Escape the Crate: An escape room adventure shipped straight to your door.

by Escape the Crate
A bi-monthly "Escape Room" subscription box... full of puzzles and mysteries to solve!
423 reviews

Plans as low as

$26.50/ box

Buying Options

Escape the Crate: An escape room adventure shipped straight to your door. reviewsReviews

Write a Review
423

Really fun for date night

Jan 28, 2019
Eliza
4 Reviews
2 Pictures
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I really enjoyed escape the crate! The puzzles were challenging and it was a perfect addition to a date night at home. I highly recommend!

Verified Purchase

Fun & Challenging

Jan 17, 2018
Shawna G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

My husband and I had a lot of fun working through the puzzles. I was impressed that the box came with so many little trinket extras that you use to solve some of the codes, and the storyline was interesting and fun. We avoided using the provided hints as much as we could, but occasionally the puzzle was challenging enough that we had to. We’re really looking forward to our next box!

Verified Purchase

Creative--Well Done!

Aug 09, 2017
Stephanie L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 years
Overall

Just finished my 4th Escape the Crate box--each one has been well done with interesting themes and a variety of creative puzzles at just the right difficulty level. I am impressed! Family friendly is appreciated.

Verified Purchase

Fantastic!

Jan 10, 2018
Teresa P.
3 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 years
Overall

I got my second box today, just in time for boardgame night. My group (we are 4) enjoys puzzle solving and we play a lot of Sherlock mysteries, Unlock, EXIT, Time Stories. This I must say is our favorite of the collection. Honestly, I'm so taken aback by the amount of work and story put into these little boxes that are worth their weight in gold. The second box was anything but a rehash of the first! Never boring and filled with so many "Aha!" moments. That i'll stay subscribed for as long as they have boxes to send!

Verified Purchase

Jan 18, 2019
Carly F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

Great fun for the family! Can’t wait for our next one to arrive!!

Verified Purchase

Entertaining!

May 18, 2020
Rachel T.
2 Reviews
14 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Very entertaining! Well done and difficult enough to not just be over in 15 minutes! We had a blast working through this - initially bought for a group game night and now thanks to isolating did it with just 2 people and was still great. We plan on passing it along to our friends to do next since we weren't able to do it all together. Can't wait for the next one! :)

Verified Purchase

A lot of fun!

Feb 07, 2017
Ben R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Just finished the first mission: Escape The Confederate Spymistress. We had a ton of fun and were able to escape! Looking forward to our next mission!

Verified Purchase

Great fun!

Jul 30, 2017
Esther B.
4 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

This is the third "escape crate" I've done. The first one I did with my 11 yo grandson and I couldn't have done it without him. The next two I did by myself with a bit of help from my husband when I got really stuck a few times. Two problems though: (1) the black light didn't work (I had one from another crate so it wasn't a big deal but it could have been a problem for someone if it was their first crate. I even tried changing the batteries...) and (2) two of the three keys included were the same key so I had to use "trial and error" which worked but kind of annoying. Even with these few glitches, I would rate it 5 stars. The crates are so unique and well thought out. I'm looking forward to the next one!

Verified Purchase

Yes, yes and yes... order this now!

Aug 10, 2020
Robin G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Soooo beyond what we expected. Pre-COVID we loved escape rooms. I still don't understand how these guys got all they did in a small box, but it's without a doubt the best escape room puzzle experience you can have with no room to actually escape from. Great job guys! Changing my subscription to be in for the long haul!

Verified Purchase

Highly Reccomended

Aug 10, 2020
Billy H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I've tried at least one of all / almost all of the Mystery Boxes offered on CrateJoy, and Escape the Crate is my favorite series. As the name suggests, it is closer to an Escape-Room-In-A-Box than a "find the killer" type mystery, which makes the puzzles very focused -- you are motivated to solve them to unlock the next door to continue your mission. There is a companion website you need to use, but you don't need QR readers or to give anyone your email address. The website works very well as the narrator tells a story as your advance through the box. The designers experiment with a lot of clever ideas both in the stories they tell and the puzzles to solve; for example some boxes have the team split up (or for solo/small group you can do both parts) to work on separate threads; one box was structured as a "find the killer" style box, where you picked one from a choice of clues to follow, and each step killed another suspect until you were able to accuse the killer.
If you like puzzle boxes with a story, this one will be great for you

Verified Purchase

Escape Game

Jan 15, 2019
Bernadette B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Received as a gift and what a good time playing this game. Everyone enjoyed trying to beat the clock and solve the mystery. Lots of fun for our group of family and friends.

Verified Purchase

Fun family night!

May 07, 2017
Amy G.
4 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

Just finished our first crate and it was so much fun! Some of the clues were a little tricky, but plenty of intrigue for my 14 and 13 year olds. Thanks for a fun family night!

Verified Purchase

Just renewed again

Jan 15, 2019
Stephen B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 years
Overall

I received my renewal notice today and I just wanted to say how much I love escape the crate. I have been subscribed for over a year now and each and every box gets better, while feeling very different at the same time. Our favorite has been the most recent, which is a Titanic Escape and we are looking forward to the tomb one next month!

Verified Purchase

Our Second Box!!!!!

Dec 26, 2017
Susan M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

This has been THE perfect family game! We enjoy the challenge that both have offered!

Verified Purchase

A lot of fun and variety

Feb 10, 2017
Becca N.
6 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

This was a really fun crate, with a variety of puzzles so that many people could participate. You could do it alone, but it was fun with a group. Took less than an hour so it isn't a huge time commitment either. I would definitely subscribe for a monthly if you decide to increase production.

Verified Purchase

Can't "escape" my love for this box! ;)

Sep 11, 2020
Jen D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Every time a new box comes from Escape the Crate my entire family gets pumped. We love going to escape rooms and the quality of puzzles and the experience is about as close as one could get in a box. Everything is always thoughtfully put together and have a variety of puzzles in each box so it is never one person dominating and solving each puzzle.

Verified Purchase

My favorite subscription box by far!

Dec 10, 2020
Lisa W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I love these boxes! Challenging and entertaining with enough of a hint system when you need it without feeling like you completely cheated or were super stuck and frustrated. I usually solve them alone but the recordings are really handy when you have more people - I have found with other subscription boxes you have to wait for everyone to finish reading everything etc. which makes it more difficult the more people you have. Very interesting and creative topics, puzzles and such a variety of both. You can't go wrong if you like a good story and some fun puzzle/story solving time! Highly recommend!

Verified Purchase

Great box!

Dec 18, 2017
Brittney D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

What a great idea! An escape room you can do in your own house! All in one convenient box, which was very eye catching we couldn't wait to get into it. We were also more then thrilled with the theme of our first box (prehistoric dinosaurs) and how much I got to learn from it, meanwhile it was good review for my boyfriend who loves anything prehistoric. Can't wait for our next adventure!

Verified Purchase

Date Night for Young and New Parents

Jan 15, 2019
Kristina B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

For those of us who can't go out at night because of young children and babies or even hospitalized, THIS MAKES FOR A FUN AND UNIQUE DATE NIGHT! Much better than Netflixing your millionth movie.

Verified Purchase

Fun Experience

Jul 28, 2017
Frank I.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall

This was our first 'Escape the Crate' adventure. We've played many of the other escape room board games and this equals the rest of them. We enjoyed it enough to purchase the retired games and look forward to more new releases.

Verified Purchase

So much fun

Jan 15, 2019
Jack W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

Just finished our first Escape the Crate. So much fun! It was Escape the Titanic and I love all things Escape Room. This felt jsut like the real thing. There were a good balance of logical puzzles and physical puzzles and I even learned some about the Titanic too. Highly recommend

Verified Purchase

Great for bad weather

Dec 12, 2017
Lauren G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 years
Overall

Perfect for the winter and being snowed in. Really enjoyed the crate with my family. It's really detailed and transports you into the mission

Verified Purchase

So fun and Challenging

Nov 18, 2020
Mandie C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is so much fun! Especially if you are missing Escape Rooms during the pandemic. It took us a couple of boxes before we really got the style of the puzzles down, but even then it was still super fun!

Verified Purchase

Horrible Customer Service

Jan 14, 2019
Colleen M.
1 Review
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

I recently signed up for a 1 year subscription and purchased 2 of their old crates. After over a month I have yet to receive the 2 old crates I purchased (which I had to pay in advance for) and every single email that I have sent has not be returned or addressed. I would not recommend this company in any way. Can't even contact anyone to speak with someone since everything is done through email.

Verified Purchase

Fun Date Night

Nov 02, 2020
Kaitlin C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

We absolutely love Escape The Crate and look forward to it every 2 months! This is our favorite date night. It is awesome that you can reset the box for later use or to share with friends. It is worth every penny!

Verified Purchase