A monthly delivery of children's books. Curated by a speech-language pathologist.

Plans as low as $14.99 / month

The Story Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Cute but not for us

Jan 31, 2020
Michaila S.
11 Reviews
1 Picture
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I loved the box and thought it was cute. I didn't however feel that it was quite there in value and one of the books sent to my toddler seems very flimsy and easily broke.

Verified Purchase

Age appropriate/ language development

Jul 24, 2019
Jaime T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 25 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We send our granddaughter the monthly Storybox monthly subscription.. We saw her on live video last night very engaged with the books you sent for July.. She is one and a half years old and is very inquisitive.. Her parents were a bit concerned about her language development. Please continue to send her books that are her age appropriate and that will help her with her language development.. We really appreciate the thought you put into each package you send out..
Upmost Respect,
Jaime Torres

Verified Purchase

Great Investment!

Jan 03, 2019
Larissa R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 months
Overall

I started The Story Box shortly after my nephew was born. The books are engaging, good quality and offer helpful tips for my mother-in-law as she reads to him. Thank YOU making it easy to pass on the love of reading with my family.

Verified Purchase

Ordering Again for Christmas

Dec 10, 2018
Leah P.
1 Review
Overall

My daughter cancelled her subscription and asked us to order again for Christmas for her kids. Kids loved it!
Easiest Christmas present this season.

Verified Purchase

Best gift ever!

Jul 11, 2018
Maribeth K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

These books have been a huge hit and well loved by my Niece and Great Nephew!! I didn't know about them until he was 8 months old, started on the 3 month plan to see if they liked it, and they love it!! First books he chooses to read come from The Story Box!! Highly recommend!

Verified Purchase

We love Reading

May 06, 2016
Joycelynn S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

We love the story box. My daughter loves reading the different books each month. We also love the parent's guide that comes with the books.

Verified Purchase

Looooove it!!!

Apr 25, 2016
Smith G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

We started receiving The Story Box monthly about six months ago. We have a three and a half year old son and he absolutely loves when the box arrives every month. This subscription has definitely made him fall in love with reading and helped my husband and I know what level he should be on at his age. The parental guide has awesome ideas about how to engage your child while you read. We suggest this monthly subscription to anyone with kids.

Verified Purchase

Great books for a reasonable price!

Apr 15, 2016
Anna W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

I joined The Story Box soon after they began when I realized how simple and convenient the service was. It has continued to prove to be a valuable product for my growing family. We get so excited every month when our two hand-selected books arrive at our door. We love the Story Box!

Verified Purchase

Books in poor shape

Jan 30, 2018
Courtney W.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

Loved the selection of books, but they came in a used condition. Permanent marker was on some of the ends of the pages and they looked banged up. If I'm paying full price for these books, then they should be brand new and not used.

Verified Purchase
The Story Box said...Dec 03, 2019

Hi Courtney,

We are sorry to hear about the condition of the books you received. We are under new management now and would love a chance to make it up to you!

Tyler Burley
Proud member of The Story Box Family

Poor Service

Jul 31, 2019
Teeasha H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Never Received any items. No customer service number.

Verified Purchase
The Story Box said...Dec 03, 2019

Hi TeEasha,

We are so sorry to hear about your experience. We recently came under new management and have added a customer service line. We checked the system and it appears the issue of not receiving items was resolved months ago. Please contact us if you're still having problems. We will be sure to make things right.

Tyler Burley
Proud Member of The Story Box Family

Teacher

Dec 04, 2018
Andy S.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Overall

"I first heard about the story box at a literacy conference and decided to buy it for my grandson. He has loved the story box and looks forward to the books every month. The support team is quick to answer any questions."

We love the Story Box!!

Nov 08, 2017
Alisha W.
1 Review
Overall

We just received our first delivery and my girls were so excited to open their package! The books were age and season appropriate, and we like to read our books over, and over, and over. Looking forward to next months shipment. I am thinking this will be a unique holiday gift for my nieces and nephews!

We Love The Story Box!

Apr 15, 2016
Michael
1 Review
Overall

My wife started using The Story Box last year and I have been pleasantly surprised with how high quality the books, products, and parent guides are, as well as the design of the entire website and ease of the ordering process. We will happily continue to use The Story Box subscription each month!

Simple, Smart, & Fantastic Company

Apr 15, 2016
Anna
1 Review
Overall

The Story Box is a phenomenal concept that allows your family (or classroom, therapy toolbox, or library) to increase not only their quantity of books but also the quality of books. Anyone can buy books off of Amazon or go to a2nd & Charles and buy them in person. What makes The Story Box different is that they are hand selected from a nationally certified and licensed speech-language pathologist and then sent to your door every month. The efficiency of the ordering process and low (to no) maintenance upkeep of the service is outstanding. The owners seem to be very dedicated and enthusiastic about their business and handle customer service issues or questions promptly and professionally. The Story Box subscription is a great way to increase not only your library but to also increase your child's, student's, or family members' language skills, vocabulary, and reading abilities. Each story comes with a Parent Guide which helps the adult explore different ways to expand on the story's details, vocabulary, deeper meanings, real world relevance, and overall tone. I would highly recommend The Story Box subscription to all parents and grandparents with young children, early elementary teachers, SLPs and all educators of young children.

Reading is Fun!

Apr 26, 2016
Hope
1 Review
Overall

We joined the Story Box last year and have been super pleased with the service. My daughter is thrilled when her books arrive each month. The parent guide is a great tool for parents looking to assist their child in his/her reading journey. It is also great because it isn't electronic and provides a very natural and intimate time enjoying your child and him/her enjoying you! I encourage everyone to give The Story Box a shot! You will be pleased. Lastly, you basically get two books for the price of one at a traditional bookstore! Everyone loves a great DEAL!!!

May 03, 2016
Jimmyra
1 Review
Overall

We love the storybox. My daughter enjoys reading her books. She looks forward to them arriving in the mail just for her. And she reads them to the whole family 😊 love ❤ There different fun and reasonable.

Buying Options