The Inky Box

The Inky Box

by The Inky Box
A monthly selection of lettering and calligraphy supplies, all hand-picked by The Inky Hand!

Plans as low as

$35.96/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (48)

Enjoyable

Dec 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kim R.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 12 days

I love the supplies that come in these boxes. The surprise of not knowing what's next but with the joy in knowing templates and tutorials come with it--so instead of just random supplies, it is a project to undertake knowing I can finish it with what is delivered. It is well thought out and thoroughly enjoyable. One of my favorite box subscriptions out of many I have. I recommend it!

Verified Purchase

Overall satisfied :)

Dec 10, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Landon D.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 months

As someone who merely dabbles in hand lettering, but is always interested in trying out some of the more popular products, this has been great! The pens in each box are always fun, and the cards have been filling up my back-up card collection quite well! There was one instance where shipping was going to be late (due to unforeseen circumstances) and the seller quickly alerted me about it as well as updating me about when the late orders shipped. It was very helpful.
I'm overall completely satisfied with the products I receive, and while I don't have a printer for the practice sheets nor often remember to use the tutorials that are available, I am still happy with the physical products I receive. :)

Verified Purchase

My first box

Jun 23, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lisa G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months

This is my first box and I am impressed with the quality of the items. The paint dot samples are very pigmented colours and I love that a full 6x8 15 sheet Strathmore mixed media pad was included.
Lisa G.

Verified Purchase

Not impressed

Jun 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jean M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

The first 2 out of three I got were sufficient. I wasn't exactly impressed, but it was about what I was expecting (some cheap products straight from Asia I'm assuming). However, my 3rd and last box (June 2021) was very disappointing. There wasn't a single item with ink. It's the INK box, not water color box. If I wanted watercolor, I would have got a watercolor box. And the watercolor products were mediocre at best, including a brush and tiny pallete that seemed extremely cheap to me. It was my final box, so I was pretty let down.

Verified Purchase
The Inky Box said...Jun 15, 2021

Hi Jean, I'm so sorry you were disappointed with The Inky Box. I assure you that all products that go into it are items from well-known companies within the lettering community. As far as the watercolor box, I only do those once or twice a year to change things up a little. Some people get bored with every box being pens and want to try something a little different. Hopefully I can win you back at some point!
-Sarah

Not

May 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Brenda L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

First off, Sarah is wonderful to work with. This is a gift for my daughter who has taken up lettering, and she has mixed feelings about what she receives. The first box was full sized, and she didn't appreciate the cards. The second we switched to mini, and she doesn't feel she receives any value over purchasing at the local art stores or online, like many have said. Plus, no matter the medium, the colors were nearly invisible! The third she is even more disappointed in. It feels like the seller buys the large packages of the products and gives away the colors she doesn't like. On that note, we are canceling.
I know a lot of her (and my) expectations come from my experience with another subscription box, where for $50/mo I received $250 in items. Inky Box, and probably most of the things on Crate Joy, are not that.

Verified Purchase
The Inky Box said...May 16, 2021

Hi Brenda,
I’m so sorry you were disappointed with your experience! You’re definitely right, I’m not able to operate like the huge subscription boxes that get most of their products for free or at a very deep discount in exchange for the exposure. I’ve been taking your and others’ feedback into consideration, and I’m hoping to win you back soon!

Love.

Mar 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Deirdre E.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 months

Love this box. All the pens are really fun. And the extras are always so cute.

Verified Purchase
The Inky Box said...Mar 11, 2021

Thank you Deirdre! So glad you love it!
-Sarah

Inky Box, limited variety

Feb 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tracy M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 29 days

The box was fine. Not horrible and not great. The variety seemed better suited to the mini box as I was expecting a better mix of ink and paper/misc. items. The February box is 90% ink with two note cards. I looked at past boxes before I ordered and based my ordering off of those. I did cancel my subscription as it was not quite what I was expecting. This might just be a personal preference. Going off the reviews, the box is perfect for many people.

Verified Purchase

Unsatisfied soon to be ex customer

Mar 22, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Susan C.
4 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

Ordered a three month subscription. Got my first box, never received a second and now they are saying they are preparing my third. No tracking on second package and have ignored my inquiry as to the issue. Bad business but the pens were cool, even though I could have bought them cheaper on Amazon. I like the surprise but if a company can't at least respond or get the product to you then it's a no go. I will be canceling after this review. I WILL BE DEMANDING A REFUND FROM CRATEJOY IF I don't receive both months I paid for without product.

Verified Purchase
The Inky Box said...Mar 22, 2021

Hi Susan,
I replied to your inquiry via Cratejoy on the 10th, but maybe it didn’t get to you? I’m so sorry if that’s the case. Tracking shows that both boxes were delivered (you can find the tracking numbers in your shipping emails) but if one of them was not, we can go from there. If you could email me directly just in case emails aren’t being delivered to you through Cratejoy, we’ll get it figured out! Cratejoy won’t let me link my email here but you can find it on the Instagram page or on the actual website. I can also send a screenshot verifying that I did attempt to reply via Cratejoy the day I received your email.
-Sarah

Lettering, lettering and more lettering

Jan 14, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Andrea L.
4 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 12 months

great pens for lettering. Can't wait to get my next box.

Verified Purchase
The Inky Box said...Jun 15, 2021

Thanks Andrea! Glad you're enjoying it!
-Sarah

Lovely subscription

Jun 06, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rebecca S.
1 Review
6 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

This is a lovely subscription. I'm doing a rotation of subscriptions, and enjoyed this one very much.

Verified Purchase

No ink

Sep 12, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jessica H.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

I expected calligraphy type stuff and got regular art stuff. I don't think I would be confused if it had any inking/lettering items in it other than stationary.

Verified Purchase
The Inky Box said...Sep 14, 2020

Hi Jessica, I’m so sorry you were disappointed! Most boxes are calligraphy and lettering supplies, but every once in awhile I switch it up with a project-based box. I hope you’ll give The Inky Box another try!

Box of happiness

May 14, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Heather W.
1 Review
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

I never leave reviews, but I will say that this is a box of happiness. I opened it with my friends and they are probably going to be getting this box as well

Verified Purchase

Love

Mar 25, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Amy R.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

Love this box!! Great quality and always the new items I am wanting to try!

Verified Purchase

Wonderful value

Mar 12, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rebecca C.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

I was pleased with the products for the price I paid.

Verified Purchase

Fun surprises! Helpful instruction

Apr 20, 2019
Overall
Deana G.
1 Review
1 Picture
12 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

I really like the Inky box. A thoughtfully curated selection of handlettering tools and accessories. The physical items are great but a nice bonus are the tutorial videos and downloadable practice sheets. Inky box has a great YouTube channel where she demos each item in the monthly box. Super useful for beginners and to explore new products.

Verified Purchase

Great Box!

Nov 29, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Daphne R.
1 Review
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

Hands down my favorite box. Every month the Inky Box comes loaded with amazing things and an interesting variety.
I’ve never been disappointed.

Verified Purchase

February box

Feb 18, 2019
Overall
April L.
1 Review
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

I enjoy receiving the box every month, there are always things in there that I never would of known existed. I agree the price is a little high but finding great new tools makes it worth it.

Verified Purchase

Could've been a bit more interesting.

Apr 17, 2019
Overall
Sasha W.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

The foil and glue from the 2019 April box were great, but the other two items were just pens. I personally didn't feel like it was worth the price, but it was a good box regardless.

Verified Purchase

Love the surprises

Dec 15, 2018
Overall
Susan J.
1 Review
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

...the sparkly December is such a delight.

Verified Purchase

Excellent Box

Nov 08, 2018
Overall
Tandi W.
4 Reviews
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

The inky box is very much a high-quality box and matches its price. Every piece was beautiful, but overall the box is a bit pricey if you like to subscribe to more than one monthly box. Good JOB "The Inky Box"! :)

Verified Purchase

The cost is way too high!!!!

Nov 24, 2018
Overall
Ines L.
1 Review
20 Helpful
Subscribed for 20 days

I looked at the past boxes (unfortunately after I ordered the first box) and the value is only equivalent or a buck or too cheaper than buying them yourself. I would actually say that it is more expensive once you consider that the seller adds in her own art pieces, such as magnets and lettering practice sheets as part of the cost. If anything these should be bonuses, not ways to make the box look like it costs more than it does. My suggestion is choose another subscription box.

Verified Purchase
The Inky Box said...Nov 26, 2018

I'm sorry you did not feel that the box was worth it. I do take care to make sure every has a value of at least what you paid for it, but if the practice sheets and cards aren't your thing, you might be better off just buying supplies.

Waste

Oct 12, 2018
Overall
Norquis S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

Seriously, a pad, a brush, a tiny watercolor paint, and a pan...worthless sorry not sorry

Verified Purchase
The Inky Box said...Oct 14, 2018

Sorry to hear you were disappointed! The boxes are always worth more than you pay for them, but maybe you wanted the full size instead of the Mini. There's lots more in that one.

Love this box

Jul 28, 2018
Overall
Kris T.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

I absolutely love this box, but I've missed out on receiving it for 2 months now because it says that subscription is sold-out and not taking orders!! Please let me know if there's anyway that I can order !!

Verified Purchase

Love this little box!!!

Jul 27, 2018
Overall
Sarah S.
1 Review

What a great surprise to come home to! Adore the pens and paper, as well as the local information on where to get more! I am looking forward to more boxes!

Fun Fun

Jun 26, 2018
Overall
Royleta F.
5 Reviews
Subscribed for 30 days

This box was awesome. I was upset because my local post office lost it. But now I know why I may be ordering again really soon. I was just testing out subscriptions but I like this one.

Verified Purchase