Used Books Monthly

Used Books Monthly

by Used Books Monthly
Gently used books carefully curated for a unique surprise experience!

Plans as low as

$8.49/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (386)

Better Books

Dec 05, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Aliza R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 days

I would like a better variety of books most I didn't like them.

Verified Purchase

Emails

Aug 30, 2022
Overall
Elizabeth C.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 days

Hi, I have emailed you guys two or three times and haven't gotten responses, I sent one email about my book preferences and I sent one asking what date my box will be shipped.

Verified Purchase

Not a huge vampire book fan

Nov 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jason F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

Not my favorite selection this month but looking forward already to next month

Verified Purchase

Just OK

Sep 17, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Katelynn S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

The book I got was a TV show adapted book and I was quite disappointed in that. Additionally, it was more science fiction than it was mystery. I'm gonna give this box one more go just in case this time it was a fluke.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Sep 24, 2021

Katelynn,
Sorry you didn't like your selection. I have added a replacement shipment to our queue to replace it. I want our readers to be satisfied.
-Joseph

Getting the feel of the club

Sep 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Carmen R.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month

I think I just need to change up my choice of books

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Nov 11, 2021

We are happy to make any genre updates necessary for better, more personalized selections! Please reach out to customer service at any time.

Decent set- looking forward to 1 book

Aug 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Patricia B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

Very excited for the fantasy book could end up being a series I like. Not very interested in a biography of a person I’ve never heard of and doesn’t really fit the style of options that I chose- but 1 out of 2 isn’t bad for the price of this subscription. Will definitely try again next month! Thanks for taking the time to do this

Verified Purchase

Where’s my books

Jul 06, 2021
Overall
Amy C.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month

I have already emailed company and was told my books would ship as soon as possible. It’s been almost a month since I ordered. and I will be charged for 2nd box next week. I was wondering if I can get a estimate on first box shipping. I’m looking forward to receiving it. Thanks

Verified Purchase

Subscriber Beware!

Jul 02, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Teresa H.
2 Reviews
2 Pictures
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I normally give a subscription three months before deciding to keep or ditch it. My first box was nice and good book quality - two hardbacks. My second however was horrible! It was an old Agatha Christie paperback that at best was a 25 cent garage sale quality. Torn, crumpled pages and extremely yellowed not to mention the smell of mold that wafted outside of the unopened box. Never have I been so disgusted with a subscription box. I did email Used Books Monthly but never received a reply. So SUBSCRIBERS BEWARE as my experience was not good and it appears service is very dodgy.

Verified Purchase

I wanted to try bye eh.

Jun 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Melissa B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I tried but this type of thing is just not for me.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Jun 15, 2021

Hi Melissa, and thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you were confused about your subscription, as we discussed via email. For future reference, every subscription is explained in detail on our website. Thank you.

Good-ish

May 18, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Victoria S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months

The books were in perfect shape, and the shipping was very fast. I am not a fan of either authors unfortunately

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...May 18, 2021

Thank you so much for your feedback, Victoria! I am so sorry that you have already read the authors we sent you and are not a fan. If you want to contact our customer service rep, then they can change your genre choices and add any messages you would like to send to our curators.

Could be better choices

Apr 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Karen C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

Everything arrived in a timely manner and in good condition. Only complaint I have is some books are not something I would read. Maybe more geared paranormal romance for young adults would work better for me?.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Apr 13, 2021

Hi Karen!
Thank you for your feedback! If you need to change your genres then please contact our wonderful customer service representative, Vickie. She can hook you up!

Not a great choice

Feb 21, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Norah T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

Didn’t like any of the choices

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Feb 22, 2021

Norah, thank you for your feedback! I'm sorry that you were not satisfied with your box. Could you give some specifics so we can continue to improve for all of our customers?

The Dante Club

Feb 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kayla K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

I got my first box super fast which was awesome. I was excited to see the books I got. They were in great condition for them to be used. But upon unboxing, I really am only excited to read 2/5 books I received. The title I'm reviewing being one of the two. I would like to see less historical in the future and more fiction, fantasy, and thriller. Authors like Neil Gaiman, V.E. Schwab, Stephen King, etc.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Feb 21, 2021

Hello Kayla and thank you for your feedback! I'm so glad that the subscription is going well for you. It even sounds like you got a bonus book!! Due to the randomness in the selection of books we receive, our curator's choices are also random, but it sounds like we're getting very close to hitting the nail on the head as far as finding books that you are excited about. I would, recommend going on our website and signing into your account and adding notes to the section where it asks for more information about your reading preferences so that we can get even closer next time. The notes you add will be printed out on the packing slip that our curators see as they...

Divergent, Insurgent

Feb 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Faith W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

I was happy with the condition of the books, they all were used very lightly. I did unfortunately receive a book I already had and it also came with the second book in the series. I need the second book, so that was good, but I wished I received books I hadn’t already read.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Feb 15, 2021

Hi Faith! Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry that you received a book that you have already enjoyed. For serious book readers, it may be helpful to go to our website and refine your preferences by listing titles wanted/not wanted, authors wanted/not wanted, a book in a series you would like to read other than the first, etc. Please let us know if we can help in any way so our curators may get closer to the "bullseye" each month.

good service and quick shipment

Jan 24, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Suzann S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

quick shipment. books okay but did not keep me riveted.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Feb 11, 2021

Thank you Suzann! We are "book people" and work very hard to meet our customer's reading preferences. Feel free to go into our website and refine your preferences to include book titles or authors in addition to the genres if you think that might help us hit the bullseye next time. Keep reading!

Eh. Not my thing this time

Jan 24, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Suzette B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years

My current box didn't have too many things in it I found interesting. It was, like two books that were basically the same, army/airforce books which i didn't even bother to read the back of, one that I had never heard of and the back only had reviews, which is annoying, but I'll have to look into. But the book of short horror stories looks really good. It's kind of a shame cause I've had past boxes with really good things in them.

Verified Purchase

Good but not sticky

Dec 24, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Mary M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

Love the stickers but not very sticky. Definitely would not stick to water bottle which is what I bought it for

Verified Purchase

Review if books

Nov 21, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Clare W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months

So so. I have an aversion to too old paperbacks and to books marked up by previous owner. I will not be renewing.

Verified Purchase

No Diversity

Nov 08, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Alisha G.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 25 days

If you are expecting different ethnicities of authors don’t go for this one, the price is amazing but the genres are very generic.

Verified Purchase

Shipping mishap

Oct 04, 2020
Overall
Brana C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months

Over all it’s usually pretty good. However, I updated my address almost 4 months ago and they keep sending it to the wrong city. The last 3 shipments I had to pay a $7 delivery fee on my boxes and the last one went to the wrong address so I can’t even get it.

Verified Purchase

missing gift card

Sep 27, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Valerie V.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months

This was checked as a gift and the gift card I wrote was not put in the box!

Verified Purchase

Worth the money

Jul 29, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Alexa J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 25 days

For the price you get decent books! Each one priced at $15 or more if they're brand new so $15 a month for 4 used books isn't bad at all!! I just wish that I could chose what kind of genre I receive for the 4 book bundle, you can with the other ones but not this subscription! Kinda sucks seeing as I'm only really in romance and fantasy books!

Verified Purchase

Shipping slow, subscription box good

Jul 27, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Chloe H.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months

I have not received my 3rd shipment.
The first two shipments were late, but the books were not bad.
I am still looking forward to the 3rd subscription box. This subscription is a gift for my mom.

Verified Purchase

Good Books, Horrible Shipping

Jul 13, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rebecca B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years

The books I've received so far are good, but the shipping is horrible. I have to email them every month to receive my book (days past the "latest send by" date). Only then do they email me a tracking number - which they clearly create AFTER receiving my email because it doesn't actually ship for another 1-3 days. To top it off, I've never received a response from an employee - only a shipping label.
I want to recommend them to others, but until this gets resolved, I can't do that.

Verified Purchase

Like new books

Jul 07, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Susan N.
5 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

Good service for used books.

Verified Purchase

Customers who bought this also bought...