Gaming Guru (Monthly)

Gaming Guru (Monthly)

by UnboxBoardom
No phones. No TVs. All fun! Unplug & play on with this premium subscription board game service.

Plans as low as

$29.99/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (59)

  1. Reviews for this product (57)
  2. Reviews for this seller (2)

Moutains

Jan 18, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Beth D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

We received our first box this week and have loved the game--it's not a game I ever would have chosen, so it's been a delight to have someone else choose it for us!

Verified Purchase

Love this box

Jan 18, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kati D.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 years

I love your subscription!!! I love board games so I plan on keep this for a while. The board games you guys send are good games. :)

Verified Purchase

Great "first game"!

Jan 17, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Ron H.
1 Review

My husband and I like to play games like Caton and Flux and Mountains is similar to those.
We also like different routes of games so we look forward to what's coming!

Fun for the entire family

Dec 15, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Shanna S.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 year

We are a family of board gamers and have owned hundreds of board games so I was skeptical about this box, but the curation was fantastic! We had a choice of three games and none of them were already in our game collection. All five of us had a great time playing the game we chose and we are all looking forward to the next box.

Verified Purchase

Everything was create... except the game

Jan 18, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jonell H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

Loved the idea, loved the box, but after reading the instructions 6 times and watching the video of how to play 3 times I have no idea how to play the game and my 9 year old wants to play, but between my husband and I we can’t figure it out.

Verified Purchase

The Mansky Caper

Oct 25, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Brian M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years

So far, we enjoy this service. We had a slight issue regarding shipping. We were sent the wrong tracking information and that led to some confusion.
We really enjoyed the game. It isn't overly complex and we picked it up quickly, considering I'm legally blind and we have a seven and nine year old. There's a lot of room to help or double-cross the other players.

Verified Purchase

Three good things about UnboxBoardom

Jul 05, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Alexandra L.
1 Review
7 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

Three reasons I like this board game subscription box:
1. The selection is not random - you can pick which game suits your needs. And if you already own all three choices - you can pick one that would be suitable to use as a gift.
2. The three games in the selections each month have been varied, topical, and high-quality.
3. Upon review past game selections - the team curating appears to have a focus on continual improvement to selections.
The only disappointing thing is that it is US shipping only. But there are plenty of work-arounds for that.

Verified Purchase

Fun games!!! great gift!

Oct 23, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Bethany M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

I can't wait to try the game out!

Verified Purchase

Planet my first order

Oct 19, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Eric F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years

My group has not yet played Planet, we usually meet once a month or so.

Verified Purchase

Best game box

Jul 16, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Chris D.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 10 months

My family looks forward to the next box of fun that we are going to have. Every game has been great and I am glad I found this box.

Verified Purchase

Jan 16, 2019
Overall
Katy P.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

We received the first game a couple of nights ago and have really enjoyed it. Our favorite part is that we get to play games that we haven't heard of before. Can't wait to see more!

Verified Purchase

Dec 21, 2018
Overall
Jamie N.
3 Reviews
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

I love this subscription so much! I ended up with an awesome collection of games that my friends and I just LOVE

Verified Purchase

Great first choice

Jan 17, 2019
Overall
Monica S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

Gunkimono was my choice and it is a great game. Lots of strategy, but easy to learn!

Verified Purchase

Pricey

Mar 17, 2019
Overall
Laeona G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

Games all right...would have been cheaper to buy on amazon! Love the idea but it’s way to expensive

Verified Purchase
UnboxBoardom said...Mar 18, 2019

"We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy our service. We try to provide a variety of games for players of different skill levels, themes, game types, etc., and aim to have our game options average around a $35 retail price and try to find the best games for our subscribers! We hope with our subscriptions you can discover new games that are great to play! However, as you mentioned we cannot always be the lowest price on some games as Amazon or other online marketplaces. If you have any other suggestions, we'd love to hear them as we are always looking to improve our service and keep our customers happy"

New user

Jan 06, 2019
Overall
Nickolas J.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 12 months

Good game, but I changed the suggested game to something else. Easy to miss the reminder email to pick a game, can't pick ahead of time

Verified Purchase
UnboxBoardom said...Jan 08, 2019

Hi Nickolas,

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your game! You should receive your email with your game selection options on the 1st of the month, and you have five days to select the game you'd like. If you do not receive the email on the 1st please reach out to us to make sure we give you enough time to choose your game. Let us know if you have any questions!

Istanbul dice

Nov 20, 2018
Overall
Nickolas J.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 12 months

Perfect game for our family, more of the same, please

Verified Purchase

Oct 17, 2018
Overall
Fletcher O.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

We loved the game.

Verified Purchase

Challenge Accepted

Jul 09, 2018
Overall
Rachel A.
1 Review
2 Helpful

As a kindergarten teacher I am always looking for fun and creative ways to challenge my students in the abilities we develop over the year. With a subscription like Unboxboardom, I’ll be able to introduce different games that reach specific skills necessary for cognitive abilities as well as social cues! I can’t wait to start the school year with some fresh games and ideas!

Sherif of Nottinham

Jul 17, 2018
Overall
Laura S.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 7 months

Thanks for the game of the month- we've played it before so we know we'll like it!

Verified Purchase

Great resource for fun homeschooling

Jul 05, 2018
Overall
Jess W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 26 days

My kids came cross unboxboardom and we decided to try it out. As I was thrilled they were interested in table top games. We got our first game and have been hooked since.

Verified Purchase

Great service and game!

Jul 20, 2018
Overall
Heather S.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

We are excited to pick out our game each month- great customer service and games!

Verified Purchase

Didn't love...

Aug 19, 2018
Overall
Holly D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months

Unfortunately, we just didn't enjoy this game :(

Verified Purchase
UnboxBoardom said...Aug 20, 2018

Hi Holly,

We're so sorry you did not enjoy your game this past month. We offer three different games each month with the hope you will have an option you will find fun! Please let us know what types of games you like and we will make a note on your account for the future. If there is anything else we can do, please let us know. We are always looking for ways to improve our service and keep our customers happy.

Wits & Wisdom

Apr 20, 2018
Overall
Katherine R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

Awesome. I was looking for this game.

Verified Purchase

Awesome service!!

Mar 13, 2018
Overall
Miranda W.
3 Reviews
10 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

I got this as a gift for my husband. well there was a technical issue with the email, long story short we called their customer support and they were so wonderful! they were kind and extremely helpful, they had the problem fixed and the package on its way the same day! my husband is so excited with the game he picked :) we will definitely be ordering again. (my husband says "there ought to be a sixth star option cuz they earned it")

Verified Purchase

Absolute Success! Great idea!

Dec 28, 2017
Overall
Allie H.
1 Review

Love this company! Great idea! I used Unboxboardom to send a gift to a friend over the holidays, and it was a hit! My friend received an awesome game, which she and her friends/family played all throughout the holiday season. I received great reviews from her about the game. Perfect timing of the shipment, user-friendly website, and absolute customer satisfaction. I'll continue to use Unboxboardom now and in the future! We need companies like this to help us unplug and enjoy each other's presence!

Customers who bought this also bought...