Escape the Crate

by Escape the Crate
A bi-monthly "Escape Room" subscription box... full of puzzles and mysteries to solve!

Plans as low as

$26.50/ box

Buying Options

Escape the Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review

3 hours of fun

Mar 16, 2019
Amy A.
1 Review
1 Picture
16 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

If you want to have a great activity to do where you solve puzzles and work together - this is really a lot of fun. We started out planning to do it within an hour - two adults and 3 teens. We chose expert level because we think we are really smart. 3 hours later we solved it. You can definitely do this in under an hour because there are hints all along the way so you don’t have to ever stay stuck. This was such fun. We can’t wait for our next crate!!!

Verified Purchase

Escaped!

Mar 03, 2019
Rahayu J.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
12 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

My husband and I decided to subscribe to Escape The Crate. We received the Murder in The Forgotten Tomb and we escaped within 2 hours 20 minutes (it’s definitely not impressive! 🤣) but we sure had lots of fun with the puzzles and codes. We love going to escape rooms and this crate gave us the same experience as of those physical ones. Can’t wait for the next one! Highly recommended!

Verified Purchase

Well worth it.

Jan 16, 2021
Jill S.
1 Review
3 Pictures
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Quality

Our first box arrived this week. Ordered it about a week before Christmas. Had no idea what to expect as non of us have been to an Escape Room. We did the first mission. It was great. A little much for our 11 year old. But now that we have done one we can find ways to incorporate her - playing the videos, entering the answers, reading the cards. Can’t wait to do the next challenge.

Verified Purchase

Fun and Impressive

Mar 15, 2021
Amy L.
1 Review
2 Pictures
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My brother gave the double subscription box to me for Christmas, and my Roommate and I had so much fun solving the puzzles. We spread the three chapters out over a couple of weekends but picking back up where we left off was easy. I’m very impressed by the detail of the puzzles, every inch of the box it came in was used for clues, the combination of the online portion and the physical clues was seamless. All around impressed. Ice Age Park just arrived and I’m very much looking forward to this next challenge.

Rock-n-Roll Spy -- What fun!

Feb 23, 2021
David W.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

What fun! My wife and I really enjoyed Rock-n-Roll Spy! The puzzles WERE a bit challenging (hints were helpful), but the story was great and was a super fun experience!

Verified Purchase

Honestly, incredible fun

Feb 14, 2021
Liberty S.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The value for money in each of these adventures, as well as the thought, creativity, and immersion that Escape the Crate infuses into them is un-paralleled. I've tried a few escape room options during COVID and this is far and away the best. Each box becomes more interesting and more action-packed, often with multiple adventures/rounds of play per box. There's also a real effort to limit waste in their setup and props, while still creating interesting artifacts to handle and enjoy. I've been spirited away multiple times by Escape the Crate over the last few months and I'm incredibly grateful for it. My fiancé and I love everything about their approach and appreciate the ability to get away while staying home. Three crates in and counting...

Verified Purchase

The Excitement of an Escape Room At Home

Feb 12, 2021
Rachelle C.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I purchased this subscription box as a date night for my husband and I and we are absolutely LOVING it! I chose this box because we wanted something that we could do at home (since COVID limits out of the house opportunities), it is cost-effective, and it includes everything you need in one box! My husband was wanting do an escape room so badly and this has been a wonderful way to make that happen while staying cozy at home. We are really enjoying this new multi-chapter aspect of the more recent boxes so we can stretch out the story into multiple date nights. The minimal packaging is a big bonus, however, I don't love that the box is exposed since it is often delivered to our doorstep instead of the mailbox. Overall, I highly recommend subscribing to Escape-the-Crate! I tell my friends and co-workers about it as often as possible because it is SO worth it!

Verified Purchase

Escape room puzzles are fun

Nov 28, 2020
Keith A.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We love escape rooms and with the pandemic stopping us from going to them we thought we would try the cratejoy escape rooms and we are happy that we did.
We get the boxes shipped in a timely manner and have never had a problem with anything missing from the box.
We have played 3 or 4 of them now and we have enjoyed them.
It is a fun way to play an escape room and we either do it with a team of 2 or 2 teams of 2. Great way to use your brain and pass the time.
Some are harder than others, and you can do it timed version or untimed, and it can take 1-2 hours if you apply yourself. There are also hints if you get stuck.
If you want the fun of a game, combined with puzzles and problem solving like in an escape room then give this a go, order it, and have some fun.

Verified Purchase

Best escape room box on Cratejoy

Nov 27, 2020
Lizette F.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have tried several escape room type boxes on Cratejoy, and this is by far the best one. Each box has a short, but interesting narrative as you play. There is audio on each page, which is great because you can just play it as you play with your friends rather than read silently or take turns reading out loud. You can solve each box in about 45 minutes to 2 hours. Other boxes just take too long or are too involved in the storyline. My only complaint is that the subscription is for every other month rather than every month :) If the price were right, I would by the retired boxes that I missed, too! If you are undecided among the different boxes, I can tell you this one is the best one.

Verified Purchase

A+ game and business model

Nov 21, 2020
Mike B.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

5/5 without a doubt. We've gone through about 8 of these now and have really enjoyed them. Everything about how this is setup has clearly been thought through. The price is low and significantly cheaper than a night out (at least in the city where we live). Also, only having one every two months is perfect to make sure that if you get behind you never feel overwhelmed. The clues are really great in case you get stuck. We also love that each box is a self-contained game and you don't need to keep track of things from month to month. My roommate got excited when he played ours so he did his own research and decided to go with To Catch A Killer. Those games are all one after the other. He had a lot of motivation to get the first one done but then had to wait a month for the second, at which point he forgot a lot of details and didn't want to get back into it. 6 months later and we have four boxes of To Catch a Killer that have never been opened. If you're on the fence, just get a retired mission to give it a shot. You'll likely then sign-up for the bi-monthly subscription like we did and love these.

Verified Purchase

Great customer service

Apr 13, 2021
Lyndsay G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality