We Ship 3 Hard Cover Age-Appropriate Books, an Activity Book, and a Gift for Mom!

Plans as low as $16.99 / month

My First Reading Club reviewsReviews

Write a Review

Terrible Service

Jun 15, 2018
Craig B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

I bought this for my nephew thinking it would be an amazing gift to open every month. At first it was, although we specially ordered the box to arrive for his birthday (which it didn't) he loved what was inside. Over the next two months the packages came at the end of the month, considering he was receiving Halloween books the day before Halloween.... November came and once again the package arrived at the end of the month. December we received NOTHING. Then come January 3rd we receive a parcel request to pick up a package from the post office, when we get there we were told we needed to pay a $40.00 charge as the box had been marked with a total cost of $600.00! This was INSANE. we sent the package back. This is a great idea if you get what you paid for on time. Who wants Christmas books in January??? Trying to get some help is also disappointing, saying that information will be passed off to managers and then hearing nothing back doesn't really solve anything. We are very disappointed in this box and will NOT be continuing the membership when it expires.

Verified Purchase

Jun 15, 2018
Rachel
1 Review
Subscribed for 12 days
Overall

Honestly I was so excited for these books to arrive. We bought “just starting out” for our 13 month old. However, we received a bunch of tv show books we never even heard of. One of these had tiny flaps. We also received frozen books, and I do not think any of these are age appropriate for a 1 year old. One of the shows isn’t even on anymore. I’m disappointed, because for $16 I could buy him 2 books at the store that he would actually like.

Verified Purchase

Canceled after two months

Jun 15, 2018
Kristina R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I was happy with the first box. All three books were age appropriate and overall good fits. The second month was a little disappointing because the books looked super cheap and none of them were good for reading to him. Both mommy gifts were lotion which I wasn’t excited about. I also don’t like that I pay for it on the 15th of every month and it ships two weeks later.

Verified Purchase

Dissatisfied, ready to cancel!!!

Jun 15, 2018
Cheryl F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

Got this subscription for my 6 year old granddaughter who loves to read and so far not happy. The first month I had to write to find out where the books were. Was told there was an cross over and the problem was fixed and won't happen again. Then the next month came on time and enjoyed the selection. The 3rd month was a duplicate of the 2nd month. Contacted the company again and they said "Oh it was glitch in the system another box will be sent out" got them late but good books but the same activity/coloring book. So now we are here today and opened the box and it is the same as the first box I got last month. I have written the company again, to fix this problem but have not heard back from them as of yet. So now I have 3 copies each of sprout street neighbors, here's hank, the adventures of jo schmo and nickelodeon jumbo activity/coloring book. Currently looking for a new book club I will not recommend them to anyone. I would love to give them half of a star for that month they kind of got it right, but it made me do the minimum which is a full star.

Verified Purchase

First box reaction

Jun 15, 2018
Heidi D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year
Overall

So I absolutely love the idea of getting new books every month, however we are signed up for the "just starting out" level (my daughter is 18 months) and we received 3 hardcover books. The books are very nice quality however 2 of them are such long stories my daughter couldn't sit through 1 page, let alone the whole book. These will need to be shelved until she is quite a bit older which is disappointing because she loves to look at books and read together. I am hoping for some more age appropriate books in our next box.

Verified Purchase

Jun 15, 2018
Raelynn O.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

Got charged for 4 and received 2 so even though he loved it I had to cancel it.

Verified Purchase

Auto renew

Jun 15, 2018
Dana M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months
Overall

I got this as a gift for someone. I thought I was buying a one time thing and didn't realize the small text saying it would auto renew. We had not yet decided if we were going to sign up for more or not, but this auto renew has made me decide that I will not be making any purchases from this site.

Verified Purchase

Jun 15, 2018
Genevieve
1 Review
Subscribed for 22 days
Overall

I got 1 book we enjoy but the rest I would have been okay changing out. Especially since it was a monster truck book and I have a little girl...

Verified Purchase
My First Reading Club said...Dec 21, 2017

Genevieve, Thanks for your feedback. We try to include a mix each month so that all children will find something that appeals to them. I’m sorry we had a couple of misses for your daughter this month. If you want, email service@myfirstreadingclub.com and we will send you a couple of replacements free of charge. Again, thanks for the feedback! Parent input like yours helps us make better picks each month! Joe

Seller

Not my favorite

Jun 15, 2018
Delina M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months
Overall

I like the ideas behind these boxes, but this months felt a little more centered around little girls

Verified Purchase

Same books

Jun 15, 2018
Traci L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

I ordered a 6month subscription for my son and the 2nd time it was delivered, it was all the same books or items. I was not impressed that I paid for the same books twice, hopefully its not the same each month.

Verified Purchase

Ripped Off!!

Jun 15, 2018
Miranda P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 19 days
Overall

Very unhappy with this subscription. First, they did not honor their 7 day shipping policy, and 8 days later my box still didn't ship. I e-mailed them, and was assured it would be mailed and said they have been busy..guess my order was meaningless. They sent me a confirmation e-mail that my box had shipped with a bogus tracking number, still showing today; 10 DAYS after when they said they shipped it, from the fedex website that it does not exist. They didn't even mail what I paid for. I would like a refund for the product that seemingly wasn't even sent.

Verified Purchase

Is this for real?

Jun 15, 2018
Damone J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

I assumed My First Reading Club would have your typical early child reading books. "The Cat in the Hat", "Goodnight Moon", etc. Boy was I wrong. All the books are marketing items for Disney, Nickelodeon, and probably, who knows maybe McDonald's, if I didn't cancel my shipment. Unless you love the idea of corporate marketers pedaling products to your children, go elsewhere.

Verified Purchase

Not satisfied with the first selections

Jun 15, 2018
Flora D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months
Overall

I just received my first order and I was a little disappointed that there was only 1 book my grandchildren could read by themselves. The book on Egypt and the United States, although interesting, was not written for a 6-8 year old 1st and 2nd grader. I hope the other books that come will be age and grade appropriate.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

Jun 15, 2018
Rhonda J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 days
Overall

I wish there was a questioneer to fill out with the kids interests of something. My son was only interested in 1 of the 3 books. To top it off it was supposed to include a customized birthday note and it didn't even though I email customer service to confirm. My son loves books but we just did not feel like this was a good fit.

Verified Purchase

Jun 15, 2018
Quyen N.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months
Overall

Received my first box last week. I saw some said they received a lot of marketing books. But I received books for my 5 year old boy related to television. There was also included an acitivity book. I think this is a fun way to get your children excited about reading because to them it's always fun opening packages

Verified Purchase

It's OK. There are issues

Jun 15, 2018
Christine R.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 6 months
Overall

We bought a 6 month subscription. We just received box 5 out of 6. 2 out of 5 have been duplicate boxes from previous months. The first time they resent to replace. This time I haven't heard back since I emailed today. You get 3 books and an activity book so it's a good price. One time I got a game manual for a game we don't even own. I guess they sent it because it had stickers in it? My daughter loves getting the books every month, but with how much I have to contact them over getting replacements for a duplicate box or the tracking number not working IDK if I want to renew and continue

Verified Purchase

Bad shipping

Jun 15, 2018
Andrea D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month
Overall

First box hasnt arrived and I was already charged for the second monthly box without a warning.

Verified Purchase
My First Reading Club said...Feb 19, 2018

Hi Andrea, I am so sorry we let you down. Our shipments to Puerto Rico take much longer to arrive and I’m sure that alone can be frustrating. Combine that with a subscription that renewed before your product arrives and I can see why you left this review. Why don’t I refund your money, let you receive the first box that’s on it’s way and if you like it we can work something out that accommodates the extra time it takes to ship to Puerto Rico? Thank you for calling this to my attention. -Dan

Seller

Not what I expected...

Jun 15, 2018
Michele C.
46 Reviews
12 Helpful Votes
Subscribed for 10 days
Overall

I received my first box today. I had bought this for my four-year-old granddaughter and was surprised to find one paperback girl-oriented book from the Disney film "Frozen" ( it was nice), plus two VERY boy-oriented books: one about hockey and the other about a boy and a whale. There was a bonus book on how to draw caricatures, however this was nowhere near her age level. This would work out so much better if you could choose either girl, boy, or gender-neutral themed books when you sign up and if more care were taken to ensure that all the books are age-appropriate. Unfortunately I have cancelled my subscription due to these issues.

Verified Purchase

Rarely received the packages.

Jun 15, 2018
Cameron G.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 5 months
Overall

Not worth the money.

Verified Purchase
My First Reading Club said...Jun 01, 2018

Hi,

I’m really sorry we let you down. Our shipping company showed delivery on each box and it sounds like there must have been some confusion. In any case I have refunded your full amount. If you aren’t satisfied we aren’t satisfied.

Seller
Buying Options