Escape the Crate: An Escape Room Adventure shipped straight to your door.

Escape the Crate: An Escape Room Adventure shipped straight to your door.

by Escape the Crate
A bi-monthly "Escape Room" subscription box... full of puzzles and mysteries to solve!

Plans as low as

$26.50/ box

Buying Options

Reviews (677)

Fun for entire family

Sep 14, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Laura S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years

We have loved every box over the last 2 years. The kids look forward to it coming. This box was a favorite!

Verified Purchase

Lots of fun!

Sep 14, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Marisa L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

I received the escape the Vikings box and my oldest daughter was solving the puzzles with me. They were relatively difficult and it was a lot of fun. There were two parts to this game and we only finished 1 part. Can’t wait to get started on the 2nd half. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who loves solving all kinds of puzzles. Also looking forward to getting new boxes in the future.

Verified Purchase

Fun, Beginner Friendly Escape

Aug 22, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Melinda C.
3 Reviews

I had a great time playing through the Roswell Incident. I've played a lot of puzzle games so I found the puzzles on the easier side, but it was still a fun evening activity. Set-up was easy and I love how space is maximized for puzzles with printing on both sides of each paper, as well as within the box itself. I look forward to playing through more boxes!

A Fun Evening

Aug 18, 2022
Overall
Quality
Curation
Kj L.
1 Review

It took us (three adults) about 3 hours to do "Escape the Gold Rush Robbery" and we all enjoyed ourselves, finding the puzzles pleasantly challenging but not frustrating.

Excellent escape-room subscription!

Sep 05, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Johannah D.
2 Reviews

These games are so much fun - and I play solo. They are so creative - each one being so unique in terms of game play. Their hints are great - they don't give you the answers but gently nudge you in the right direction so you still get the thrill of figuring them out (with a little help!). The little tangible items that come along with the papers are a lot of fun, and really add dimension to the adventures. And they are very caring games, too - always providing any type or warnings or triggers that might come into their stories - which, in my opinion, is just a caring way to make sure their games are fun for absolutely everyone. My only complaint is I wish they came out EVERY month - not just bi-monthly!

Great Narrative, Fun Puzzles

Aug 28, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sarah R.
1 Review

Bought 2 of the retired Camelot game - 1 as a gift and 1 for us. We all enjoyed it. We've played Exit: The Game, Escape the Room, and Finders Seekers. Although we like elements of each one, this was by far our favorite for narrative strength and theme.
The puzzle difficulties ranged from easy to medium for a group with some experience, though there were some factors (don't want to say more so it doesn't ruin the story for anyone) that could make them more difficult. We didn't use any of the hints, but each puzzle had a layer of hints available.
Escape the Crate makes great use of game elements (and the box). Not to spoil any surprises, but I think almost every piece had 2+ uses during the course of the whole game, which was divided into 4 chapters so you could play in multiple sessions.
We're definitely going to be getting other puzzles from this company!

Great Escape Boxes!!

Aug 22, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Julie F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 15 days

I received my first box, the Egyptian Adventure as a birthday gift and it was so much fun. We played with two friends so there were four of us, and it took us about 3 hours to do. It was nice that we were able to play at our own pace instead of being rushed with a timer, and the hint system was super helpful when we really got stuck!! Everything is super clear to set up, and the puzzles are a great range between easy and very challenging! We try not to actually write on the papers so we can regift them boxes, but it’s nice that the option to reprint some of the pages is available online.
I ended up subscribing soon after and now my sister and I do them primarily on our own. It still takes us about 2 to 3 hours to complete the boxes, but it makes for a great afternoon or evening activity for us! I even bought some single retired boxes to hold us over in between subscription months. So far we’ve finished the Jack the Ripper, Camelot, and Ancient Greece, and we plan on acquiring some more of the older ones too!

Verified Purchase

Perfect Date Night

Aug 01, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rachel D.
1 Review

We have so much fun doing these for date night! Always a blast figuring out puzzles together and racing against the clock.

The Value is Worth the Price

Jul 24, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Nicholas T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

The overall entertainment value of this box was better than expected. Having done break out rooms in the past, I was expecting this to take around an hour. In reality, it took my husband and I two sessions around two hours each to work through the puzzles. I enjoyed the flexibility in solving the puzzles at your own pace. For two nights of entertainment/4 hours of fun, the value is worth the price.

Verified Purchase

Must-buy for escape room lovers

Jul 13, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Richie M.
1 Review
1 Helpful

These boxes are amazing! I've wanted a cheaper way to experience escape rooms at home for a while and these are the best solution I've found. The boxes each have fun and unique themes and are definitely challenging.

Outstanding

Jul 11, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kara N.
1 Review

After a year of "Finders Seekers" subscription escape boxes, my husband and I switched over to Escape The Crate. Wow are we happy with our choice! FS was fine, but after a while it became the same story over and over with just different locations and that became tedious. After our first 2 ETC boxes we are loving them. The comprehensive storyline, the vignettes and narration are a wonderful aspect. We are looking forward to the next one!

Amazing

Jul 10, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Ryker O.
1 Review

Absolutely loved my Escape The Crape! The puzzles are wonderfully curated to be challenging yet solvable and I think it’s the perfect level of difficulty for all players. 100% recommend this for any escape room fans!

Amazing at-home escape experience!

Jul 09, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Liisa V.
1 Review

Always play these boxes with my partner. We have saved memorabilia from each of the crates. Our favourites are Mothman and Roswell. Great job!

Fun date night experience

Jul 05, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jaisy V.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

We've really enjoyed our escape room boxes. They are unique and fun for a different sort of date night experience.

Verified Purchase

Fun and Engaging

Jun 11, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Linda C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months

Wonderful narrative and story elements. The props are always fun. Puzzles require a bit of thinking, be sure to look at all of your sheets and cards. There are graduated hints in case you get stumped. Always engaging and hard to put down once you start. I got a one-year subscription, and I will definitely be renewing it. This is the best puzzle subscription that I have ever had (and I have had a few). Totally and unreservedly recommend.

Verified Purchase

Escape rooms at home!

Jul 10, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jerad B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months

Absolutely love our escape the crates. We get so excited when we receive ours.

Verified Purchase

Fun box

Jul 05, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Leah
1 Review

Great box! We had so much fun and are definitely going to order more.

Hours of entertainment

Jun 02, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jonathon L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

The puzzles are hard but there are hints to help so you never get frustrated. My friends and I will spend hours playing together. Plus, it let's us know how to put it back together so we can play again later.

Verified Purchase

Great family game

May 30, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Diana C.
1 Review

Very fun game with the family! The puzzles are just right to do with the kids. I think for grownups they are a bit easy, but the kids (5, 8) love helping me solve these and get so involved in the stories.

escape the crate

Jun 27, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Janet B.
1 Review

1 word addictive

Must try for murder box lovers!

May 14, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Joshua B.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

BEST box we have found so far! It has the really good story of hunt a killer WITH really good puzzles like exit games ALL IN ONE. Correction: BETTER story and BETTER puzzles. We are on our 2nd box and are playing with our pre teen son and our older niece. Highly recommend!

Verified Purchase

I did not want the renewal

Jul 23, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Susan G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months

I asked to have this canceled and it was renewed. The product Is fine, but the service not.

Verified Purchase
Escape the Crate said...Jul 25, 2022

Hi Susan, thanks for reaching out! It looks like you purchased a gift subscription with us which allows you to turn off renewal to avoid unwanted charges, but you have to select "Your gift will not renew" at checkout, which wasn't done in this case. We also sent an email to you before this subscription was renewed on June 15th to make sure you were aware of the upcoming renewal and that mail does show as delivered on our end. We are so sorry if you missed it! I can confirm that your subscription has been canceled since July 10th when you completed the cancellation process. You are welcome to contact our support team, we are happy to assist with any further queries!

Great couples game

May 21, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rachel S.
1 Review

We received a subscription as a gift and plan to keep it going. The puzzles are challenging but never too difficult; no leaps in logic. You can break up the chapters into sections or play through for a long game. Mostly cooperative, but the inheritance manor game has a competition element if you like. Cheesy at times but very entertaining.

No pressure, interactive, fun game for d

May 16, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Shannon C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

We played Escape the Gold Rush Robbery as our first introduction to Escape the Crate. This game was a lot of fun and is now a favorite of the escape game subscriptions we have. The sound clips and videos bring life to the game and save reading pages if text and rummaging papers endlessly. The hint system with no pressure on a timed clock made it more relaxing and fun. It's broken into chapters which enabled us to fix dinner and continue the game. This was a great choice for a date night. No regrets getting this subscription. Highly recommended!

Verified Purchase

Terrible.

Jul 06, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Zoe G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I’ve gone through 3 different avenues trying to cancel this subscription. Not only is the product itself lackluster and very underwhelming- now I’m stuck with a subscription that both Cratejoy and the seller refuse to cancel! Don’t waste your money on this.

Verified Purchase
Escape the Crate said...Jul 06, 2022

Hello! We are so sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your subscription. Unfortunately, as of 7/6/2022, we have not received any emails or messages related to your order or expressing your wish to cancel. We have checked with Cratejoy, as well. You are able to contact us through one of the many "Contact Seller" buttons on the Cratejoy website or by replying to our order, renewal, or shipping confirmations to you. We would have been able to refund and cancel your subscription if we had received your request after your renewal went through. Since your crate has shipped and this review was posted after boxes have already gone out this month, there is not much we can do at this time. We...


Customers who bought this also bought...