Escape the Crate: An escape room adventure shipped straight to your door.

by Escape the Crate
A bi-monthly "Escape Room" subscription box... full of puzzles and mysteries to solve!
423 reviews

Plans as low as

$26.50/ box

Buying Options

Escape the Crate: An escape room adventure shipped straight to your door. reviewsReviews

Write a Review
423

You Will Not Be Disappointed

May 12, 2020
Kristina M.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality

This is our third box, and we are hooked. Each is carefully crafted, providing hours of fun for our family. Nothing beats the look of determination on my 17-year-old son, as he refuses to accept a hint and wants to solve each puzzle. After an initial trial subscription, I purchased a year subscription. Thank you, thank you, thank you for giving us such a wonderful family game.

Verified Purchase

Love these crates!

Sep 27, 2020
Family D.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

These crates are so fun and challenging! Great for a date night or a game night with friends! We’ve been doing them for almost 2 years and we have yet to be disappointed!

Verified Purchase

Fantastic Gift Idea!

Sep 29, 2019
Jonathan C.
1 Review
4 Helpful Votes
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Best Gift EVER! Let me start out by saying that I love puzzles and escape rooms. I had no idea that a box like this existed until I got one for my birthday. It is just like having an escape room in your own house. The one that I got was treasure hunt themed. You had an hour to find the "Lost City" and then escape from that city. You had to piece together pieces of a treasure map, use props from the box, and even hidden things hidden on the actual box itself (no spoilers). My friends and I had a blast and my sister just bought a subscription so we can do the Mothman box next. If you are on the fence or if you have a friend who loves puzzles, this is the box for them. Keep up the great work.

Best escape game ever!

Jan 12, 2020
Isabelle G.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is totally amazing! The stories are different each time and it is more fun than a real escape game because we are at home and we can take the time that we wants. It is really worth the price!

Verified Purchase

Entertained us for about 3 hours

Jun 11, 2019
Michele D.
31 Reviews
39 Pictures
52 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

UPDATE after box #2: Hubby and I ditched the 19 yo and did this one on our own. It was FANTASTIC! It took us almost 3 hours but felt fast. We only used one hint, which made us feel pretty smart...LOL. We get 4 different subscription boxes with puzzles or mysteries to sole and this one is by far our most favorite! Grab one and try it...if you like puzzles, you will love this box. And, we find it to be of good value for the time spent doing it.
ORIGINAL REVIEW: We found this to be challenging but fun. Our 19 yo son lost interest halfway through, but he is all about fast puzzles and immediate gratification. Hubby and myself enjoyed the process and the value of getting almost 3 hours of entertainment out of one box. I thought the online content was very good and adds tremendously to the value and loved that you could get plenty of hints before the final solution was revealed. Forgotten Tomb was our first experience and it taught us that in the future boxes, we need to be more observant and to write things down better because there are a LOT of details that you could easily forget or mix up. We liked this single box purchase so much that I have just signed us up for the year subscription.

Verified Purchase

Better than Escape Rooms

Oct 03, 2020
Mechell G.
3 Reviews
2 Pictures
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 10 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We LOVE LOVE LOVE playing Escape the Crate games. We just finished our second game. It’s our new favorite date night activity. We subscribe to “regular” date boxes but, my husband prefers these Escape The Crates games. The puzzles are challenging and fun. If you get stuck don’t worry. There’s plenty of clues and if you still can’t get it they offer the solution. There’s no penalty for using hints. I highly recommend Escape the Crate if you love Escape Rooms, enjoy puzzles, work well with others, are patient, and ready to have fun!
Note: Anyone who’s ever participated in an escape room, knows how elaborate the stories and props can be. Your entry fee is $35 per person for one hour. But, with Escape the Crate, the materials are not high-budget, but the challenges that the puzzles offer are TOP-NOTCH. The games are WELL THOUGHT OUT and you get hours of play. It’s a GREAT deal.

Verified Purchase

New Favorite Date Night

Apr 18, 2021
Alexandra F.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I'm officially obsessed with Escape the Crate! The box and materials are beautiful and well made, the puzzles are challenging but attainable. I really enjoy the website integration, with audio clips, videos, and passwords progressing the puzzles. There are hints each webpage should you need it. This has become a great new date-night activity!

Verified Purchase

The Absolute Best Date Night Box

Jun 28, 2021
Hannah E.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Always a great date night in!

Verified Purchase

awesome fun for the whole family

Jun 26, 2021
Aubrey G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

this is such a fun activity to do on a rainy day or when you are looking to have quality family time! we have had such a good time with these!

Verified Purchase

We love it!

Jun 26, 2021
Orya D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is a great game! I'm in the middle of Escape from Camelot and it is so much fun. I'm playing it with my 8 y.o daughter and it's not just another escape game. It takes time to complete, so it's not just one hour and you're done. Well worth it!

Verified Purchase

Amazing and fun!!

Jun 26, 2021
Jodi E.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Although we never complete these boxes in less than 2 hours, we enjoy every minute. It is a great excuse to get together with my siblings! We all enjoy trivia and puzzles so this subscription is right up our alley. We are always astonished by the complexity, creativity, and knowledge behind each and every clue and box! The creator is simply brilliant and beyond creative!

Verified Purchase

Best Gift Ever!

Dec 23, 2018
Sharona M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I got Escape the Crate for my family to play at our Christmas party this year and it was fantastic. We had 6 of us playing and everyone had something to do. The design of the box and all of the envelopes and supplies were beautiful and I loved that it was themed to the sinking of the Titanic. There were a few neat twists and turns in there too. This is certainly a difficult box that will keep your mind working, but it felt so good to beat all of the puzzles. Highly recommend.

Verified Purchase

Awesome Service

Oct 17, 2018
Mary G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I purchased a gift for my stepdaughter and the post office lost our box. I was devastated. I contacted the Escape the Crate team and Chris immediately reshipped a new box so that it can get here in time for the party. That was really above and beyond the call of duty. Keep up the good work!

Verified Purchase

LOVE LOVE LOVE

Jul 05, 2017
Misty P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

Obvisouly, based on my headline, I love this box. I was sceptical of the subscription at first but was very satisfied once I began to play the game. There's multiple puzzles in a single envelope and the game took hours to finish! I just purchased all crates available for future game nights at my house.

Verified Purchase

Fun!

Oct 26, 2017
Sherri G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

We enjoyed the game and will purchase again. It was challenging but not impossible and well thought out.

Verified Purchase

Well designed, fun to play

Apr 13, 2019
Glenn B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months
Overall

We have played the Exit series, the Unlock series, and Escape Room the Game series. Escape the Crate excels over these in story line, puzzles, and print quality. Two of us together solved the Rock and Roll Spies story with one hint. The hints are well written and don't spill all the beans, but get progressively more revealing. We look forward to the next game. We only wish cost could be reduced, especially shipping charge.

Verified Purchase

Great Escape Room Themed Box

Apr 13, 2019
Ryan S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

The Escape the Crate box was so much fun! I was happily surprised by the number of puzzles there were included inside the box. In addition, I felt that each of the puzzles was unique and entertaining to solve as well. I was very impressed with all the work that goes into these subscription boxes and I would highly recommend others to subscribe to this box.

Verified Purchase

A blast!!

Oct 18, 2017
Marion L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 years
Overall

My boyfriend and I love getting together with friends to play these boxes. The puzzles are well thought out and super fun!!

Verified Purchase

We loved it

Aug 22, 2018
Marlena B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

We just did our first box and were impressed by the complexity of the puzzles and the shear amount jammed into one small box. It's been a way more inexpensive way to go to an escape room and we have thoroughly enjoyed it. Can't wait for the next box to come in!

Verified Purchase

LOVE it!!!!!

Jun 17, 2017
Tina N.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 years
Overall

I ordered this to play with my 6 and 8 year old. We don't set a timer and can play as little or as long as we have the attention span for. They're always excited to open the box. Just make sure you have a plan for who gets to do what next. :-P (Multiple blacklights help!)

Verified Purchase

Jul 31, 2018
Isaac G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

The puzzles are clever and utilize different props and goodies. The stories are nice. The kit can be reset so share them with a friend. The game is a good length and I'm very happy with how much value I get for the price.

Verified Purchase

Jul 12, 2018
Theresa O.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

Perfect for mother daughter time!

Verified Purchase

Love it!

Oct 15, 2017
Richard F.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 4 years
Overall

We love escape rooms. We always look forward to getting this box in the mail!

Verified Purchase

Birthday Gift

Apr 15, 2019
Jocelyn S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

My brother loved this game and so did my family. It was very fun and we definitely bonded over it. We are ordering more and going to make it apart of our game nights! I highly recommend this game!

Verified Purchase

Great!

Jun 19, 2018
Bronwyn S.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I thought this was a wonderful concept and so much fun. Unfortunately, it's a bit over the head of my 9-year-old. Will restart when he's older.

Verified Purchase