Used Books Monthly

Used Books Monthly

by Used Books Monthly
Gently used books carefully curated for a unique surprise experience!

Plans as low as

$8.49/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (386)

Not exactly what I thought but good!

Oct 17, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Michelle T.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 days

I was hoping for at least one author I'd heard of but that was not the case, with that being said, I have not had a chance to read them yet. However, they seem to be in the correct genre! They were in very good shape as well! I look forward to next month. I will wait to change my create selection, but I may end up going to a different selection after next month.

Verified Purchase

Love it!

May 23, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rhiannon H.
1 Review

It was just a package, not a box.. but the books they picked were exactly under the genres I picked! And they were in EXCELLENT condition!

Used Books Monthly said...May 29, 2022

Thanks for the kind words!

Know what you want

Apr 15, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Leilani D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

It is a good subscription. The book was in good condition, came at a timely manner... I just... Didn't like the book... I chose general fiction as my topic as you can't select more than one. I like sci-fi, fantasy, and the sort... I got a... Rather bland fiction... Yet, that is due to the limitations, not the maker. Just know... Be specific

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Apr 17, 2022

Thanks, Leilani. We truly do want to send you books you'll enjoy, they just don't always hit the mark, ya know? Please feel free to contact Used Books Monthly support to fine-tune your preferences and make your subscription enjoyable! -Trista

Love it

Dec 04, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lindsay R.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 6 months

I don’t know if it was intentional, but I did have a repeat book which I know isn’t normal; however, I’m 100% gifting it to a friend so I’m not mad about it! The books they select I have never heard of and they’re all good!!

Verified Purchase

A great surprise!

Dec 01, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Angie D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

I love getting this box. Most of the books I have read from this subscription have been really good. Last month I got a book that was not the first in the series. That is always aggravating. I will live though!

Verified Purchase

The constable's tale

Nov 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Cathy P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

I'm loving the constables tale, by Donald Smith.

Verified Purchase

A Very Thoughtful Surprise!

Aug 08, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Emily N.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 6 months

I'll give any book and genre a chance, so I chose "surprise me" for one of my choices. When the books came they were definitely books I would have passed over if I just saw them in a used book store, but I have started reading both of them and both have turned out to be gems!

Verified Purchase

Affordable and personable

Jul 29, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Bleu L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

They did really well to personalize books just for me based on my survey and it is a great deal. The only downside is shipping which is sometimes delayed.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Aug 03, 2021

Hello Bleu! Thank you for your review! We are so glad you are enjoying your subscription! We have been working on shipping so you should see an improvement very shortly.

Hit or Miss

Jul 05, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Drisana R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years

Sometimes the books picked are beyond perfect and fit my requested genres perfectly. Sometimes it's like someone is mad at me and has only filled the box with every genre I asked them never to send me.

Verified Purchase

Good selection overall

Mar 01, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Melissa P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

I selected Fantasy as one of my genres, and I didn't realize I had to specify "no YA fantasy" because there's also a YA genre. So half my box was two books in the same YA series. I'd like to be able to make changes to my preferences to avoid this in future, since I signed up for a six-month subscription, but there doesn't seem to be a way to do this. Everything else about the experience was great, and I love the other two books.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Mar 08, 2021

Thank you for your feedback, Melissa! I understand your dilemma, many of the books we have on the shelves in the fantasy genre also fall into the YA genre as well as most books fall into more than just one genre. I'll put a note on your packing slip that you do not wish to receive any that fall into the YA category. Again, thank you and keep reading!!

Out of the Easy & Fires in the Dark

Feb 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
L S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

would not have chosen these titles in a book store or at the library but i think the choices fit close to the genres i have interest in

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Feb 19, 2021

Hello, and thank you for your feedback! I'm glad our curators are finding books that fit the selections you made. The randomness of the selections is what we think makes it exciting. You have an opportunity to discover a new favorite author or character!! Please don't hesitate to ask any questions you may have or to let us know of any problems.

Ehhh....

Jul 10, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Shannon G.
2 Reviews
1 Picture
7 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

This was my first box. It shipped very fast and was packaged well. The only thing is i dont care for the books. There is a child's book from school that has notes written in it and has dumb book written on the sides. Ehh..
I received taming of the shrew, sophocles antigone(interesting), and a Heather Graham novel. I dont hate the books I will read them, just not wowed.

Verified Purchase

Didn't get the book

Feb 01, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Claudia B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years

I didn't get the book for January.
What's going on?
Do i need to sign in every month?

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Feb 11, 2021

Hi Claudia!
I am so very sorry that you missed the January book!! We sent your January order out on February 1st and hopefully you have received it by now. I will move your name to the front of the line so that we can send out your February book early next week. Thank you for letting us know about the issue. Please let us know if you have any other problems. Have a great weekend!

Good Stuff!

Jan 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Dorothy C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

I'm very pleased with the books I received and the quality of their appearance. I look forward to many more months of the books I will get.

Verified Purchase

Great job. Happy with my books!

Jan 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tim B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months

I bought this for a birthday present, and noted the types of books that the person having the birthday liked. I couldn't be happier. I got thoughtfully chosen selections from the genres I'd chosen. I felt like the seller had really listened to what I wanted. I will buy this again in the future.

Verified Purchase

Do not know

Nov 10, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Marcia M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years

This is a gift subscription for my mother. She was pleased with the first book she received. She told me it was published about ten years ago. Can you provide her with some good books that are perhaps a bit newer? She was pleased with the package.
Thank you.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Nov 16, 2021

We do our best to incorporate a variety of books in each shipment with our inventory at that time. We are happy to hear she got to enjoy some of her selections. Please do not hesitate to reach out to customer service for special requests or concerns.

Used Books first shipment

Nov 01, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Amy F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

I am not a fan of Tony Hillerman novels and was disappointed to receive it. The other book is interesting so far.

Verified Purchase

4 Stars!

Aug 05, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Madeline C.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

I’m looking forward to reading these books! I’m going to narrow my book settings since one of the books I’m on the fence about, but the books were in near perfect condition.

Verified Purchase

First Order Arrived Today

Jul 29, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kristen L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

My order shipped super fast. I was expecting it to take some time due to COVID but my first box got here within two weeks of me starting my subscription. I chose the 4 book box and all the titles seem to fit my preferred genres. I got 3 paperback and 1 hardcover. The quality is fantastic, they all look new. The titles are a bit obscure but I ordered with the intent to try new things. Overall great subscription.

Verified Purchase

Good bit of fun

Aug 10, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Crystal
4 Reviews
3 Pictures
Subscribed for 11 days

I got an extra book, which you can't argue with, but honestly it's exactly what one should expect for this kind of thing. A stranger whom you can only share small amounts of information about your reading tastes, is picking out books from what is available to suit you. You can tell though, that he does take into account what you explain of yourself and I greatly appreciated that, but not knowing a person, he can only perform small miracles. So, given that, there are some hits and there are some misses and if you're okay with that for the element of surprise, it will deliver. There is also a mix (at least in the box I received) of different levels of the term "used". I received two that looked brand new and one that was very old (my personal favorite). Of my five books, two went instantly into my donate pile, one was a nostalgic keep for me until I can get a nice hardcover edition of (already on my list previous to getting the box), one was interesting enough to try but I don't expect to really love it and the other sounds exactly up my alley. It's cheap fun for a month, but not something I'll be sticking around for.

Verified Purchase

A curated venture beyond predilection

Jul 19, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Thomas W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

This subscription box is such fun. I picked the genre I like and I get two books each month in that genre, but which I wouldn’t pick out and buy on my own. That’s what’s fun about it in addition to the surprise of what shows up. I’m now reading books I probably wouldn’t have read. They’re in better than expected quality and the curation exposes me to new-to-me authors and stories at a price that puts the risk of not liking a book at an “I don’t mind” cost. Thus far, I haven’t disliked anything I’ve received.

Verified Purchase

Great Subscription :)

Jul 12, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Holly W.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

I haven't read the book I received yet, but it arrived in good condition, and seems to fit the genre I requested. It's also a book I've never heard of before, which excites me! I'm an avid reader and often get overwhelmed by all the choices when I am deciding on my next read.Can't wait for next month's book already!

Verified Purchase

Good Selection and Fast Service

May 12, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Katie P.
3 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 5 months

I was a little skeptical that they would be able to send me books that I would like. I received my first box (very quickly!)and 3 out of the 4 books they sent were of interest to me. I thought that was pretty good considering they only had a short list of topics that I like. The books are second hand, but they were in good shape. This is a great subscription box - especially now while the local library is closed!

Verified Purchase

Good job!

May 10, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Danica L.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

Got exactly what I asked for and it was delivered very fast. Thank you :)

Verified Purchase

Good value!

Sep 09, 2019
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Amanda B.
1 Review
1 Picture
Subscribed for 3 months

This is my first purchase through CrateJoy. I chose Used Books Monthly because of the value and assortment of genres to choose from. I received my box about 2 weeks after purchasing. I got a good selection from the genres I picked. The books are in good used condition. I've been looking for affordable reads and this fits the bill. I'm excited for my next box!

Verified Purchase

Customers who bought this also bought...