Home > Food & Drink > Candy > Japan Crate > Japan Crate reviews

Japan Crate: Experience the excitement of Japan through monthly crates!


Plans as low as $22.50 / month

Japan Crate reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Could be better.

Jun 15, 2018
Alixblix
1 Review
Overall

I had ordered this before through Japan Crate themselves and I seem to remember that they gave a tracking number. I understand that customs can hold things up so I'm not that grumpy about it. But the fact that without a tracking number, we don't know what's going on without contacting the company. Can only hope that the company takes things into consideration.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...

Hey Alix,

We no longer include tracking onto our shipments due to the price increase it would have on our crates. We are currently pilot testing a paid tracking option for $5 with the first month being free. If you are interested please let me know.

May 27, 2018

Okay

Jun 15, 2018
Nicole R.
8 Reviews
Overall

They do take awhile to receive as they are shipped from Japan,but once they arrive they're good,have a nice variety of sweets/snacks but if you get them for 4+ months things start to repeat themselves which I didn't like...you can only eat so many rice crackers

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...

Hey Nicole,

We’d love to hear more of your feedback regarding our items. Please send an email to info@japancrate.com and they’ll make sure to pass your feedback along to our purchasing team.

May 27, 2018

Never recieved

Jun 15, 2018
Terria F.
1 Review
Overall

My son wanted this for Christmas. I did the order with the stocking they had for a bonus this order was placed December 30th 2016 now January 18 2017 still no crate or anything. Membership cancelled waiting to hear back from customer service. Not able to track or anything. Don't fall for this!

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...

Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. Regretfully, once a crate has left our warehouse, we have no control over how quickly it is processed through customs and delivered by your local postal service. If your crate has yet to arrive, then please contact our support team for assistance (info@japancrate.com).

Mar 31, 2019

Don't bother, wrong crates always

Jun 15, 2018
Justin O.
1 Review
Overall

Don't bother with this mob, I wanted the Candy crate, and they have been sending me the wrong crate for the 6 months now that I signed up for, they only ever send me the Umai Crate, sometimes the "item" that comes with the crate is also not there (twice now). FYI the noodles are nearly all the same, I don't care anymore I gave up with them, so much back and forth with emails to achieve nothing, was just making me depressed, I'm happy it has ended, never ever again. I don't think they are a truly Japanese run company as Japan would never treat customers like this.

Japan Crate said...

Hey Justin, I’m sorry you did not enjoy your Umai Crates. Unfortunately when a gift subscription is claimed we are unable to change the crate type associated with the gift subscription. We’re sorry we weren’t able to help you with this issue.

Feb 22, 2018

Bait and switch

Jun 15, 2018
Robert M.
1 Review
Overall

Things are often missing from boxes. Boxes are almost always delayed. Every other month you get the same exact things. Very overpriced.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...

Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. If you have any lingering questions or concerns, then please contact our support team for assistance (info@japancrate.com).

Mar 31, 2019

Still haven't got my order it's been for

Jun 15, 2018
Michaela M.
1 Review
Overall

Where is my package? Oh that's right you guys won't tell me just say you don't have tracking. How do you not have a tracking number on a package? I ordered mine last month and it's been way past the time it's supposed to arrive. How am I supposed to know if the mail man delivered it to the wrong apartment? That has happened to me before but the package had a tracking number so when it said delivered and it wasn't here I was able to find out they delivered it to the wrong person but if Japan crate doesn't have a tracking number than i don't know they the mail man messed up again. I want my crate or my money back. You guys at Japan crate need to get your stuff together. This isn't professional. No email saying when it's been shipped out or delivered or anything seems like you just don't want to responsible for undelivered crates

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...

Hi! To clarify, we have chosen to ship our crates without tracking so that we can invest more in the crates (better items). Still, we fully expect our crates to arrive. Did you eventually receive your crate? If not, then please contact our support team so that we may investigate further (info@japancrate.com).

Mar 31, 2019

Not Happy

Jun 15, 2018
Amy B.
1 Review
Overall

I ordered 2 different Japan candy type boxes. One being this one. They have already charged me a second time and I have not even received one box yet. The other company I’ve already received one box and my second is on the way. I started my subscription to both on the same day. The customer service for this one stinks also. Try a different one don’t waste your time and money on this particular one.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...

Hey Amy, I’m sorry your crate hasn’t reached you quite yet. Since our crates are shipped directly from Japan, it takes a bit longer to get to you. We appreciate your patience while waiting to receive your crate. If you have any feedback for our customer support team, we’d be happy to hear from you.

Mar 14, 2018

Fail

Jun 15, 2018
Robin R.
1 Review
Overall

Bought a crate and never got it but atleast i got a refund, so stay away

Japan Crate said...

Hey Robin, We’re sorry that your crate did not reach you in the designated six week shipping period. Unfortunately it seems our crate had been delayed at customs. It is likely the crate will still deliver to you, although really late. We hope you enjoy the crate as a gift from us and that you try us out again in the future.

Mar 21, 2018

Japan Crate

Jun 15, 2018
Joshua L.
1 Review
Overall

I got 2 boxes from them, literally everything in them i could go down and buy from my local Asian market,so unless you don't have an Asian market around you dont waste your money.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...

Hi! We appreciate the feedback. Besides offering items exclusively found in Japan, the intent of our crates is to offer an authentic Japanese experience.

Mar 31, 2019

renewal without warning

Jun 15, 2018
Simon P.
1 Review
Overall

They renew without warning. No email reminders that my subscription will expire. Just a email saying it was renewal successfully and YOU CANT CANCEL even if renewal a few mins ago. Candy are not worth the price.

Verified Purchase
Japan Crate said...

Hi! We sincerely apologize for the experience. To clarify, like any other subscription service, our subscriptions are set to auto-renew unless cancelled (this is stated at the checkout window). If your desire is to no longer receive crates, then we advise cancelling your subscription before the next renewal date.

Mar 31, 2019
Buying Options