Used Books Monthly

Used Books Monthly

by Used Books Monthly
Gently used books carefully curated for a unique surprise experience!

Plans as low as

$8.49/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (386)

Subscriber Beware!

Jul 02, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Teresa H.
2 Reviews
2 Pictures
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I normally give a subscription three months before deciding to keep or ditch it. My first box was nice and good book quality - two hardbacks. My second however was horrible! It was an old Agatha Christie paperback that at best was a 25 cent garage sale quality. Torn, crumpled pages and extremely yellowed not to mention the smell of mold that wafted outside of the unopened box. Never have I been so disgusted with a subscription box. I did email Used Books Monthly but never received a reply. So SUBSCRIBERS BEWARE as my experience was not good and it appears service is very dodgy.

Verified Purchase

Books

May 30, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Felica H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

Love my box

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Jun 04, 2021

Hi Felicia. Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you are enjoying your book subscription!

Terrible customer service

Jun 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Terry A.
2 Reviews
2 Pictures
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 7 months

So I have two subscriptions one for myself and one for my sister. We had one month where her choices were sent twice and I didn't receive mine. I contacted customer service thinking it was no big deal and at best could maybe get a refund for the books I didn't receive. The customer service guy answering emails did not understand me and frankly ignored my emails. I don't have time to be chasing after someone to do their job over 12$. I'm canceling this subscription for myself.

Verified Purchase

I wanted to try bye eh.

Jun 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Melissa B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I tried but this type of thing is just not for me.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Jun 15, 2021

Hi Melissa, and thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you were confused about your subscription, as we discussed via email. For future reference, every subscription is explained in detail on our website. Thank you.

First time

May 14, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kristi F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

Awsome book

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...May 17, 2021

Thank you...Awesome subscriber!

Books in a series...

Jun 08, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tamara M.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months

I thought this would be a fun subscription but the first delivery gave me a book that was part of a series.. I had contacted them and they said they would send me a replacement. Thought I would get it in the next month. But did not get it. And I also got a book 3 of a series. I contacted them on the first email asking how it was and no response. Then a waited a couple days and nothing. So I came on here to contact the seller and that got me nowhere as well. I don't normally leave these reviews but since I'm being ignored and have paid 11ish for each book basically not 6 like I assumed I'm pretty upset about how they handled this So ya never again.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Jun 08, 2021

Tamara, I am so sorry to hear this. We have had difficulties with communication between customer support and our warehouse staff. That's no excuse but I hope it helps you to understand that we were definitely not ignoring you. I can go ahead and send you those 2 replacements today at no charge if you still would like them. Again, I'm so sorry that you have had a bad experience and we will use this information to continue to improve our services.

Best thing I did during the lockdowns

Mar 29, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lorna F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years

Highlight of my month. So convenient when you have small children. Very inexpensive. Its a great way to branch out when in a book rut. It was a godsend during the lockdowns when libraries were closed. Shipping was delayed during lockdowns but received emails on status and replies to my questions in a timely fashion.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Mar 31, 2021

Lorna, I am so happy that we could be a bright spot during the lockdown! It also warms my hear to hear that we helped you to explore new reading opportunities!! Keep reading.

Good-ish

May 18, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Victoria S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months

The books were in perfect shape, and the shipping was very fast. I am not a fan of either authors unfortunately

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...May 18, 2021

Thank you so much for your feedback, Victoria! I am so sorry that you have already read the authors we sent you and are not a fan. If you want to contact our customer service rep, then they can change your genre choices and add any messages you would like to send to our curators.

Very pleased

Mar 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jamie D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

This is my first month with receiving two books a month, currently reading the first book and I am extremely satisfied with the books that were chosen for me.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Mar 16, 2021

Thank you for trying us out, Jamie! We love hearing that we've made good matches.

gift for grandson

Mar 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Norm B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

this was a gift for my grandson. he has recieved three shipments so far and he has really enjoyed every one.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Mar 16, 2021

We are so happy to hear that your grandson is enjoying his subscription!

EXCELLENT!

Mar 06, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Ann S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

So far these have been great books that I would never have found on my own. Love it!

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Mar 08, 2021

Ann, I'm so happy to hear that the subscription is going well for you! Please let us know if you have any issues or if you know of any ways we can improve the customer experience!

Not my scene

May 05, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Sue H.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 14 days

I'm not leaving a bad review it just wasn't for me .
I did not enjoy any of the books.
But it may work for other people and I will recycle the books.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...May 11, 2021

Thank you for your feedback, Sue! And thank you for trying us out. I hate that this wasn't for you, but keep reading! Thank you, also, for recycling the books!

Great Hardback Romance Books!

Oct 03, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sharon T.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
Subscribed for 7 months

I got 4 very interesting looking books! I normally don’t buy hardbacks so it was really cool that I got 4 hardbacks. Got 2 Avalon historical romances and Nicholas Sparks “True Believers” and Jane Green “Falling a love story”. The only author I knew before was Nicholas Sparks, so looking forward to reading the new authors!!!!

Verified Purchase

Perfect gift

Feb 20, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Elizabeth B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years

This was a gift for my mom. She is a voracious reader and relies on book trading, but it's sporadic in regards to quality reads. She LOVES the books she's gotten and I really appreciate that they've been all large print as requested. We now know she really requires the larger print. I'll be ordering again!

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Feb 21, 2021

Thank you, Elizabeth, for your feedback. I am so happy that this has been a positive experience for your mom!! We are book people at heart and it will warm our curator's hearts to read this. Thank you again and keep reading!!

BEST EVER

Feb 17, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Selena J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 18 days

Hands down most amazing subscription-box I've ever found. I am an avid book worm and when I stumbled across this I was very skeptical but when I got my box!!! 😶😶 I was shooketh.
They were in perfect condition and my Anne Rice book was FREAKING SIGNED!!!!
Way worth the money.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Feb 17, 2021

Thank you for your feedback, Selena! I'm so glad you were pleased with your box! Our curators take pride in their selections like a chef does with a culinary creation. Please let us know if you ever have any issues.

Love it

Feb 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Penny G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

I love this subscription! I get excited each month to see what books and authors are coming in the mail. It’s a great and affordable way to get new (used) books.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Feb 16, 2021

Thank you for your review, Penny! We are so pleased that you are enjoying your subscription and can have something to look forward to in the mail.

Perfect gift for Father in law

Feb 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Anne W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years

This was a gift for my father in law and he loves receiving mail every month that aren’t bills, but instead of books.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Feb 16, 2021

Anne, we are so glad your father-in-law is loving his subscription!

Good quality great price

Mar 14, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Bobbie B.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months

Very nice books at a good price. Thank you

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Mar 16, 2021

Thank you for your review, Bobbie! We are book people and love hearing when people enjoy our picks for them.

Could be better choices

Apr 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Karen C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

Everything arrived in a timely manner and in good condition. Only complaint I have is some books are not something I would read. Maybe more geared paranormal romance for young adults would work better for me?.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Apr 13, 2021

Hi Karen!
Thank you for your feedback! If you need to change your genres then please contact our wonderful customer service representative, Vickie. She can hook you up!

Subscribe if You Love Books!!

Aug 25, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Ellie M.
2 Reviews
2 Pictures
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

This box is a great way to build your library. I filled out the accompanying survey about my book interests and most of the selections are spot on. I am a tad apprehensive about the Beck book but we shall see. Even if that book does not turn out to be my favorite, I am especially excited about the other books. I am almost done with I'll Be Gone in the Dark and it is great. The books have not had any visible indication of being secondhand that I've seen so far. The curaters definitely took my interests into account. I can't wait to see what I get next month!

Verified Purchase

Good selection overall

Mar 01, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Melissa P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

I selected Fantasy as one of my genres, and I didn't realize I had to specify "no YA fantasy" because there's also a YA genre. So half my box was two books in the same YA series. I'd like to be able to make changes to my preferences to avoid this in future, since I signed up for a six-month subscription, but there doesn't seem to be a way to do this. Everything else about the experience was great, and I love the other two books.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Mar 08, 2021

Thank you for your feedback, Melissa! I understand your dilemma, many of the books we have on the shelves in the fantasy genre also fall into the YA genre as well as most books fall into more than just one genre. I'll put a note on your packing slip that you do not wish to receive any that fall into the YA category. Again, thank you and keep reading!!

Just don’t do it

Apr 09, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Megan T.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

This box has been nothing short of a disappointment. I knew that this would not be a box of the newest books, but my first box contained a book that was #20 in a series. What? Gave them another chance. Got books that legit, my 80 year old grandma would enjoy.
Something else that makes no sense to me- they charge you on the 15th of the month and ship on the 1st of the following month. They use the slowest mailing service, which is fine, but by the time it reaches me in California, they’ve charged me again.
They take 3-5 business days to reply to any emails, so good luck trying to get your genres changed or get in touch with them.
Why I canceled- they never shipped my March/April box. Or if they did, I never got the tracking. I may never know because they take so long to get back to us. For real, do you all have a phone number?

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Apr 10, 2021

Hi Megan. Thank you for your feedback. I'm so sorry that this has been a negative experience for you. We will use this information to continue to improve our services.

Still has the new book smell!!!

Sep 04, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Pamela C.
4 Reviews
4 Pictures
Subscribed for 2 years

These books still smell brand new!! They both are in excellent condition.. great communication concerning when they were shipped and very fast shipping..not sure which one to start on first they both look really good, great choices..looking forward to my next shipment .. thank you!!!

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Mar 01, 2021

Pamela, thank you very much for your feedback! Don't you just love that new book smell?!?!

Out of the Easy & Fires in the Dark

Feb 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
L S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

would not have chosen these titles in a book store or at the library but i think the choices fit close to the genres i have interest in

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Feb 19, 2021

Hello, and thank you for your feedback! I'm glad our curators are finding books that fit the selections you made. The randomness of the selections is what we think makes it exciting. You have an opportunity to discover a new favorite author or character!! Please don't hesitate to ask any questions you may have or to let us know of any problems.

I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!

Jan 29, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Chantel A.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months

I LOVE the surprise! I signed up for the 4 books a month for a year (to get the best price!) and I'm SO pleased with my first four books! This has to be my favorite subscription box I've signed up for! :-D :-D :-D

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Feb 11, 2021

Thank you Chantel! I hope our curators continue to please you with their selections. Please let us know if you ever have any issues we need to fix. Keep reading!

Customers who bought this also bought...