Home > Geek & Gamer > Board Games > Escape the Crate > Escape the Crate reviews
An "escape the room" game in your own living room!

Plans as low as $26.50 / 1 box every 2 months

Escape the Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review

3 hours of fun

Mar 18, 2019
Amy A.
1 Review
1 Picture
4 Helpful Votes
Overall

If you want to have a great activity to do where you solve puzzles and work together - this is really a lot of fun. We started out planning to do it within an hour - two adults and 3 teens. We chose expert level because we think we are really smart. 3 hours later we solved it. You can definitely do this in under an hour because there are hints all along the way so you don’t have to ever stay stuck. This was such fun. We can’t wait for our next crate!!!

Verified Purchase

Escaped!

Mar 04, 2019
Rahayu J.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
2 Helpful Votes
Overall

My husband and I decided to subscribe to Escape The Crate. We received the Murder in The Forgotten Tomb and we escaped within 2 hours 20 minutes (it’s definitely not impressive! 🤣) but we sure had lots of fun with the puzzles and codes. We love going to escape rooms and this crate gave us the same experience as of those physical ones. Can’t wait for the next one! Highly recommended!

Verified Purchase

We escaped!!!!!!!!!

Mar 16, 2019
Christina C.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Overall

We had sooooo much fun! My mom ordered a gift subscription for us back last summer and we have played 4 games so far. The first was Outlaw, which was cowboy themed. This one was so clever. We had to split up our group and either play as an outlaw or a sheriff. There was a really clever thing hidden in the game, as well. The next box we got was movie themed and we had to stop a movie premiere. This was the only one that we took more than an hour and a half to complete, but that was ok because it was so much fun! The Titanic was my favorite of the bunch, especially because of how much history was mixed in with the puzzles. We played the "Murder in the Forgotten Tomb" today and this one felt completely different from the others, which is a good thing! We actually got into an argument about who committed the crime. Luckily we chose correctly. I can't say enough good things about these boxes. If you like puzzles, history, challenges, or just plain clever design, this is the box for you!

Best Mystery Box Out There

May 08, 2019
Daniel R.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Wow! We just played the "Escape: Rock N Roll Spy" game and we loved it. I have played several board game escape rooms like the Unlocked ones and the Werewolf experiment, but this one was the closest to actually feeling like an escape room. There are multiple things to be "unlocked" but you need to figure out how to get into it... just like in a real room. We tried a certain other "mystery society" box on Cratejoy and it was a bunch of random papers thrown in a box. This one, has everything neatly organized and slowly gets revealed as you play the game. We cancelled the other subscription and only play this one now. Keep up the good work.

Great for game night

Apr 23, 2019
Wendy F.
24 Reviews
1 Picture
13 Helpful Votes
Overall

Our family tried the Queen's Curse and Titanic boxes on Easter. We were very impressed by the details and listening to the story as we went along was very immersive. Several members of our group are hoping to get to play some of the earlier retired boxes so I hope they are available in the future. As far as detective/mystery boxes go this one is one of the best. Plus all the stories are pretty family friendly, which I love for my senior parents as well as my kids. These boxes are made with care, attention to detail, and a passion for history. Plus the hints and solutions are easily accessible if you get stuck and frustrated. Can't wait to see what the creator comes up with in future boxes!

Escape Room in a Box Review

7 days ago
Joshua L.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We just finished playing our first game and this box blew away our expectations! We are huge escape room, puzzle, and mystery fans and we were afraid that putting an experience like this in a box wouldn’t work... boy were we wrong. There were so many puzzles inside and all of them were different and fit the theme.

This box had 2 separate rooms in it because one was scarier with a serial killer theme. Because they realized not everyone was going to like that one, they put one in that was more family friendly, as well, centered around a theme park. They didn’t have to do that, but it was a nice touch. It also gives us 2 games to play!
We escaped from the hotel killer mini game in about 42 minutes out of the 45 minute timeline. It was TOUGH but that is what we wanted! We haven’t played the other yet, but are going to try to set up a game night. I also just ordered one for my brother.

If you are on the line wondering if you want this box or not.... just do it. The sheer amount of creativity blows me away and I am excited for my next box!

Verified Purchase

Entertained us for about 3 hours

Jun 11, 2019
Michele D.
5 Reviews
1 Picture
1 Helpful Vote
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We found this to be challenging but fun. Our 19 yo son lost interest halfway through, but he is all about fast puzzles and immediate gratification. Hubby and myself enjoyed the process and the value of getting almost 3 hours of entertainment out of one box. I thought the online content was very good and adds tremendously to the value and loved that you could get plenty of hints before the final solution was revealed. Forgotten Tomb was our first experience and it taught us that in the future boxes, we need to be more observant and to write things down better because there are a LOT of details that you could easily forget or mix up. We liked this single box purchase so much that I have just signed us up for the year subscription.

Verified Purchase

Awesome Customer Service!

Jun 09, 2019
Denise M.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping

This is a review for outstanding customer service. I made a special request via email and Julianne not only made it happen but made it happen super fast! I’ll come back again to review the game after we play our first box, but that won’t be for a couple of weeks and I wanted to give big kudos to J and the ETC team ASAP!

Verified Purchase
Escape the Crate said...

Thank you so much for the very kind words. I will be sure to pass this on to Julianne! Have a great weekend and enjoy the crate!

Jun 09, 2019

Never a Dull Box

May 22, 2019
Allison E.
1 Review
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

These boxes always have a fun story line and new and creative puzzles. The puzzles are solved all on your time so you can set it up with limits or play at your own speed. They're always a blast!

Verified Purchase

Awesome fun!

Apr 21, 2019
Karen D.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Overall

We have done several escape rooms, but sometimes finding the time to get to one can be tricky.
Not only is this product delivered to your door, you can play your crate at home (in your pyjamas if you so please), any time of day or night, with as little or as many of your friends as you like.
We were even more pleased to see that the create had a reset option to share with others, what a fantastic idea! And certainly not what we were expecting.
Loved the interactive nature of different platforms, paper, images, voice recordings on website.
A great rainy day activity!

Verified Purchase
Buying Options