Escape the Crate: An escape room adventure shipped straight to your door.

by Escape the Crate
A bi-monthly "Escape Room" subscription box... full of puzzles and mysteries to solve!
423 reviews

Plans as low as

$26.50/ box

Buying Options

Escape the Crate: An escape room adventure shipped straight to your door. reviewsReviews

Write a Review
423

Best Gift Ever!

Dec 23, 2018
Sharona M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I got Escape the Crate for my family to play at our Christmas party this year and it was fantastic. We had 6 of us playing and everyone had something to do. The design of the box and all of the envelopes and supplies were beautiful and I loved that it was themed to the sinking of the Titanic. There were a few neat twists and turns in there too. This is certainly a difficult box that will keep your mind working, but it felt so good to beat all of the puzzles. Highly recommend.

Verified Purchase

A lot of fun and variety

Feb 10, 2017
Becca N.
6 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

This was a really fun crate, with a variety of puzzles so that many people could participate. You could do it alone, but it was fun with a group. Took less than an hour so it isn't a huge time commitment either. I would definitely subscribe for a monthly if you decide to increase production.

Verified Purchase

Fun family night!

May 07, 2017
Amy G.
4 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

Just finished our first crate and it was so much fun! Some of the clues were a little tricky, but plenty of intrigue for my 14 and 13 year olds. Thanks for a fun family night!

Verified Purchase

Brilliant box

Feb 18, 2019
Fifa K.
4 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

Thank you for great entertainment value in this box !

Verified Purchase

A lot of fun!

Feb 07, 2017
Ben R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Just finished the first mission: Escape The Confederate Spymistress. We had a ton of fun and were able to escape! Looking forward to our next mission!

Verified Purchase

Love it!

Dec 25, 2020
Lynn L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We had the best time. All ages from 13+ showed off their skills. Everyone was involved and excited! Great family night entertainment!

Verified Purchase

Wonderful!

Feb 02, 2019
Maryn T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

A friend just gave us their copy of Escape: Outlaw and we LOVED it. It really feels like a real escape room, but this one doesn’t have to be timed, so we could actually finish everything. The puzzles were great. A good mix of logic and using actual objects. We just signed up for a subscription ourselves. So worth it!

Verified Purchase

Jan 30, 2019
Zuzanna T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

we love the box we received. thank you

Verified Purchase

Our Second Box!!!!!

Dec 26, 2017
Susan M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

This has been THE perfect family game! We enjoy the challenge that both have offered!

Verified Purchase

Really fun for date night

Jan 28, 2019
Eliza
4 Reviews
2 Pictures
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I really enjoyed escape the crate! The puzzles were challenging and it was a perfect addition to a date night at home. I highly recommend!

Verified Purchase

Great box!

Dec 18, 2017
Brittney D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

What a great idea! An escape room you can do in your own house! All in one convenient box, which was very eye catching we couldn't wait to get into it. We were also more then thrilled with the theme of our first box (prehistoric dinosaurs) and how much I got to learn from it, meanwhile it was good review for my boyfriend who loves anything prehistoric. Can't wait for our next adventure!

Verified Purchase

Fun Experience

Jul 28, 2017
Frank I.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

This was our first 'Escape the Crate' adventure. We've played many of the other escape room board games and this equals the rest of them. We enjoyed it enough to purchase the retired games and look forward to more new releases.

Verified Purchase

Great Escape Crate!

Oct 12, 2020
Angela M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is a wonderful escape crate! It is so much fun, as well as challenging. We've gotten 3 boxes so far and loved every one of them.

Verified Purchase

Jan 18, 2019
Carly F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

Great fun for the family! Can’t wait for our next one to arrive!!

Verified Purchase

Highly Reccomended

Aug 10, 2020
Billy H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I've tried at least one of all / almost all of the Mystery Boxes offered on CrateJoy, and Escape the Crate is my favorite series. As the name suggests, it is closer to an Escape-Room-In-A-Box than a "find the killer" type mystery, which makes the puzzles very focused -- you are motivated to solve them to unlock the next door to continue your mission. There is a companion website you need to use, but you don't need QR readers or to give anyone your email address. The website works very well as the narrator tells a story as your advance through the box. The designers experiment with a lot of clever ideas both in the stories they tell and the puzzles to solve; for example some boxes have the team split up (or for solo/small group you can do both parts) to work on separate threads; one box was structured as a "find the killer" style box, where you picked one from a choice of clues to follow, and each step killed another suspect until you were able to accuse the killer.
If you like puzzle boxes with a story, this one will be great for you

Verified Purchase

Great for bad weather

Dec 12, 2017
Lauren G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 years
Overall

Perfect for the winter and being snowed in. Really enjoyed the crate with my family. It's really detailed and transports you into the mission

Verified Purchase

Yes, yes and yes... order this now!

Aug 10, 2020
Robin G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Soooo beyond what we expected. Pre-COVID we loved escape rooms. I still don't understand how these guys got all they did in a small box, but it's without a doubt the best escape room puzzle experience you can have with no room to actually escape from. Great job guys! Changing my subscription to be in for the long haul!

Verified Purchase

REAL GOOD STUFF - LOVE THE LIGHT

Jul 22, 2017
Tammy S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 months
Overall

Blacklight is useful for game... and for examining my local crime scenes and hotel rooms ;) Cats love it too!

Verified Purchase

Escape Game

Jan 15, 2019
Bernadette B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Received as a gift and what a good time playing this game. Everyone enjoyed trying to beat the clock and solve the mystery. Lots of fun for our group of family and friends.

Verified Purchase

Entertaining!

May 18, 2020
Rachel T.
2 Reviews
14 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Very entertaining! Well done and difficult enough to not just be over in 15 minutes! We had a blast working through this - initially bought for a group game night and now thanks to isolating did it with just 2 people and was still great. We plan on passing it along to our friends to do next since we weren't able to do it all together. Can't wait for the next one! :)

Verified Purchase

Great Crate Box

Apr 10, 2017
Richard F.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 4 years
Overall

I would recommend for anyone who enjoys escape rooms or mysterys. It was quite challenging, but that's what makes it so fun, lots of thinking and a nice change of pace from regular board games. Well worth the price and I look forward to receiving this every other month.

Verified Purchase

A Great puzzle experience.

Sep 20, 2020
Cathrine B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My Family loves these puzzle games. We have a lot of fun each time we sit down to open a crate.

Verified Purchase

Escape at home!!!

Sep 11, 2020
Toni C.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Love these escape boxes!!!

Verified Purchase

Can't "escape" my love for this box! ;)

Sep 11, 2020
Jen D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Every time a new box comes from Escape the Crate my entire family gets pumped. We love going to escape rooms and the quality of puzzles and the experience is about as close as one could get in a box. Everything is always thoughtfully put together and have a variety of puzzles in each box so it is never one person dominating and solving each puzzle.

Verified Purchase

Highly recommend

Oct 13, 2020
Vincent S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We have done three boxes now and have enjoyed each and every one. The puzzles are sometimes challenging, but that is what makes it enjoyable. The props that come with each box are unique and make the challenges even more fun. Would recommend this to anyone looking for something new to do during quarantine life.

Verified Purchase