Used Books Monthly

Used Books Monthly

by Used Books Monthly
Gently used books carefully curated for a unique surprise experience!

Plans as low as

$8.49/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (381)

Winds of Marque, A Breath After Drowning

Mar 05, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jane K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

I have received 3 shipments, 6 books in total. Of those six, only one has fit either of the two categories I selected—Sara Douglass The Devil’s Diadem. This book, by a renowned fantasy author, fits perfectly into the Fantasy category. The latest book sent for the fantasy category is sci-fi, but not fantasy.
None of the books sent to me would ever be found on the mystery shelves of a library; they are mainstream fiction, perhaps suspense or thriller, but not mystery novels.
Having spent many hours in libraries over the last several decades, I expected the curation of books in the categories offered to match the standard understood definitions of book genres. This has not been the case and I am paying for and receiving books that clearly do not fit the genres requested. Unless this changes I will definitely be cancelling the subscription and recommending that the service be avoided by any one who asks for my feedback.

Verified Purchase

Outdated

Mar 03, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Grace H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 18 days

Super outdated books and nothing like I would read will not be getting them again

Verified Purchase

not for me

Feb 03, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Deborahrhodes@218yahoo.com ..
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

did not like them Liza was ok the other forget it i want to stop it

Verified Purchase

Didn’t pay attention after reading the s

Feb 02, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lindsay S.
4 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 23 days

Not a fan- not at all my reading preference

Verified Purchase

My review

Jan 16, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Joanna F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 days

Unfortunately I didn’t get any book that I would have wanted to read. I understand that I would be getting used books but one of them was a discarded library book, which didn’t seem like a good choice.

Verified Purchase

Extremely disappointed

Jan 12, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Michelle H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I am extremely disappointed in this product. The person I purchased the subscription for did not like the books. She didn't recieve the books in a timely manner at all. Overall I would never recommend this at all.

Verified Purchase

Highly disappointed

Jan 06, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Elizabeth M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 19 days

I received my shipment today and I was highly disappointed in it I will not be re-subscribing as the books that were sent to me had nothing to do with the interest that I added in the survey they were all thriller/horror novels for adults I specifically requested YA novels in hopes I wouldn’t get adult oriented novels HIGHLY DISAPPOINTED

Verified Purchase

“Curators” don’t understand genres

Nov 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jeremiah D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

So when I said that I read science fiction and fantasy the “curators” took it as paranormal and mystery?!? I have never had something so far off the mark. Shipping was decent, and the books are basically new but all 4 are not in the genre that I read. Don’t waste your money.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Nov 18, 2021

We are sorry to hear you had this experience and did not enjoy your books. Quality fantasy can be hit and miss. You can always reach out to customer service and they will be happy to make any replacements necessary.

Customer setvice

Oct 05, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Laurie R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

I cannot unsubscribe and no customer service person has been able to resolve the situation

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Oct 08, 2021

Laurie, I see two customeer service requests. One was requesting tracking information and the other a genre change, both of which were answered. I'm sorry to see you go, but your account is cancelled. -Joe

Books

Sep 14, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Julie S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

I want to cancel, please let me know how. Thanks

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Sep 30, 2021

Julie, we are sorry our books didn't resonate with you. Feel free to reach out any time so we can fine-tune your selections to your liking.

Poor offering

Aug 27, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jeffery N.
2 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

Got it as a gift for my wife. They sent my 38-year-old wife young adult books. I wrote to complain and they said oops oh well, we will try to do better. I canceled the auto-renew and they proceeded to send Warhammer 40k books to my wife as the last shipment.. Like this counted for actual fantasy books. I have to believe they knew that isn't the kind of fantasy we meant.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Oct 30, 2021

I'm sorry you had this experience. We truly try to put the best product out there, but sometimes we fall a bit short. We would love to replace the books for you at no charge if you like.

Old yellowed books & terrible service

Aug 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jeszika V.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 6 months

Battered yellow paperbacks - terrible customer service - and super late shipping...
To begin with - the most important part - the books: They describe their books as gently used and show pictures of some pretty hardcovers and some nice trade paperbacks. But what I received usually included battered mass-market paperbacks that were 20 or 30 years old with the covers bent and torn the spines broken and the pages yellowed. Or self-published books that looked *very* self-published...
Next the customer service: When I wrote an email expressing my frustration with the 30-year-old beaten paperbacks that would likely not sell for $1 in a used book store - rather than bother to fix anything, they said tough luck - guess our subscription isn't for you and cancelled it for me. Don't let the door hit you on the way out sort of message - with one caveat...
Shipping: the one caveat they added to their customer tactic of tough luck get lost - was that not to worry - they were still sending me the books that they were late sending. And by late, I mean they often were behind by over a month on shipping the books out. So I guess small victories - they did manage to send out that one last box a month late after they cancelled my sub for me - and yes - it did include a battered yellow 30-year-old paperback that managed to be the worst they had sent me yet.
I guess that about...

Verified Purchase

CANCEL MY SUBSCRIPTION

Aug 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Mary M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

ORDER #3929152134
1) Purchased gift subscription with card to be emailed on Aug 11.
2) You didn’t send the card/email.
3) Wrote you and CrateJoy about it.
4) You didn’t write back and still didn’t send card.
You never sent a card, you never replied. Cancel my gift subscription immediately.

Verified Purchase

Leave me Alone!

Aug 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Louise A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years

Leave me alone. ! I did not purchase your books ever! I reported you to my credit card company. They are watching out for any charges that come onto my account.

Verified Purchase

Don’t waste your money. This subscriptio

Aug 05, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lisa R.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 6 months

This book subscription sucks. Only have received one book in 3 months and the seller wont respond to my emails

Verified Purchase

Disappointed and annoyed

Jul 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Melissa K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 20 days

I ordered my box a month ago and it still hasn’t shipped.. I can order used books on Amazon prime for less money and they actually get here, quickly too. Don’t bother.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Jul 28, 2021

Looking at our records, your book definitely shipped within a month of your order. I have the tracking number if you would like it. I'm sorry you don't like the service. Perhaps this just isn't the subscription box for you and that is okay.

Not my scene

May 05, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Sue H.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 14 days

I'm not leaving a bad review it just wasn't for me .
I did not enjoy any of the books.
But it may work for other people and I will recycle the books.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...May 11, 2021

Thank you for your feedback, Sue! And thank you for trying us out. I hate that this wasn't for you, but keep reading! Thank you, also, for recycling the books!

Just don’t do it

Apr 09, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Megan T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

This box has been nothing short of a disappointment. I knew that this would not be a box of the newest books, but my first box contained a book that was #20 in a series. What? Gave them another chance. Got books that legit, my 80 year old grandma would enjoy.
Something else that makes no sense to me- they charge you on the 15th of the month and ship on the 1st of the following month. They use the slowest mailing service, which is fine, but by the time it reaches me in California, they’ve charged me again.
They take 3-5 business days to reply to any emails, so good luck trying to get your genres changed or get in touch with them.
Why I canceled- they never shipped my March/April box. Or if they did, I never got the tracking. I may never know because they take so long to get back to us. For real, do you all have a phone number?

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Apr 10, 2021

Hi Megan. Thank you for your feedback. I'm so sorry that this has been a negative experience for you. We will use this information to continue to improve our services.

Book selections

Jan 24, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Drenka M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

Box contains one book that is exactly the same as the book on our last month’s subscription. Also the box is for a 16 year old avid reader but another books sent was for a middle school child. They definitely do not read the comments when you order the boxes. I also sent an email to the company, did not hear back from them. Will not be ordering again.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Feb 11, 2021

I am so sorry you had a bad experience, Drenka. We are "book people" and work very hard to meet our customer's wants and needs, however we do drop the ball sometimes. Please let us know if we can help you again in the future.

Poor communication and low quality books

Nov 19, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kaitlin S.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 9 days

I have a couple of issues with this box. First of all, there is no communication from the seller. I sent an email several days ago. Additionally, I feel like someone walked into a thrift store and picked the 4 cheapest books on the shelf and threw them in a box.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Nov 16, 2021

We are sorry to hear you had this experience. We have taken steps to update our systems. Please do not hesitate to reach out, we will make it right!

such a disappointment

Nov 12, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Glory C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

I did 3 payments (3 subscriptions) and only received 2 books... I never received a book in the month of October and when I emailed them about it they were so useless and they tried to say that my October book was supposed to arrive Nov 5 (btw still no book, today is 11/12)...I kept trying to explain that I was STILL supposed to receive a book in October from the sep. subscription.... and they kept going on and on about November, very frustrating, I canceled and NOW they want to "mail" out the book lol I tried to track and it hasn't even been delivered. It's messed up because I was so happy and praised them so much on social media smh SUCH a disappointment!

Verified Purchase

Box Never Arrived :(

Nov 11, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Johannah S.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 29 days

I have a thing for used/old books and was beyond elated when I found this box.
I was genuinely looking forward to this subscription.
I won't be able to rate the book selection, as I have not received my order. I had reached out to customer service after my order had been heavily delayed and then returned to sender.
I haven't heard back from customer service in over 10 days and my package is not here.
It has been one month since I have ordered.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Nov 16, 2021

Please contact customer service, it looks like the address was invalid. We would be happy to send a replacement package at no charge. We have updated our customer service system, and are happy to help.

Disappointed

Nov 01, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Joey B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

Very disappointed.. ended up canceling.
Never again.

Verified Purchase

Awful

Sep 29, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Trisha D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

Awful books

Verified Purchase

Terrible customer service!

Jul 14, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Julie B.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I was subscribed for 2 months. First 2 books that I received I probably would not read. Decided to do another month to see if the books would eventually be to my liking. My subscription renewed however I never received a tracking notice for my July subscription. I tried to contact them multiple times in regards of where and when I could expect my books however I never got a response to my multiple attempts. Do not be persuaded by the price of this subscription and sign up. I do not recommend it and I regret signing up

Verified Purchase

Customers who bought this also bought...