Used Books Monthly

Used Books Monthly

by Used Books Monthly
Gently used books carefully curated for a unique surprise experience!

Plans as low as

$8.49/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (386)

Terrible customer service!

Jul 14, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Julie B.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I was subscribed for 2 months. First 2 books that I received I probably would not read. Decided to do another month to see if the books would eventually be to my liking. My subscription renewed however I never received a tracking notice for my July subscription. I tried to contact them multiple times in regards of where and when I could expect my books however I never got a response to my multiple attempts. Do not be persuaded by the price of this subscription and sign up. I do not recommend it and I regret signing up

Verified Purchase

Haven’t shipped my stuff but billed me.

Jul 07, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Brianna B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

I have been 3 times (about to be 4) and I have been sent one box.

Verified Purchase

Still waiting for May shipment

Jul 06, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Shannon C.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

Needs help. My first (and only at this time) box was perfect. I loved all the books and couldn't wait for my next shipment. Sadly, they charged me in May and I have yet to receive any books (it is now July). It took them several weeks to respond to my multiple attempts to contact (only email or Facebook available) and when they did respond their answer was that shipping times were delayed due to supplier issues surrounding COVID-19. I understood but didn't appreciate being charged for something they couldn't deliver. I skipped my next renewal to give them time to get caught up. Now as we go into July, I still have not received books I was charged for in May. If I hadn't skipped a shipment on my own, they would now have 2 months of my money. I have currently cancelled my subscription as I cannot afford to pay them without receiving any shipments. If I receive resolution to this I would consider giving them another chance.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

Jun 12, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Stephanie W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 29 days

The genre we chose was history. The book received was very odd...a language during the war. Not what I was expecting for giving a gift. Very disappointed.

Verified Purchase

Never got my books

Jun 11, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Mary L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 16 days

Never got my box. Ordered it on May 29th and still haven’t gotten my box. Sent two emails to find out when it would be shipped and got no answer. Kind of getting annoyed. Want a refund.

Verified Purchase

Only gave on star so far because

Jun 11, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Brianne C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I placed my order on may 23rd. It says it will ship within 10 business days and will be sent out by the 5th of ever month and you will get a tracking number. I have emailed them and sent the seller a message. I have yet to hear back from anyone. I don't not have a tracking number yet and have no idea what's going on with my first box. If I hear back from them or get my package then I may update my review buy right now I'm not impressed at all.

Verified Purchase

Don't waste your money

Jun 03, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Anne T.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

awful customer service and awful curation. don't waste your money. first box had a book that was part of a series. second box contained 3 books from a teenage series on highschool and prom. requested mystery and thrillers.

Verified Purchase

None of the books were genre I selected

Jun 03, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jami T.
1 Review
6 Helpful
Subscribed for 21 days

I contacted about the 4 book box I received right away and, recieved a email back asking if I wanted replacement or refund ..... I emailed back for refund , and never heard back from anyone and never received my refund. I've tried contacting several times since and received no response!!! Can someone please contact me back ASAP

Verified Purchase

Never received shipment & seller respons

May 10, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Alicia M.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

My first shipment was made over 3 weeks ago and has yet to get to its destination. I ordered it for Mother’s Day and made sure to order it for enough time to get there, but now it won’t. When I emailed the seller about it, I never heard back. I’m so disappointed they couldn’t bother even responding to my inquiry.

Verified Purchase

Where is my stuff

Apr 07, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lela J.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

I have never received my order so not real happy with the product as I dont have it to review

Verified Purchase

Disappointed customer

Apr 06, 2020
Overall
Debbie D.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 21 days

First time customer - received two books - have read both. One book was dirty and both went to the recycling bin. Please discontinue the subscription. Thank you.

Verified Purchase

Horrible Customer Service

Mar 03, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Haley W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

Used books monthly is a nightmare. They do not send the boxes in a timely manner, for January I had to reach out to the seller before he even shipped it, and the same thing happened for my February subscription, except this time he is not answering my emails! It is very frustrating especially since they have no problem charging my card each month. I will definitely be cancelling.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Mar 11, 2020

We understand your frustration. We just starting working with Zendesk, a customer service ticketing provider, to bring organization and efficiency to our customer service efforts. I'm sorry you had this issue.

Never Again

Feb 13, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Tasha L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I can't seem to get anyone to respond to me and I never get any notification when my book is shipped yall have my email but whatever I wish I could cancel but I contacted and guess what NO RESPONSE

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Mar 11, 2020

We understand your frustration. We just starting working with Zendesk, a customer service ticketing provider, to bring organization and efficiency to our customer service efforts. I'm sorry you had this issue.

Meh.

Feb 06, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Bethan W.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 23 days

Just received my box today. I was originally impressed at the price, four books for $15!! And I received it in good time too. However upon opening the box I was really disappointed with the selection. I realise it is a ‘mystery box’ and they can only send what they have in stock, but the conditions of the books and the books themselves that I received was not great. I could see past the condition of the books if the content of the books was good but I specifically didn’t want any romance or children’s books and received both. Some of the books don’t even appear on a google search; that’s how obscure they are. I ticked boxes for several different genres so was shocked that they didn’t listen to any of the suggestions and just sent me random books from the categories I didn’t choose. Really disappointed & will probably have to donate them all :/

Verified Purchase

annoyed

Jan 31, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Amy G.
15 Reviews
1 Picture
10 Helpful
Subscribed for 30 days

I ordered and paid for the 2 book, but only received 1 book. I contacted the seller and got no response. I chose the two book envelope. because my boyfriend and i are aid readers. i thought having a book and bubble bath with two "new to us" books would be great. now we have to share. and i read faster. it sucks.

Verified Purchase

Never arrived

Dec 05, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Brittany G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 21 days

Messaged seller multiple times and have yet to receive a response. My order never arrived.

Verified Purchase

Not mystery

Oct 29, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Giannina T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

Not what i thought i asked for mystery im thinking crime and suspense. I received a comedy not really mystery to me.

Verified Purchase

Not Worth It

Oct 12, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Mary H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

Very disappointed. They didn't pay attention to a cancelled membership and still charged my card. Books look more then just used. They look in pretty bad shape and some just look gross.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Oct 15, 2019

You have opened 3 accounts and have cancelled just one. We did not "ignore" your request. We will send this last payment back to you

Does anyone work here??

Oct 01, 2019
Overall
Debbie L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

I am only reviewing on the fact that I can not get any one from this place to respond to my email, my message on here or my message on their facebook page! It is very frustrating when I did this as a gift for my Mother and I can not find out any information about her subscription!

Verified Purchase

Recieved a textbook

Sep 05, 2019
Overall
Curation
Stephanie H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 23 days

I received an actual textbook. Not what I expected from other reviews, so highly disappointed.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

Aug 02, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
April J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 25 days

I never recieved anything. I signed up on July 20th for the 4 book box, it's now Aug 2nd. I got an email on the 24th saying it had shipped but the tracking number says USPS never got the actual box, only a label was printed. I have tried to email but no response. I hope I can get my money back and cancel the subscription.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Aug 02, 2019

We have had an issue with the post office on package pickups. The order will ship and you will be refunded. I'm sorry for the inconvenience.

Never got my box, 4 emails still no resp

Aug 01, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Candace T.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 22 days

i got a email saying my box was o. the way,then one asking ne how i liked my box!! I NEVER GOT MY BOX, AND WHEN I TRACK IT IT STILL SAYS PRE SHIPMENT!! I EMAILED THE CO,4 TIMES AND THEY HAVE NOT RESPONDED!! I WANT MY BOX OR MY MONEY BACK!, HAD HIGH HOPES,BUT CANCELED, BEFORE I WAS CHARGED AGAIN,FOR SOMTHING I NEVER GOT!! DISSATISFIED AND DISAPPOINTED!

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Aug 02, 2019

We have had an issue with the post office on package pickups. The order will ship and you will be refunded. I'm sorry for the inconvenience.

Books Were Old And All Discolored.......

Jul 26, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jody J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

The books were so old the pages were discolored, and not anything I would even read. There is no way you went by my genre. I couldn't even sell these books if I wanted to, or to offer a giveaway for these three very used and ancient books would be an embarrassment to me. I would not recommend this box if you want a halfway decent set of books or ones that were published in this decade, sorry but true.

Verified Purchase

May 13, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Emilie H.
5 Reviews
1 Picture
7 Helpful
Subscribed for 16 days

This box is just not for me I didn’t really like any of the books that were there so I will not be getting another box from them or from you

Verified Purchase

Library book

Apr 29, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Mirjam N.
4 Reviews
11 Helpful
Subscribed for 21 days

I received my first book today. I didn’t know what to expect. But based on the reviews here I certainly did not expect to pay for an old library book with yellow pages. That wasn’t worth the money at all. For $1 dollar I could have bought this at the library booksale. Quite disappointed. Customer service wasn’t helpful either.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...May 19, 2019

Mirjam, I'm sorry you didn't like your book. I've made arrangements to send a replacement book free of charge.

Customers who bought this also bought...