A quarterly luxury book club subscription box for travelers who want to give back.

Plans as low as $46.25 / 1 box every 3 months

The Wordy Traveler reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Excellent box!

Jun 21, 2020
Danielle I.
3 Reviews
2 Pictures
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Just received my The Wordy Traveler box and couldn’t be more happy! I received three non-fiction books themed around the U.S. National parks, a wild mountain berry tea blend I cannot wait to try, and various other useful items for the outdoors such as a compass! I can tell a lot of thought was put into the curation of this box and am pleased with the customer service. Highly recommend!

Verified Purchase

Traveler’s Dream Box

Jul 12, 2020
Allison B.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is our first box from the Wordy Traveler. We are avid travelers and since we cannot travel now decided to make this our date night treat! We are avid hikers and outdoorsy kind of people, right down to the tea loved every item!!!! Thank you! Oh and btw, the next day after ordering a box was shipped. Three days after ordering we had a box filled with goodies!!! Now I call that stellar customer service!!!

Verified Purchase

Jun 22, 2018
Meaghan P.
2 Reviews
7 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

I love this box. I'm currently subscribed to the Full Suitcase. I don't read non-fiction very often, so this box helps me break out of my comfort zone a bit. So far every book I've read has been interesting and informative, and has definitely made me want to travel and learn more about the regions they're set in. I do wish that more of the books were written by the people of that region as opposed to outsiders. I really enjoy the art prints and the teas, and the miscellaneous gifts are cute and useful. The price is a little high, but a lot of the cost is going toward helping those in need, which in my mind is definitely worth the price

Verified Purchase

Jun 09, 2018
Cindy L.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall

There are truly no words that can describe the joys that this "book club " family has meant to me. I am a disabled veteran, and I am at home, more so than not. The Wordy Traveler has allowed me to go on many a journey, and has sent me on adventures that I could never dream of. I have learned many interesting things and love sharing tibits of trivia with family and friends.
Thank you my friends for all that you do for us, your "readers ", and for all of the support you send to those in need.

Verified Purchase

Excellent Value, Perfect Gift

Dec 30, 2017
Joanne H.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I was wary about buying a 3 month gift subscription for someone but the person I sent this to states it was the perfect gift. The tea was a fancy, fruity herbal loose leaf - nice size bag, 3 novels (it was a Caribbean theme for December 2017, and the recipients of the gift first trip for 2018 just happened to be the Carribean), and a lovely souvenir (mermaid tea steeper).

I would definitely recommend this for book & travel enthusiasts! They were really happy to receive it and looking forward to the next one.

Verified Purchase

Jun 12, 2018
Lyndsay W.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall

Great subscription and great service! Got the wrong box by mistake, and they resent the right box really quickly. The items are well worth the cost, great reads, and the box supports various charities - definitely a win win!

Verified Purchase

Beautiful

Feb 23, 2018
Leeann G.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

The is a lovely box, worth the price (especially because I am helping others!!). I did not realize it is all nonfiction books. I love those, but I was hoping for novels written by people from these regions. I like nonfiction, so for me it's not too disappointing, but I want to let others know you are not getting fiction. The size of the tea bag is great, the packaging is clearly done with care, and the books are read and loved before picked out. I recommend this box for curious people who love to learn.

Verified Purchase

Amazing!

Aug 18, 2019
Shauna B.
3 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I loved this box! I treated myself to a subscription for a few months as I love travelling and learning about new places, so I thought this would be a great idea for when I'm at home. The books were always really interesting and the little gifts you got along with them were brilliant and linked in so well with that month's theme.

Verified Purchase

Love these boxes!

Jul 16, 2019
Kerry W.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality

The Wordy Traveler box is a great idea for people who love tea and travel. The tea is delicious. The books are interesting. The other goodies included are always varied yet useful and fun. The postcard explaining the ideas that brought the box contents together shows that a lot of thought is put into the curation of the boxes. I love it!

Verified Purchase

More please!

Oct 10, 2018
Destrey R.
2 Reviews
9 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I got my first box and I'm definitely not disappointed. Great value, and good reads!!! Can't wait for my next one!!!!

Verified Purchase

Very fun!

Jul 21, 2018
Amie S.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 17 days
Overall

Great books and fun extras. Loved my first box.

Verified Purchase

Great Box!

May 16, 2020
Charles C.
7 Reviews
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love this box. I wanted to expand my non-fiction reading (I mostly read fiction), and thought this box would fit the bill—I was right. Great books (that I would never have picked out on my own) and great extras (including the teas). The photos and artwork included are top notch. I wish the boxes came out more frequently, but I can get my fix in the between months with the limited issues available on the Wordy Traveler website.

Verified Purchase

Great books in one box!!!

Jan 25, 2020
Jana C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Great box — I love non-fiction travel books and finding really good ones all in one box is great! Plus the extras for a fun box!

Verified Purchase

Love it!

Jun 14, 2019
Melissa G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Just received my first box and I love it! I can’t wait to start reading all about the walking in Paris! My husband and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with a trip to Paris and traveled all over Italy, I wish I would have had this book before then.

Verified Purchase

Wonderful Worldy Box!!

May 15, 2019
Monika W.
14 Reviews
3 Pictures
8 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I absolutely love the suitcase box:)
The books are fantastic as are the items included in the box.
This is a must box for all book lovers!!
I am always looking forward to the next box!

Verified Purchase

Perfect!

Mar 21, 2017
Britta L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

Tea and books, two of my favorite things!

Verified Purchase

Stuck the landing beautifully

Jun 26, 2017
Lindsay G.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

So the first box I got from The Wordy Traveler actually had an issue with it. The glass had broken inside of the box and had carved up everything inside. When I contacted The Wordy Traveler about it, they were /incredibly/ responsive and provided some of the best customer service I've seen in years.

It's rare for a company or service provider to take a bad experience and turn it into an amazing one which makes The Wordy Traveler something special. Beyond that, I loved the books and the gifts that were in my box this month. I would highly recommend going for the larger box. It's worth it.

Verified Purchase

Really enjoyed

May 08, 2018
Pamela B.
43 Reviews
1 Picture
25 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I really enjoyed getting this box. The books were well chosen and the one I finished reading so far was excellent and not one I've had bought myself. That said, the books are available on amazon for much less and although it was fun getting the gifts with it, I feel like I'd get a better value just purchasing the books alone on amazon

Verified Purchase

Expensive

Apr 18, 2020
Meredith D.
12 Reviews
14 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I am rewriting this review and adding two stars because after my initially review the company provided me with a refund. They got back to me quickly. This was appreciated. I hope in the future they can make this more cost effective.

Verified Purchase
The Wordy Traveler said...Apr 18, 2020

Thank you for giving your honest opinion. We are sorry you were disappointed with your subscription. Our customers’ satisfaction is our top priority and we appreciate all thoughts good or bad so we can create a better experience.

We understand that not every bookclub is a right fit for every reader. With that in mind, we endeavor to be as transparent as possible by describing in detail what each box includes through detailed descriptions and imagery.

We are first and foremost a bookclub community that gives back to others. A Wordy Traveler subscription is primarily centered around the books, tea, art print and especially funding charitable endeavors. The other goodies are just for fun. What makes The Wordy Traveler unique is that we are founded in...

Jun 06, 2018
Yvonnette W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 25 days
Overall

The box was way over priced for the money. I’m all about donating but a little more effort should have been put in.

Verified Purchase

A good quarterly subscription

Jun 11, 2018
Lauren K.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I really enjoyed last quarters' box. The photograph looks cute in a little frame on my wall and the book was very interesting to read; I enjoyed that it was non-fiction. I was surprised the tea was not from the theme region (Australia) but it was really great tea and a good quantity. The pen, eye cover, and bookmark were cute but seemed really cheap; fine for incidentals I suppose. I will definitely try it for another quarter.

Verified Purchase

Nice Packaging Nice Box

Sep 16, 2017
Amanda H.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

From the photos this box looked really interesting. It looked like lots of wonderful fiction novels about places and life in many different countries. What I got was an award winning book on the finer points of Russian communism that was basically a book of interviews. I was indeed highly disappointed. Firstly, I am not in 6th grade. I am a grown up adult woman. I have studied communism in depth. I myself a bit of a democratic socialist Scandinavian style. I have traveled all over the world and if this is the best they can do on Russia, I am really not interested in continueing this subscription.

What I liked about the box was the packaging. Someone put care into the packaging and design so as to present something fairly nicely pulled together. I do appreciate that greatly. It was a treat to dig through so nicely packaged as it was.

What I got in the box other than the book was some strange cheap egg (maybe plastic???) and some little medal not sure what. The tea looks fabulous though and is clearly not cheap. The book too though the subject matter is very disappointing was new and in wonderful condition. It even won some literary award. I just am not interested personally in hearing people preach at me about communism. Other people may very much enjoy the subject matter and for them this box might be quite a hit.

Verified Purchase

For the world or armchair traveler!

May 15, 2020
Jenny T.
1 Review
Overall