Your Paint Box

by Your Paint Box
Monthly Oil Painting Lessons geared for Beginners. Created by artist Kathryn Gray
6 reviews

Plans as low as

$40.00/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (6)

Very beginner friendly!!

Nov 04, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kathryn W.
5 Reviews
5 Pictures
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 14 days

I needed a distraction today of all days and decided to overcome my fear of making an ugly painting and just went for it by starting with the small Pumpkin painting.
The Video included was a must for me. I learn by seeing and not reading. Though directions were wonderful to have to refer back to in case you could not remember everything from the video or did not want to go back and watch it again for whatever reason.
I learned a lot from doing the small painting first. The first thing was to make enough paint. It needs to be thick to look correct. I got over being worried about mixing paints very fast so all in all not making enough paint had its good points too.
I needed this distraction today I am very happy with my lopsided pumpkin for my first ever oil painting.
Great Box!!

Verified Purchase

Had so much fun with our Paint Box!!

Nov 20, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Laura B.
1 Review
1 Picture
2 Helpful

This was such a fun project to complete with my niece! She has minimal experience with painting (although she does love it and is wanting to get more into it) and also is only 9, but she was able to pick up the lesson rather quickly! I think the way Kathy talks through the steps is very easy to follow as is the way she instructs mixing the colors, etc. This was such an enjoyable activity for us and my niece has been quick to show everyone who comes to her house her new painting. She is proud of herself- I think she is amazed how well it came together! I am looking forward to completing another paint box with her soon!!

Fun with friends

Jul 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Heather S.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 7 months

This was just what I needed during the pandemic. Asked some facebook friends to do it with me and we did our first box together. The boxes kept coming and each one was made easy and fun. Not overwhelming and learned something new. Love it.

Verified Purchase

Great art teacher!

Feb 18, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Anne B.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 16 days

Such an amazing teacher. Great gift idea. Bought for a friend in Kansas City! I’ve Been a student of Kathryn Gray for 16 years! My friend is truly enjoying this painting journey with me!

Verified Purchase
Your Paint Box said...Feb 20, 2021

Thank you, Anne, for the nice review. You started with me as a beginner all those years ago! So glad to be teaching your friend in Kansas City now, too!

Great Products, just not for Beginners!

Oct 07, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jennifer S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I think the products are great but for a beginner this isn't the box for me. The main paintings were too hard for me. The 5x7 were easier. I had 2 boxes and tried one of the main paintings but couldn't finish it. It was a horrible mess! So maybe it is just me but I found them way too hard for a beginner but that is just my recommendation. The boxes did nave great products that maybe I can use for something else but I really was looking for something beginner friendly its too bad as it could have been something great. The other major problem is I'm in Canada and with the shipping fee and exchange it came to $100 cdn!!! which is kinda crazy if you ask me. But you find that with some boxes.

Verified Purchase
Your Paint Box said...Oct 08, 2021

Oh Jennifer! I'm so sorry the projects were a little difficult for you :(
I have been teaching beginners for twenty years, so I've tried to use that experience to make these projects as easy as possible. Painting does take a lot of practice, so first attempts aren't always perfect! Feel free to email some pictures of your finished paintings and I can give you some coaching. The shipping to Canada is high, I absorb a good bit of it. Thank you for your response, keep practicing! Kathryn

Very nice!!!

May 03, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Carrie C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

Beautifully packaged. The box has everything I need to create my first paintings. Highly recommend!

Verified Purchase