The Wordy Traveler

by The Wordy Traveler
A seasonal book club subscription box for travelers who want to make a difference.
37 reviews

Plans as low as

$46.25/ quarter

Buying Options

The Wordy Traveler reviewsReviews

Write a Review
37

Perfect!

Mar 21, 2017
Britta L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

Tea and books, two of my favorite things!

Verified Purchase

Really enjoyed

May 08, 2018
Pamela B.
43 Reviews
1 Picture
31 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I really enjoyed getting this box. The books were well chosen and the one I finished reading so far was excellent and not one I've had bought myself. That said, the books are available on amazon for much less and although it was fun getting the gifts with it, I feel like I'd get a better value just purchasing the books alone on amazon

Verified Purchase

Expensive

Apr 18, 2020
Meredith D.
17 Reviews
19 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I am rewriting this review and adding two stars because after my initially review the company provided me with a refund. They got back to me quickly. This was appreciated. I hope in the future they can make this more cost effective.

Verified Purchase
The Wordy Traveler said...Apr 18, 2020

Thank you for giving your honest opinion. We are sorry you were disappointed with your subscription. Our customers’ satisfaction is our top priority and we appreciate all thoughts good or bad so we can create a better experience.
We understand that not every bookclub is a right fit for every reader. With that in mind, we endeavor to be as transparent as possible by describing in detail what each box includes through detailed descriptions and imagery.
We are first and foremost a bookclub community that gives back to others. A Wordy Traveler subscription is primarily centered around the books, tea, art print and especially funding charitable endeavors. The other goodies are just for fun. What makes The Wordy Traveler unique is that we are founded in...

A good quarterly subscription

Jun 11, 2018
Lauren K.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I really enjoyed last quarters' box. The photograph looks cute in a little frame on my wall and the book was very interesting to read; I enjoyed that it was non-fiction. I was surprised the tea was not from the theme region (Australia) but it was really great tea and a good quantity. The pen, eye cover, and bookmark were cute but seemed really cheap; fine for incidentals I suppose. I will definitely try it for another quarter.

Verified Purchase

Nice Packaging Nice Box

Sep 16, 2017
Amanda H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

From the photos this box looked really interesting. It looked like lots of wonderful fiction novels about places and life in many different countries. What I got was an award winning book on the finer points of Russian communism that was basically a book of interviews. I was indeed highly disappointed. Firstly, I am not in 6th grade. I am a grown up adult woman. I have studied communism in depth. I myself a bit of a democratic socialist Scandinavian style. I have traveled all over the world and if this is the best they can do on Russia, I am really not interested in continueing this subscription.
What I liked about the box was the packaging. Someone put care into the packaging and design so as to present something fairly nicely pulled together. I do appreciate that greatly. It was a treat to dig through so nicely packaged as it was.
What I got in the box other than the book was some strange cheap egg (maybe plastic???) and some little medal not sure what. The tea looks fabulous though and is clearly not cheap. The book too though the subject matter is very disappointing was new and in wonderful condition. It even won some literary award. I just am not interested personally in hearing people preach at me about communism. Other people may very much enjoy the subject matter and for them this box might be quite a hit.

Verified Purchase

Jun 06, 2018
Yvonnette W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 25 days
Overall

The box was way over priced for the money. I’m all about donating but a little more effort should have been put in.

Verified Purchase

For the world or armchair traveler!

May 15, 2020
Jenny T.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

From the moment that I first saw this box, I knew that my brother needed it! I told him to expect a package and when it arrived, he responded "My present was full of presents!" He also had already started brewing the tea and have put the art in a place of honor before we even talked. It was even more of a hit that I had hoped.
Cindy personally curated the box with various extra pieces and she is very responsive to emails.
- Jenny

Getaway from the mind

Sep 17, 2019
Alexis N.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This box is like a little getaway for the mind. I absolutely loved the handcrafted items from places I may never get to see. The customer service is also top notch. I will be looking forward to my monthly boxes. I highly recommend you subscribe ; because the powerful tea and crafty gifts will sweep you away to a world you can't imagine.

The perfect gift for book lovers

Mar 17, 2019
Sheree C.
1 Review
Overall

I loved receiving this package. The thought put into coordinating the book and other items is a brilliant idea!

What more could you ask for?

Feb 03, 2017
Kristieleahy
1 Review
Overall

Listen, I've seen subscription services like this that just feels like you're getting a lot of fluff :: a sort of "all filler, no killer."
The Wordy Traveler has done all the leg work for us to fine tune our intellects, grow our imagination, nourish our tastebuds and satisfy our longing to make a positive impact on the world by giving back. This abundance mindset is what will keep me coming back for more. Thank you Cindy for working so hard on creating a product that is so much more than just "stuff."

Best Value, Best Subscription Box

Oct 28, 2017
Jennifer L.
1 Review
Overall

So I had looked for a subscription box for quite a while that combined my love of travel, my love of literature, and my love of tea. The Wordy Traveler has done that and so much more! This isn’t just a good subscription box, it’s by far the best! And it’s the best value of any subscription box too! This past quarter’s box was my favorite so far. I have the suitcase subscription which I highly recommend, but if you don’t like to read as much as I do the backpacker subscription is a good option. My latest box included three award-winning books - Secondhand Time by Svetlana Alexievich, Midnight in Siberia by David Greene, and The Romanov Sisters by Helen Rappaport. They were all amazing books that I don’t know if I would have ever read on my own. Secondhand Time was written by the 2015 winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature and was probably one of the most interesting books I’ve read in recent history. I’m so tired of subscription boxes with a “travel” theme that offer nothing but flimsy fiction posing as literature. The Wordy Traveler somehow manages to always choose the perfect books that actually transport you to that region of the world. But every box includes so much more! There’s always an organic and ethically sourced tea blend from the region, a fine art print, and an additional gift of some kind. But my absolute favorite part is that every single subscription provides education...

Jun 01, 2019
Linda A.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

What a fun box! I can’t wait to see what’s in the next one.