Gently used books in the genres of your choice starting at $6.79 shipped!

Plans as low as $6.79 / month

Used Books Monthly reviewsReviews

Write a Review

good service and quick shipment

Today
Suzann S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

quick shipment. books okay but did not keep me riveted.

Verified Purchase

Eh. Not my thing this time

Yesterday
Suzette B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My current box didn't have too many things in it I found interesting. It was, like two books that were basically the same, army/airforce books which i didn't even bother to read the back of, one that I had never heard of and the back only had reviews, which is annoying, but I'll have to look into. But the book of short horror stories looks really good. It's kind of a shame cause I've had past boxes with really good things in them.

Verified Purchase

Good but not sticky

Dec 24, 2020
Mary M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Love the stickers but not very sticky. Definitely would not stick to water bottle which is what I bought it for

Verified Purchase

Review if books

Nov 21, 2020
Clare W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

So so. I have an aversion to too old paperbacks and to books marked up by previous owner. I will not be renewing.

Verified Purchase

No Diversity

Nov 08, 2020
Alisha G.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

If you are expecting different ethnicities of authors don’t go for this one, the price is amazing but the genres are very generic.

Verified Purchase

Shipping mishap

Oct 04, 2020
Brana C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

Over all it’s usually pretty good. However, I updated my address almost 4 months ago and they keep sending it to the wrong city. The last 3 shipments I had to pay a $7 delivery fee on my boxes and the last one went to the wrong address so I can’t even get it.

Verified Purchase

missing gift card

Sep 27, 2020
Valerie V.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This was checked as a gift and the gift card I wrote was not put in the box!

Verified Purchase

Worth the money

Jul 29, 2020
Alexa J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality

For the price you get decent books! Each one priced at $15 or more if they're brand new so $15 a month for 4 used books isn't bad at all!! I just wish that I could chose what kind of genre I receive for the 4 book bundle, you can with the other ones but not this subscription! Kinda sucks seeing as I'm only really in romance and fantasy books!

Verified Purchase

Nov 18, 2018
Janet S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I am not overly pleased with choice of books. Would like more on psychological thrillers.

Verified Purchase

About those Genres...

Mar 26, 2018
Mindy
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

This review is going to be of mixed results... For one thing, the price really is so affordable that I feel like I have no right to complain. The books do seem like they're worth it too. So why three stars? Well, they really aren't good at giving you the genres of your choosing. My first box was cooking and fantasy. YES to fantasy, but a very very hard no to cooking. I despise cooking books. I contacted them as soon as I could to fix this. Now, I gave them the benefit of the doubt. It's possible that something fudged up on my end or the computer's end when we got this subscription box rolling. Except...Box 2 was charged before I even received Box 1. That's always a red flag. STILL, I thought "This is really cheap, I'll just let it go." So here I am with Box 2. Fantasy- yay! And... COOKING. I got cooking AGAIN. I'm beyond on the fringe with them as the fantasy books seem worthwhile. But cooking? AGAIN? I don't know how to get through to these people that there is obviously some sort of issue that they are clearly not addressing. Honestly, I'd rather pay more for these individual fantasy books than receive a book genre that I despise. It's an immediate turn off.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Mar 26, 2018

Mindy, Despite our best efforts, sometimes things can go wrong. We’re sorry. I’ve reached out to you via e-mail with a solution to the issue that will make you smile. Thank you for subscribing with us and for the feedback. Here’s to better boxes moving forward. -Joe

None

Jul 13, 2019
Isabellasmith
1 Review
1 Picture
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is my first box. I was expecting at least one horror since that a genre I picked but hopefully next month I get some. Overall Satisfied.

Verified Purchase

Shipping slow, subscription box good

Jul 27, 2020
Chloe H.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I have not received my 3rd shipment.
The first two shipments were late, but the books were not bad.
I am still looking forward to the 3rd subscription box. This subscription is a gift for my mom.

Verified Purchase

Like new books

Jul 07, 2020
Susan N.
7 Reviews
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Good service for used books.

Verified Purchase

Good Books, Horrible Shipping

Jul 13, 2020
Rebecca B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

The books I've received so far are good, but the shipping is horrible. I have to email them every month to receive my book (days past the "latest send by" date). Only then do they email me a tracking number - which they clearly create AFTER receiving my email because it doesn't actually ship for another 1-3 days. To top it off, I've never received a response from an employee - only a shipping label.
I want to recommend them to others, but until this gets resolved, I can't do that.

Verified Purchase

Done

May 06, 2020
Mickey S.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall
Shipping