Book Club Box (Young Adult Edition)

by Once Upon a Book Club
Creating a unique reading experience every month by bringing books TO LIFE!
123 reviews

Plans as low as

$32.50/ month

Buying Options

Book Club Box (Young Adult Edition) reviewsReviews

Write a Review
123

Perfect Incentive to Read Even More

May 29, 2020
Mandy M.
1 Review
2 Pictures
8 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 12 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I've been an international subscriber since November 2019. I usually get the YA box, but have since purchased 1 adult box used (from another subscriber) and 2 other adult boxes new (directly from OUABC) because I saw them on FB after the fact and really wanted to get in on it. I was an avid reader before, but this book club has enhanced reading for me to a new level. All of the gifts that you open once you reach a certain point in the story are thoughtful and well-curated. I've seen other subscribers take issue with the costume jewelry, but I personal have loved them every time so far. The jewelry-type items don't come in every box and so far no items have been similar (repeated). The pictures I included show the Nov. 2019 and Dec. 2019 YA box books and gifts opened (these boxes are no longer available in the shop, so no spoilers!), so you can see the kind of things you might expect: usable items like umbrellas, wearable items like scarves and necklaces, craft-y items like the pastels, and paper items like the flyer that enhance the story by bringing an item from the text directly into your hands as if by magic. That being said, I have sometimes felt let down by the paper items and opening them is less thrilling than the other types of gifts. Lastly, I debated about giving OUABC 4 stars or 5 for shipping because the issues with shipping are...

Verified Purchase

Loved it

Sep 28, 2018
Marina G.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I really love once upon a book club I normally get the young adult books and sometimes the book isnt what I expect it to be and I end up loving the book anyways they pick the right moments to add a gift and get u into the book

Verified Purchase

OUABC is THE BEST subscription box!

May 27, 2020
Jessica F.
1 Review
1 Picture
3 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have been a subscriber since Sept 2016 - which I believe was only their 3rd month/box in business. I love this subscription box & I don't feel like there is anything like it - it truly brings books to life! I also subscribe to the YA box, which I wasn't sure at first whether I'd be into "YA" books, but I have loved them all. They also have fun one time/specialty boxes for holidays, etc. I've been with them since the beginning and have bought most of their boxes and have never been disappointed. I have also purchased subscriptions & 1 time boxes for several friends and family members and everyone has loved them! I get so excited when I see OUABC boxes in my mailbox. They truly are the BEST!! :)

Verified Purchase

New Dimension To Reading

May 26, 2020
Jennifer T.
1 Review
1 Picture
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I found Once Upon A Book Club last November (2019) while I was searching for a Christmas present for my sister in law (librarian). I was so intrigued I ordered one for her and myself. We both loved it! I have since ordered adult and young adult boxes and they have all been amazing. My girls (9 & 11) begged me to get them a box too. They don’t know yet ( I’m keeping it a surprise) but they both have a preordered middle grades box coming to them in June. I can’t wait to see their faces. I myself am waiting on the June you g adult box with the hint agent 355. I can’t give OUABC enough stars!

Verified Purchase

Young Adult

May 25, 2021
Kourtney M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was such a fun experience! I will be doing this again!!

Verified Purchase

So much fun

May 16, 2021
Leigh M.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 25 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The box does take a little longer but that’s probably on me since I don’t order it in time but I am now in love with this subscription and I think I’m going to have to get it every month

Verified Purchase

Amazing

Feb 22, 2020
Theresa S.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was the coolest box I’ve ever received. I devoured the book in a night because I wanted to see all my cool gifts. I’m in love!

Verified Purchase

A unique subscription box!

May 26, 2020
Anneliese V.
1 Review
1 Picture
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The Once Upon a Book Club boxes are so unique. I love that they curate the bookish goodies as gifts that come straight from the book. The main character opened a gift box and saw a bracelet; you get one too! It’s such a creative idea and so fun and exciting to get to open the gift when you see that “Open Your Gift” sticky note on the page. I highly recommend this subscription.

Verified Purchase

So Much to Love!

Mar 23, 2021
Patricia H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

While I enjoyed the experience of discovering a book I might not otherwise discover, I read books much more slowly than one a month. So I now have a backlog!

Verified Purchase

Love!!!

Mar 19, 2021
Maria H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

First time ordering and I am in Heaven

Verified Purchase

Book Club Box - The Yellow Wife

Feb 12, 2021
S S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Very cool idea and packaging was great. Bought as a gift for my wife and she is really enjoying it so far. The idea of opening gifts as you read is exciting for her being an avid reader. My only complaint would be the shipping - received January's box in the middle of February. Also the shipping costs were very high to ship to Canada. I would get this subscription monthly if the shipping costs became more reasonable.

Verified Purchase

Did Not Disappoint!

Feb 04, 2021
Guusje M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is my first BookClub subscription box and I'm VERY happy with my purchase. I love the box - hot pink with a book design. The January Adult choice is one that I came THIS CLOSE to buying just a week ago so I am thrilled it was the January selection. I haven't opened the 'Gifts" yet - they are matched to the pages of the book but they are nicely wrapped and feel like they are good quality.
The creators also run a Facebook page so I'll have a place to share my reading experience.
Looking forward to my March box! This is such fun!

Verified Purchase

Buy this!

Jan 09, 2021
Alice C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Every part of this box is delightful. The shipping box is so cute, printed like a big book and covered inside with print and script. The books have been engaging for my 17 yo daughter, who says she finds more depth to the books than she expected. She has a hard time staying motivated to read, but the little gifts and messages to open at different page numbers keeps her invested. There are messages and gifts and mementos related to the book. It's like a whole trip to the mall, but staying home for quarantine. And more affordable than one trip to the mall. I'm subscribing to this for a while.

Verified Purchase

Really enjoyed this!

Jan 09, 2021
Emily B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Loved the book choice, beautiful packaging of the box & gifts as well as the fun of opening them on their corresponding pages. I look forward to getting next months!

Verified Purchase

A Book Lover's Dream

May 27, 2020
Amanda B.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Love, love, love! A friend told me about this a couple of years ago and I have been hooked ever since. The book selections are always excellent and the gifts are so creative. I'm a huge fan of the special editions boxes too, especially the holiday advent box. This is my gift to me every month.

Verified Purchase

Very cute fun idea

May 18, 2021
Tracy H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love the idea of this box with opening the gifts along with the book. I really liked the gifts but some I understand the point of the them just never see using that gift. My biggest problem is how late some boxes show. They send you updated emails with information on the delay, but you would think that a company would think ahead and have everything prepared before hand so the delays can be avoided. Have box items planned and ordered so if a delay in customs or a storm is never an issue on getting boxes out on time.
Overall it is a cute concept and the books choices have been great.

Verified Purchase

Love how unique this box is

May 05, 2021
Stephanie O.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Overall, I really love this box! The items are about the same quality as most other book-themed boxes, (i.e. hit and miss, which is why I did a 4 for overall rating) but I absolutely love how each item is tied directly into the story. The books are great too, and you really feel part of the story as you open each wrapped gift. Fun!

Verified Purchase

Subpar

Mar 26, 2021
Laura M.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Cute idea. Unprofessionally late. The delay is not explained by the basic objects in the box which were disappointing. Not worth the money.

Verified Purchase

Yellow Wife

Mar 19, 2021
Char M.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality

I never received my March box. It was shipped March 10 and it says it is still In Arizona just sitting there. My February box I though I would get at the beginning of the month and got it the third week.

Verified Purchase

Didn’t receive it!

Mar 19, 2021
Becky B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have no idea because I never received it

Verified Purchase
Once Upon a Book Club said...Mar 19, 2021

Hi Becky! We're so sorry you didn't receive your box yet. We recommend reaching out to customer service so we can help locate your box and get a replacement to you if needed!

Book excellent; trinkets, ehhh

Feb 05, 2021
Julita L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I liked the box but it could be better. The book was riveting-- Sadeqa Johnson is a supreme storyteller. Her writing was descriptive of the historical setting and as indicated in the author's note, is a result of much research and emotional investment. I felt the desperation and indignation of the characters and it broke my heart. The story unfolds at a good pace and the author wraps it up with a hopeful conclusion. While the book was excellent, the gifts, on the other hand, while representative of objects in the story, are not worth the price of the box.

Verified Purchase

Jul-Dec book box

Jan 15, 2021
Brook P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

It is now 1/15/21 and Nov and Dec 2020 boxes have yet to arrive. My daughter has enjoyed her other boxes so far.

Verified Purchase

Extremely disappointed

Jan 06, 2021
Evanie S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I ordered the box as a gift for a family member and it still hasn’t arrived. I ordered it in early November (it is now January). I have contacted Customer Service several times and they still haven’t gotten back to me. They also do not provide any way to contact them other than email. It’s extremely frustrating. It seemed like such a cool idea, it’s too bad they have such awful customer service and cannot deliver the product as advertised.

Verified Purchase

Will not ship

Dec 22, 2020
Joel I.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Ordered on November 9th... label created early December... now it's December 22nd and have yet to receive anything. It hasn't even shipped yet.

Verified Purchase

We have not received!

Dec 21, 2020
Carrie D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Unfortunately, our November box still has not arrived. It was to be our first box and we are still owed the December box. I have reached out to the company twice and they say November's box shipped weeks ago. We wish it would arrive so we could give a good review. It looks like an excellent product.

Verified Purchase