Plant of the Month

by The Plant Club
A Plant of the Month Club that includes cool pots and everything else you need to grow success!
351 reviews

Plans as low as

$36.00/ month

Buying Options

Plant of the Month reviewsReviews

Write a Review
351

my 8 month experience

Jul 28, 2020
Michaela M.
1 Review
3 Pictures
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have been a subscriber of The Plant Club for 8 months (since April 2020).
PROS: I love the idea of getting everything you need in one box- plant, pot, dirt, tag, topper and a magnet. I love the packaging and cute instruction sheets. You can clearly see that there is a lot of attention to detail behind this subscription box. The biggest plus is that you don’t need to visit any store or nursery to get additional items. Everything is provided by The Plant Club. It can save you a lot of time of shop hopping. In majority of cases the pots I got were beautiful. Some planters were pretty costly, too. For instance I got a self watering planter or bonsai pot and these alone would probably cost me $20. The plants I received were healthy and when they experienced damage during transport- The Plant Club would sent a replacement.
CONS: The value of the plants is low/er. I keep getting very basic plants that I see selling in stores for $5-$10. And sometimes I got a cheap planter, too. Once I checked the pot’s price (there was a tag under the pot)- I could get the identical pot online for $3. Also, one of my first pots I got was a dollar store quality plastic container that decompressed under touch how thin it was. In these specific cases it didn’t feel right to be charged almost $35 per box when the value of a whole box was in...

Verified Purchase

It's ok

Jul 20, 2021
Kira S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The only thing that changes is the plant. All three months the pot (with some minor color variation) but everything else has been the same. Wish there was more variation to the type of pot or the extras inside.

Verified Purchase
The Plant Club said...Jul 20, 2021

We wish you had a better experience with your containers. We try to mix it up with each collection to provide variation including ceramic, terra cotta, glazed and more. We wish we had been able to provide this experience for you. We'll reach out to you via email to help further. -The Plant Club Crew

Somewhat disappointed

Jul 07, 2021
Kayla C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was my first month in The Plant Club. Overall, I was somewhat disappointed. My plant arrived pretty damaged. I had to clip off quite a bit of the plant due to breakage. It also came looking pretty sad. I definitely have had to give it some TLC the last couple of weeks. The pot it came with was also too small for the plant itself and it didn't have a drainage hole. Other than those issues, I was pleased. It shipped quickly and I liked the dirt mix, instruction card, etc. Hopeful that my next month Plant of the Month goes better!

Verified Purchase
The Plant Club said...Jul 08, 2021

Hi Kayla! We thank you for letting us know your experience. We want all your plants to thrive for you and are always happy to help with your plants when they reach their new homes. We’ve reached out to you through direct email to offer further assistance and we look forward to hearing from you.
-The Plant Club Crew

Loved My Other Boxes BUT....

Mar 19, 2021
Linda B.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I gave a subscription to my mother for Mother’s Day because I loved my subscription so much. In her first box, she got a root pouch and not a ceramic container. While many may like the pouch concept, I wanted her to have an actual ceramic pot. She hated it. Disappointed....

Verified Purchase

Disappointed.

Mar 20, 2021
Elly P.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Recent box contained a root pouch instead of the usual ceramic pots that are in the boxes. My box arrived completely smashed and ripped apart. The plant is very damaged. Usually a lot better, really disappointed with this month.

Verified Purchase

Plant club

Dec 29, 2020
Shelley K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The quality is great! Super cute pots and variety of healthy plants. Packaged well. They could b a bit more educated on each plant.

Verified Purchase
The Plant Club said...Dec 29, 2020

Thanks for your review Shelley! We're glad to hear you're enjoying your subscription and we will be sure to share your feedback with our team. Please feel free to reach out to us at any time as we're always happy to help with care advice for your new plant friends. -The Plant Club Crew

Maybe good for beginners

Jul 06, 2020
Rosie R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I got my first box last week and I was disappointed. I received a very basic houseplant (snake plant) in my first box. I have a backyard full of snake plant and you can get this plant in any regular grocery store too. I was hoping to get something uncommon. That was the whole point of trying this subscription box. The ceramic pot was okay too nothing very special. I do like the concept and I will give it one more chance before I cancel.

Verified Purchase
The Plant Club said...Jul 09, 2020

Thanks for sharing your experience with us, Rosie. Our design team will mix it up from month to month so that you receive a variety of plants, from those that are more common and loved by all, to those that are a little harder to find. We'll share your feedback with our design team and we hope to inspire you with your next box.

Broken pot

Dec 25, 2020
R. R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 29 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The pot was broken. Maybe make sure there is more padding for glass items especially during Xmas time.

Verified Purchase
The Plant Club said...Dec 28, 2020

Hi, thanks for your feedback! We wish you had a more positive experience with your shipment and we’re happy to replace items that arrive broken. We’ll reach out via email and we look forward to hearing from you. -The Plant Club

Healthy but basic

Mar 02, 2021
Amanda V.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Box is nice but the plants are basic. I received a bamboo plant and a money tree. Both were healthy but I’m not sure if the box is worth the money.

Verified Purchase

Awaiting my first box

Jan 13, 2021
Tanya C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

I have not recived my first plant it just shipped. I have o er 40 plants so I hope its something nice or unusual.

Verified Purchase
The Plant Club said...Jan 13, 2021

Thanks for your review, Tanya. We're happy to hear your collection shipped on schedule and should be delivered soon! From one plant lover to another, we’re confident your new plant will find a cozy home with your collection. Happy Planting! -The Plant Club

Month 5 Review

Apr 24, 2021
Ava D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I’ve been getting this box for 5 months and this is the first time I’ve been disappointed. The plant came with sun damage and root rot. Then the pot was a basic brown pot that you get from Home Depot. I am normally so thrilled to receive my monthly plant, but this month was so upsetting.

Verified Purchase
The Plant Club said...Apr 26, 2021

Thanks for your review Ava, we'll be sure to share your feedback with our team! We're always here to help with your shipments and any plants that may not have arrived happy and healthy after their travels. We've reached out to you via email and we look forward to assisting you!
-The Plant Club Crew

The Good and the Very Bad

Apr 09, 2020
Tonya K.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Let me start with the positives: The plants are packaged gently and carefully and have arrived at my home in nearly great condition (I had one out of nine plants arrive “puney” and near death). The variety of plants and planters is very nice. If you order the deluxe package your plant arrives with everything you need to have a ready houseplant: soil, a beautiful container, the plant and a care card.
The negative: only 3 out of 9 plants have survived because this company is unable to accommodate special needs such as plants that will survive in cooler indoor temperatures and very little sunlight (I live in Vermont and if you put a plant on the window seal to get as much sunlight as possible it is very cold because the outdoor temps are cold and there is still very little sun because we have winter”ish” temps for 8-9 mos of the year). I get it though- it is a one size fits all shipment. Also, the total cost including shipment is quite expensive ($35). Especially considering how many plants have lasted less than a month.
I was pretty disappointed in the customer service. When I let them know of the issue I was having, at first they told me that they would replace the dead plants. But then when I said, “Great, please tell me what I need to do.” The next email I received said, “Maybe this subscription is not right for you.” What???...

Verified Purchase
The Plant Club said...Apr 09, 2020

Hi Tonya, thanks for sharing your experience, which we wish had been more positive. While we are unable to offer individualized subscriptions at this time, we recognize the inconvenience and appreciate your understanding. We're always happy to send replacements when notified, especially if plants don't arrive happy and healthy, and will be sure to reach out further via email.

🌱🌱🌱

Jan 22, 2021
Karris K.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love how I get to put soil in the pot that came with the plant and decorate it with rocks. The magnets that came with it that showed the plant on it, was awesome. The sticker and pin I could go without. Plant was packaged well.

Verified Purchase

Please contact me, plant is damaged!

Feb 28, 2021
Connie/melanie W.
1 Review
2 Pictures
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have been trying to find a customer service phone number for Cratejoy/plant club. While the first box was great, this last box arrived with the plant damaged from freezing. It took 8 days to arrive and I suspect was caught in the snow and cold that hit the US. PLEASE REACH OUT TO ME SO WE CAN RESOLVE THIS.

Verified Purchase
The Plant Club said...Mar 02, 2021

Thanks for reaching out to us, though we wish you had a more positive experience with your shipment. We've reached out via email and look forward to helping you with your plant. The Plant Club Crew

Dead plant club

Mar 08, 2021
Jeff T.
1 Review
2 Pictures
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

They keep sending me dead / dying plants. The first was a lucky bamboo, it got stuck in transit for some reason and didn't survive. They sent me a replacement the next week. The second plant was a ginseng ficus. It arrived with almost black leaves and advanced root rot. It didn't survive long. They said they were going to send me a replacement but it's been almost 3 weeks.
** Update finally got my ficus replacement, it is very healthy and hardy **

Verified Purchase
The Plant Club said...Mar 09, 2021

We appreciate your feedback though we wish you had a more positive experience! We’re happy to replace plants that don’t arrive happy and healthy and replacements are typically scheduled around appropriate weather conditions. We’re glad to hear your Lucky Bamboo arrived safely and can confirm that your Ginseng is on its way. We’ll be sure to reach out via email to help further. -The Plant Club Crew

Not Worth the Money

Mar 31, 2021
C E.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Honestly I'm not impressed. While the packaging is great everything else is meh. All the plants I've gotten are extremely common and easy to find locally. I was hoping for at least one uncommon plant. The pots are cute but I was beyond disappointed to get a root bag in my last box. And a small spray bottle of rainwater? Gee thanks.
The items in the boxes just don't make it worth the money. The plants are common and sell for around 6 or less dollars in my area. I also saw one of the pots that was sent to me in stores too for 7 dollars. And well the extras in the box hardly add value. Overall I wouldn't recommend this box.

The Plant Club said...Mar 31, 2021

We appreciate your review and feedback. We wish you had a better experience with your collection and, while we were unable to locate your account in our system, we'd love to help further. Please feel free to reach out to us directly though email so we can better help. -The Plant Club Crew

Mixed feelings

Apr 30, 2021
Kiernan B.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The first plant I received was perfectly healthy and I love that it came with all of the things. But the second I received looks like it had been through the ringer. The stalks were already starting to rot and part of it was dead. It may have been a fluke but I was very disappointed to receive a plant that was already dying, because I thought killing it that was my job haha.
I am very disappointed though that of the two boxes I received one of them was… Casually terrible.

The Plant Club said...May 03, 2021

Thanks for your review Kiernan! We're always here to help and we want all your plants to arrive happy and healthy! We've reached out to you privately to assist with your plant and we'll be sure to share your experience with our shipping team.
-The Plant Club Crew