Escape the Crate: An Escape Room Adventure shipped straight to your door.

by Escape the Crate
452
A bi-monthly "Escape Room" subscription box... full of puzzles and mysteries to solve!

Plans as low as

$26.50/ box

Buying Options

Reviews (452)

3 hours of fun

Mar 16, 2019
Overall
Amy A.
1 Review
1 Picture
20 Helpful
Subscribed for 8 months

If you want to have a great activity to do where you solve puzzles and work together - this is really a lot of fun. We started out planning to do it within an hour - two adults and 3 teens. We chose expert level because we think we are really smart. 3 hours later we solved it. You can definitely do this in under an hour because there are hints all along the way so you don’t have to ever stay stuck. This was such fun. We can’t wait for our next crate!!!

Verified Purchase

Escaped!

Mar 03, 2019
Overall
Rahayu J.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
15 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

My husband and I decided to subscribe to Escape The Crate. We received the Murder in The Forgotten Tomb and we escaped within 2 hours 20 minutes (it’s definitely not impressive! 🤣) but we sure had lots of fun with the puzzles and codes. We love going to escape rooms and this crate gave us the same experience as of those physical ones. Can’t wait for the next one! Highly recommended!

Verified Purchase

Well worth it.

Jan 16, 2021
Overall
Quality
Jill S.
1 Review
3 Pictures
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

Our first box arrived this week. Ordered it about a week before Christmas. Had no idea what to expect as non of us have been to an Escape Room. We did the first mission. It was great. A little much for our 11 year old. But now that we have done one we can find ways to incorporate her - playing the videos, entering the answers, reading the cards. Can’t wait to do the next challenge.

Verified Purchase

Fun and Impressive

Mar 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Amy L.
1 Review
2 Pictures
1 Helpful

My brother gave the double subscription box to me for Christmas, and my Roommate and I had so much fun solving the puzzles. We spread the three chapters out over a couple of weekends but picking back up where we left off was easy. I’m very impressed by the detail of the puzzles, every inch of the box it came in was used for clues, the combination of the online portion and the physical clues was seamless. All around impressed. Ice Age Park just arrived and I’m very much looking forward to this next challenge.

My Favorite Subscription Box

Nov 14, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Caitlinjosey
1 Review
13 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 years

I should have done this review a long time ago, but sadly I am a very forgetful person (great for replaying games like this, not so much for remembering to do a review). I have subscribed to ETC from almost the beginning, and went back to buy the first two boxes I missed to ensure I had the whole collection. As of this posting, I have played every one, but the Mothman (its to my right, taunting me, but I have to wait until I am with my mom for Thanksgiving, or she'd never forgive me).
First, and most important, if you like puzzles, escape rooms, challenges, creativity etc, this is the box for you.
I have always had an obsession with all the above to the point where I have completed every Escape Room in my city (mid-size so about 20 at this point) and this box has all the fun, and challenge, without the running around and pressure of time (unless you put the pressure on yourself or run to get another drink). So I apologize for the lengthy review but its something I would be picky about, so here goes:
Storyline - Each box is a standalone mission, you can pick up in the middle and be fine. They do tie into each other in a lose way so you "feel" a timeline, but in no means do you need a previous or future box to complete the mission. All the storylines are from different periods in history,...

Verified Purchase

Lots of fun

5 days ago
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jennifer G.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 8 months

Subscribed for 1 year this month.
We like doing these boxes as a stay-at-home date night. Sometimes we complete it all at once, sometimes taking a couple evenings to complete.
They're fun to play. We like that the types of puzzles vary, and the story lines are fun. The audio on the site to tell the story is easy to use and we like listening, it makes it easy to play and follow along. Love the small details, like historical information in some boxes, and the well thought out clues and puzzles for each box including images, fun character voices, and videos.
The 2 month cadence is good. We've also ordered a couple retired boxes to play in addition to our subscription.
We've never had a late delivery or issue with the box or site.
Thanks for putting together a great product with fun puzzles and stories!

Verified Purchase

Rock-n-Roll Spy -- What fun!

Feb 23, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
David W.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

What fun! My wife and I really enjoyed Rock-n-Roll Spy! The puzzles WERE a bit challenging (hints were helpful), but the story was great and was a super fun experience!

Verified Purchase

The Excitement of an Escape Room At Home

Feb 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rachelle C.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 11 months

I purchased this subscription box as a date night for my husband and I and we are absolutely LOVING it! I chose this box because we wanted something that we could do at home (since COVID limits out of the house opportunities), it is cost-effective, and it includes everything you need in one box! My husband was wanting do an escape room so badly and this has been a wonderful way to make that happen while staying cozy at home. We are really enjoying this new multi-chapter aspect of the more recent boxes so we can stretch out the story into multiple date nights. The minimal packaging is a big bonus, however, I don't love that the box is exposed since it is often delivered to our doorstep instead of the mailbox. Overall, I highly recommend subscribing to Escape-the-Crate! I tell my friends and co-workers about it as often as possible because it is SO worth it!

Verified Purchase

Honestly, incredible fun

Feb 14, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Liberty S.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 10 months

The value for money in each of these adventures, as well as the thought, creativity, and immersion that Escape the Crate infuses into them is un-paralleled. I've tried a few escape room options during COVID and this is far and away the best. Each box becomes more interesting and more action-packed, often with multiple adventures/rounds of play per box. There's also a real effort to limit waste in their setup and props, while still creating interesting artifacts to handle and enjoy. I've been spirited away multiple times by Escape the Crate over the last few months and I'm incredibly grateful for it. My fiancé and I love everything about their approach and appreciate the ability to get away while staying home. Three crates in and counting...

Verified Purchase

Best Game on Cratejoy

Oct 18, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kim H.
1 Review
8 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 years

We have been subscribers since the 4th box came out. We love these adventures so much, we went back and did the first 3 and have been subscribers ever since. Let me tell you why.. we have played the other puzzle subscription boxes available on Cratejoy, and we believe this is the best one all around.
The Creator uses the entire box, audio is available for all of the text and sometimes very creative. If you get stuck - which we frequently do as we are not the greatest puzzlers, there are hints so you can continue. The content is very original and educational at the same time. You are time travelers and actually visiting real places and times.
Compared to the other Escape games out there, this one has a superior look and feel. The boxes only continue to get better with time, and are now including 2-3 games in one box sometimes.
We did have an occasion to contact the creator at one point, and I found him very responsive and he was able to answer my questions quickly with a positive resolution.
I did read a lot of the 1-star reviews and was very baffled by them. The paper used is colorful/glossy. The box has always been of the highest quality and superior graphics - truly something you are not ashamed to put on your bookshelf. Are the props cheesy? Sure... but they add a nice dimension and frankly, for the cost, I would not expect high-priced props. The...

Verified Purchase

The best date night in!

Feb 16, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Brittany K.
1 Review
1 Picture
1 Helpful

We had so much fun!!!! Can not wait for our next box and may even try to purchase some past boxes!!!

Fun challenge!

Jun 05, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rachel E.
1 Review
1 Picture

We had such a fun time solving the mystery. It was very challenging and interactive.

Extraordinary

Aug 03, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Don T.
1 Review
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 years

Escape the Crate is incredible. The production value, the feel of being in an escape room, the amount of content, the labor that must go into creating each box... It is absolutely worth the cost. I'm continually impressed with the creativity that goes into making each box unique. And the fact that they made them reusable is an added bonus. I love this product. Could not recommend more highly.

Verified Purchase

Lots of fun!

Aug 24, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Paula S.
2 Reviews
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 years

We look forward to receiving each box. Some puzzles are easy while others take more time to figure out. There are hints available if you get stuck, or to verify you are on the right track. It is a great way to stay in for date night or family night. The only thing I can think of to make it better would be to have it available monthly because we enjoy it so much.

Verified Purchase

Perfect at home date night

Apr 17, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kelsie L.
1 Review
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

My husband and I love playing Escape the Crate. We make it a date night at home, and cook dinner together, play the game, and have some drinks. It's perfect for a night in!! Don't tell him, but I let him solve clues I already guessed to make him feel better ;)

Verified Purchase

Creative, challenging, and fun

Oct 18, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Linda M.
1 Review
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 8 months

I got my first crate as a birthday gift, because I love "real" escape rooms. I put off playing it for a long time, looking for the perfect team to play with.
Finally, I just decided to do it with my teen daughter on a Saturday. We had a great time doing it, and promptly subscribed. We've now done four and love the creativity of the series. There is a running theme of "Emit", an organization that goes back in time (get it?) to solve things.
The puzzles are challenging. We've never done it in an hour, and still use clues -- but less frequently as we improve our skills.
Our October box had two Jack the Ripper themed puzzles, one more difficult and gory, and one more simple and family friendly. And you can do both, they don't overlap! I'm glad it's bi-monthly. It's a big event for us to do, and the wait makes it more fun.

Verified Purchase

Awesome fun!

Apr 21, 2019
Overall
Karen D.
1 Review
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

We have done several escape rooms, but sometimes finding the time to get to one can be tricky.
Not only is this product delivered to your door, you can play your crate at home (in your pyjamas if you so please), any time of day or night, with as little or as many of your friends as you like.
We were even more pleased to see that the create had a reset option to share with others, what a fantastic idea! And certainly not what we were expecting.
Loved the interactive nature of different platforms, paper, images, voice recordings on website.
A great rainy day activity!

Verified Purchase

Fun Night In!

Sep 29, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Ashley
1 Review
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

SO MUCH FUN! Great story, directions and the fact that we can pass it along to our family or kids is awesome!!! Can't wait for our next one.

Verified Purchase

Shipped VERY late/Bad Cust Service

Jan 15, 2019
Overall
Wendy Q.
1 Review
6 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

- We ordered a box for a Christmas present on December 4.
- It was supposed to ship the second week of December and Escape the Crate said to expect the tracking number by December 11. They told me to expect 3 days for delivery, so I expected to receive around Dec. 14 give or take a day or two.
- I noticed it was running late and I I emailed Escape the Crate three separate times of the course of the wait period inquiring about my package, and asking to cancel my order if they couldn't ship it in time. No one ever responded to me.
- The box didn't ship until December 18 and was finally delivered to my home on Dec. 21, A FULL WEEK after I was told it would ship and be delivered. We had already left to go out of town at that point for Christmas- meaning I could no longer give it as the Christmas gift I intended. To make matters worse, because we were not home, the package sat out in the rain and was completely ruined and can not be used at all!!
Really disappointed with our experience with this company. I would not recommend and of course we will not use Crate Joy or Escape the Crate again.

Verified Purchase

A Must for Escape Room fans.

Apr 18, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Joe M.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 years

These are amazing, fun experiences. We've collected something like 16 of these and really enjoy them. They are great for groups of any size and the puzzles are always really well thought out and clever. I also enjoy the narrative through-line as a nice tie-in.
Each crate delves into a part of history that feels very well researched and thought out. I generally feel smarter when I've finished playing these. We've even had a couple times where some history buff friends could help out with answers because they knew certain pieces of the actual history.
They are great with shipping as well and have always been really fast to get back to me with any questions. They even include a "repacking" list once you're done on their site that tells you how to put it all back to default. Great for if you want to share it with a friend later.

Verified Purchase

Awesome!

Oct 10, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Chad B.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

Just finished playing a box at a friend's place and all I can say is WOW! It was just like an actual escape room. There were a lot of puzzles to do, which was a good thing and I liked how we could stop playing for a bit and come back in later. There also were buttons to push for the computer to read things aloud as we played, which was good because it was hard to hear some people reading too quickly. I just signed up myself for the next one!

Verified Purchase

Escaped the crate

Oct 11, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sally P.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

Bought this as a whim and thought I would give it a shot. It was very well done. Good story, unique puzzles, a nice hint system to help keep me in check, and the box itself was a part of the game. I like how you can reset the game afterwards and pass it off to friends.

Verified Purchase

Best Mystery Box Out There

May 08, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Daniel R.
1 Review
6 Helpful

Wow! We just played the "Escape: Rock N Roll Spy" game and we loved it. I have played several board game escape rooms like the Unlocked ones and the Werewolf experiment, but this one was the closest to actually feeling like an escape room. There are multiple things to be "unlocked" but you need to figure out how to get into it... just like in a real room. We tried a certain other "mystery society" box on Cratejoy and it was a bunch of random papers thrown in a box. This one, has everything neatly organized and slowly gets revealed as you play the game. We cancelled the other subscription and only play this one now. Keep up the good work.

Great box for the whole family!

Apr 13, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Katie M.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

Escape the Crate is a super well-thought out box. The instructions were easy to follow, you always knew what to do next. With other boxes similar to this, you usually need to figure out what to do next by yourself and that could get a little challenging. This box is great for families that have kids,the kids are actually able to participate in this one and feel needed!

Verified Purchase

Horrible Customer Service

Jan 14, 2019
Overall
Colleen M.
1 Review
5 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

I recently signed up for a 1 year subscription and purchased 2 of their old crates. After over a month I have yet to receive the 2 old crates I purchased (which I had to pay in advance for) and every single email that I have sent has not be returned or addressed. I would not recommend this company in any way. Can't even contact anyone to speak with someone since everything is done through email.

Verified Purchase