The Intoxicated Intellectual

by The Intoxicated Intellectual
A monthly subscription box delivering classic books paired with curated literary cocktails
18 reviews

Plans as low as

$47.00/ month

Buying Options

The Intoxicated Intellectual reviewsReviews

Write a Review
18

Happy Reader!

Aug 03, 2019
Emily W.
1 Review
1 Picture
7 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 9 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have been an Intoxicated Intelectual subscriber prior to it's debut on Cratejoy (during the Beta Launch) and have been satisfied with every box I have received.
My July shipment included the stylish box pictured in this review. Each ingredient compliments the book, and is enough to make multiple drinks. You really could not ask for a more reasonable price for how much is included, and I am constantly surprised by how much they pack into the boxes.
The thoughtful presentation, quality ingredients, and overall value of the box make this a subscription I look forward to every month.

Verified Purchase

Interesting Reads and Delicious Drinks!

Jun 23, 2019
Morgan S.
1 Review
1 Picture
6 Helpful Votes
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I've been an Intoxicated Intellectual subscriber since the launch, and am so satisfied with the boxes I have received so far! The recipes are creative, and I love reading the extra info that comes in each kit. It has also been a good mix of older and more modern classic books, which I appreciate. Their customer service is also fantastic. Overall, I highly recommend this box!

Very Thoughfully Curated

Jan 06, 2021
Shantyl B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

LOVE this box! Out of all of the boxes I subscribe to, (five in total) this is my favorite and cannot imagine canceling. The pairing of the book to the cocktail is very thoughtfully put together, and then all of the extras each box holds, makes me giddy every time.

Verified Purchase

Amazing gift

Mar 11, 2021
Nia M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I ordered this product had a Christmas gift to my sister who loves to read and enjoys speciality cocktails. She enjoyed the gift so much they will continue the subscription

Verified Purchase

Kudos & Cheers!

Feb 25, 2021
Deborah J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love this box. It is thoughtfully curated. I have enjoyed each installment. And I appreciate expanding my cocktail knowledge. Kudos & Cheers.

Verified Purchase

Fun for cocktail lovers

Feb 19, 2021
Laura V.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is a very cool box. The specialty cocktail ingredients are things I wouldn’t normally buy and it’s fun that it’s paired with a book each month.

Verified Purchase

Lots of fun and much appreciated

Feb 05, 2021
Jean M.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I bought this box for my sister and also one for my brother-in-law. They have both really liked the boxes. The cocktails are very yummy and not something they would normally attempt making. The books are welcome as well. Both had read Alice in Wonderland before, but said that it was a joy to revisit it.
My only suggestions are 1) don't send an email ahead of time telling the person what they are getting unless the sender chooses to have that done - these were Xmas presents and so they knew well ahead of the day what they were getting and 2) perhaps have a place where people can suggest classics for future boxes (along with a list of previous ones)?

Verified Purchase

Fabulous!

Dec 27, 2020
Deborah K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Fun, clever, new, on time, great surprise!

Verified Purchase

Great Gift!!

Feb 23, 2021
Caryn A.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is the best gift box ever. When will it return to market?? I want to give it as a gift to a few more people in my life!

Love this box!

Aug 07, 2019
Anne R.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 9 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love this box! I have been blown away by the quality ingredients and delicious craft cocktails, and the ways that the drinks tie in with the book. I have been trying for a while to read more classic lit, and this makes the whole experience so much more fun.
I knew when I ordered it that there is no alcohol in the boxes, and they sent out an email before I received the box to let me know that the box featured gin, and even gave recommendations for types that would work best for the recipe (The Sherlock Holmes Earl Grey Martini last month).
Regarding the price, it's less than you would spend in a bar for the same number of drinks (not even counting the books and bar tools that are also in the box), but this allows you to learn about the cocktails and enjoy the books wherever you want, without having to find the unusual ingredients which you would have to purchase at a higher cost. To top it off, the whole package is really nicely presented, and overall it feels like a unique experience.

Verified Purchase

Christmas gift

Dec 04, 2020
Christina K.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 26 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I bought this as a gift for my daughter. I know she has already read this book but I am not sure if she owns her own copy. Theme of the box was amazing and I loved the ice cube tray. I do think she will love this.

Verified Purchase

Best subscription box ever.

Aug 29, 2019
Shelley D.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Incredible.

Verified Purchase

BEST SUBSCRIPTION BOX EVER!!

Nov 28, 2020
Taitum R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 14 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is EASILY the coolest thing I have ever gotten myself! I practically stopped reading books after graduating so subscribing to this box was a good move. It came earlier than expected and the box had so much thought put into it. I even forgot I gave this to myself as a gift and put a cute message in it for me. My boyfriend thinks it super cool too and loved what we got and the other reviews are right about there being more than enough supplies to make multiple drinks. I LOVE this and it was definitely worth the price.

Verified Purchase

Yaaas books and cocktails!!!

Nov 05, 2020
Anna K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Can’t believe I didn’t write this review yet. Crazy year eh? Got this for my boyfriend and he loved it. Book was “Of Mice and Men” (which happened to be one of his faves) and the cocktail was the Jack Rose, John Steinbeck’s tipple. We are still enjoyinf the cocktails :) Shocked at the value - sentimental and intrinsic - packed into this box. Will get another for us! If you like books and/or cocktail making, this fits the bill!

Verified Purchase

Happy Reader

Jul 07, 2020
Elena H.
5 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I liked this box a lot! The book was not one of my favorites but hubby and I loved the cocktail and are looking forward to next month!

Verified Purchase