Get your kids away from a screen and outside exploring nature, encouraging a life of learning!

Plans as low as $36.50 / month

Think Outside Boxes reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Grandson (8) loves it

Today
Phyllis F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The intro box seemed a little “light” to me but he loved and reviewed everything in it. He wasn’t sure why there was string but I got his Grandfather's Boy Scout book and we are learning knot tying. We downloaded the app for Geocaching and filled his bag with dried fruits and jerky, added a water bottle, the Scout book and paper. We are now looking for things in the woods and leaving Scout patches in place of what we take. We’re also learning animal tracks and nature.

We finally have a way to get him off his electronics!!

Verified Purchase

Excellent backpack!

Apr 29, 2020
Ruth M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 22 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

LOVE this box. Some complained about the lightweight backpack in the first box. But, hmmm...it is a great fabric, deliberately lightweight, and well made. And it holds a LOT! With loads of clever little pockets and doo-hickeys. Loved the instructions on how and what to pack. Our little guy loved it and immediately began packing most of his wardrobe into it, along with sunscreen, etc. etc. And then we had to set up a tent in the backyard and he moved into it. So cute. I think this subscription is a winner.

Verified Purchase

Fun boxes!

Mar 24, 2020
Jessica T.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My son is almost 11 and we love these boxes. He is a bit too introverted for Scouts, but likes to hike with me. We're both learning together with each of the boxes, and look forward to each delivery. They've been a godsend now that we've been stuck at home during mandatory school closure for coronavirus. The booklets have good info with games and projects we do together. He enjoys adding to his backpack every month.

Verified Purchase

Great idea but

Mar 09, 2019
Holly E.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall

I purchased a three month subscription for my very outdoor adventurous son. Box arrived and He said the book was cool looking, but when he opened it He was very underwhelmed. The main part of the box was a backpack. The other pieces in the Box were a piece rope, a luggage tag, a pencil, two pamphlets and a metal tag holder. It did not make a very good first impression on my son, Hopefully the next two boxes are better.

Verified Purchase

7 shipments in.....

Mar 13, 2019
Katie C.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall

We are 7 shipments into the total 13 (including the intro box) and we love it! So I have to confess though that I bought this for my 5 year old daughter (she was 4 when we signed up) even though it is rated for age 7+, she has done fantastic with every box though. We have had a ton of fun learning new skills outside, and putting those new skills to action on hikes or while camping. I love this box! I might even sign up to have the year of boxes all over again....

Verified Purchase

LOVE. THIS. BOX

Oct 20, 2018
Ginger W.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Overall

My brother in-law got this for my 12 yr old son and he absolutely loves them. The first box came with a great backpack and we have been steadily filling it up with gear since. The boxes just keep blowing me away! The gear is great for my son to get exposed to using these tools and the educational booklets are filled with fun activities and I find them very educational. We are a farm family, outside a lot, and still learn something from them. Keep it up Think Outside!

Ok so far

Oct 18, 2018
Lora S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

This is our first box ,which took awhile to get compared to others ,and it seemed a little pricey for what you get. It’s just an ok backpack and some cords and a little activity brochure with good information but not worth $35. I like the concept though so I will wait to see what comes next month,

Verified Purchase
Think Outside Boxes said...Oct 18, 2018

Hi Lora - We appreciate your feedback and that you are sticking with us for another month! Also, we have heard your concerns on first box timing and are adjusting our schedule to ensure future customers receive their first box sooner! Can’t wait to send your #outsider our Nature box in November!

Kids are diggin it!

Jul 13, 2018
Brandon W.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Overall

Both of our kids got their first box and have really enjoyed digging into the skills and some of the trivia included in the book. Their favorite part of the box was the compact backpack! They're really looking forward to using it for some hiking and travel this summer, fall, and beyond!

Awesome!

Jul 10, 2018
Jacki
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Overall

My 14 year old son loves his first box! He’s even asked to go hiking more now that he’s started building his hiking gear! An unbelievable alternative to sitting inside playing videos/watching screens all day!

So cool!

Jul 10, 2018
Riley
1 Review
Overall

My Aunt surprised me with this subscription and I love it! The pink backpack in the first box is really cool and light, and the activities are a lot of fun. I can't wait to get the next box!

Love it!

Jul 10, 2018
Jessica H.
1 Review
Overall

We just got our first box and we love it! High quality, my kids had to test it out as soon as we got it. I love all of the outdoor and survival activities included, this will keep us entertained for awhile. I can't wait to see what's in the next box!

Excited for the first box to ship!!

Jun 19, 2018
Justin W.
1 Review
Overall

Can't wait to see the kids outside testing out their new gear each month :)

Buying Options