited to get the box, till I opened it. The paper quality of the spell was nice and the candle and essential oil wasn’t bad. The most expensive retail item was the journal, it was cute but the incense was cheap and the cross stone I could get at Walmart. This box was a miss, I don’t know if I’ll try it again.

Verified Purchase

Love it!!!

Apr 23, 2019
Overall
Denene M.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

These boxes are amazingly unique and great. I love them!

Verified Purchase

Disapointing

Dec 14, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Angelika D.
1 Review
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 29 days

I was really looking forward, but was disapointed☹

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Dec 15, 2019

We're very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your December box. As you may know, we provide tools for witches of many paths and modalities. Many of whom do not have the same access to metaphysical stores and resources that others may have. This means that some items may not always fall into every Circle Member's realm of work. We always recommend passing these items along to a fellow witch in need. We've missed the mark with you this time but we hope to have the opportunity to make it up to you next month. If you have any specific notes on how we can improve going forward, please feel free to reach out to us directly.

Amazing

Apr 24, 2019
Overall
Deborah B.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 years

I can't say enough about your BOS. I have received them for almost a year now and love when I get that email that lets me know it's on it's way!
Items are careful packed and each box is contains so many wonderful items!

Verified Purchase

Great customer service

Feb 15, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Hope L.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 months

I had a problem with February's box. The company was quick to respond and rectify the situation. March's box was great. I will continue to be a subscriber of this box, and will likely move back up from the initiate to the next level.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Feb 19, 2020

Greetings Hope! It sounds like your February shipment wasn't packed according to our standards and may be missing some items. We will be reaching out to you directly regarding this issue.