Crate Expectations

The Book Club Box that thinks OUTSIDE the box!

Plans as low as $30.99 / month
Product Overview
  • Our December box: IMAGINATION STATION will start shipping November 25th. Order by December 15th for HOLIDAY GIFT ORDERS.
  • Ships to from United States
  • Subscriptions automatically renew. Cancel anytime
Join us for a Novel Adventure!
Each month, subscribers (ages 8-12) receive a quality book paired with our one-of-a-kind Adventure Guide, a bookish snack & specially curated toys or games. Our Adventure Guide includes an EXCLUSIVE interview, STEM activity, recipe, discussion questions & more -- everything you need for a fun book club meeting with your family or friends!
  • Make reading fun with a book club adventure
  • Enjoy exclusive interviews and a book-themed snack in each box
  • Specially curated gifts to spark creativity and imagination
  • Book-related STEM activity, recipe, discussion questions and more
  • Perfect for homeschool, family learning or learning pods

Sneak Peek

Photo of undefined current box December Box

December Box

When an unexpected gift arrives, there’s no telling where it will take you. Perfect for fans of Narnia and The Polar Express, it’s full steam ahead in this magical new book brimming with wit, whimsy, and a world full of wonder.

Order by November 26th to get this box!

Questions

1

Q: Can I order now and have my start date be in a couple of months?Asked by Kate G., November 2020

Crate Expectations answered...November 2020

Absolutely. Email us after placing your order and let us know which month you would like your subscription to start. We'll adjust the date of your first box's shipment.


1

Q: What should I do if I already have a book in the subscription box? Asked by Christopher C., September 2020

Crate Expectations answered...September 2020

Unfortunately, since our crates are planned and ordered in advance and include items beyond the book, we're unable to refund books which a subscriber might already own. We reveal our upcoming theme on our main website and in each subscription box. If you are worried that it might be a title you already own, feel free to email us and we can pause your subscription for the month.


1

Q: Are the books hardcover or paperback?Asked by Christopher C., September 2020

Crate Expectations answered...September 2020

Our books are typically hardcover. However there are some great books that we want to share with our readers which are only available in paperback. If our selected book club pick is a paperback edition, we make sure the value of the other items in that month's box makes up for any price difference.


1

Q: When is my subscription billed?Asked by Christopher C., September 2020

Crate Expectations answered...September 2020

You're billed for the total of whichever subscription plan you've chosen (1, 3, or 6 months.) when you subscribe. At the end of your subscription term, your subscription will automatically renew for the same term unless you've cancelled. Re-billing occurs on the 5th of each month.

Crate Expectations reviewsReviews

Write a Review
5 reviews

Highly Recommend!

7 days ago
Catie C.
1 Review
1 Picture
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This pandemic has made it so difficult to keep kids entertained while stuck at home but the Crate Expectations box gave us so many neat ideas. The box has way more in it than we expected. Such a great deal and my son loves it. Highly Recommend!

Wonderful Subscription!

Aug 01, 2020
Tiffany H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have three children, ages 6, 10, and 13. They have all loved receiving our Crate Expectations boxes! I have been reading the books to them, even though they are all fluent readers, so we can experience the stories together. They beg me to read more every day! The extras that come each month with the book are so fun, and I’ve even tried the recipes in the Adventure Guide (and they’ve turned out well!). I can’t recommend this subscription enough... it will be a great addition to your family time!

Verified Purchase

Awesome!

Jul 31, 2020
Kate S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

So cute! I love reading, but somehow my daughter just doesn't have the bug, yet. Im hoping these awesome boxes will get her excited!

Verified Purchase

Christmas Gift

7 days ago
Joseph L.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We were fortunate to win one of these boxes in a contest and now my daughter is asking to get a subscription. I've never been a subscription box type of person but this completely changed how I feel about them. Looking forward to our next box which my parents will be purchasing as a family gift for Christmas.

Wow wow wow!

Aug 02, 2020
Amanda L.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Just got our first crate and wow wow wow! My daughter loves the book and all thoughtful goodies and activities that came along. Such a fun idea and really well executed. Well done, Crate Expectations! Telling all my friends!

Photos from reviews of Crate Expectations

Past boxes from Crate Expectations

June Box

June Box

Step inside the magical world of Circus Mirandus! With this month's box, you'll learn about refraction, bake cookies by magic, imagine your own circus act, and be ready for your book club meeting with discussion questions and a circus-themed menu!

July Box

July Box

Our July box is filled with everything you need to have an "Out of This World" adventure at home! Along with the hilarious and heartfelt book "Cosmic," you'll get to launch your own mini rocket, discover the challenges of eating in space, and discuss whether it's more fun to be a kid or a grown-up.

August Box

August Box

Discover your inner superhero with the Newbery-Award winning book Flora and Ulysses, including a signed bookplate from the author! Explore the power of friendship, poetry and snacks as you create your own comic adventure, investigate how squirrels can fly, and make a tasty squirrel-inspired treat to share with your family or friends.

September Box

September Box

You won't want to miss this breathtaking new fantasy adventure inspired by the classic tale Les Miserables. This month's adventure is about finding the unique power in each of us. Discover the ways we are all connected as you explore circuits and energy, create electricity from lemons, imagine a world ruled by your own laws, and join together for a sweet book club feast. This box also includes a specially signed bookplate from the author.

October Box

October Box

Discover the magical book that inspired the beloved film! This brand new translation of a modern classic is sure to charm and captivate the entire family! Discover the magic of friendship and let your imagination take flight with our book club Adventure Guide.

November Box

November Box

Perfect for the holiday, a rip-roaring, rollicking read for the whole family! 1000 turkeys. 800 miles. And an adventure you won't forget! Our Adventure Guide will help you hit the trail for book club fun of historic proportions. Follow the gravy train with a unique USA scrunch map, trick your friends with a classic shell game, build your own turkey with a mini maker tube, and enjoy a tasty popcorn snack popped right on the cob.

Subscribe Now