An "escape the room" game in your own living room!

Plans as low as $26.50 / 1 box every 2 months

Escape the Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review

3 hours of fun

Mar 18, 2019
Amy A.
1 Review
1 Picture
11 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

If you want to have a great activity to do where you solve puzzles and work together - this is really a lot of fun. We started out planning to do it within an hour - two adults and 3 teens. We chose expert level because we think we are really smart. 3 hours later we solved it. You can definitely do this in under an hour because there are hints all along the way so you don’t have to ever stay stuck. This was such fun. We can’t wait for our next crate!!!

Verified Purchase

Escaped!

Mar 04, 2019
Rahayu J.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
8 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

My husband and I decided to subscribe to Escape The Crate. We received the Murder in The Forgotten Tomb and we escaped within 2 hours 20 minutes (it’s definitely not impressive! 🤣) but we sure had lots of fun with the puzzles and codes. We love going to escape rooms and this crate gave us the same experience as of those physical ones. Can’t wait for the next one! Highly recommended!

Verified Purchase

The best date night in!

Today
Brittany K.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We had so much fun!!!! Can not wait for our next box and may even try to purchase some past boxes!!!

My Favorite Subscription Box

Nov 14, 2019
Caitlinjosey
1 Review
6 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 3 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I should have done this review a long time ago, but sadly I am a very forgetful person (great for replaying games like this, not so much for remembering to do a review). I have subscribed to ETC from almost the beginning, and went back to buy the first two boxes I missed to ensure I had the whole collection. As of this posting, I have played every one, but the Mothman (its to my right, taunting me, but I have to wait until I am with my mom for Thanksgiving, or she'd never forgive me).

First, and most important, if you like puzzles, escape rooms, challenges, creativity etc, this is the box for you.

I have always had an obsession with all the above to the point where I have completed every Escape Room in my city (mid-size so about 20 at this point) and this box has all the fun, and challenge, without the running around and pressure of time (unless you put the pressure on yourself or run to get another drink). So I apologize for the lengthy review but its something I would be picky about, so here goes:

Storyline - Each box is a standalone mission, you can pick up in the middle and be fine. They do tie into each other in a lose way so you "feel" a timeline, but in no means do you need a previous or future box to complete the mission. All the storylines are from different periods in history,...

Verified Purchase

Lots of fun!

Aug 24, 2019
Paula S.
2 Reviews
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We look forward to receiving each box. Some puzzles are easy while others take more time to figure out. There are hints available if you get stuck, or to verify you are on the right track. It is a great way to stay in for date night or family night. The only thing I can think of to make it better would be to have it available monthly because we enjoy it so much.

Verified Purchase

Fun Night In!

Sep 29, 2019
Ashley
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

SO MUCH FUN! Great story, directions and the fact that we can pass it along to our family or kids is awesome!!! Can't wait for our next one.

Verified Purchase

Escaped the crate

Oct 11, 2019
Sally P.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Bought this as a whim and thought I would give it a shot. It was very well done. Good story, unique puzzles, a nice hint system to help keep me in check, and the box itself was a part of the game. I like how you can reset the game afterwards and pass it off to friends.

Verified Purchase

Awesome!

Oct 10, 2019
Chad B.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Just finished playing a box at a friend's place and all I can say is WOW! It was just like an actual escape room. There were a lot of puzzles to do, which was a good thing and I liked how we could stop playing for a bit and come back in later. There also were buttons to push for the computer to read things aloud as we played, which was good because it was hard to hear some people reading too quickly. I just signed up myself for the next one!

Verified Purchase

Escape the Mothman

Oct 22, 2019
Jas M.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I bought this crate not because it was an escape room... I actually bought it for the subject matter. I live near the town where the Mothman is said to visit and I have studied this for years. When I saw that someone had created a box about the Mothman, I had to buy it. This little box is amazing! It covered a whole bunch of information but it made it feel like a cohesive game. All of the puzzles fit together and nothing felt out of place. I also love how this game actually had a section at the end the explains fact from fiction. Amazing product and I highly recommend.

Verified Purchase

Wonderful activity for the night!

Yesterday
Tricia L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 28 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was a ton of fun..Not too easy and not so challenging we couldn't do it. Great night of fun!

Verified Purchase

Fantastic Gift Idea!

Sep 29, 2019
Jonathan C.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes