Escape the Crate: An escape room adventure shipped straight to your door.

by Escape the Crate
A bi-monthly "Escape Room" subscription box... full of puzzles and mysteries to solve!
423 reviews

Plans as low as

$26.50/ box

Buying Options

Escape the Crate: An escape room adventure shipped straight to your door. reviewsReviews

Write a Review
423

This Couldn't Be Better!

Oct 11, 2017
Rachel M.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 years
Overall

My puzzle hunt obsessed 10 year old son enjoyed his first Escape the Crate box more than I could have possibly hoped. He says, "I wish I could hug whoever thought to make these and then did!" The set-up was genius, the materials nicely done, and the website extras and hints just-right. This would be great to do as a family or with friends as a game night. The fact that the creators include instructions to reset the challenge for someone else to try makes this subscription even more lovable. We plan to go back and buy all the retired missions we missed and CANNOT WAIT for our next box to arrive. This is the perfect escape room/puzzle hunt experience.

Verified Purchase

Fantastic Family Fun!

Jun 09, 2018
Samantha M.
5 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

My teen girls loved this -- and I did too! Lots of education mixed in with clever puzzles and a fully integrated experience, the box works with the website and mimics a real escape room for sure (we are huge escape room fans). Highly recommend, purchase with confidence, this one is a winner!

Verified Purchase

Queen Anne's Revenge & Trials of Houdini

Sep 19, 2017
Frank I.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

We're looking forward to the next chapter...we've played all four available and we're definitely interested in continuing our subscription. These last two had some special touches that added to the game. Again, the puzzles were fun and challenging and diverse.

Verified Purchase

Great for escape game enthusiasts

Feb 12, 2017
Benjamin B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

Our family discovered escape games about two months ago and have played around 20. We're addicted. When we saw this available let we subscribed right away.
It really feels like an escape game, without the room.

Verified Purchase

Great if you like puzzles!

Apr 18, 2018
Brandon E.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 years
Overall

I have tried several escape room in a box or book products. This is by far the best. There are other boxes that invest more in the story or production value, but to me they miss the point. Escape the Crate invests all its money into the puzzles. They give you just enough story to keep you interested in solving the next puzzle. Each box comes with around 8-12 little puzzles that lead from one to the next like an escape room. Then the final puzzle uses parts found from all the others. It is great, and I only wish it were every month. Also the production value has been increasing, as I assume more people subscribe. If you are the type of person who would like to do an escape room every other month, I know that you will like Escape the Crate.

Verified Purchase

Great Challenge!

Sep 05, 2017
Janine W.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 10 months
Overall

Wow! This was tough for only one person; I think it would be more fun on a team or perhaps allow more time for individual players. There were lots of fun clues, but with enough hints to help me along when I was stuck. I can't wait to try the next one!

Verified Purchase

Our Family's First

May 11, 2017
Aaron C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 months
Overall

It's timed and we definitely ran it out!
1 man, 1 woman, and a 12 year old boy.
Loved the Queen Anne's Revenge and decided to keep playing even after the time ran out.
This was a worthwhile purchase.

Verified Purchase

Great fun with teenagers!

Mar 21, 2018
Lisa B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

My husband, 16 year-old, 14 year-old, and I have played two games now and we loved it! It's not easy to find something that we can all do together, so this means a lot to me. The attention to detail is great, there is a real sense of tension and teamwork, and you might even learn something. :)

Verified Purchase

Mar 08, 2018
Dave B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Absolutely loved our experience with the Bonnie and Clyde crate. It was our first one and we did it last night. We would highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys escape rooms. Looking forward to purchasing more in the future!

Verified Purchase

Escape the Confederate Spy Mistress

Aug 25, 2017
Frank I.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

This is the second Escape the Crate mission we've played; first was Escape the Colloseum. Although most of the materials are paper, we've been impressed with the variety and creativity of the puzzles. We're going to play Escape the Queen Anne's Revenge this weekend, and are anxiously awaiting the next mission-The Trials of Houdini. Keep up the good work!

Verified Purchase

Click Buy!

Dec 16, 2019
Jennifer R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We've tried many of these type of boxes and this is by far the BEST. Exceptionally curated and a ton of fun! HIGHLY recommend.

Verified Purchase

NOLA

Feb 29, 2020
Jessica E.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

What an awesome game evening. It was so nice being able to sit at our kitchen table with our 8 year old and use our brains and think outside the box. Clues were awesome and it was fun figuring it all out! Cannot wait for the next box!!

Verified Purchase

Love it!

Mar 25, 2020
Francesca M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I got this box for my husband for Christmas because he loves solving puzzles and riddles like those featured in this box. We did Escape from Alcatraz and it was so much fun! The scenarios are very creative and the clues are not too hard, but challenging enough that it takes some time to go through. Really excellent box!

Verified Purchase

Well designed, fun to play

Apr 13, 2019
Glenn B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months
Overall

We have played the Exit series, the Unlock series, and Escape Room the Game series. Escape the Crate excels over these in story line, puzzles, and print quality. Two of us together solved the Rock and Roll Spies story with one hint. The hints are well written and don't spill all the beans, but get progressively more revealing. We look forward to the next game. We only wish cost could be reduced, especially shipping charge.

Verified Purchase

Such a great time!

Feb 16, 2018
Brandon E.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 years
Overall

I have done escape rooms, and several puzzle boxes. This is my favorite. Other boxes have a bit more production value, but this one has just enough to let the puzzles really shine. I have done 2 escapes and each one was unique with interesting puzzles. My only complaint is that it is only every other month. I would pay for every month if the quality stays the same.

Verified Purchase

We escaped!!!!!!!!!

Mar 16, 2019
Christina C.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Overall

We had sooooo much fun! My mom ordered a gift subscription for us back last summer and we have played 4 games so far. The first was Outlaw, which was cowboy themed. This one was so clever. We had to split up our group and either play as an outlaw or a sheriff. There was a really clever thing hidden in the game, as well. The next box we got was movie themed and we had to stop a movie premiere. This was the only one that we took more than an hour and a half to complete, but that was ok because it was so much fun! The Titanic was my favorite of the bunch, especially because of how much history was mixed in with the puzzles. We played the "Murder in the Forgotten Tomb" today and this one felt completely different from the others, which is a good thing! We actually got into an argument about who committed the crime. Luckily we chose correctly. I can't say enough good things about these boxes. If you like puzzles, history, challenges, or just plain clever design, this is the box for you!

AHHHHMAZING!!!

Feb 14, 2018
Amy K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

This was so much fun. I got it for my husband for Valentine's Day, and we had a blast. I'm so impressed!!!

Verified Purchase

Aug 13, 2017
Wagner V.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 years
Overall

Challenging and fun! Can't wait for the next crate!

Verified Purchase

Great Escape Room Themed Box

Apr 13, 2019
Ryan S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

The Escape the Crate box was so much fun! I was happily surprised by the number of puzzles there were included inside the box. In addition, I felt that each of the puzzles was unique and entertaining to solve as well. I was very impressed with all the work that goes into these subscription boxes and I would highly recommend others to subscribe to this box.

Verified Purchase

Birthday Gift

Apr 15, 2019
Jocelyn S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

My brother loved this game and so did my family. It was very fun and we definitely bonded over it. We are ordering more and going to make it apart of our game nights! I highly recommend this game!

Verified Purchase

Fun product

Mar 15, 2019
David P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

Great family activity and nice online features!

Verified Purchase

Best escape room "in a box"

Mar 12, 2019
Susan
3 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 12 months
Overall

I have just about every take-home escape room available outside the US and in English, and this is my favourite. The variety of puzzle types and the physical manipulation is about as close as you can get to a good live escape room (and better than some of the bad ones).

Verified Purchase

FUN!

Feb 13, 2018
Vanessa R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

We had a great time doing the Escape the Crate! The online hints did help for the times we were stuck.

Verified Purchase

So much fun!

May 13, 2019
Chris B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Fantastic Box! I love escape rooms and have played over 70 of them across the country. This is the closest thing to the real thing. The box had tons of puzzles, which were very creative, and all of them fit the theme. I also love how the objects we got in the box could actually be used in the puzzles and weren't just there for decoration. If you are on the fence about buying this subscription... just do it.

Verified Purchase

Tough breakout!

Mar 08, 2019
Thomas K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

This game was more of a challenge than some of the escape room we’ve tried. Definitely worth an hour if not more of fun with friends.

Verified Purchase