🌷20% Off First Box From 3/24 - 3/27! Shop the Spring Collection🌷

The Initiate

The Initiate

by Box of Shadows
Welcome to Box of Shadows; a nature inspired subscription for seekers new to a pagan path!

Plans as low as

$27.25/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (625)

  1. Reviews for this product (213)
  2. Reviews for this seller (412)

We have a winner

Jan 22, 2023
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Jason C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

This subscription, Box of Shadows: The Initiate, was purchased for my wife. She absolutely loves it. She gets very excited for each package because it comes with something that supplements her current connection and/or gives her more to learn about. She will be continuing this subscription and referring it to others

Verified Purchase

Nonexistent customer service

Nov 23, 2022
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Curation
Leyna M.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I wanted to skip a box which was set to renew November 15. I first sent a request on October 27. Cratejoy automatically sends reminders to the seller after 2 days, so two more follow-ups were sent, on October 29 and 31. I also put in a new request on October 29, and two more follow-ups were sent by Cratejoy in that thread, on October 31 and November 2. On November 14 I sent a final request to skip the shipment and created a support ticket. I was still charged on November 15 and no response from the seller at any point. I have now cancelled my subscription, obviously. The first box itself was fine but a bit overpriced for what you get, compared to other witchy subscription boxes on here. Not worth it for the customer service.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Dec 06, 2022

Hi Leyna! It looks like your request didn't reach our inbox. Although that is no excuse for the lack of response, convenience is our top priority. That is why subscription terms can be managed through the Cratejoy portal at any time. This includes the option to skip a shipment. These tools are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Exactly what I needed

Jun 13, 2022
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Lauren S.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 12 days

I just got my first box this week I feel like it was exactly what I needed. Shipped out fast had literature explaining everything as well. I look forward to next months box

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Aug 16, 2022

Thank you for your kind words, Lauren. Blessed Be!

My favorite subscription box <3

Apr 15, 2022
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Ashley M.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 26 days

As someone who is coming into her craft in her early 30s, I've been looking for inspiration and ideas on how to further my knowledge. I figured a subscription box would be a great idea! I am over the moon that I chose to go with Box of Shadows Initiate's box. I especially love the monthly themes (April's being all about Beltane!) and the informational pamphlet that comes with the box that educates the receiver how they can use each item. I love the box so much, I decided to just go all the way and get the biggest box they offer. Don't shop around, this is the one for all your witchy needs!

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Apr 18, 2022

Thank you for your glowing review, Ashley! We are truly blessed to have you as a member of our Circle.

Terrible Customer Service

Apr 30, 2022
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
Ladonna H.
1 Review
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 16 days

I accidentally ordered 2 weeks earlier than I wanted to, and I spent 5 days messaging the seller to get my money back cuz my account was overdrawn, and all they did was send me a link that didn't even work to their terms and conditions. This company processes you. They don't treat you like a human, so if you have questions or concerns don't even bother trying to message them cuz they're not gonna answer you, and if they do it's not going to make any sense, like you should see what they sent me, it's not even a full sentence.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...May 04, 2022

Hi LaDonna! We are so sorry to hear that your experience with our company has not met your expectations. Customer satisfaction is our top priority, and we are genuinely concerned that this wasn't demonstrated here. We understand your frustration and would love the opportunity to regain your trust. Our deepest apologies for any inconvenience we have caused you. Please let us know if you have any additional questions, concerns, or comments.

First Box

Jan 15, 2022
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†
Curation
Secret S.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

I love the items I got. I would have liked to see a few more items. I like the monthly reflect card. The sample rituals are good too.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jan 16, 2022

Thanks for your feedback & welcome to the Circle!

No shipment....seller unresponsive

Feb 06, 2022
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Curation
Alexis J.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I wish I could leave a decent review but I prepaid for 6 shipments and they can't even get me 1. I have reached out to the seller and they don't respond. I don't know what else to do but at this point I feel like I'm out nearly $200 and the seller shows no intention of making it right :(

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Feb 11, 2022

Hi Alexis! Your January package was returned to us due to an incorrect address but hasn't yet reached our warehouse. In these cases, we typically reach out to the member to reship, but it looks like Cratejoy has already taken care of your issue. Your February box shipped as scheduled and is still in transit. We ask that you keep an eye on your tracking for its delivery. Please understand that once packages are in the hands of the carrier, delivery is out of our hands, but we are happy to replace/reship any missing packages.

Perfect for beginners!

Nov 24, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Tasha M.
4 Reviews
3 Pictures
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

This was my first box and it was perfect for a beginner like me. Everything was perfectly packed for shipping and it arrived quickly. Products are great...can't wait for my next box!

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jan 16, 2022

We are so thrilled to hear that, Tasha! Thank you for being a part of Box of Shadows.

great box+craft level appropriate

Dec 05, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Curation
Sera H.
2 Reviews
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

i think between ordering the initiate abd getting it, myy craft went up a level. gre3at box though.
ps. how do I move up a level

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jan 16, 2022

Thanks for your feedback, Sera. Manage your subscriptions from the "My Subscriptions" page of your account. Hope this helps!

Great πŸ‘πŸ½

Oct 03, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Janiel H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I am very happy with this monthly box! I am so excited to see what each month brings! Definitely recommend it!

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jan 16, 2022

Thanks for your glowing feedback. We are thrilled to have you be a part of our Circle!

Maybe try a higher tier πŸ€·πŸ½β€β™€οΈ

Nov 14, 2021
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
Curation
Julissa R.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

The items in the box seemed random and just thrown in. There was no description of what I received, I did reach out to see if it was a fluke but it’s been a few days and I haven’t received a response.
I honestly could have bought everything in my box for cheaper than what I paid for the box. That is not an exaggeration I looked up the items that had a brand name and had to bring the crystal to a store to help me determine what it was. I paid close to $40 for about $20 worth of product.
There are other subscription services on here like Tamed Wild that cost less and give you more value, explain what you get and how to use it too. I really wanted to like this company and saved to get it but unfortunately I am really disappointed.
Disclaimer I bought the initiate box (I believe that's the name the cheapest one) so maybe the more expensive ones have better quality. I do feel that whichever tier you get should have the same level of care put into the box though especially when other are doing it for less but that's just my opinion. If you try them out I'd recommend a higher tier and hopefully you don't have the same experience that I did.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Nov 15, 2021

Hi Julissa! We're very sorry to hear that this has been your experience with Box of Shadows. We actually do include a very detailed guide with each of our monthly offerings, so it's very disappointing that you didn't receive one with your first box. We understand that our curated boxes may not totally make sense without the guide. Our team will be following up with you directly to make sure you are sent one. Box of Shadows services pagans worldwide who do not have access to metaphysical stores, so we want to make sure each experience is an engaging one. Thank you for being part of our Circle.

Excited for it to come

Oct 05, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Bianca S.
1 Review

Haven't gotten it yet but I'm already excited for how good it'll be.

Box of Shadows said...Oct 17, 2021

We're just as excited for you to see it!

overall about the box.

Oct 12, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†β˜†
Curation
Wendy P.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 year

This box was not one my favorites I just wish it had like something else for Halloween theme. I wish we got mortal and pestle. I love the cinnamon broom and the sand. I not saying that the box is not nice I just wish I got a mortal and pestle . Thank Wendy p.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Oct 17, 2021

Hi Wendy! Thanks for the feedback. We all love a good mortar and pestle, right! Unfortunately, the best ones tend to be heavy and sizable -- too big for our monthly subscription boxes. Items like this are more likely to be included in our Goddess series {BIG} boxes. We may also offer these types of items in the BoS Apothecary. As a long-time subscriber, please feel free to reach out anytime with content ideas. We love hearing from our Circle!

The best box!

Nov 14, 2020
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Erin L.
1 Review
3 Pictures
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

I bought my first box and i absolutely love it. The products were amazing. I will definitely be getting more!! There was a great assortment of goodies in the box, all of it was stuff I didnt already have in my collection yet.

Verified Purchase

Restoring my natural self.

Jul 16, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Michelle P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 months

This year, to reconnect with my sense of spirituality that I'd given up on, my hubby bought me a Box of Shadows subscription. It is so nice to be getting back into practice and reconnecting with the natural world around me and every month I'm filled with joy getting a new box delivered and excited to see what it includes!

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jul 16, 2021

It truly fills our hearts to hear that. Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your practice, Michelle!

New Witch

Jul 16, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Kat A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

I am still gaining traction in my Craft and I love this box. The newsletter is always useful and the content is great. I’m excited each month to receive my next box. The herbs are great and I already use tools I’ve gotten all the time.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jul 16, 2021

We are so blessed to be a part of your practice, Kat. May this be just the beginning of a lifetime of growth. Blessed Be!

10/10 WOULD RECOMMEND

Jul 15, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Kylie W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

Absolutely amazing! I’ve been subscribed for two months now and I’ve loved everything that has come in the box!

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jul 16, 2021

Welcome to the Circle, Kylie! We are so blessed to be a part of your practice.

Grade A+

Jul 15, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Karen R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

I have thoroughly enjoyed every box I have gotten. I eapecially like the candles, incense and oils.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jul 16, 2021

Blessed Be, Karen! Thank you for welcoming Box of Shadows into your sacred space.

Excellent Box

Jul 14, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Janie B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

This was my 1st box and I loved the variety of items. The informational brochure was interesting and contained great tips. I live The Initiate as a new witch and can’t wait to receive my next box. I already recommended this subscription to my friends.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jul 16, 2021

Welcome to the Circle, Janie! We are deeply honored that you've made us a part of your practice.

Box of shadows is the best ever 😊❀️

Jul 14, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Hannah H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months

I look forward to my Box Of Shadows every month! The products are so amazing and very meaningful. I have learned to much about my craft with this subscription, and honestly it makes me feel so more confident in my practice. Every month it’s something new and it always relates to what’s going on. I love the thoughtfulness of the card that they add to the box to help you keep track of your growth such a neat idea! High quality products there’s a lot of intention that goes into these boxes you can definitely tell that they’re made with love!

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jul 16, 2021

From your lips to the ears of the Divine! We humbly accept such high praise, Hannah. Blessed Be!

Loooovvveee it

Jul 14, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Elise W.
1 Review

I absolutely love this box. I have gotten for over a year now and I will continue to buy it. It’s a pick me up that is welcome every month

Box of Shadows said...Jul 16, 2021

Thank you, Elise! We love hearing from the local members of our little coven!

My First Box of Shadows

Jul 12, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Deborah T.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 14 days

I got the box this past Thursday or Friday. I loved it and the theme. Funny thing the rune I drew that day was relating to harvest as well. Coincidence? Anyway, it was all good and I felt good all the rest of the day. I may have to subscribe again after I finish getting all the other boxes I ordered. Too many choices, too little money.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jul 16, 2021

Don't you just love when the Universe talks to us in that way. Can't wait to have you back in the Circle, Deborah!

Love this Box!

Jul 11, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
M P.
19 Reviews
9 Pictures
8 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

absolutely sweet box, very awesome first box, will update each box!
I'm grateful for the blessings that came in today, packed with good information and expansions.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jul 16, 2021

We're so grateful that Spirit brought you our way, Melissa!

Varied and interesting items

Jul 12, 2020
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…
Curation
Joanne C.
6 Reviews
3 Pictures
7 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

Update: Nov 2020
I cannot say enough good things about the Priestess level of Box of Shadows. It's informing and supporting my magical and pagan practice. I couldn't afford to continue all the subscription boxes I had, but I kept this one. It's that good. It fills both my self-care and spiritual needs.
I subscribed to the Priestess Box, and I have to say I am surprised each time. I love it. From the well-written newsletter that includes lore, rituals, spells, and sometimes recipes, to the beautiful and interesting variations of incense and useful objects. I am never disappointed, and always learning.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jul 14, 2020

Thank you for sharing your experience, Joanne. We hope to remain a part of your practice. Blessed Be!

My first box!

Jul 17, 2021
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Overall
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Shipping
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Quality
β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜†
Curation
Gabriela P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

I enjoyed the quality of the items and definitely enjoyed the description of each item.. at first I was thrown off, thinking that the box was bigger in the picrues. But than I fiddled with the contents and realized the items were genuine and authentic.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jul 18, 2021

Merry Meet Gabriela! Thank you so much for your kind words. We are honored to be a part of your spiritual journey.

Customers who bought this also bought...