Escape the Crate: An Escape Room Adventure shipped straight to your door.

Escape the Crate: An Escape Room Adventure shipped straight to your door.

by Escape the Crate
A bi-monthly "Escape Room" subscription box... full of puzzles and mysteries to solve!

Plans as low as

$26.50/ box

Buying Options

Reviews (653)

Have a big table

Jan 29, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Danielle R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

Edit: For our second box, we included our 9 yr old daughter. She got the concept even if we had to nudge a few times. It is a very versatile gift, great for Date Night, Family Night, Friends Night, etc.
It did take a little to get used to and you have to make sure you have A LOT of open space to display the cards, but once we got the hang of it, we liked it. We did have to do each chapter on different nights because it was lengthy, but that's ok because it made it worth the purchase. If you like solving puzzles, I highly recommend this.

Verified Purchase

Great family activity!

Feb 21, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Maria C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

Great mystery box! Challenging but the development and hints made it very clear to pass to each stage. It’s definitely for grown up kids (it was too challenging for my elementary kids) but we as a family had a lot of fun.

Verified Purchase

Enjoyed!/They do NOT accept refunds

Feb 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Brittany B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

BEWARE: Be sure to actually cancel your subscription as it auto renews and they DO NOT accept refunds. After a box is shipped to you, they are VERY firm about this.
Otherwise, my husband have enjoyed these experiences (not really a game) and we really like the option to have the instructions read aloud to us as well as the computer interactive elements.

Verified Purchase

Great for escape room fanatics

Nov 27, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kimberly K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months

Very cute gift if you like escape rooms!

Verified Purchase

Gold Rush

Jan 17, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Groefsema F.
1 Review

It was fun. Only frustrating part was how slow the online portion would show up. Chapter 1 seemed to work great and then there was a lot of waiting in the next two chapters.

Edit: Cust service fixed it

Jul 18, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kim G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

Envelope packaging arrived unsealed with nothing in it. Contacted seller twice over last 5 days and no response. Disappointed so far.
Update: I was able to connect with seller and they made it right, reshipping package. Will purchase again.

Verified Purchase
Escape the Crate said...Jul 19, 2021

Hi Kim,
We keep replying through the Cratejoy CRM but it appears you are not getting our replies. We would really like to make this right for you! Our customer support team will try to reach out using the email you provided during sign up. Please look out for our email!
Kind Regards, ETC Team

Perfect for "escaping" together

Feb 26, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Brandi F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

We are half way through the first box. It has been a great option for indoor family fun!! the puzzles are challenging and but we are trying to run it just like in an actual room, only taking a clue if we all agree. completed part one with 23 seconds left!! can't wait for part two this weekend.

Verified Purchase

Definitely worth it

Nov 13, 2017
Overall
Stacey M.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 4 years

Just finished my first crate with friends. We had a lot of fun and were impressed by the puzzles. The reason for 4 stars is that a bit of the ambiance was lost by having envelope after envelope to solve and not real locks or physical pieces required to solve anything. But for the price, this was well worth the money. Will recommend it to others (and maybe modify it for friends to do to lessen the room for critique outlined above.)

Verified Purchase

Mar 18, 2018
Overall
Beth M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

We just finished our first Escape the Crate box (the heist of Bonnie and Clyde) and it was a fun way to spend a Sunday afternoon with family. One star off for the final puzzle which WAS frustrating and didn't make complete sense even after reading all the clues on the replay. Still, we're looking forward to the next box!

Verified Purchase

Crates-good. Shipping-TERRIBLE!!

Mar 05, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kristi W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months

We did an annual subscription to Escape the Crate. We enjoyed doing it with our younger teen. Our older teen wasn't a big fan. The part we REALLY don't like is who they use for shipping! They use NEWGISTICS. If you look them up they get terrible reviews. Rightly so!!! Our first box took 2 and 1/2 weeks from the first tracking to delivery. We got a shipping notification today that our 2nd box had shipped. I checked the tracking. It said it shipped on February 25 and was delivered to a mailbox on February 28 in ALABAMA! We are in Missouri! I don't understand why a good company would use such a bad shipping company! Come on guys! Let's figure this out...

Verified Purchase

A one time event

Jan 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Vicki N.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

We enjoyed this overall. It was a bit harder than anticipated. I thought the stuff included in the envelopes were less than I expected. The stories preceding each envelope became tedious. 4 adults began one night, we finished the following evening with 4 adults and 2 teenagers. I was impressed by how quickly it was shipped.

Verified Purchase

Escape the Ice Age - FAMILY FUN!!!

Feb 18, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Michael S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

Game was fun and engaging. At first, we could not get the videos to work, so we stopped using Chrome and started using Firefox and no issues.
We played this game as a family with our 7 and 8 year old sons. They had a blast!

Verified Purchase

Titantic

Jan 02, 2019
Overall
Jeri S.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

This box was a lot of fun. The clues were fun and getting help was really easy when stuck. The only thing I didn’t like was the quality of the clues. Most items were just printed out on plain paper and it looked like the printer was almost out of ink. But the story made up for the lack of quality in the paperwork.

Verified Purchase

Fun box

May 12, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Renee C.
5 Reviews
2 Pictures
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

Fun box. My nephew liked it. It just took a long time to ship.

Verified Purchase
Escape the Crate said...May 12, 2020

Hello! We are sorry that you are upset about the shipping time, but remember that we only ship out once a month and these dates are firmly written on the listing when you sign up so you know when the box will arrive.

Escape on the High Seas

Mar 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sheila R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

We really enjoyed our first box. It was very challenging...we had to use a few of the hints but after getting through the first chapter, we kind of got the hang of it. The materials and instructions were well thought out and durable. We were thrilled when we "escaped the crate!" Looking forward to our next box!

Verified Purchase

Don’t renew a gift early!

Dec 16, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Phyllis B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

I recently renewed a subscription from last year. The recipient got TWO of the December box (the last from the previous subscription) so one is wasted and they’ll get one less in 2021 than I paid for.
The product is fine, which is why I renewed.

Verified Purchase
Escape the Crate said...Dec 16, 2020

Hello! We send out a renewal reminder for all renewals 2 days before the renewals go through to warn of any upcoming renewals... so we have time to fix any issues like this. If you email us at our support at escapethecrategame at gmail dot com, we are more than happy to hold an upcoming shipment back to the next new box. Have a good holiday!

Satisfying High Sea Adventure

Dec 28, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Geneva M.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 7 months

Great fun for the parents and teen in the house. We spent about 3 hours and the use of the electronics was not such a part of it that it felt like "more time on the computer". Most of the puzzling is pen, paper, props, and brain. A great time was had by all and we are looking forward to our next box in February.

Verified Purchase

Overall pretty fun

Dec 30, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kirsteen W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

We completed all 3 parts of the escape activities relatively quickly. It was really well put together. We enjoyed the video/audio options and felt like it was great value for what we paid.
All that being said, we weren't too crazy about the theme and would love to be able to choose different adventures as opposed to only being able to receive the current adventure available.

Verified Purchase

Ice Age Escape!

Feb 14, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Carolyn T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

The game was quite fun, although I was surprised by how much was on the website vs actually in the box. It was sent as a gift, so I was disappointed that the box came without any additional packaging, since it did ruin the surprise of the gift. Would definitely do another at home escape!

Verified Purchase

Fun Valentine's Day Gift

Feb 15, 2018
Overall
Anna W.
2 Reviews
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I bought Escape the Crate for my husband for Valentine's Day. We got the Bonnie and Clyde heist box. I thought it was really well done and worth the price of the box. There were many puzzles and "locations" (envelopes) to open and I liked how it was integrated with the website. We played for over two hours! The puzzles ranged in difficulty. Some we figured out quickly, for others we had to use the clues. My only complaint is that we found the last puzzle too difficult. Even when we replayed it and got the clues we still could not figure it all out, so that was pretty frustrating. Also we considered playing this with our kids, and I was very glad we did not try to play with them as it would have been much too difficult. I will definitely consider ordering another box for another occasion.

Verified Purchase

Escape the Audio Issues and Have Fun

Jul 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Dave B.
1 Review

This was a great time, and really fun family activity. Flowed well, with surprises and really well done puzzles. Hit a skill of each family member, so all participated equally. our only complaint, was a few of the sound samples skipped, at one point making a clue very hard to discern. Highly recommend this for a group activity for friends, family.

Very challenging but lots of fun

Mar 15, 2019
Overall
Hans H.
1 Review

Really fun for a group. Tough to do in time allotted unless everyone is really on their game. Clues aren’t easy but everything is there if you know where to look. Great for mystery buffs and puzzle enthusiasts

Escape Room In A Box Type Game!

Jan 15, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Owen E.
1 Review

Escape the Crate is really fun! It's an escape room in a box game that comes every two months. I think the reason I didn't give this five stars is that a lot of it is digital and not as fun and a lot of reading. Make no mistake - this is loads of fun. Just be prepared for two to three hours of playing.

Address change

Aug 16, 2018
Overall
Carmen P.
1 Review

How do I change my address?? I've needed to do it for a while now

Escape the Crate said...Sep 03, 2018

Hello! Thanks for letting us know about the address change. We have tried to contact you via your email on record, but haven't heard back. You can email us at escapethecrategame@gmail.com or login to your Cratejoy account at the top right corner of the Cratejoy website to change your address at any time.

A night of fun

May 10, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Steven A.
1 Review

Very fun way to send an evening with a group of friends.