The Priestess

The Priestess

by Box of Shadows
Welcome to Box of Shadows; a nature inspired, subscription for eclectic souls!

Plans as low as

$34.00/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (617)

  1. Reviews for this product (202)
  2. Reviews for this seller (415)

proceed with caution...

Aug 17, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Crystal C.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 15 days

I was really expecting more from this box and was disappointed with the products. Shipping was great but in my opinion, the box is not worth the price. Plus the seller left price tags on some items which really let me know this was not worth it.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Aug 18, 2021

Thank you for giving us a try, Crystal. From the carefully selected items -- to all the guidance offered in our handwritten Guide, we firmly believe the value our boxes offer greatly exceeds the price of the box itself. Blessed Be!

not satisfied

Jun 12, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Novalee M.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 29 days

not what I was expecting for the price.

Verified Purchase

Supreme Tier; Not Worth The Price

May 10, 2018
Overall
Allison Z.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

I purchased the Supreme tier, being led to think by the pictures that I would receive a large number of full-size items. After all, who wouldn't after spending a whole $45? However, I was pretty disappointed. The box contained only six items! By comparison to other subscription boxes, I find the price to be extreme. I can only imagine what the first tier was like. I received a nice mini chalice in the box, as well as a bottle of bath salts, some incense, a tiny candle, a bloodstone, and an essential oil. I don't feel as though there was much of a theme, or that it was well thought out. And I'm not thrilled about the bath salt (I'd much rather receive a ritual item rather than a cosmetic item). The candle should have been full-size, if anything.
But, bottom line: There should have been a stronger theme, and more items. It was not a cohesive box, and did not deliver for its price point.

Verified Purchase

Not worth it

Mar 14, 2018
Overall
Tina A.
24 Reviews
29 Helpful
Subscribed for 16 days

This box was not worth it. It was thrown together. Nothing goes with each other. No info included on any items. Box of shadows , doesnt make sense.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Mar 14, 2018

Greetings Tina, We're very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your first box. It sounds like you may not have received an insert along with your March box. We are reaching out to you privately with a solution to this issue.

Not worth it

Mar 10, 2018
Overall
Laura L.
5 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 24 days

Paid to try out the priestess subscription. Received a tiny goddess figurine worth maybe a buck. A few little baby candles. Herbal almanac book. Sage smudge stick. Small bunch of lavender incense, dried lavender, a votive and seeds. No way this is worth $45. Also didn't feel it was very creative or with much variety. I tried a few different "witches boxes" so far this is the worst. Wish I had splurged on the higher level of a different box.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Mar 12, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your first Box of Shadows. We work hard to curate a box that our Circle Members will love each month. However, we are aware that it is impossible to please every Circle Member every time. We greatly apologize if we've missed the mark. Please reach out to us and let us know how we can make Box of Shadows better going forward.

Supreme Tier

May 10, 2018
Overall
Cindy K.
11 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 19 days

This would have been a good box for the first tier. I got bath salts, a votive, incense, roll on oil, HO-HUM. a chalice which was OK & a bloodstone crystal which was cool.
Not worth $45 by any means & nothing different in the first few items that I haven’t gotten in 10 other boxes. I joined the most expensive to make sure I got some of the best stuff that they showed in pictures-sorry to say I got c***.

Verified Purchase

Extremely disappointed by this box.

Jul 19, 2018
Overall
Chelsea S.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

Had 4 items. One a duplicate from last months box. Not very happy this time. Last months was better but still not what I expected. It’s a lot of money for such a small amount of items. I’ll give it another month to see before canceling.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

Feb 12, 2019
Overall
Paige M.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 15 days

This box was a hide disappointment for the price. I got a feather with no quill, ink, 4 candles, and a bag of herbs. Not $24 worth.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Feb 13, 2019

Hi! It sounds like some items may be missing from your box. Please check your insert against the items you received.

In the meantime, we will also be reaching out to you personally about this matter.

Just not impressed. Too much $$

Oct 15, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Christine W.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I was quite disappointed with this box. I paid $32.99 with tax and shipping, waited for what seemed like over a month to get my box. I guess I subscribed right after last month's window closed. Oh well. After being excited the whole time for this box, I open it and man, the contents of the box really leave something to be desired.
I thought I would be getting a spell candle of some sort, I got wax cubes. Not everyone has a wax warmer. (I do but it broke and I haven't bothered to replace it.) Pretty mundane, your typical sweet pumpkin scent that I hate.
Palo Santo Incense Sticks- I'm sure these are fine.
There was a cinnamon broom which kinda cute.
The crystal that was included doesn't seem to be of very high quality. It looks like its 2 pieces glued together instead of one solid piece.
Then there was a "spell card" to send to someone, thought, I do not know who I would send it to, so this item is kind of lost on me.
All in all, I think I could've found these items myself for less than $20, if I were to have even wanted everything I got in my box. I really thought the items would be more unique or that the box would be everything you need for a ritual that the curators planned.
Oh, and the best part is, I've been waiting for my box to get her so I would know if I wanted to cancel...

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Oct 16, 2019

Greetings Christine! Thank you for your detailed feedback. We're sorry we missed the mark with you and hope to make it up to you next month. Typically, boxes arrive a few days before renewal. However, due to the long weekend, some boxes arrived later than normal. We apologize for any inconvenience that may have caused. If your selenite wand arrived damaged, please reach out to us directly via email. We'd be happy to ship you a replacement.

Not well thought out

Aug 08, 2017
Overall
Linda S.
4 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 30 days

The items were not well packaged and were very poor quality. This box is NOT worth the money. Items did not appear to be well thought out, organized, or explained. I do not recommend this box.

Verified Purchase

Bad service

Dec 21, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Taylor C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

Honestly don't buy this, I got the initiate Yule crate and their was hardly anything in it. Not worth it for the price. And then I tried to cancel my subscription and they wouldn't give me a refund because I waited 5 days after receiving the first box to decide I didn't want another one.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Dec 21, 2020

Your Initiate box should have included five items. Please check your items against the contents list to determine whether or not you are missing something. If that is the case, we'd be happy to replace any missing items. Per our policy, all subscription payments are final after 24 hours of subscription renewal or purchase. Subscribers are responsible for keeping track of subscriptions and renewal dates. We make every effort to convey this policy on our listing. Blessed Be!

Meh. No thanks.

Apr 01, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Amanda M.
4 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month

I did not feel like the quality of products was worth the price. I could go to the dollar store and find a plastic bottle of hot pink rose water. The incense powder does smell nice so that one is a plus.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Apr 05, 2021

Hi Amanda! We're sorry to hear that Box of Shadows wasn't a good fit for your practice. If you have any notes about how we can improve our curation in the future, please feel free to reach out to us directly.

The seekers guide

Oct 13, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Manuel T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 28 days

I chose box of shadows because it said for beginners to help collect things for your alter so I was really happy about the tile alter 5 star pentagram but when the email came that there wasn't enough alters to sent me one I was very disappointed and upset..I couldn't believe that there wasn't enough to send me and yes it was replaced by a moonstone by 1 moonstone but it did not feel it was satisfying replaceable

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Oct 16, 2020

We're sorry we disappointed you. We are working very hard to make it up to you next month.

Box Of Shadows.... Supreme

Oct 12, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Haley W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months

I highly dislike leaving bad reviews... But... after being soooo excited to receive my box, I was extremely bummed when I opened it! The only thing in the box that I am excited about is the Almanac (and maybe the pumpkin spice candle) and I could have bought the Almanac by itself and autographed for a lot less than I paid for the box!! I guess I thought there would be more.... At this point, I dont think I will be ordering again.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Oct 19, 2020

We're sorry to hear that, Haley. May you find a spiritual subscription that better fits your practice. Blessed Be!

Not Yet Sure on This One

Feb 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tracy C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

Honestly, I am not that impressed with this box compared to other witchy subscription boxes. Unless the contents improve in March, I will probably cancel my subscription. Mislabeled products (January's five finger grass is *not* cinquefoil) and The Seeker's Guide insert misspelled the word "altar" multiple times in February. Meh. I'm hoping for improvement next month.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Feb 15, 2021

Hi Tracy! Thank you for those notes. "Five Finger Grass" is a name that is often used interchangeably with the name Cinquefoil. They are the same herb, and both terms are used in folk magic. We hope that our offerings better meet your expectations going forward. Blessed Be!

Synthetic is not the way to go

Apr 21, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jennifer T.
6 Reviews
1 Picture
Subscribed for 3 months

The synthetic crystal bracelet was why I canceled the box, seriously I get these boxes to grow my crystal collection and I am sure that I have received synthetic crystals before (to save money) but to leave the sticker on it and have that be the calling card for the box was not worth the cost of the box.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Apr 22, 2021

Greetings Jennifer! Synthetic gemstones share all chemical, optical, and physical characteristics of their natural counterparts. These stones are formed under the same or similar conditions that produce natural gemstones and are often used to replicate rare or otherwise prohibitively expensive gems. In order to expose our Circle to a wider variety of gemstones, we sometimes choose the most cost-effective option. We appreciate your understanding.

Okay box, repetitive items

Feb 02, 2018
Overall
Renee M.
1 Review
1 Helpful

The box had some cute items, but I got two and many of the items were the same in both unfortunately.