Green Kid Crafts STEAM Box

by Green Kid Crafts
Award-Winning Hands-On Science & Craft Learning for Kids Ages 3-10+

Plans as low as

$21.91/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (255)

NO INSTRUCTION, FUN EXPERIMENTS

Jun 12, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Karen K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 30 days

Kids loved it. BUT no instructions for experiments

Verified Purchase
Green Kid Crafts said...Aug 16, 2020

We're very sorry for the mix up. We will make this right. Please feel free to contact our support team. They will be happy to help anytime.

Pretty nice but could improve

Sep 29, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Katelyn C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 7 months

Like the idea of a "green" box, but it kind of fell short of expectations. The different craft materials are grouped together in clear bags labeled "recyclable", which is great except the area I live in doesn't recycle plastic bags, which is probably the case for a lot of customers. The materials could just as soon not be in bags at all. We received the Reptile box and one of the crafts was to decorate a turtle shell with stickers, but some of the stickers weren't sticky. Also, the project to decorate a lizard door hanger didn't include the decorative stickers as shown in the instruction manual, but instead included some that weren't as nice. Regardless, my son had fun doing the activities.

Verified Purchase
Green Kid Crafts said...Oct 22, 2019

Hi Katelyn! I'm so glad your son had fun with his Reptile Box! I really appreciate your comments and want you to know that we are always looking for ways to make our box greener. We are currently looking at ways to reduce packaging so stay tuned! Also, we are sorry to hear that there were issues with the stickers. We are happy to send you a replacement box if you email us about the issue at care@greenkidcrafts - The Green Kid Team

Not what I expected but ok

Jul 30, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Christina N.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

although I know shipping is because of covid 19 it took over 2 weeks to get a small box. My 7 year old wasnt thrilled after waiting so long. Hopefully the second box will be better

Verified Purchase
Green Kid Crafts said...Aug 14, 2020

Hi Christina,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is appreciated as we are always trying to improve for our customers. We are sorry you were disappointed in your first box! Not every theme is a hit with everyone but we hope you did learn something new and fun. Hopefully this month's box will be a better fit for your family. Please feel free to reach out to our customer care department if not.
We try to pack our boxes full of experiments so projects sometimes need items from home. Typically these are our bonus DIY suggestions. If extra materials are needed from around the house it is in efforts to reduce, reuse and re-purpose or the materials would not fit in the...

First and possibly last box.

Apr 15, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rebecca B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

Great idea..
My pincone for the bird feeder was busted up and super tiny, like the size of a fifty cents piece. The booklet had extra activities, I wish it had more facts about birds though.
There was bird seed ornaments; they are paper. I'm not sure how well that will work so we did not do that one yet.
Also there were items to make a paperbag bird puppet and window clings. Seemed kind of last minute crafts ideas to fill the box.
Overall great concept. I am disappointed though. I had looked at the other pictures on the website of past boxes like the butterfly box, or the kitchen box so I was definitely let down.
I wish there was more learning involved and crafts like the bird seed pinecone or ornaments. I did like the idea of using the shipping box into a bird house. Not sure I will take it to my window though.

Verified Purchase
Green Kid Crafts said...May 01, 2020

Thank you for the feedback, Rebecca, and we apologize for the damage to your pinecone. We’re sorry that this box did not live up to your expectations. Sometimes particular activities fall flat and it is extremely disappointing for us as parents and as a company that strives to keep children engaged and learning. We will keep your feedback at the front of our minds as we design future boxes.

Our specific box wasn’t worth the price

Apr 16, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Garret S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 29 days

This box kept my 5 year old entertained but I personally don’t think this specific bird box was worth the price. I had the craft supplies to make all these mini crafts at home already, the gelatin bird seed ornaments didn’t work well (I don’t think enough water was instructed for use) and the paper bag puppets and pine cone bird seed maker we have done many times ourselves. The window clings were an original idea I hadn’t heard of and the bird booklet it came with was cute but over all I would say it was worth maybe $12 at most. I was hoping for more of a science experiment type box, probably due to the volcano picture used in the description.

Verified Purchase
Green Kid Crafts said...May 01, 2020

Thank you for the feedback, Garret, and we’re sorry that the box did not meet your expectations. When we design our boxes, we aim to reach as many children as possible with activities that will engage their minds and encourage creativity. Sometimes particular activities miss the mark. We hope you’ll give us another chance.

Cratejoy

May 05, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Ember M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 29 days

Some of the activities where great and some of them didn’t work.

Verified Purchase
Green Kid Crafts said...Aug 16, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is appreciated as we are always trying to improve for our customers. We are sorry you were disappointed. Please feel free to reach out to our customer care department if not.

Activities Should Be Age Appropriate

May 19, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jennifer S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

Overall, this is a decent box however I do think the activities should be different for different age levels. My child is almost 9 so it would have been nice to have different activities than the boxes that a 5 year old receives. There's a huge difference in interest levels between a 5 and an 8 or 9 year old. I think the grow animals activity was not great. It's fun to see how much the animals grow in water however my child had no interest in charting their growth on graph paper every day and my child quickly lost interest in this activity. It seems that this box is more geared towards 5 year old children. The box selection when ordering is for kids age 5-10+. I can't imagine that a child over the age of 10 would have any interest in these activities.

Verified Purchase
Green Kid Crafts said...Aug 16, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is appreciated as we are always trying to improve for our customers. We are sorry you were disappointed. Please feel free to reach out to our customer care department if not.

Good but was expecting more

May 20, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Nicole W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

The balloon and ink were very similar to the same color so it was difficult to see our fingerprints. Thought it would contain more activities and items but my daughter enjoyed doing the experiments.

Verified Purchase
Green Kid Crafts said...Aug 16, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is appreciated as we are always trying to improve for our customers. We are sorry you were disappointed. Please feel free to reach out to our customer care department if not.
We try to pack our boxes full of experiments so projects sometimes need items from home. Typically these are our bonus DIY suggestions. If extra materials are needed from around the house it is in efforts to reduce, reuse and re-purpose or the materials would not fit in the box. We hope you understand!

My First Box Not What I Expected

Aug 19, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
April M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I bought this box to be a science supplement for my homeschooling curriculum. On the main page there is a kid with test tubes doing an experiment with materials in a beaker. The box for this month however is all craft supplies with instructions on how to make the different crafts. It wouldn't be a bad box if I was looking for a craft box but I wanted a science box. Since the acronym is "STEAM", I am hoping the boxes rotate through each subject and I just started on the "Art" month so I am not canceling my subscription yet.

Verified Purchase
Green Kid Crafts said...Aug 20, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is appreciated as we are always trying to improve for our customers. We are sorry you were disappointed in this box! Not every theme is a hit with everyone but we hope you did learn something new and fun. Hopefully this month's box will be a better fit for your family. Please feel free to reach out to our customer care department if not.
We try to pack our boxes full of experiments so projects sometimes need items from home. Typically these are our bonus DIY suggestions. If extra materials are needed from around the house it is in efforts to reduce, reuse and re-purpose or the materials would not fit in the box. We...

Not worth it (in my opinion).

Aug 21, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Carissa T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

I had high hope for this box, I really thought it would be perfect for my little one. I have currently received two boxes and I am terribly disappointed. The overall concepts are good and I like the number of activities in the box. A decent portion for the activities require you have/get certain items, which is a bummer. The bigger issue I have is with the instructions for the activities. The instructions are poorly written and most of the time need to be more descriptive. We have had failures on two separate slime activities because there is no units of measure used in the instructions. I don't know what a large cup or a spoonful means.

Verified Purchase
Green Kid Crafts said...Aug 22, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is appreciated as we are always trying to improve for our customers. We are sorry you were disappointed. Please feel free to reach out to our customer care department if not.
We try to pack our boxes full of experiments so projects sometimes need items from home. Typically these are our bonus DIY suggestions. If extra materials are needed from around the house it is in efforts to reduce, reuse and re-purpose or the materials would not fit in the box. We hope you understand!

No enough product to finish craft

May 07, 2020
Overall
Danielle B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 29 days

The crafts in the box were great. However, we had two different bird feeder crafts and there was only a half a bag of bird seed. I had to use other bird seed to finish the craft.

Verified Purchase
Green Kid Crafts said...Aug 16, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is appreciated as we are always trying to improve for our customers. We are sorry you were disappointed in this box! Not every theme is a hit with everyone but we hope you did learn something new and fun. Hopefully this month's box will be a better fit for your family. Please feel free to reach out to our customer care department if not.
We try to pack our boxes full of experiments so projects sometimes need items from home. Typically these are our bonus DIY suggestions. If extra materials are needed from around the house it is in efforts to reduce, reuse and re-purpose or the materials would not fit in the box. We...

Okay, I Guess

Jun 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kevan K.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 3 months

Of the three subscriptions I purchased, this was the best. The projects were cool, even though you can probably pull together the supplies from the stuff you already have at home. In the time I spent searching for subscription boxes, I could have easily downloaded these ideas from the internet and put together my own boxes. So now I know.

Verified Purchase
Green Kid Crafts said...Jun 25, 2021

Hi Kevan, thank you for your honest review. We don't disagree with you. What we hope is that you enjoyed spending time with your child doing the activities. As well as seeing them learn and grow while having fun. That is the most important part. We simply provide the supplies and activities for people who don't have the time or ability gather the supplies and ideas. Keep up the good work!

Wrong box

May 20, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jessica M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I’m wondering why I received the junior box this month. My son is 5. And I was expecting something a little more interesting. We still enjoyed it but I feel I should get the regular box.

Verified Purchase
Green Kid Crafts said...Aug 16, 2020

We're very sorry for the mix up. We will make this right. Please feel free to contact our support team. They will be happy to help anytime.

Not so much science or art this time

May 21, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lindsey J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

Not so much science or art this time. Mostly just punching out and gluing. It would have been cool to learn about air pressure or changing weather patterns.

Verified Purchase
Green Kid Crafts said...Aug 16, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is appreciated as we are always trying to improve for our customers. We are sorry you were disappointed in this box! Not every theme is a hit with everyone but we hope you did learn something new and fun. Hopefully this month's box will be a better fit for your family. Please feel free to reach out to our customer care department if not.
We try to pack our boxes full of experiments so projects sometimes need items from home. Typically these are our bonus DIY suggestions. If extra materials are needed from around the house it is in efforts to reduce, reuse and re-purpose or the materials would not fit in the box. We...

Received this box before

Oct 11, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Hainannie T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months

Hello, We love Green Kid Crafts but we have already received this particular box a few months ago. I think we have 2 months left in our subscription. Hopefully you can get the correct boxes to us!

Verified Purchase
Green Kid Crafts said...Oct 12, 2020

We are sorry about this. There was an issue in April with the fulfillment center we were using in April due to the pandemic. We will send out a replacement box right away. There should not be any further issues with your shipments.

Not impressed for the price.

May 29, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Raelene F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

This was the first box. The Chromatography Kit was missing a marker. Luckily, I had a marker, but for the price it should include all of the parts. Also, we looked at the balloon and it has a big crack on the balloon. I'll have to tape it in order to maybe be able to use it for the experiment as I don't have one of those laying around. The QA of this box doesn't seem to have happened at all.

Verified Purchase
Green Kid Crafts said...May 30, 2020

Hi Raelene,
Oh no! Please know that if you email our Green Kid Crafts Customer Care Team we are always happy to resolve any issues! We appreciate the feedback so that we can make sure this is taken care of. We will have replacement materials sent out right away!

Ok..won’t get again

Aug 06, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Heather G.
4 Reviews
1 Picture
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

Meh. Not impressed. Pretty cheesy and not very engaging. We have the younger one and the crafts took only a couple of minutes. We got the rainforest one. The best art was probably the story.

Verified Purchase
Green Kid Crafts said...Aug 14, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is appreciated as we are always trying to improve for our customers. We hope to see you again in the future.

Its alright

Nov 03, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Michelle M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

We received out first box yesterday and it was alright. I was a bit disappointed. We received the Bird box and the crafts were not very creative. I've created paper bag puppets and acorn bird feeders with my daughter on our own. I was hoping for something I could not do or create on my own. We have a 3 month subscription so I hope the other boxes will be more creative.

Verified Purchase