My First Reading Club

by My First Reading Club
We Ship 2 or 3 Hard Cover Age-Appropriate Books, an Activity Book, and a Gift for Mom!

Plans as low as

$16.99/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (344)

They Love Them!

Sep 07, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Janice J.
3 Reviews
3 Pictures
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 7 months

I am so happy that I picked My First Reading Club for my granddaughters. They are so excited when the books come. The books are very age appropriate and very good quality. When I had a question about an order Dan,one of the co-founders got back with me right away and answered my questions. I look forward to my granddaughters getting their books from My First Reading Club for years to come.

Verified Purchase

Yay! The new books are here...

Mar 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Pat K.
1 Review
3 Pictures
Subscribed for 10 months

My daughter reports that my grandson Felix LOVES when his box of books arrives! He loves checking out the new titles...

Verified Purchase

Feb 11, 2019
Overall
Abigail S.
3 Reviews
3 Pictures
6 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

I ordered the youngest box for my 18 month old. We read a lot of boxes so I wish I had ordered up an age. To develop a love of reading, this would provide such a wide range and good quantity of books while young readers are still honing what quality of books they love.

Verified Purchase
My First Reading Club said...Feb 12, 2019

Hi Abigail,
Thank you for your kind words. We can adjust the reading level anytime you want and in fact we are happy to do it for you. If you will email me here dan.schaefer@ussampleworks.com<mailto:dan.schaefer@ussampleworks.com> I’ll make sure it is set to your preference.
If myself or anyone else at MFRC can be of service to you, please don’t hesitate to reach out.

Books are good!

Jun 12, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Airi M.
1 Review
2 Pictures
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

The delivered books are good and beautiful. I could not select good books for my 4-year-old son. But when I got the books from this company, my son could enjoy them. At first, the delivery was later than I expected. I was very worried about the delivery. But when I asked the question to this company, then the staff replied very soon. I could get the shipping track number, and I knew when the books were delivered. About shipping, I felt it was late. But the qualities of the books they selected were good and I look forward to the next delivery. For me this was the first time to use subscription service. Such an book subscription service is amazing. I believe that this subscription is very reasonable because the books from this company are very good like I uploaded pictures! But one thing you can keep in mind, shipping is a little later than you expect when you order this.

Verified Purchase

6 months, suddenly stopped sending boxes

Apr 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Destoni B.
2 Reviews
3 Pictures
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 8 months

*UPDATE* - never received our July box. I have attempted to reach the seller through Cratejoy and through MFRC direct site (which they’ve responded to before).
I don’t know how or why they would skip one of our boxes 6 months in on a 12 month pre-paid plan. But I’m pretty upset, especially since they can’t even return an email.
Currently on month 9. Still never got a return email to my 4 emails regarding my missing box, and the problem was never resolved, we never got our box. This month, we received the 2 and under box when we subscribe to the 3-5 year old box. I won’t be renewing my box at this point. So disappointed, and really wish I hadn’t gone for the 12 month subscription.
Overall we are really happy with this box. There has been a couple books that have been a little over my kid’s head (2 1/2 and 4 years old). If you are getting it for the “gift” I wouldn’t bother.
The quality of books and the activity is worth the price though. We have got sticker books a couple times and my kids LOVE them!
Note if you order mid month you will receive the next months box and then no box the next month. For example I ordered mid January and received February’s box so we didn’t receive our next box till March. This is not outlined very well and took multiple attempts to reach someone concerning this. We thought we were jipped a...

Verified Purchase

I don't do titles.

Jan 04, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Traci S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 23 days

My kids loved the books. We didn't have any of them already. The mini lotion was a nice touch as well.

Verified Purchase

Awesome monthly treat

Oct 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Cynthia M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

My 2yr Old daughter and 18 month nephew loved getting their boxes every month. I was really impressed with the quality of the books and the age appropriate duration of them. We received a sing-along nursery rhyme book with CD which they love to hear every car ride. Not to mention How much I needed the little mommy R&R gifts.

Verified Purchase

Great Book Subscription

Oct 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Chelsey G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

I love this book subscription! It is great having a variety of books to read to my 8 month old son.

Verified Purchase

Animals, rules, teddy,scooby doo

Sep 21, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Elaine L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 days

I saw a video of my granddaughters opening their first box. They seemed very happy and excited.

Verified Purchase

Twin girls library

Aug 17, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Crystal W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 days

Perfect first reading set for my twin girls! We got four books so yay!

Verified Purchase

Great Book Club for Kids

Nov 21, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Samantha
3 Reviews
1 Picture
Subscribed for 4 years

We have been subscribed for about 3 years now and my kiddos LOVE it! Getting mail is always so exciting but when the mail contains a gift...it's 100 times more exciting! Last year my daughter started 1st grade and MFRC sent us over 1/2 the books on her required reading list through that year. So I can vouch that they are age appropriate.

Verified Purchase

figure out your shipping issue...

Today
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Robin G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

the shipping takes WEEKS with no updates or tracking (the number you send tells you it goes to an outside carrier and to view updates... but there is NEVER updates... we end up buying new ones before we get the old ones.... i cancelled and will go with a company that cares if the products ever get there at all let alone even in the same BILLING CYCLE! HIGHLY DISAPPOINTED.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

Yesterday
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Janine M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months

I was very disappointed with this selection. My grandson liked only one book and there was a Walmart Sale sticker on one of the books. I cancelled my subscription.

Verified Purchase

No delivery; no response

Jan 10, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Pooja M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I gave this as a gift (3 month subscription) and still waiting for the second delivery apparently sent out on Dec 16. I have emailed the seller twice but no response so far.

Verified Purchase

A great reminder from Grandma

Dec 27, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sandy P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 months

Great fir my grandkids. A few books were too old for the age range of my grandkids age 7 and 5 but for the most part they loved the books. I love reading and books and have since I was a child and I like to instill that in my grandchildren.

Verified Purchase

Great books, but messy shipping!

Dec 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jamie S.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 2 months

The book selection is amazing and the quality is great! Shipping took 14 days which was longer than usual and tracking showed that they were at my local post office for half that time. It’s also holiday season, so I can understand the delay. Also, I received a small tube of lotion, which I thought was a great little gift, but it spilled in the box. Thankfully we got all board books, so the mess was easy to clean up.

Verified Purchase

They do what they want

Dec 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Morgan M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years

I did not give authorization to bill card on file (that is expired). I have canceled this subscription.

Verified Purchase

Would not recommend.

Dec 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Vaibhavi C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 months

Stay away! I reached out multiple times to have this cancelled since the books were not that great. Never heard from anyone including Cratejoy. I would never get any subscription from cratejoy or this seller ever again.

Verified Purchase

Not a happy customer

Dec 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Christina L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 28 days

I wasn’t happy that it took so long for me to get my package when I ordered it on November 12 and I just got it today on December 11. Also when I messaged the seller and the seller never messaged me back. I probably will never use this again.

Verified Purchase

Try Before You Buy

Nov 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Christal K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

I chose the box by age group. My daughter is 6, and unfortunately she won't be able to make any use of at least 2 of the books for at least the next 2-3 years. They are chapter books meant for 3rd grade and up. Shipping time was ok since there was no rush, but still not received as soon as the description says. I only purchased 1 month since I wanted to make sure it was a good choice for my child, but I won't be renewing.

Verified Purchase

It’s okay for where we are now

Oct 21, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Yelaine W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 16 days

The books are a but advanced for my son. He’s not on chapter books yet. Would be great if you could state child’s age instead of a range.

Verified Purchase

Two of the books are the same

Oct 10, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Merrie W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 days

I got two of the exact same books.

Verified Purchase

Great Books - Terrible shipping!

Sep 23, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Misty C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

Paid in full for a year's subsciption as gift for my great neice. With the exception of the first delivery - every other order has bben delayed and rerouted. I reached out to the seller and crate joy and have had little to no response from the seller. Cratejoy has had a similar experience with them.
It is unfortunate becasue the books are great - very age appropaite - and something that her parents looked forward to being able to share with her monthly. Very disappointing.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

Sep 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Bradley R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

Contacted the seller twice about Sept order. No response, no Sept delivery.

Verified Purchase

Won't answer emails re: shipping address

Sep 15, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Sharon K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

This has been a nightmare. I signed up for this for my niece who is 2... I had been with Bookroo but some of the books were too old for her so decided to try this company. I have had nothing but trouble. They sent the first order to me instead of her. When I went in to my account to change it I just got a circle with a slash through it. Her address is there but it won't switch over to it.. I contacted them and right away was told to donate the ones I got and they would send another to her.. I repeated her shipping address and then heard nothing from them. Nor did she get a box. I've sent numerous emails (10? 12?) to them and the few that they answered I used the "reply" and then didn't hear anything more. Last month neither of us got a box. This month I, again, got the shipment. I canceled and it asked me why and I reiterated my problems begging them to CALL me as the emails are just not working. I've given them my phone number numerous times. I cannot find a telephone number for this company anywhere. Their customer service is awful. After receiving this latest box I tried to reinstate my order and then I was able to change the "ship to" name to hers but it looks like I'm supposed to repay. I tried to refute...

Verified Purchase