The Inky Box

by The Inky Box
A monthly selection of lettering and calligraphy supplies, all hand-picked by Sarah @theinkyhand!
45 reviews

Plans as low as

$12.17/ month

Buying Options

The Inky Box reviewsReviews

Write a Review
45

Fun surprises! Helpful instruction

Apr 20, 2019
Deana G.
1 Review
1 Picture
11 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

I really like the Inky box. A thoughtfully curated selection of handlettering tools and accessories. The physical items are great but a nice bonus are the tutorial videos and downloadable practice sheets. Inky box has a great YouTube channel where she demos each item in the monthly box. Super useful for beginners and to explore new products.

Verified Purchase

The cost is way too high!!!!

Nov 24, 2018
Ines L.
1 Review
19 Helpful Votes
Overall

I looked at the past boxes (unfortunately after I ordered the first box) and the value is only equivalent or a buck or too cheaper than buying them yourself. I would actually say that it is more expensive once you consider that the seller adds in her own art pieces, such as magnets and lettering practice sheets as part of the cost. If anything these should be bonuses, not ways to make the box look like it costs more than it does. My suggestion is choose another subscription box.

Verified Purchase
The Inky Box said...Nov 26, 2018

I'm sorry you did not feel that the box was worth it. I do take care to make sure every has a value of at least what you paid for it, but if the practice sheets and cards aren't your thing, you might be better off just buying supplies.

Love.

Mar 11, 2021
Deirdre E.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Love this box. All the pens are really fun. And the extras are always so cute.

Verified Purchase
The Inky Box said...Mar 11, 2021

Thank you Deirdre! So glad you love it!
-Sarah

Lettering, lettering and more lettering

Jan 14, 2021
Andrea L.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

great pens for lettering. Can't wait to get my next box.

Verified Purchase
The Inky Box said...Today

Thanks Andrea! Glad you're enjoying it!
-Sarah

Not impressed

Today
Jean M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The first 2 out of three I got were sufficient. I wasn't exactly impressed, but it was about what I was expecting (some cheap products straight from Asia I'm assuming). However, my 3rd and last box (June 2021) was very disappointing. There wasn't a single item with ink. It's the INK box, not water color box. If I wanted watercolor, I would have got a watercolor box. And the watercolor products were mediocre at best, including a brush and tiny pallete that seemed extremely cheap to me. It was my final box, so I was pretty let down.

Verified Purchase
The Inky Box said...Today

Hi Jean, I'm so sorry you were disappointed with The Inky Box. I assure you that all products that go into it are items from well-known companies within the lettering community. As far as the watercolor box, I only do those once or twice a year to change things up a little. Some people get bored with every box being pens and want to try something a little different. Hopefully I can win you back at some point!
-Sarah

Inky Box, limited variety

Feb 11, 2021
Tracy M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 25 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The box was fine. Not horrible and not great. The variety seemed better suited to the mini box as I was expecting a better mix of ink and paper/misc. items. The February box is 90% ink with two note cards. I looked at past boxes before I ordered and based my ordering off of those. I did cancel my subscription as it was not quite what I was expecting. This might just be a personal preference. Going off the reviews, the box is perfect for many people.

Verified Purchase

Not

May 15, 2021
Brenda L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

First off, Sarah is wonderful to work with. This is a gift for my daughter who has taken up lettering, and she has mixed feelings about what she receives. The first box was full sized, and she didn't appreciate the cards. The second we switched to mini, and she doesn't feel she receives any value over purchasing at the local art stores or online, like many have said. Plus, no matter the medium, the colors were nearly invisible! The third she is even more disappointed in. It feels like the seller buys the large packages of the products and gives away the colors she doesn't like. On that note, we are canceling.
I know a lot of her (and my) expectations come from my experience with another subscription box, where for $50/mo I received $250 in items. Inky Box, and probably most of the things on Crate Joy, are not that.

Verified Purchase
The Inky Box said...May 16, 2021

Hi Brenda,
I’m so sorry you were disappointed with your experience! You’re definitely right, I’m not able to operate like the huge subscription boxes that get most of their products for free or at a very deep discount in exchange for the exposure. I’ve been taking your and others’ feedback into consideration, and I’m hoping to win you back soon!

Unsatisfied soon to be ex customer

Mar 22, 2021
Susan C.
3 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Ordered a three month subscription. Got my first box, never received a second and now they are saying they are preparing my third. No tracking on second package and have ignored my inquiry as to the issue. Bad business but the pens were cool, even though I could have bought them cheaper on Amazon. I like the surprise but if a company can't at least respond or get the product to you then it's a no go. I will be canceling after this review. I WILL BE DEMANDING A REFUND FROM CRATEJOY IF I don't receive both months I paid for without product.

Verified Purchase
The Inky Box said...Mar 22, 2021

Hi Susan,
I replied to your inquiry via Cratejoy on the 10th, but maybe it didn’t get to you? I’m so sorry if that’s the case. Tracking shows that both boxes were delivered (you can find the tracking numbers in your shipping emails) but if one of them was not, we can go from there. If you could email me directly just in case emails aren’t being delivered to you through Cratejoy, we’ll get it figured out! Cratejoy won’t let me link my email here but you can find it on the Instagram page or on the actual website. I can also send a screenshot verifying that I did attempt to reply via Cratejoy the day I received your email.
-Sarah

Lovely subscription

Jun 06, 2020
Rebecca S.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is a lovely subscription. I'm doing a rotation of subscriptions, and enjoyed this one very much.

Verified Purchase

February box

Feb 18, 2019
April L.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I enjoy receiving the box every month, there are always things in there that I never would of known existed. I agree the price is a little high but finding great new tools makes it worth it.

Verified Purchase

Love the surprises

Dec 15, 2018
Susan J.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

...the sparkly December is such a delight.

Verified Purchase

Box of happiness

May 14, 2020
Heather W.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I never leave reviews, but I will say that this is a box of happiness. I opened it with my friends and they are probably going to be getting this box as well

Verified Purchase

Great Box!

Nov 29, 2019
Daphne R.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Hands down my favorite box. Every month the Inky Box comes loaded with amazing things and an interesting variety.
I’ve never been disappointed.

Verified Purchase

Excellent Box

Nov 08, 2018
Tandi W.
4 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 17 days
Overall

The inky box is very much a high-quality box and matches its price. Every piece was beautiful, but overall the box is a bit pricey if you like to subscribe to more than one monthly box. Good JOB "The Inky Box"! :)

Verified Purchase

Love

Mar 25, 2020
Amy R.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Love this box!! Great quality and always the new items I am wanting to try!

Verified Purchase

Wonderful value

Mar 12, 2020
Rebecca C.
2 Reviews
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was pleased with the products for the price I paid.

Verified Purchase

Love this box

Jul 28, 2018
Kris T.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 27 days
Overall

I absolutely love this box, but I've missed out on receiving it for 2 months now because it says that subscription is sold-out and not taking orders!! Please let me know if there's anyway that I can order !!

Verified Purchase

My favorite subscription box!

Jun 12, 2018
Johannah G.
8 Reviews
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I've subscribed to five or six art boxes over the past year, but this box is absolutely a must-have. I canceled the others to keep The Inky Box. Every box contains a detailed list of the contents and the retail values -- not only is the retail value much higher than the cost of the box, but I'm trying brands and types of pens, markers, paints, brushes that I would never have heard of. The members-only Facebook group is a fabulous community with tons of inspiration and help. My lettering game has gotten better in the past four months of Inky Box than in the previous two years of practice. I'm a total fan!

Verified Purchase

Fun Fun

Jun 26, 2018
Royleta F.
5 Reviews
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall

This box was awesome. I was upset because my local post office lost it. But now I know why I may be ordering again really soon. I was just testing out subscriptions but I like this one.

Verified Purchase

The Inky Box

Jul 07, 2017
Janet A.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 12 months
Overall

I received my first Inky Box today and loved it! It was loaded with pens, ink, nibs, and a few other items. Just when I thought I was finished finding items, I would look under the packing materials and find something else! This seems like a great box! I can't wait for next month!

Verified Purchase

Tried so many, and come back to this

Apr 27, 2018
Sonya R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

I love the Inky Box. I love stationery in general. Paper, pens, notebooks, art supplies, stickers. I've subscribed to many boxes. This one is my FAVOURITE! It's a few amazing products, and each month is different. I've found a couple all time favourite products through this box. Items I have never heard of (maybe because I'm in Canada). I'm always excited to tear into this box and see what I have to play with. Easy five stars!

Verified Purchase

Awesome box for calligraphers!

Jun 20, 2017
Cristina S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I love that this box is made by a hand letterer for hand letterers. It gives me a chance to try supplies that I have been eyeing and also things that I would have never thought to try. Every month prints are included from popular lettering artists and they've all been super cute. She has recently lowered the price on shipping so now it's even more affordable! It's like Christmas every month when I get this box :)

Verified Purchase

Great Box for new Letterers!

Jun 20, 2017
Alisiah H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I recently received my first box and was not disappointed! I enjoyed the surprise of not knowing what would be inside and the products were great. She includes a nice sheet itemizing the contents of the box and their value, so you know you're getting your money's worth. Everything in the box can be used immediately. Nothing in it requires a different tool, which makes this great for beginners (you can also use these items with different tools if you have them). As a new letterer, I've loved trying out new tools I haven't used before, and being able to benefit from Sarah's experience because she only includes things she really likes.

Verified Purchase

So Refreshing!

Aug 09, 2017
Angie
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall

Just received my first box and what a happy experience! Love the variety and I'll be using every single item included. ;)
Thank You!

Verified Purchase

A treat in a box. I love my inky box

Apr 25, 2018
Rosemary M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

It is so worth having the inky box subscription. It is must have. Love it

Verified Purchase