A bi-monthly "Escape Room" subscription box full of puzzles and mysteries to solve!

Plans as low as $26.50 / box

Escape the Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review

3 hours of fun

Mar 16, 2019
Amy A.
1 Review
1 Picture
16 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

If you want to have a great activity to do where you solve puzzles and work together - this is really a lot of fun. We started out planning to do it within an hour - two adults and 3 teens. We chose expert level because we think we are really smart. 3 hours later we solved it. You can definitely do this in under an hour because there are hints all along the way so you don’t have to ever stay stuck. This was such fun. We can’t wait for our next crate!!!

Verified Purchase

Escaped!

Mar 03, 2019
Rahayu J.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
11 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

My husband and I decided to subscribe to Escape The Crate. We received the Murder in The Forgotten Tomb and we escaped within 2 hours 20 minutes (it’s definitely not impressive! 🤣) but we sure had lots of fun with the puzzles and codes. We love going to escape rooms and this crate gave us the same experience as of those physical ones. Can’t wait for the next one! Highly recommended!

Verified Purchase

Well worth it.

5 days ago
Jill S.
1 Review
3 Pictures
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Quality

Our first box arrived this week. Ordered it about a week before Christmas. Had no idea what to expect as non of us have been to an Escape Room. We did the first mission. It was great. A little much for our 11 year old. But now that we have done one we can find ways to incorporate her - playing the videos, entering the answers, reading the cards. Can’t wait to do the next challenge.

Verified Purchase

Best Game on Cratejoy

Oct 18, 2020
Kim H.
1 Review
6 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We have been subscribers since the 4th box came out. We love these adventures so much, we went back and did the first 3 and have been subscribers ever since. Let me tell you why.. we have played the other puzzle subscription boxes available on Cratejoy, and we believe this is the best one all around.
The Creator uses the entire box, audio is available for all of the text and sometimes very creative. If you get stuck - which we frequently do as we are not the greatest puzzlers, there are hints so you can continue. The content is very original and educational at the same time. You are time travelers and actually visiting real places and times.
Compared to the other Escape games out there, this one has a superior look and feel. The boxes only continue to get better with time, and are now including 2-3 games in one box sometimes.
We did have an occasion to contact the creator at one point, and I found him very responsive and he was able to answer my questions quickly with a positive resolution.
I did read a lot of the 1-star reviews and was very baffled by them. The paper used is colorful/glossy. The box has always been of the highest quality and superior graphics - truly something you are not ashamed to put on your bookshelf. Are the props cheesy? Sure... but they add a nice dimension and frankly, for the cost, I would not expect high-priced props. The...

Verified Purchase

Creative, challenging, and fun

Oct 18, 2020
Linda M.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I got my first crate as a birthday gift, because I love "real" escape rooms. I put off playing it for a long time, looking for the perfect team to play with.
Finally, I just decided to do it with my teen daughter on a Saturday. We had a great time doing it, and promptly subscribed. We've now done four and love the creativity of the series. There is a running theme of "Emit", an organization that goes back in time (get it?) to solve things.
The puzzles are challenging. We've never done it in an hour, and still use clues -- but less frequently as we improve our skills.
Our October box had two Jack the Ripper themed puzzles, one more difficult and gory, and one more simple and family friendly. And you can do both, they don't overlap! I'm glad it's bi-monthly. It's a big event for us to do, and the wait makes it more fun.

Verified Purchase

Escape room puzzles are fun

Nov 28, 2020
Keith A.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We love escape rooms and with the pandemic stopping us from going to them we thought we would try the cratejoy escape rooms and we are happy that we did.
We get the boxes shipped in a timely manner and have never had a problem with anything missing from the box.
We have played 3 or 4 of them now and we have enjoyed them.
It is a fun way to play an escape room and we either do it with a team of 2 or 2 teams of 2. Great way to use your brain and pass the time.
Some are harder than others, and you can do it timed version or untimed, and it can take 1-2 hours if you apply yourself. There are also hints if you get stuck.
If you want the fun of a game, combined with puzzles and problem solving like in an escape room then give this a go, order it, and have some fun.

Verified Purchase

Best escape room box on Cratejoy

Nov 27, 2020
Lizette F.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have tried several escape room type boxes on Cratejoy, and this is by far the best one. Each box has a short, but interesting narrative as you play. There is audio on each page, which is great because you can just play it as you play with your friends rather than read silently or take turns reading out loud. You can solve each box in about 45 minutes to 2 hours. Other boxes just take too long or are too involved in the storyline. My only complaint is that the subscription is for every other month rather than every month :) If the price were right, I would by the retired boxes that I missed, too! If you are undecided among the different boxes, I can tell you this one is the best one.

Verified Purchase

A+ game and business model

Nov 21, 2020
Mike B.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

5/5 without a doubt. We've gone through about 8 of these now and have really enjoyed them. Everything about how this is setup has clearly been thought through. The price is low and significantly cheaper than a night out (at least in the city where we live). Also, only having one every two months is perfect to make sure that if you get behind you never feel overwhelmed. The clues are really great in case you get stuck. We also love that each box is a self-contained game and you don't need to keep track of things from month to month. My roommate got excited when he played ours so he did his own research and decided to go with To Catch A Killer. Those games are all one after the other. He had a lot of motivation to get the first one done but then had to wait a month for the second, at which point he forgot a lot of details and didn't want to get back into it. 6 months later and we have four boxes of To Catch a Killer that have never been opened. If you're on the fence, just get a retired mission to give it a shot. You'll likely then sign-up for the bi-monthly subscription like we did and love these.

Verified Purchase

Great Quarantine Date Nights

Today
Erica N.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My husband and I love these crates! We got them as a way to have date nights during quarantine, and they have been so much fun! We’ll keep subscribing even after the pandemic ends. It will be even better when we’re able to use them as game nights with friends.

Verified Purchase

Great Escape!

2 days ago
Kelly T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We really enjoyed this box! I was impressed with how well done the online portion was done, easy to read and follow with all of the input of passwords, etc from the game. I also liked that there were two versions of the game because my son does not like anything remotely scary, so we all played the family version and my husband and I played the slightly scary version-both were enjoyed! Though it wasn’t disguised in the mail so my son saw it 😕

Verified Purchase

Love it!!!

2 days ago
Kristen D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love this subscription! I look forward to it coming in the mail! I gave shipping a 3/5 because it usually takes almost a month to arrive, and only comes once every 2 months...I would like it to be monthly because I love it so much!

Verified Purchase

Absolutely love this box!

3 days ago
Brea F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality