The Initiate

by Box of Shadows
Welcome to Box of Shadows; a "Wicca-inspired", subscription for seekers new to a pagan path!

Plans as low as

$25.49/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (613)

  1. Reviews for this product (207)
  2. Reviews for this seller (406)

Reported to BBB

Nov 20, 2018
Overall
Katie J.
1 Review
10 Helpful
Subscribed for 13 days

So now this company saying I threatened them. I demanded a refund. Sure their policy states no refunds but I didn’t think I would pay $45 for nothing but cheap stuff. What a joke. It’s funny how all their recent reviews are from unsatisfied customers. Karma will get them. Hope they go out of buisiness. Anyone scamming people like this company should be ashamed of themselves. I will not stop warning others

Verified Purchase

Don't waste your money

Mar 18, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jordan R.
1 Review
8 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

Honestly, I'm pretty disappointed. My favorite part of the box was the Modern Magick candle, but everything else was cheap and I could've purchase it for far less than the box total. I'm supposed to be getting my second box soon but I just received an email saying that my order should never have been gone through because they were already at their capacity for orders, which makes no sense because I already received one of my three boxes. They gave me a 40% coupon for my next renewal, even though I already placed a review saying I wouldn't renew so that was also a slap in the face.

Verified Purchase

Dissappointed

Nov 19, 2018
Overall
Valerie T.
7 Reviews
13 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

This month's box was pitiful. All the products were cheap and there were not very many. I will be cancelling my subscription.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Nov 19, 2018

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your November box. The products in our boxes typically exceed the price of the box itself. Our team works hard to provide a consistent experience each month; from the carefully selected items to all the information included in our Seeker's Guide. Cleary, we've missed the mark with you this time. We hope we have the opportunity to make it up to you in the future.

Very disappointed

Mar 14, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Ashley T.
3 Reviews
7 Helpful
Subscribed for 16 days

I was very disappointed that's all I can say about this box just absolutely disappointing

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Mar 17, 2020

We're very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your March box. It seems we've missed the mark with you this time but we hope to have the opportunity to make it up to you next month. If you have any specific notes on how we can improve going forward, please feel free to reach out to us directly.

Disapointing

Dec 14, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Angelika D.
1 Review
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 29 days

I was really looking forward, but was disapointed☹

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Dec 15, 2019

We're very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your December box. As you may know, we provide tools for witches of many paths and modalities. Many of whom do not have the same access to metaphysical stores and resources that others may have. This means that some items may not always fall into every Circle Member's realm of work. We always recommend passing these items along to a fellow witch in need. We've missed the mark with you this time but we hope to have the opportunity to make it up to you next month. If you have any specific notes on how we can improve going forward, please feel free to reach out to us directly.

"Revamp" ruined it

Dec 19, 2017
Overall
Kristie D.
6 Reviews
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 7 months

This used to be a great subscription. It was revamped in November though and the value to cost ratio is completely changed. All three box tiers get very close to the same value despite three different costs. Prices are also raised for new incoming customers. Has a Facebook group for feedback but either ignores suggestions for improvement or removes the post under false pretenses. Please save your money.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Dec 19, 2017

Our Circle Members are very important to us. Feedback from all channels is taken into consideration when curating your experience. We seem to have missed the mark this time. However, we are working very hard to make sure that we continue to provide the experience our Circle Members have become accustomed to.

Missing items

May 13, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Grace W.
3 Reviews
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 22 days

I’ve contacted the seller to try to resolve this, and nothing. I was willing to give them a chance to make up for the missing items right before I gave them a negative review and canceling my subscription. Apparently bad reviews and canceled subscriptions still aren’t worth sending missing items. $43 is a lot of money to spend.. Especially when you don’t get all the items you paid for. EDIT: seller finally reached out to me and did not offer to replace missing item, but to give me a lousy discount on another box. Hell no I wouldn’t do that.. I’m not getting scammed again. Avoid this company like the plague.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...May 18, 2020

Greetings! We are sorry your box arrived with a missing item and have since reached out to you regarding this issue. We appreciate your patience as it may take up to 24 hours to receive a response from us.

Unfortunate Disappointment

Nov 20, 2018
Overall
Megan A.
2 Reviews
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 14 days

I was excited to get the box, till I opened it. The paper quality of the spell was nice and the candle and essential oil wasn’t bad. The most expensive retail item was the journal, it was cute but the incense was cheap and the cross stone I could get at Walmart. This box was a miss, I don’t know if I’ll try it again.

Verified Purchase

Terrible

Apr 16, 2017
Overall
Kenneth C.
1 Review
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

The first box contained broken items. After contacting the seller, I was able to get it replaced but not with a like item.
When I tried to cancel the sub, I was still made to pay for the next box before I was able to do so.
Next box came with a bundle of Italian Cypress labeled as a Sage smudge stick. Aside from the fact that it was so obviously not Sage, Italian Cypress is toxic when burned.
I'm shocked by the low quality of the items, the lack of responsive customer care, and the harmful materials and instructions.
Do not waste your money on this service. Go spend your money at a local shop and invest in your own regional economy.

Verified Purchase

Disappointed

May 14, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Joy S.
1 Review
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

This box was 50.00 for a book,waxmelts,bracelet that was broke .I was so disappointed it was for my mom

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...May 14, 2021

Greetings Joy! We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed in our May box. Unfortunately, it sounds like you could be missing some items. There should have been five items total. Please check the items you received against your contents list and reach out to us directly with any discrepancies. We'd be happy to ship them, along with a replacement for your broken bracelet.

Less for the buck

Apr 11, 2018
Overall
April L.
3 Reviews
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

You get less for the buck on the supreme box. My last box (April 2018) I felt ridiculously ripped off. I cancelled my subscription.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Apr 12, 2018

We work hard each month to provide a consistent experience for our Circle Members. Cleary, we've missed the mark this time. Our Circle Members satisfaction is our top priority.

Very, very disappointed

May 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tina C.
3 Reviews
1 Picture
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

I really don’t think this tiny box with a shipping value of $19.99 is at all worth the money I paid for the subscription. Shipping was slow and products can be bought at any store. I’m extremely disappointed.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...May 20, 2021

Greetings Tina! Thank you for your feedback. International shipments do occasionally take a bit longer to reach their destinations. Until we can "apparate" our packages to their destinations, we must rely on traditional shipping methods, which aren't always so speedy. Our shopping schedule is provided at every stage of the checkout experience to manage our Circle's expectations. In addition, we provide tools for witches of varying paths. Many of whom do not have the same access to metaphysical stores that others do. Our mission is to be a resource for both tools and guidance; we look forward to having the opportunity to make it up to you next month.

Not worth the money

Oct 14, 2018
Overall
Jeffrey J.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

My first box was extremely disappointing. Should have listened to the other reviews.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Oct 15, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your first Box of Shadows. We work hard to curate a box that our Circle Members will love each month. However, we are aware that it is impossible to please every Circle Member every time. We greatly apologize if we've missed the mark. Please reach out to us and let us know how we can make Box of Shadows better going forward.

Box of shadows

Jul 12, 2018
Overall
Amity O.
3 Reviews
3 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

I cant cancle mine either. I'm sorry I'm sure you try but you dont get you moneys worth. July was very disappointing

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Jul 13, 2018

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your July box. Our boxes are not only the sum of the items inside but also all of the time, energy, and resources that go into crafting an experience for our members. We work hard to provide a consistent experience each month; from the carefully selected items to all the information included in our Seeker's Guide. Cleary, we've missed the mark with you this time.
​Please reach out to us via email for assistance with your account. ​

Shit.

Jun 14, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Nicole B.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

Horrible. I got shit items. Not a fan there are way way better subscription boxes out there

Verified Purchase

I liked my first box. My second...

Jul 15, 2018
Overall
Eduardo M.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

felt like I was being robbed. I don't get how that last box was worth 30 bucks.

Verified Purchase

Aweful! Would leave no stars if cld

Feb 11, 2018
Overall
Diane P.
5 Reviews
6 Pictures
8 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

I have never felt so ripped off in my entire life! I just received my February box for the Priestess level and it was filled with junk! For $34.99 a month I could have bought this entire "collection" for under $15! A plain votive jar with a dinged unwrapped votive is a created item? Really disgraceful!

Verified Purchase

Cheap quality items

May 10, 2018
Overall
Jessica B.
2 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 3 months

Just cancelled, but stuck with this box for two more months, not much thought went into this box , cheap items you can fund for under $15

Verified Purchase

Awful

Aug 08, 2018
Overall
Kathi M.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

No pride in the presentation; items that can be bought for WAY less separately; no insert as promised. Just a poor shadow of what it used to be (pun intended).

Verified Purchase

No customer service

Feb 13, 2019
Overall
Natalie M.
1 Review
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 4 months

I subccribed for a full year in January & received my box, which was a little disappointing for what I was paying, but I thought I'd wait & see. Well, February's box never arrived, and so far I have sent 5 emails with no response. I can't get in touch with anyone.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Feb 15, 2019

Hi Natalie! The February boxes finished shipping over the weekend and some have yet to reach their destinations. We'll be reaching out to you personally for assistance with locating your tracking information.

Maybe try a higher tier 🤷🏽‍♀️

Nov 14, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Julissa R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

The items in the box seemed random and just thrown in. There was no description of what I received, I did reach out to see if it was a fluke but it’s been a few days and I haven’t received a response.
I honestly could have bought everything in my box for cheaper than what I paid for the box. That is not an exaggeration I looked up the items that had a brand name and had to bring the crystal to a store to help me determine what it was. I paid close to $40 for about $20 worth of product.
There are other subscription services on here like Tamed Wild that cost less and give you more value, explain what you get and how to use it too. I really wanted to like this company and saved to get it but unfortunately I am really disappointed.
Disclaimer I bought the initiate box (I believe that's the name the cheapest one) so maybe the more expensive ones have better quality. I do feel that whichever tier you get should have the same level of care put into the box though especially when other are doing it for less but that's just my opinion. If you try them out I'd recommend a higher tier and hopefully you don't have the same experience that I did.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Nov 15, 2021

Hi Julissa! We're very sorry to hear that this has been your experience with Box of Shadows. We actually do include a very detailed guide with each of our monthly offerings, so it's very disappointing that you didn't receive one with your first box. We understand that our curated boxes may not totally make sense without the guide. Our team will be following up with you directly to make sure you are sent one. Box of Shadows services pagans worldwide who do not have access to metaphysical stores, so we want to make sure each experience is an engaging one. Thank you for being part of our Circle.

Nope.

Oct 20, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kayla B.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
Subscribed for 10 days

This box was upsetting for me. An October box that didnt have anything in it that excite me. 20$ would have been too
Much in my opinion. Maybe i will try again but probably not.

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Oct 22, 2020

We're sorry to hear that your experience with us didn't meet your expectations and we'd love the opportunity to make it up to next month. Blessed Be!

Haven't received it

Sep 16, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Amber K.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

I haven't received it as of yet

Verified Purchase
Box of Shadows said...Sep 16, 2020

Unfortunately, there isn't much we can do regarding delivery once a package is in the hands of USPS. Due to the current health crisis, many shipping platforms are experiencing delays. Your local post office may be able to provide more information regarding delivery but please reach out to us directly if it does not arrive.