Box of Matter

by MATTER
A monthly science box of collectible scientific artifacts and gadgets to feed your curious mind!
122 reviews

Plans as low as

$29.99/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (122)

Awesome Box

Mar 08, 2019
Overall
Cody N.
1 Review
1 Picture
13 Helpful
Subscribed for 11 days

Recieved my box early, had small unique items that I thought were amazing. Getting a Computer chip from a Nasa Computer was unbelieveable for someone who actively builds customs pcs and works in tech!

Verified Purchase

Box of science fun and beautiful to disp

Dec 28, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Allison T.
6 Reviews
4 Pictures
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

Very cool box of science.. neat to display or investigate! Detailed descriptions and history and science information on a card for each of items included.
Fast shipping and quality packaging. All the items are fantastic and varied.

Verified Purchase

Impressed

Feb 28, 2019
Overall
Gwen
1 Review
50 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

Subscription boxes always look fun to me, but in the end the contents are typically disposable, consumable, or quickly grown out of. They also keep you from “putting basic math to work for you”- piecing out the contents vs price paid gets really discouraging.
HOWEVER- MATTER sends you “real” stuff. You don’t throw away a fossil or lose an owl pellet in the back of your sock drawer. I bought two 3 month subscriptions for my brothers, ages 37 and 41. What I really wanted was for someone to get a subscription for me, especially after I saw the contents in person. My 9 yr old son asked me to cancel his other subscription box and magazine so he could get MATTER.
For my brothers, the items are ultimately display/ collectible/ conversation pieces. For my son they have been thrilling to open (as with any crate) and fun to play with (there seems to always be at least one mini activity), but unusual and interesting enough that he has to circle back several times to really understand what each item is. The combination of being able to handle and keep something like a 400 million year old fossil, a bismuth crystal, or humidity gage transforms abstract information into something concrete, personal, and memorable. I like that there doesn’t seem to be an overarching theme to each box other than its namesake- (unless I’m missing something...?). It’s hard to appreciate things when they’re isolated in a textbook-style grouping (hard minerals, chapter...

Verified Purchase

We All LOVE This Box!!

Dec 30, 2018
Overall
Tesala B.
1 Review
7 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

I got this for my 11 year old Daughter for Christmas and she ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!! When she opened it everyone stopped opening presents for about 20 minutes just to look at everything. I REALLY ENJOYED IT and so did everyone else! I really want to thank you for putting together such an AMAZING box! This is one of the most EDUCATIONAL, FUN and UNIQUE boxes I've come across yet. I suggest you find something to safely store all of your WONDERFUL FINDS and their INFORMATION CARDS. Or, you could even find a place to display your INTERESTING SPECIMENS of MATTER!! My daughter and I can't wait for the next box!

Verified Purchase

Original!

Apr 13, 2019
Overall
Rebecca R.
5 Reviews
19 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

The best box for science lovers and for people that love to collect really special pieces!

Verified Purchase

A beautiful collection of oddities!

Oct 09, 2018
Overall
Hannah V.
1 Review
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

I can't believe I now have an authentic dinosaur tooth and a vial of cephalopod ink! This box is a real treat for anyone interested in science and natural history, and I can't wait to receive my next box. I promised myself I would only keep a subscription to a truly amazing box, and this one has exceeded my expectations! Thank you for making these artifacts available to us.

Verified Purchase

Loved it!!

May 23, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Ceci R.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

Loved the gift even said and I quote “best gift i’ve Had in a long time” then proceeded to examine his things... raccoon penis bone had me laughing. Great box!!

Verified Purchase

Jan 31, 2019
Overall
Sandra S.
1 Review
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 years

Gave subscription to MATTER to my grandson for Christmas.
He was thrilled, said it was one of his favorite presents...
It contained scientific MATTER with detailed explanations for all the objects in the crate. Very pleased with Cratejoy

Verified Purchase

Great box!!

Jan 14, 2019
Overall
Andrea S.
5 Reviews
6 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

My 6 year old loves this box!! She collects rocks, crystals and fossils. So this is right up her alley. One of her favorites is the bird call in last month's box. I subscribed for 3 months. We have 1 box left and she asked today if we can keep getting it so I'll resubscribe after our next box arrives. Thank you!!

Verified Purchase

Interesting mix

Dec 24, 2018
Overall
Alesia S.
2 Reviews
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

MATTER holds our family's interest. Awaiting the next box with anticipation. Great to discuss scientific rules, etc. Was surprised at the range of items included!! Very cool!!

Verified Purchase

PLEASE REVISE PRIOR REVIEW....

Jan 01, 2019
Overall
Susan F.
4 Reviews
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

I had previously posted a 3 star review but after emailing customer service my rating has changed to 5 stars. Its excellent!!!! Can't wait until next month's box!!!

Verified Purchase

Very interesting

Aug 12, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tomko
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

I really liked the cards that came with each item. Each item was very interesting and made you think more about the world around you! Can’t wait for the next one!

Verified Purchase

Fantastic!

May 11, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Andrea H.
44 Reviews
37 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

So cool. There I said it hands down the coolest box ever. For anyone who likes to learn and be fascinated. Beautifully curated well done guys!

Verified Purchase

Awesome science box

Aug 05, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kristen L.
8 Reviews
19 Helpful
Subscribed for 15 days

This was one of the coolest boxes I have ever ordered. Everything inside was so cool to view and hold. I wish it wasn't so expensive or else I would keep subscribing. I'll come back in the future when finances allow. Some good stuff happening with MATTER.

Verified Purchase

Unique and wonderful!

Aug 29, 2018
Overall
Rachel R.
3 Reviews
3 Pictures
9 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

I purchased a three-month subscription for my father - a dedicated science, history and overall knowledge junkie - earlier this year, and he loved it. The items were excellently curated (and now housed in a display case on his wall) and well-packaged, and just really, really cool. I would absolutely recommend this box to any-/every-one.

Verified Purchase

Amazing - beautiful and smart

Jun 11, 2018
Overall
Wendy N.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 years

All the things you loved at the natural history museum when you were a kid? All the things that inspired and fascinated you? They're here - and you can touch them and learn about them at your leisure. The Matter box is our favorite monthly subscription so far because it blends history, science, and aesthetics. It is beautifully presented with sizable specimens and useful information. We thoroughly enjoyed learning and examining each item in the box, and have started our own miniature natural history display at home! Highly recommended. (And, no, I didn't get comped - I chose to purchase the subscription, and I really do love it!)

Verified Purchase

Awesome Fossils

Aug 19, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Dan B.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

Originally got this box as a fun activity for my son and I. Very disappointed to not get a fossil since all of the advertised boxes have some sort of fossil. My son and I are mesozoic era buffs, but we're also big fans of the cenozoic and hadean eras as well....but to not get anything was a big let down. Aside from the meteorite sample the rest of the items were 'meh'.
I understand that the box is meant to always be a surprise and could literally be anything (with a box called 'matter'), but was still expecting a fossil of some sort.
On a 3 month plan, so I'll change my review if the next boxes are better.
Ok the next boxes contained some awesome fossils that still catch my sons' and I's attention to this day. Renewing the 3 month plan for the COVID summer months!

Verified Purchase
MATTER said...Aug 28, 2019

Hi Dan, Sorry if we didn't live up to your expectations this time. We try to include a fossil in most months, but due the rare nature of fossils it isn't always possible. Good news though, our September box will include a fossil!

Gave as gift -recipient loved it

Jan 15, 2019
Overall
Allan R.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

Gave this to my father. He loves oddities and sciencey things. He was very skeptical, I think, but when he received the 1st box he absolutely loved it. Already considering renewing for his birthday

Verified Purchase

Dec 10, 2018
Overall
Rebecca T.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

Purchased a three month subscription for myself. Everything was very well packaged and each item came with a nice little summary card. Each box held different items like a dinosaur tooth, a civil war bullet--it ran the gauntlet and nothing was ever the same. I enjoyed each and every last item.

Verified Purchase

Fascinating to all ages

May 12, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Holly S.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

I subscribed to this box mostly to share with my grandchildren, but their parents were equally interested in the contents. 5 star reviews all around the table and multiple "very cool" comments.

Verified Purchase

Awesome Product and Customer Service

Dec 23, 2018
Overall
Amy G.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

My husband flipped when he received a dinosaur tooth in his first box! Most things we've gotten have been very cool and educational. Also, I made an order error and they immediately fixed it for me. I highly recommend this box and this company.

Verified Purchase

Super COOL!

Apr 07, 2019
Overall
Amy C.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

My 10 yr. old girl absolutely LOVED this box and so did I!! It makes learning science fun and it provides something tangible to remind her of what she has learned. The information cards are highly informative and detailed (I appreciate that). Thank you Terry for making and executing a great product. We are already looking forward to the next box!

Verified Purchase

Sean P, WA

Nov 13, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sean P.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

Very unique! Cool items. We're using some of this stuff for stocking stuffers for the kids this year (b9 and g11) versus just a bunch of candy. The curation is great and the items truly feel unique.

Verified Purchase

This is the best!!

Dec 11, 2018
Overall
Stacey C.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

I absolutely love the Matter Box. As a scientist I am fascinated with the items and really appreciate the informational cards that explain each piece.

Verified Purchase

Wonderfully unique

Dec 03, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Stanton H.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

MATTER is truly a unique & thoughtful gift. I love this concept so much & have gotten so much positive feedback from my recipients that I have given a gift subscription to three different people!! I hope they are able to remain so well curated & unique for years to come (I want them to succeed but I secretly hope too many people don’t find out about this!).

Verified Purchase