Escape the Crate: An escape room adventure shipped straight to your door.

by Escape the Crate
A bi-monthly "Escape Room" subscription box... full of puzzles and mysteries to solve!
423 reviews

Plans as low as

$26.50/ box

Buying Options

Escape the Crate: An escape room adventure shipped straight to your door. reviewsReviews

Write a Review
423

Best escape room "in a box"

Mar 12, 2019
Susan
3 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 12 months
Overall

I have just about every take-home escape room available outside the US and in English, and this is my favourite. The variety of puzzle types and the physical manipulation is about as close as you can get to a good live escape room (and better than some of the bad ones).

Verified Purchase

No customer service

Mar 15, 2019
Gail K.
1 Review
5 Helpful Votes
Overall

I ordered this for my son for a gift. He and his friends felt there was something missing from the box. I have sent emails to Escape the Crate with no response. I had planned on ordering additional boxes but since it seems impossible to get a response I have not done so.

Great fun with teenagers!

Mar 21, 2018
Lisa B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

My husband, 16 year-old, 14 year-old, and I have played two games now and we loved it! It's not easy to find something that we can all do together, so this means a lot to me. The attention to detail is great, there is a real sense of tension and teamwork, and you might even learn something. :)

Verified Purchase

Fun product

Mar 15, 2019
David P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

Great family activity and nice online features!

Verified Purchase

Aug 13, 2017
Wagner V.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 years
Overall

Challenging and fun! Can't wait for the next crate!

Verified Purchase

We escaped!!!!!!!!!

Mar 16, 2019
Christina C.
1 Review
3 Helpful Votes
Overall

We had sooooo much fun! My mom ordered a gift subscription for us back last summer and we have played 4 games so far. The first was Outlaw, which was cowboy themed. This one was so clever. We had to split up our group and either play as an outlaw or a sheriff. There was a really clever thing hidden in the game, as well. The next box we got was movie themed and we had to stop a movie premiere. This was the only one that we took more than an hour and a half to complete, but that was ok because it was so much fun! The Titanic was my favorite of the bunch, especially because of how much history was mixed in with the puzzles. We played the "Murder in the Forgotten Tomb" today and this one felt completely different from the others, which is a good thing! We actually got into an argument about who committed the crime. Luckily we chose correctly. I can't say enough good things about these boxes. If you like puzzles, history, challenges, or just plain clever design, this is the box for you!

Brilliant box

Feb 18, 2019
Fifa K.
4 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

Thank you for great entertainment value in this box !

Verified Purchase

Wonderful!

Feb 02, 2019
Maryn T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

A friend just gave us their copy of Escape: Outlaw and we LOVED it. It really feels like a real escape room, but this one doesn’t have to be timed, so we could actually finish everything. The puzzles were great. A good mix of logic and using actual objects. We just signed up for a subscription ourselves. So worth it!

Verified Purchase

Great Escape Room Themed Box

Apr 13, 2019
Ryan S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

The Escape the Crate box was so much fun! I was happily surprised by the number of puzzles there were included inside the box. In addition, I felt that each of the puzzles was unique and entertaining to solve as well. I was very impressed with all the work that goes into these subscription boxes and I would highly recommend others to subscribe to this box.

Verified Purchase

Birthday Gift

Apr 15, 2019
Jocelyn S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

My brother loved this game and so did my family. It was very fun and we definitely bonded over it. We are ordering more and going to make it apart of our game nights! I highly recommend this game!

Verified Purchase

Great experience

Feb 10, 2018
Melanie W.
7 Reviews
5 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

My teenage son and I tried our first Escape the Crate box last night and had a lot of fun. It was challenging and engaging. We love actual escape rooms but don't have any near us, so this is a fun alternative.

Verified Purchase

Jan 30, 2019
Zuzanna T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

we love the box we received. thank you

Verified Purchase

Really fun for date night

Jan 28, 2019
Eliza
4 Reviews
2 Pictures
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I really enjoyed escape the crate! The puzzles were challenging and it was a perfect addition to a date night at home. I highly recommend!

Verified Purchase

Fun & Challenging

Jan 17, 2018
Shawna G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

My husband and I had a lot of fun working through the puzzles. I was impressed that the box came with so many little trinket extras that you use to solve some of the codes, and the storyline was interesting and fun. We avoided using the provided hints as much as we could, but occasionally the puzzle was challenging enough that we had to. We’re really looking forward to our next box!

Verified Purchase

Creative--Well Done!

Aug 09, 2017
Stephanie L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 years
Overall

Just finished my 4th Escape the Crate box--each one has been well done with interesting themes and a variety of creative puzzles at just the right difficulty level. I am impressed! Family friendly is appreciated.

Verified Purchase

Never a Dull Box

May 22, 2019
Allison E.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

These boxes always have a fun story line and new and creative puzzles. The puzzles are solved all on your time so you can set it up with limits or play at your own speed. They're always a blast!

Verified Purchase

Love it!

Jun 09, 2018
Samantha M.
5 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

We were delighted with this escape room puzzle and it was tough enough to keep us all interested and engaged, highly recommend!

Verified Purchase

Can't "escape" my love for this box! ;)

Sep 11, 2020
Jen D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Every time a new box comes from Escape the Crate my entire family gets pumped. We love going to escape rooms and the quality of puzzles and the experience is about as close as one could get in a box. Everything is always thoughtfully put together and have a variety of puzzles in each box so it is never one person dominating and solving each puzzle.

Verified Purchase

Great!

Jun 19, 2018
Bronwyn S.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I thought this was a wonderful concept and so much fun. Unfortunately, it's a bit over the head of my 9-year-old. Will restart when he's older.

Verified Purchase

Awesome Customer Service!

Jun 09, 2019
Denise M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping

This is a review for outstanding customer service. I made a special request via email and Julianne not only made it happen but made it happen super fast! I’ll come back again to review the game after we play our first box, but that won’t be for a couple of weeks and I wanted to give big kudos to J and the ETC team ASAP!

Verified Purchase
Escape the Crate said...Jun 09, 2019

Thank you so much for the very kind words. I will be sure to pass this on to Julianne! Have a great weekend and enjoy the crate!

Fantastic!

Jan 10, 2018
Teresa P.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 years
Overall

I got my second box today, just in time for boardgame night. My group (we are 4) enjoys puzzle solving and we play a lot of Sherlock mysteries, Unlock, EXIT, Time Stories. This I must say is our favorite of the collection. Honestly, I'm so taken aback by the amount of work and story put into these little boxes that are worth their weight in gold. The second box was anything but a rehash of the first! Never boring and filled with so many "Aha!" moments. That i'll stay subscribed for as long as they have boxes to send!

Verified Purchase

Jan 18, 2019
Carly F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

Great fun for the family! Can’t wait for our next one to arrive!!

Verified Purchase

A lot of fun!

Feb 07, 2017
Ben R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Just finished the first mission: Escape The Confederate Spymistress. We had a ton of fun and were able to escape! Looking forward to our next mission!

Verified Purchase

Awesome Game!

Mar 15, 2020
Heather L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

It was awesome to see how things were connected. We used the hints and they were extremely helpful.

Verified Purchase

Great fun!

Jul 30, 2017
Esther B.
4 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

This is the third "escape crate" I've done. The first one I did with my 11 yo grandson and I couldn't have done it without him. The next two I did by myself with a bit of help from my husband when I got really stuck a few times. Two problems though: (1) the black light didn't work (I had one from another crate so it wasn't a big deal but it could have been a problem for someone if it was their first crate. I even tried changing the batteries...) and (2) two of the three keys included were the same key so I had to use "trial and error" which worked but kind of annoying. Even with these few glitches, I would rate it 5 stars. The crates are so unique and well thought out. I'm looking forward to the next one!

Verified Purchase