The Initiate

The Initiate

by Box of Shadows
Welcome to Box of Shadows; a nature inspired subscription for seekers new to a pagan path!

Plans as low as

$27.25/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (616)

  1. Reviews for this product (210)
  2. Reviews for this seller (406)

Varied and interesting items

Jul 12, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Joanne C.
5 Reviews
3 Pictures
7 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

Update: Nov 2020
I cannot say enough good things about the Priestess level of Box of Shadows. It's informing and supporting my magical and pagan practice. I couldn't afford to continue all the subscription boxes I had, but I kept this one. It's that good. It fills both my self-care and spiritual needs.
I subscribed to the Priestess Box, and I have to say I am surprised each time. I love it. From the well-written newsletter that includes lore, rituals, spells, and sometimes recipes, to the beautiful and interesting variations of incense and useful objects. I am never disappointed, and always learning.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jul 14, 2020

Thank you for sharing your experience, Joanne. We hope to remain a part of your practice. Blessed Be!

The best box!

Nov 14, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Erin L.
1 Review
3 Pictures
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

I bought my first box and i absolutely love it. The products were amazing. I will definitely be getting more!! There was a great assortment of goodies in the box, all of it was stuff I didnt already have in my collection yet.

Verified Purchase

My favorite subscription box <3

Apr 15, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Ashley M.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 26 days

As someone who is coming into her craft in her early 30s, I've been looking for inspiration and ideas on how to further my knowledge. I figured a subscription box would be a great idea! I am over the moon that I chose to go with Box of Shadows Initiate's box. I especially love the monthly themes (April's being all about Beltane!) and the informational pamphlet that comes with the box that educates the receiver how they can use each item. I love the box so much, I decided to just go all the way and get the biggest box they offer. Don't shop around, this is the one for all your witchy needs!

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Apr 18, 2022

Thank you for your glowing review, Ashley! We are truly blessed to have you as a member of our Circle.

Perfect for beginners!

Nov 24, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tasha M.
4 Reviews
3 Pictures
Subscribed for 2 months

This was my first box and it was perfect for a beginner like me. Everything was perfectly packed for shipping and it arrived quickly. Products are great...can't wait for my next box!

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jan 16, 2022

We are so thrilled to hear that, Tasha! Thank you for being a part of Box of Shadows.

The Initiate arrived dec 9 2018

Dec 10, 2018
Overall
Alexandria G.
2 Reviews
7 Helpful
Subscribed for 27 days

This is my first box opening of The Initiate Box. It arrived on time and everything was intact. The cost compared to other similar companies is amazing as well as I was pleasantly surprised at the amount of items I received for only paying $25. I received an amazing smelling smudge stick, a candle votive, a pendulum, a garnet bracelet as well as an awesome looking alter box and some frankincense incense cones. Everything smells so good, I am beyond pleased and will be looking into other boxes this company has to offer.

Verified Purchase

Best ever

Nov 23, 2018
Overall
Julie H.
1 Review
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

I was really excited to get my first box!! When it arrived and I opened it the bottle of oil was broken. I emailed and stated that although the bottle was broken I love the way the oil smells.
I got a quick response and an apology. I've NEVER had customer service this great and quick.
I appreciate you immensely!! I am a forever customer

Verified Purchase

Apr 24, 2019
Overall
Trisha F.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 8 months

I love the iniate and the priestess box. It is a lil pricey but worth all the goodies you get. You can tell they care what they send out

Verified Purchase

Amazing

Apr 24, 2019
Overall
Deborah B.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 years

I can't say enough about your BOS. I have received them for almost a year now and love when I get that email that lets me know it's on it's way!
Items are careful packed and each box is contains so many wonderful items!

Verified Purchase

Love it!!!

Apr 23, 2019
Overall
Denene M.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

These boxes are amazingly unique and great. I love them!

Verified Purchase

Gift for the young witch

Mar 18, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Scott C.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

I got a 12 month subscription for my daughter as a Yule gift. 3 months in and she just loves them. She looks forward to it every month. They arrive like clock work every month and she is thrilled to open the box and explore each item, what they mean and how she can use them.

Verified Purchase

Apr 23, 2019
Overall
Christina H.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

I look forward to my box every month! It’s always full of excellent, quality tools and seasonal ideas

Verified Purchase

Favorite subscription of all time!

May 23, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kimberly H.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

I absolutely LOVE this box. From the educational brochure to the wide variety of surprises within. It is something I look forward to each and every month! They never disappoint - especially with the new information! This is my second year and I learn something new with each box and, even better, no repeats! That's hard to beat!

Verified Purchase

Love it but pricey

Sep 26, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rhi-anne R.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

The box is great if you're just starting out or getting back into your craft after being out of practice for a while. It includes some nice products that help in spellwork and casting and I love it. Is a bit pricey though.

Verified Purchase

Awesome!!

May 12, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Linnea R.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 months

I have yet to be disappointed! I look forward to my box each month!!

Verified Purchase

Love it!

Oct 09, 2018
Overall
Shannon G.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 years

I have been getting these boxes for a year now and every month it's something new. I love the items! These boxes are very well thought out.

Verified Purchase

I really enjoy this box.

Oct 06, 2018
Overall
Jennifer B.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 months

I'm new to witchcraft and this is an excellent way for me to explore new ideas and items. I like the printout with detailed information about the items and who to use them. It's always great to open the new box and see what fun and exciting things are inside. Thanks.

Verified Purchase

Absolutely in love!

Apr 23, 2019
Overall
Justin B.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

Last box was amazing!!! Can not wait to receive the next one such a great surprise each month! Also not badly priced at all.

Verified Purchase

Amazing!

Aug 21, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Shane G.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

First box from you guys. Was very pleased with everything I received. It was shipped and in my mailbox so quick. Highly recommend.

Verified Purchase

Oct 20, 2018
Overall
Angela
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

Really liked this month's Initiate box, especially the pendant. The small wooden box was also quite lovely.

Verified Purchase

Wonderful

Nov 27, 2018
Overall
Karen P.
4 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

Subscribed to the initiate box. Received 2 boxes and they are informative and great. Looking forward to the months ahead.

Verified Purchase

Great customer service

Feb 15, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Hope L.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 months

I had a problem with February's box. The company was quick to respond and rectify the situation. March's box was great. I will continue to be a subscriber of this box, and will likely move back up from the initiate to the next level.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Feb 19, 2020

Greetings Hope! It sounds like your February shipment wasn't packed according to our standards and may be missing some items. We will be reaching out to you directly regarding this issue.

Waiting

Sep 06, 2018
Overall
Bonnie
6 Reviews
Subscribed for 11 months

Haven’t received it yet but I’m sure I will love it patiently waiting

Verified Purchase

First Box

Mar 13, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Stephanie M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

I was sent exactly what I needed as if it was known. I am very happy with my box. Thank you 💕

Verified Purchase

Jan 24, 2017
Overall
Laura F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

Great content and communication.
Im a fan. 10/10 would subscribe again

Verified Purchase

Loved it!

Jan 17, 2017
Overall
Jamie S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months

I was so excited when the box arrived. Everything was packaged nicely. The variety was excellent. So happy with this purchase.

Verified Purchase