Once Upon a Book Club Box (Young Adult Edition)

Once Upon a Book Club Box (Young Adult Edition)

by Once Upon a Book Club
Creating a unique reading experience every month by bringing books TO LIFE!

Plans as low as

$61.25/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (517)

  1. Reviews for this product (127)
  2. Reviews for this seller (390)

Perfect Incentive to Read Even More

May 29, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Mandy M.
1 Review
2 Pictures
9 Helpful
Subscribed for 12 months

I've been an international subscriber since November 2019. I usually get the YA box, but have since purchased 1 adult box used (from another subscriber) and 2 other adult boxes new (directly from OUABC) because I saw them on FB after the fact and really wanted to get in on it. I was an avid reader before, but this book club has enhanced reading for me to a new level. All of the gifts that you open once you reach a certain point in the story are thoughtful and well-curated. I've seen other subscribers take issue with the costume jewelry, but I personal have loved them every time so far. The jewelry-type items don't come in every box and so far no items have been similar (repeated). The pictures I included show the Nov. 2019 and Dec. 2019 YA box books and gifts opened (these boxes are no longer available in the shop, so no spoilers!), so you can see the kind of things you might expect: usable items like umbrellas, wearable items like scarves and necklaces, craft-y items like the pastels, and paper items like the flyer that enhance the story by bringing an item from the text directly into your hands as if by magic. That being said, I have sometimes felt let down by the paper items and opening them is less thrilling than the other types of gifts. Lastly, I debated about giving OUABC 4 stars or 5 for shipping because the issues with shipping are...

Verified Purchase

Loved it

Sep 28, 2018
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Marina G.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

I really love once upon a book club I normally get the young adult books and sometimes the book isnt what I expect it to be and I end up loving the book anyways they pick the right moments to add a gift and get u into the book

Verified Purchase

OUABC is THE BEST subscription box!

May 27, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jessica F.
1 Review
1 Picture
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 years

I have been a subscriber since Sept 2016 - which I believe was only their 3rd month/box in business. I love this subscription box & I don't feel like there is anything like it - it truly brings books to life! I also subscribe to the YA box, which I wasn't sure at first whether I'd be into "YA" books, but I have loved them all. They also have fun one time/specialty boxes for holidays, etc. I've been with them since the beginning and have bought most of their boxes and have never been disappointed. I have also purchased subscriptions & 1 time boxes for several friends and family members and everyone has loved them! I get so excited when I see OUABC boxes in my mailbox. They truly are the BEST!! :)

Verified Purchase

New Dimension To Reading

May 26, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jennifer T.
1 Review
1 Picture
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I found Once Upon A Book Club last November (2019) while I was searching for a Christmas present for my sister in law (librarian). I was so intrigued I ordered one for her and myself. We both loved it! I have since ordered adult and young adult boxes and they have all been amazing. My girls (9 & 11) begged me to get them a box too. They don’t know yet ( I’m keeping it a surprise) but they both have a preordered middle grades box coming to them in June. I can’t wait to see their faces. I myself am waiting on the June you g adult box with the hint agent 355. I can’t give OUABC enough stars!

Verified Purchase

A unique subscription box!

May 26, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Anneliese V.
1 Review
1 Picture
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

The Once Upon a Book Club boxes are so unique. I love that they curate the bookish goodies as gifts that come straight from the book. The main character opened a gift box and saw a bracelet; you get one too! It’s such a creative idea and so fun and exciting to get to open the gift when you see that “Open Your Gift” sticky note on the page. I highly recommend this subscription.

Verified Purchase

Amazing

Feb 22, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Theresa S.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

This was the coolest box I’ve ever received. I devoured the book in a night because I wanted to see all my cool gifts. I’m in love!

Verified Purchase

Great Box

Feb 09, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Terra F.
12 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

It was a really nice box.

Verified Purchase

A Book Lover's Dream

May 27, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Amanda B.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
Subscribed for 2 years

Love, love, love! A friend told me about this a couple of years ago and I have been hooked ever since. The book selections are always excellent and the gifts are so creative. I'm a huge fan of the special editions boxes too, especially the holiday advent box. This is my gift to me every month.

Verified Purchase

Book and Presents!!

Aug 30, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lindsey G.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 10 months

Loved the book, loved the gifts that corresponded with the book. I will certainly remain a subscriber. The only complaint is that they say shipping is from the 17th-20th, but that's for the date the print the label. And it turns out it can be up to 4 days after that it is even actually begin shipment. But I can live with that.

Verified Purchase

Fabulous gift box – adult & young adult

Sep 03, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kim S.
3 Reviews
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

Once upon a book club, in my opinion, it’s the best book subscription box out there. The care in detail is incredible. 45 gifts are in each box and each one is gift wrapped and custom to the book. You read until you get to a page that has a little sticker that says open this gift. It really makes you remember the book afterward when you look at some of the gifts. So many of them are very useful! I highly recommend this subscription box to anyone that loves to read.

Verified Purchase

Very nice

Feb 28, 2019
Overall
Saraya L.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

I have only gotten to the first gift so far in the adult book box but it was awesome.

Verified Purchase

Got my first box.

Mar 28, 2019
Overall
Beverly M.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

I loved the story. The gifts were so fun. I was sad when the book ended.

Verified Purchase

The best

Apr 07, 2019
Overall
Joanie B.
9 Reviews
8 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

This box is just so much fun! First you get the fun of receiving a subscription box but then you keep having fun everytime you settle down to read cuz you get to open great beautiful wrapped gifts eveyrtime you reach a special spot in the book. I think im a subscriber for life haha.

Verified Purchase

My first Book box

Oct 24, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Taylor S.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

It’s perfect I’m in love with it. I can’t wait to dive in although I did run into some problems on the way my book box eventually came to me. I was so worried about that at first because this was my very first box and I thought it got lost in my mail or I was scammed out of my money but everything is just fine now and I can’t wait to start reading a new book.

Verified Purchase

Excellent gift idea

Feb 28, 2019
Overall
Caitlin L.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

I bought this as a Christmas present for my sister and she loved it. She was excited every month when it arrived. It was well done and worth the price!
They are also exceptional at customer service, I would highly recommend this box.

Verified Purchase

Titanic

Jun 22, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Danielle W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

The box took forever, but it was well worth the wait. My daughter is so excited to show me her clue finds when she reaches the page.

Verified Purchase

Young Adult

May 25, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kourtney M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

This was such a fun experience! I will be doing this again!!

Verified Purchase

So much fun

May 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Leigh M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 25 days

The box does take a little longer but that’s probably on me since I don’t order it in time but I am now in love with this subscription and I think I’m going to have to get it every month

Verified Purchase

So Much to Love!

Mar 23, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Patricia H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

While I enjoyed the experience of discovering a book I might not otherwise discover, I read books much more slowly than one a month. So I now have a backlog!

Verified Purchase

Love!!!

Mar 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Maria H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

First time ordering and I am in Heaven

Verified Purchase

Book Club Box - The Yellow Wife

Feb 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
S S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

Very cool idea and packaging was great. Bought as a gift for my wife and she is really enjoying it so far. The idea of opening gifts as you read is exciting for her being an avid reader. My only complaint would be the shipping - received January's box in the middle of February. Also the shipping costs were very high to ship to Canada. I would get this subscription monthly if the shipping costs became more reasonable.

Verified Purchase

Did Not Disappoint!

Feb 04, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Guusje M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

This is my first BookClub subscription box and I'm VERY happy with my purchase. I love the box - hot pink with a book design. The January Adult choice is one that I came THIS CLOSE to buying just a week ago so I am thrilled it was the January selection. I haven't opened the 'Gifts" yet - they are matched to the pages of the book but they are nicely wrapped and feel like they are good quality.
The creators also run a Facebook page so I'll have a place to share my reading experience.
Looking forward to my March box! This is such fun!

Verified Purchase

Buy this!

Jan 09, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Alice C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

Every part of this box is delightful. The shipping box is so cute, printed like a big book and covered inside with print and script. The books have been engaging for my 17 yo daughter, who says she finds more depth to the books than she expected. She has a hard time staying motivated to read, but the little gifts and messages to open at different page numbers keeps her invested. There are messages and gifts and mementos related to the book. It's like a whole trip to the mall, but staying home for quarantine. And more affordable than one trip to the mall. I'm subscribing to this for a while.

Verified Purchase

Really enjoyed this!

Jan 09, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Emily B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

Loved the book choice, beautiful packaging of the box & gifts as well as the fun of opening them on their corresponding pages. I look forward to getting next months!

Verified Purchase

The Best!

Dec 04, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Katrina S.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month

This was my favorite book subscription box! All of the items I received are amazing and the book is one of my favorites now!

Verified Purchase