Used Books Monthly

Used Books Monthly

by Used Books Monthly
Gently used books carefully curated for a unique surprise experience!

Plans as low as

$8.49/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (381)

Great selections!

Oct 19, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tasnuva E.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 days

The selections were perfect in fantasy genre! I'm familiar with the titles and didn't read them before! I got the first series for Sanderson so hoping in my next box the second book will be there as a continuation! Excited for what's to come next. Thank you!

Verified Purchase

A Great Book Box!

Oct 19, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Reagan R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 days

So far, Used Books Monthly has been great! I’ve received my first box, which came very fast, and had a great selection. Three out of four of my books were brand new, which was a nice little surprise. The books I received fit my genre choices well, and I just finished reading on of them, which I liked a lot! This is a great service that id environmentally conscious and affordable. It’s also nice not knowing what you’re getting each month.

Verified Purchase

great service - great product

Jul 06, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jennifer B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years

Great service run by great people who are kind and easy to work with. I love that used books are getting new life.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Jul 13, 2022

Thank you Jennifer! Your kind words mean so much :)

New subscriber

Jul 24, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lynn S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 days

Great choices and really quick service. Can't wait for next month's selections.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Jul 27, 2022

Thank you, Lynn! We hope to keep making you happy. -Trista

Cataloochee

Jun 15, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Dolly D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days

I can't wait to read it.Looks good.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Jul 13, 2022

Hey Dolly! Let us know what you thought about it!

Multiple titles

May 06, 2022
Overall
Lara S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

Got this as a giftfor my mother who is a voracious reader and she is always pleasantly surprised at getting new authors to read.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...May 15, 2022

Thanks for the kind words! We're happy your mom is happy. -Trista

My box

Apr 06, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Brenda W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months

I love the books you pick for me!!! They are all in great condition too. I can't wait to read them!!

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Apr 14, 2022

Brenda, these words mean so much to us! Thank you for taking the time to let us know you're happy with your books. -UsedBooksMonthly Team

Great value.

Feb 24, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Dalena A.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months

Books look absolutely new. No bends and even the spines are unbroken.
Choices were awesome. Will purchase again.

Verified Purchase

Fully Recommend

Sep 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tracey D.
1 Review
3 Pictures
Subscribed for 1 year

I love my #usedbookmonthly subscription! I am sent books I would not have selected and am finding wonderful stories. I fully recommend!

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Sep 24, 2021

Thank you Tracey!

Excellent books

Mar 12, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sharon E.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 4 months

Very happy so far !!!!

Verified Purchase

Interesting

Jan 27, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Katelyn L.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

Definitely never heard of either book I received. I'm not sure I'll read one of the two but my husband is interested in it so it pans out.
Those books seem to be in really good condition for used. They did fit my genra choices. I'll keep trying the box.

Verified Purchase

Great Book Subscription

Jan 13, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Megan W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months

Really enjoying this subscription box! I love getting a surprise book every month and the books are always well picked for me.

Verified Purchase

Love Used Books Monthly's First Book

Jan 02, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Nancy E.
1 Review

I'm only 52 pages into my first book, Running the Rift, by Naomi Benaron, but I'm totally loving it thus far! A friend gifted me a general fiction-gently-used-book-a- month for Christmas and I'm so grateful. I've been in a "non-fiction only" rut for years and I'm also passionate about re-using/recycling, so this particular gift idea is perfect for me. Looking forward to next month's selection.

All Winners So Far!

Jan 03, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Gregory L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

Both months have been great so far! Great mix, all have been wins!

Verified Purchase

great expectations

Dec 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Dolly D.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 13 days

..love the title and author book. Sounds great can't wait!

Verified Purchase

: ) yay

Dec 09, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kristin J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months

I love this

Verified Purchase

Perfect for book lovers

Dec 05, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tiffany R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years

I love getting a surprise book each month! Absolutely no issues.

Verified Purchase

Best subscription I have ever tried!

Nov 02, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Laura M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months

I'm already on my second book! The books are in perfect condition and were shipped promptly. I can't wait for my next shipment!

Verified Purchase

Fast service

Nov 24, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sherri M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

Very fast service and delivery. Interesting selection of books that I think I'll enjoy.

Verified Purchase

A fun and sustainable way to read more!

Oct 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Martha H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

A great used books subscription for people who want to shake up their reading recommendations. I loved getting unexpected books based on the preferences I set. If my spouse didn’t work at a used book store, I would have kept going with my subscription. 10/10 lots of fun!

Verified Purchase

Love the variety and surprises

Nov 03, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Carly Z.
3 Reviews
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

I am really enjoying the variety of this subscription month after month. I selected quite a few different genres specifically to expand upon what I normally read. This subscription really delivers! My only complaint is that in a few instances, I've received a book I already own (no fault of the curator) and a book that was a later part in a series I did not already own or had not already read. Being the book nerd I am, I have no problem with reading up on a series via the library or other sources, but this might post a problem for those who are less enthusiastic. Overall, not much to complain about and a whole heck of a lot to enjoy!

Verified Purchase

Second time a charm!!!

Oct 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Leslie S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months

This is my second subscription with Used Books Monthly and the second time is a charm!!! They were having some problems last year that have been resolved. I have been receiving my books on time and they have been great books. I much prefer to have a used book subscription because I appreciate that the books are finding a new home and it isn't all about getting the latest book that most book clubs send. Also, the books I have received have been used, but in great shape!!!! I would encourage people to give this book club a try.

Verified Purchase

Great deal

May 25, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sarah T.
1 Review
1 Picture
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

Books are like new. All seem.right up my alley. Cant wait to dive in.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Jun 04, 2021

Sarah, thank you for your feedback! We are so pleased that you are enjoying your books. Please let us know if there are any ways we can improve your experience.

Romance books for Grandma

Sep 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Amanda S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

So far very happy with this subscription. It is a gift for my 90 year old grandmother who likes to read romance novels. 3 months in and she hasn’t had a had a book that she has already read. She was also very pleased with the quality of the last book.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Sep 30, 2021

Thank you so much, we are glad she loves them!

Affordable way to explore

Sep 10, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sara Z.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

This review will show my subscription to be shorter than it has been because I received a month through another website before subscribing here. So, I’ve had two months of two books so far. I’ve been impressed by how quickly the books ship and also how quickly UBM replied when I switched subscriptions. The first month, I received 2 very good quality trade paperbacks, and the next shipment was 2 hardcovers, also very good quality. They’re all things I wouldn’t have picked myself, which for me is the point of this. Yay! That means I didn’t completely adore everything, but I do think the books are all worth my time to investigate, and I’m glad I can use this to expand my selections.
I don’t know what’s up with other reviews that are less than positive, but I think I have some tips for bringing the right mindset to this service. I’ve tried to leave my subject area options open because I imagine the selection process is based on what’s on their shelves, so the more flexible I am, the more likely I’ll get something of good quality. I’m also truly approaching this as a little adventure in reading new things and not as a highly customized service. For me, this works very well to help me explore because I don’t feel as attached to needing to finish the books if I don’t like them, compared to other subscriptions based on new books.
If anything changes, I’ll be sure to update this...

Verified Purchase

Customers who bought this also bought...