Learn Electronics and Coding (Ages 12+) | Canadian Subscription Box Of The Year Winner

Plans as low as $29.99 / month

Creation Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Very cool projects

Jun 25, 2020
Valentina L.
4 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I like this crate, but definitely for older kids. I made the two projects with my 6 yo son and we had fun. Instructions are a little confusing at times, but they provide videos that make it easier to follow. The results are super cool

[UPDATE] Mistakes

Feb 23, 2020
Carl B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

UPDATE:
So I worked with CC about getting the missing parts - and my son and I have done 2 projects - And they worked GREAT! My son enjoyed the experience and he was engaged.

Shipping can be a little slow - response can be a little slow -
But!
Working with them and viewing the content - you can tell they are working to make a great product to educate people. If you have the right expectations it's a great kit

I have decided to keep my subscription and I am happy about it

--- OLD REVIEW--
So I got the 1st crate in a reasonable time - Once I opened it the project was the Mood Light but the pamphlet was for the Project 2 with the wrong code for redeeming the Instructions.
I had to wait 2 days to get the "right" code.
Once I had some time to try it - when I had time with my son - the code didn't work - So now it's twice my son and I made time to do the crate and twice we couldn't
This makes it difficult to keep his attention - I finally after a year of asking if wanted to do some Arduino projects got him to agree - and this looked like a good way to foster that - and now it's 2 negative experiences.

Honestly, I think I am going to do it myself at this point so I don't damage his interest anymore.

The whole redeeming the course with a...

Verified Purchase

No text lessons, just videos

Jul 24, 2019
Betsy L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Thought there were only video instructions, but found the instructions in text, which is much better. Looks great, the arduino included is really good. Looking forward to building this!

Verified Purchase
Creation Crate said...Jul 25, 2019

Hi Betsy, glad I was able to talk with you today. The first lesson has a number of background videos about the components in the box to help provide a foundation. You can skip those if you want to start building right away. The rest of the build instructions in the Online Classroom are set up to cater to multiple learning styles. Every lesson has step-by-step instructions with text, pictures, graphics, and web links.

Please feel free to reach out to me directly if you are having any trouble at all. We want to make sure that this is as fun and interesting as it is educational.

Sincerely,
David
Co-Founder, Project & Curriculum Development

Projects are great

Apr 15, 2019
Michael G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

I ordered 3 month gift for my son at Christmas...
Received first 2 boxes... third box arrived very late. I was contacted by Creation Crate and was explained the situation regarding the late delivery. I appreciate that Creation Crate reached out to me to explain and I feel better about my purchase as they are taking measures to improve their customer service.
The projects themselves are a great learning experience.

Verified Purchase
Creation Crate said...Apr 29, 2019

Mr. Michael,

We are very sorry for the delayed shipment and especially the lack of timely communication from us. We have worked hard to sort out this issue and are in the process of shipping out the delayed projects as soon as possible. We have done two main things to ensure that this does not happen again:
1- We have implemented a process to ensure that the purchase orders we submit are more clear and another process to check each part before it leaves the factory.
2- We have a process to trigger a message that will go out to customers at a specified time if we encounter an issue, with subsequent messages to keep you informed if we encounter a prolonged delay.

Kids Enjoying

Apr 04, 2019
Kelly K.
3 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

My kids enjoy this box and look forward to finding out what each month's project will be.

Verified Purchase

Dec 27, 2018
Travis H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 days
Overall

Fun, easy to set up. Make a great reason for son and father to have time together

Verified Purchase

Not Bad

Jul 12, 2018
Maggie C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 days
Overall

The mood lamp was very interesting to make. Would be nice to have a creation crate geared towards robotics too!

Verified Purchase

Great with Few Problems

Jun 17, 2018
Jennifer S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

The Creation Crate was very fun and makes software and hardware developing easier and more fun. A minor problem is that it is not explained how JavaScript or how Arduino boards worked, which made the Finish the Code activities much harder.

Verified Purchase

Great build

Dec 31, 2017
Katrina F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

My 13 yr old got this as a Christmas present. He loved the build and I helped with the code. Still has some glitches in the code so I’m not sure it works yet. Email in to support so hopeful that it’ll work shortly. :) already looking forward to the next box.

Verified Purchase

A Sure Hit

May 17, 2018
Danielle S.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

Creation Crate just came in the mail and we are super excited to get started... it is everything we expected and more. Thank you for putting together such a great product.

Verified Purchase

Great Intro Project

Mar 28, 2018
Stuart W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 30 days
Overall

I bought my 12 y/o daughter the first month of the subscription because she is always curious about my projects. She sat down and even though the code was long, she copied every line down correctly.

Improvements could be:
Smaller Breadboard/ Larger Lamp, or a circuitboard to solder to once you've gotten the whole thing running, because the lamp is tiny and it just sits on the huge breadboard.

To the lady above with the 1 star review: I understand this is frustrating but its not a plug and play toy. Its very exact: Computers make very fast, very accurate mistakes. If you miss one line, or you mis align the holes in the breadboard, it won't work right. This is supposed to be a challenge, but I am sorry your grandson got so disheartened. I can understand how hard it can be.

Verified Purchase

A Good Intro Activity to the Program

Jan 07, 2018
Jay B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

My son, age 12, and I enjoyed completing the first project in the Creation Crates curriculum. We found the contents of the box to be well packaged and organized, and the reference materials and instruction clear. We found as well that the additional supports available online were easy to access and helpful in modeling troubleshooting tasks, etc. Working together, we found we had a functional shaded mood lamp in about 45 minutes, with the physical assembly equaling about half that time and the programming taking the other. This was a very fun project with minimal frustration and we eagerly await our second box in February!

Verified Purchase

Kiddo loved the crate

Apr 16, 2018
Anna M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

The gift recipient loved the crate; he is 11 years old, so the skill level required was appropriate for his age group. My only quibble is no matter how hard I tried to avoid auto-renewal, the subscription auto-renewed anyway. This is likely more of an issue with the Cratejoy interface than this particular crate, but the star deduction is for the inconvenience of having to take time to get my money back when the subscription automatically renewed against my wishes.

Verified Purchase

Fun project for 11yo and his mom

Feb 11, 2018
Courtney W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

My son loves circuit boards and mood lamps, so this first Creation Crate was a hit with him! I took computer programming classes twenty years ago and enjoyed dipping my toes back in. The kit is a good way to start in that it shows you exactly what to do - including code to either type in, yourself, or cheat and just download it. There is a little room for improvement in readability (the font chosen for the printed code makes commas look like periods) and the wiring diagrams in the materials have occasional inconsistencies (where both layouts work, but it would be better to have only one presented in all images). We enjoyed this so much that I'm ordering a second subscription for my other child.

Verified Purchase

Good concept

Jan 03, 2017
Kimberlee D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

My nephew is 13 and always has his head in sega/Nintendo whatever. Wanted to give him another skill. It took all day with the help of his 21 yr old cousin, which was also a good thing. My only complaint is that there was no power source included and he wanted to use his new creation outside of just plugging into a computer. I went and bought what I thought was right- hope it doesn't blow up lol.

Verified Purchase

Pretty good

Oct 04, 2017
Nickolas J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall

I did the first month project pretty quickly but I have a bit of experience with Arduino stuff. My only complaint is they're pretty light on the explanations. The code does an OK job of explaining things except the mathematically library calls. The circuit didn't really have much of an explanation to it though. Didn't really mention why you should use a resistor or explain why the direction of the LED placement in the circuit matters.

Verified Purchase

Crates Rule!

Sep 17, 2019
Dj S.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality