The Initiate

The Initiate

by Box of Shadows
Welcome to Box of Shadows; a nature inspired subscription for seekers new to a pagan path!

Plans as low as

$27.25/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (616)

  1. Reviews for this product (210)
  2. Reviews for this seller (406)

Nice box

Apr 26, 2019
Overall
Jessica W.
1 Review
1 Picture
34 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

I've been a practicing witch for 26 years, so I've seen, heard, read or done most stuff. This box was a nice collection of items that actually ended up being very fitting for my current situation at home. It was nice to get some new energy flowing, and I got a book I've never heard of, so that makes me happy too!

Verified Purchase

Yule (Priestess) Box

Dec 18, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Constance C.
1 Review
1 Picture
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 7 months

I thought the Yule box was nice. I really love the Garnet obelisk as it is my birthstone. The Yule candle and jasmine incense smell really nice as does the cedar cleansing bundle. The only complaint I have about how this box was curated is that it has 2 incense holders which I really don’t need anymore of. The only other problem that I have is that the post says it was sent on 12/7 as priority mail 2 day. I just received my box today which is 12/17.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Dec 18, 2020

Thanks for your feedback, Constance! Unfortunately, there isn't much we can do regarding delivery once a package is in the hands of USPS. Due to the current health crisis, many shipping platforms, including USPS, are experiencing delays. We appreciate your patience with this matter. Thank you for being a part of Box of Shadows.

First Box

Jan 15, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Secret S.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

I love the items I got. I would have liked to see a few more items. I like the monthly reflect card. The sample rituals are good too.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jan 16, 2022

Thanks for your feedback & welcome to the Circle!

First box

Mar 18, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Chandra B.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

I am getting back into witchcraft, after taking time away. I just recently got my first box. I really liked what I got. It has been very helpful. The box was about cleaning, which at this time can be very nice to have.
I will say though I didn’t see a place to list any allergies. If the list of ingredients in each item could be put on a card that would be nice, or a place to put allergies on the form

Verified Purchase

Jun 18, 2018
Overall
Marilyn V.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 9 months

Each subsequent box is better than the last. So far I've received exactly what I need at the time. Love it.

Verified Purchase

Jan 19, 2019
Overall
Jacqueline B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months

i enjoyed the box a lot i learned some new things and its fun

Verified Purchase

The Initiate

Apr 24, 2019
Overall
Michelle G.
2 Reviews
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I got my first box which was the April box and I can honestly say this box is worth the monthly wait. I was excited to receive it and I was not let down. The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars is because I feel that shipping could be a bit cheaper as I'm from Canada so shipping is 25 dollars instead of 8 for local and I'd rather put that extra 17 dollars towards the next tier or extra items from the online store.

Verified Purchase

No Regrets

Sep 25, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tobanna B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 years

I'm very pleased with my subscription. Yes, many items included are pretty basic (candles, incense, etc.), but I usually learn something new with the inclusion of less common items, as well as the summary of information and spells. It has helped me add things to my practice and just keep the witchy vibe flowing!

Verified Purchase

Love the boxes I get. Interesting facts

Sep 26, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Janet G.
4 Reviews
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

I like the box. It provides helpful spells to try and review, I love everything I get. I am brand new to Wicca. That means I adore the newsletter! It’s very easy to read and try new spells.

Verified Purchase

Fabulous

Jun 19, 2018
Overall
Donna J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

Every box holds a pleasant surprise that is usually just what I need.

Verified Purchase

Good.

Aug 25, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Carolyn G.
6 Reviews
7 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

Good, will want to revisit again in the future

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Sep 11, 2020

We hope to see you in our Circle next month!

Great product

Sep 25, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kathlynn D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years

I've been getting this box for over a year now. I recently upgraded from The Initiate to The Priestess. Each box in unique. I've gotten candles, crystals, jewelry, totems, herbs, oils, and books. Each box is stamped with the level you have as well as having a color specific Seeker's Guide. There are a few times I wished for something more in the box, but I still like this one.
Shipping has been consistent and I can usually expect my box before my subscription renews. I have been disappointed a few times, but it was due to postal service rather than Box of Shadows themselves.

Verified Purchase

Great box for us witchy folk

Sep 25, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Heather L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

Great items included in this box. Arrived on time and in great condition. Will continue my subscription. Definitely helping me build my collection of items for my practice.

Verified Purchase

Box of Shadows

Sep 25, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Karen G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 years

Nice little box. Always love the boxes with a book! This months theme was dreams and this is the first book I have on dreams! Love it and love the other dream themed things in the box.

Verified Purchase

Like an intention of the month" in a box

Nov 20, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Heather W.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 4 months

I have been purchasing the Supreme box for four months now. I enjoy that each box has a different theme. The boxes include a book/journal, incense/spray/oil, jewelry and a "tool" for work on the theme and more.
The included items are of good quality and have always been of interest to me. I feel that witchy people of any stage of experience can enjoy.

Verified Purchase

Not bad

Feb 18, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jodi F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 17 days

Not a bad box for the price

Verified Purchase

Cultural Sensitivity

Feb 27, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kali R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

I like most of the items! My only issue was with the incense given the cultural significance surrounding it. I will not be using it since I try to keep away from anything sacred to other cultures. But I loved everything else that I received

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Feb 27, 2021

Greetings Kali! Thank you for voicing your concerns. Being a minority-led spiritual business, we are well aware of the closed practice of smudging and how the overharvesting of certain sacred herbs has impacted indigenous peoples and the environment. With respect to this, any herbs we offer are sourced ethically from well-vetted, local distributors. We have even gone as far as breaking relationships with vendors who are not transparent about their product's source. If you receive an item you are uncomfortable using, we ask that you dispose of it in the most respectful and earth-friendly way possible.

My first box!

Jul 17, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Gabriela P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

I enjoyed the quality of the items and definitely enjoyed the description of each item.. at first I was thrown off, thinking that the box was bigger in the picrues. But than I fiddled with the contents and realized the items were genuine and authentic.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jul 18, 2021

Merry Meet Gabriela! Thank you so much for your kind words. We are honored to be a part of your spiritual journey.

Great way to explore!

Sep 27, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sarah R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

Great way to sample new items and discover new spells and rituals. I love the flyer they include and the in depth description on the products that are included. I really look forward to receiving my box each month!

Verified Purchase

great little box

Sep 18, 2018
Overall
Chae'launa T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

cute box with nice items

Verified Purchase

Awesome box! Missing item!

Nov 17, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jacklyn B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I really did enjoy my box. When I opened it, I was going through the form they send with it that listed what the items were.. as I was reading I noticed I was missing the votive candel. I emailed immediately and have yet receive a response.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Nov 19, 2019

Greetings Jacklyn! Thank you for your review. We've reached out to you directly regarding the votive candle.

Wonderful

Apr 13, 2018
Overall
Nicole M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years

I'm always so excited when I get my monthly box. I subscribe to the Initiate and I've loved it so far. One of my favorite features are the inserts. I've kept every one I've gotten. I've enjoyed the info in them so much I bought the book some were pulling from!

Verified Purchase

Nice products but high shipping costs

Jan 31, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Karin S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

Love all of the products <3
But with the high shipping costs and taxes for customs to Europe it's not worth the price. Which makes me sad cause i really love the box. And i bought the Supreme box

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jan 31, 2021

Greetings Karin! Thank you for the feedback. Our team is always looking for ways to decrease our international shipping costs. We sincerely thank you for being a part of Box of Shadows and hope to see you back in our Circle one day soon.

amazing

Aug 22, 2017
Overall
Melissa C.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 months

Loved everything!! Was a tiny bit sad the crystal was a tiny tumble and ring. Was hoping for something a bit bigger.

Verified Purchase

Great company

Aug 16, 2018
Overall
Alaskancat A.
3 Reviews

I have had both the supreme and priestess box, I randomly cancel and resubscribe as finances/moods hit but to be honest I own a lot of the types of things they send in their boxes so I can't justify getting them all the time. That said, I have also shopped their site on occasion to get specific items and I LOVE everything I have gotten. The incense and Florida water are my absolute favorites. Loss of one star due to my personal preference of receiving too many things I don't use (for instance one box was full of teas which do not apply to me) but overall I would recommend this company to anyone starting out in their practice & trying to build their supplies!!! :)