Gently used books in the genres of your choice starting at $5.79 shipped!

Plans as low as $5.79 / month

Used Books Monthly reviewsReviews

Write a Review

None

Jul 13, 2019
Isabellasmith
1 Review
1 Picture
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is my first box. I was expecting at least one horror since that a genre I picked but hopefully next month I get some. Overall Satisfied.

Verified Purchase

Not for me

Jul 08, 2019
Cheryl B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The pages were really yellowed and it stank. Not attic or basement stink.

Verified Purchase

A letdown

Jun 10, 2019
Debra G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My selections were nothing like what was requested. It has been almost 48 hours since I emailed the service, but have yet to receive even a canned "We received your message" email. I'm terribly disappointed.

*Edit*
I'm updating my review. While this still is not the service for me, I am now more satisfied with the communication between myself and Joe.

Verified Purchase

Ok subscription terrible shipping.

May 18, 2019
Jullynn M.
6 Reviews
Subscribed for 13 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The subscription is ok the book I got was definitely not something I would have picked up the for my self not sure if I'm going to like it.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...May 19, 2019

Jullynn, thank you for subscribing. I looked into your account and noticed that something happened between packing the box and the location scan at the post office. I'm sorry for any part we may have played in this, but I can assure you that this is not a common occurance. Thank you for your feedback, it's the onlly way we can make our service better!

Seller

Nov 18, 2018
Janet S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I am not overly pleased with choice of books. Would like more on psychological thrillers.

Verified Purchase

About those Genres...

Jun 15, 2018
Mindy
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

This review is going to be of mixed results... For one thing, the price really is so affordable that I feel like I have no right to complain. The books do seem like they're worth it too. So why three stars? Well, they really aren't good at giving you the genres of your choosing. My first box was cooking and fantasy. YES to fantasy, but a very very hard no to cooking. I despise cooking books. I contacted them as soon as I could to fix this. Now, I gave them the benefit of the doubt. It's possible that something fudged up on my end or the computer's end when we got this subscription box rolling. Except...Box 2 was charged before I even received Box 1. That's always a red flag. STILL, I thought "This is really cheap, I'll just let it go." So here I am with Box 2. Fantasy- yay! And... COOKING. I got cooking AGAIN. I'm beyond on the fringe with them as the fantasy books seem worthwhile. But cooking? AGAIN? I don't know how to get through to these people that there is obviously some sort of issue that they are clearly not addressing. Honestly, I'd rather pay more for these individual fantasy books than receive a book genre that I despise. It's an immediate turn off.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Mar 26, 2018

Mindy, Despite our best efforts, sometimes things can go wrong. We’re sorry. I’ve reached out to you via e-mail with a solution to the issue that will make you smile. Thank you for subscribing with us and for the feedback. Here’s to better boxes moving forward. -Joe

Seller

Disappointed in the June box

Jul 07, 2018
Amanda H.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

I love this subscription box, but my June box was underwhelming. I marked several different genres and apparently those are the most popular. They were nice enough to send a note along with this box letting me know they were sorry that they were low on the genres i picked and even gave me extra books, but they were random Star Trek books. I will keep my subscription because i know stuff happens i just hope you are able to get more books in the genres i picked.

Verified Purchase

Fun Box to Get for a Couple Months

Jun 19, 2018
Kristian B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

My first two boxes peaked my interest. They weren't books I would have normally picked out to read, but that was the entire reason behind me signing up for this subscription—to expand my interests. This third and final box wasn't anything that interested me in the slightest; one of the books was an autographed copy...but I honestly couldn't even stay interested in the synopsis, let alone actually read the book.
I ended up canceling the subscription after this 3rd month as I just don't have the time to read books that don't interest me.
Also, the information on this page says they ship books on the 5th of every month, but my boxes never shipped until the 15th; I even asked the seller about this and he said the 15th was my scheduled ship date.

Verified Purchase
Buying Options