Used Books Monthly

by Used Books Monthly
Gently used books in the genres of your choice starting at $6.79 shipped!

Plans as low as

$6.79/ month

Buying Options

Used Books Monthly reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Could be better choices

Apr 13, 2021
Karen C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality

Everything arrived in a timely manner and in good condition. Only complaint I have is some books are not something I would read. Maybe more geared paranormal romance for young adults would work better for me?.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Apr 13, 2021

Hi Karen!
Thank you for your feedback! If you need to change your genres then please contact our wonderful customer service representative, Vickie. She can hook you up!

Not a great choice

Feb 21, 2021
Norah T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Didn’t like any of the choices

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Feb 22, 2021

Norah, thank you for your feedback! I'm sorry that you were not satisfied with your box. Could you give some specifics so we can continue to improve for all of our customers?

The Dante Club

Feb 19, 2021
Kayla K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 14 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I got my first box super fast which was awesome. I was excited to see the books I got. They were in great condition for them to be used. But upon unboxing, I really am only excited to read 2/5 books I received. The title I'm reviewing being one of the two. I would like to see less historical in the future and more fiction, fantasy, and thriller. Authors like Neil Gaiman, V.E. Schwab, Stephen King, etc.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Feb 21, 2021

Hello Kayla and thank you for your feedback! I'm so glad that the subscription is going well for you. It even sounds like you got a bonus book!! Due to the randomness in the selection of books we receive, our curator's choices are also random, but it sounds like we're getting very close to hitting the nail on the head as far as finding books that you are excited about. I would, recommend going on our website and signing into your account and adding notes to the section where it asks for more information about your reading preferences so that we can get even closer next time. The notes you add will be printed out on the packing slip that our curators see as they...

Divergent, Insurgent

Feb 13, 2021
Faith W.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 15 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

I was happy with the condition of the books, they all were used very lightly. I did unfortunately receive a book I already had and it also came with the second book in the series. I need the second book, so that was good, but I wished I received books I hadn’t already read.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Feb 15, 2021

Hi Faith! Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry that you received a book that you have already enjoyed. For serious book readers, it may be helpful to go to our website and refine your preferences by listing titles wanted/not wanted, authors wanted/not wanted, a book in a series you would like to read other than the first, etc. Please let us know if we can help in any way so our curators may get closer to the "bullseye" each month.

good service and quick shipment

Jan 24, 2021
Suzann S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

quick shipment. books okay but did not keep me riveted.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Feb 11, 2021

Thank you Suzann! We are "book people" and work very hard to meet our customer's reading preferences. Feel free to go into our website and refine your preferences to include book titles or authors in addition to the genres if you think that might help us hit the bullseye next time. Keep reading!

Eh. Not my thing this time

Jan 24, 2021
Suzette B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

My current box didn't have too many things in it I found interesting. It was, like two books that were basically the same, army/airforce books which i didn't even bother to read the back of, one that I had never heard of and the back only had reviews, which is annoying, but I'll have to look into. But the book of short horror stories looks really good. It's kind of a shame cause I've had past boxes with really good things in them.

Verified Purchase

Good but not sticky

Dec 24, 2020
Mary M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

Love the stickers but not very sticky. Definitely would not stick to water bottle which is what I bought it for

Verified Purchase

Review if books

Nov 21, 2020
Clare W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

So so. I have an aversion to too old paperbacks and to books marked up by previous owner. I will not be renewing.

Verified Purchase

Nov 18, 2018
Janet S.
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I am not overly pleased with choice of books. Would like more on psychological thrillers.

Verified Purchase

About those Genres...

Mar 26, 2018
Mindy
1 Review
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

This review is going to be of mixed results... For one thing, the price really is so affordable that I feel like I have no right to complain. The books do seem like they're worth it too. So why three stars? Well, they really aren't good at giving you the genres of your choosing. My first box was cooking and fantasy. YES to fantasy, but a very very hard no to cooking. I despise cooking books. I contacted them as soon as I could to fix this. Now, I gave them the benefit of the doubt. It's possible that something fudged up on my end or the computer's end when we got this subscription box rolling. Except...Box 2 was charged before I even received Box 1. That's always a red flag. STILL, I thought "This is really cheap, I'll just let it go." So here I am with Box 2. Fantasy- yay! And... COOKING. I got cooking AGAIN. I'm beyond on the fringe with them as the fantasy books seem worthwhile. But cooking? AGAIN? I don't know how to get through to these people that there is obviously some sort of issue that they are clearly not addressing. Honestly, I'd rather pay more for these individual fantasy books than receive a book genre that I despise. It's an immediate turn off.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Mar 26, 2018

Mindy, Despite our best efforts, sometimes things can go wrong. We’re sorry. I’ve reached out to you via e-mail with a solution to the issue that will make you smile. Thank you for subscribing with us and for the feedback. Here’s to better boxes moving forward. -Joe

None

Jul 13, 2019
Isabellasmith
1 Review
1 Picture
1 Helpful Vote
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

This is my first box. I was expecting at least one horror since that a genre I picked but hopefully next month I get some. Overall Satisfied.

Verified Purchase

No Diversity

Nov 08, 2020
Alisha G.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 18 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation

If you are expecting different ethnicities of authors don’t go for this one, the price is amazing but the genres are very generic.

Verified Purchase

Shipping mishap

Oct 04, 2020
Brana C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

Over all it’s usually pretty good. However, I updated my address almost 4 months ago and they keep sending it to the wrong city. The last 3 shipments I had to pay a $7 delivery fee on my boxes and the last one went to the wrong address so I can’t even get it.

Verified Purchase

missing gift card

Sep 27, 2020
Valerie V.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 days
Overall
Shipping
Quality