Basic Man Subscription

Basic Man Subscription

by Get Basic
$8 First Box - Softest Shirts, Underwear & Socks

Plans as low as

$19.99/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (142)

  1. Reviews for this product (133)
  2. Reviews for this seller (9)

Used to be good, not anymore...

Jan 05, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Samuel M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years

Just cancelled my subscription after about 3 years. Really liked this at the start, and looked forward to getting my monthly box. Over the past year and half the shirts have changed to be stretchy-er and ill-fitting, they used to be well constructed. Also the shirts used to vary between crew neck, v neck and fitted. The shirts, underwear, and socks used to kind of match and be a theme. Recently, it seems that they just cycle through the same 6 shirts and match it up with whatever leftover stock in underwear and socks they have laying around the warehouse. Seems like they are just depleting stock before going out of business. I tried to reach out multiple times to ask if this lack of inspiration was due to the pandemic and supply/shipping issues, but never got a response - which is too bad because previously their customer service was great - instant responses and dealt with issues right away. Too bad because I really wanted to keep going with this, but I don't feel like giving my money on autopilot to a company that doesn't seem to care.

Verified Purchase

Shipping is the worse

Jun 16, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Shataunna E.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 6 months

Shipping policy is that it will be shipped around the 5th. It's the 15th and it still says it's being prepared.

Verified Purchase
Get Basic said...Jun 19, 2019

Hello - we are very sorry for the delay. As a start-up we do experience some growing pains from time to time. Per our FAQ's our shipping policy states we will try our best to ship subscription renewals between the 5th and 10th. Because of heavy Father's Day demand we were indeed delayed this month, but your order did ship and you will be receiving it any day if you haven't already. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Quality Varies Greatly

Jun 21, 2018
Overall
Stephanie R.
6 Reviews
1 Picture
36 Helpful
Subscribed for 7 months

At first this seemed like a great subscription. The products all seemed good quality and there were no issues with customer service. However, the quality seemed to continue to decrease and then one month would be much better and I had a multi-month subscription so I was locked-in. My latest shipment was the poorest quality of shirt sent yet and I will definitely not be renewing my subscription. I’m put-off by the poor customer service I received when, without my permission, I was charged for a 3-month subscription while I still had 2-months left on my then current subscription. I emailed asking my for a refund and the double order be fixed. I was only refunded for the unsent boxes even though I never wanted an additional box in the same month. BasicMan customer service said they could not have made the error and so it must be my fault. I initially recommend BasicMan but now would not do so and advise not purchasing an extended subscription if you are going to give BasicMan a try so you don’t get stuck with many shipments of low quality shirts.

Verified Purchase
Get Basic said...Jun 21, 2018

Hello Stephanie - thank you for the feedback, we are constantly trying to make improvements to our products. This is a never ending cycle, and we are always looking for updates. In the coming months, our t-shirts will actually come pre-washed to avoid shrinking, something customers have been asking for. A few months ago, we've also adjusted sizing of our boxer-briefs and lengthened the inseam, again something we did through feedback from our subscribers.

As for your subscription, all of our plans, whether they are 1, 3 or 6 months, auto-renew unless the gift option is selected. This is something that is stated very clearly when you subscribe. It is on the checkout page, as well as the confirmation email you receive after placing an order....

Not happy about shipping

Mar 19, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Krista K.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 8 months

I was asked to write a review and I can’t really comment on the product because I have still not received it. I purchased on the 2nd and still nothing. Not sure I’ll be continuing with this.

Verified Purchase
Get Basic said...Apr 07, 2020

Hi Krista! Has a customer support agent through emailing us been able yet to assist you with tracking and/or replacing your missing shipment? We look forward to turning this experience around for you :)

Shirt colors are kind of meh...

Nov 30, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jessica M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months

I have been receiving this subscription for about 6 months now, and I thought by now there would've been at last one v neck. Also, I feel the majority of the shirt colors we've received thus far are not very exciting. I was hoping for a bit more variety, rather than neutral grays, oatmeal and muted green. The boxer briefs and socks are much better than shirts.

Verified Purchase
Get Basic said...Nov 30, 2019

We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding your received shirts, Jessica, and we apologize for the displeasure as a result. We will continue to explore new approaches to our products and we hope you can give us the chance once more to provide you with new shipments. Enjoy your holiday season :)