Used Books Monthly

Used Books Monthly

by Used Books Monthly
Gently used books carefully curated for a unique surprise experience!

Plans as low as

$8.49/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (386)

not for me

Feb 03, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Deborahrhodes@218yahoo.com ..
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

did not like them Liza was ok the other forget it i want to stop it

Verified Purchase

Didn’t pay attention after reading the s

Feb 02, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lindsay S.
4 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 23 days

Not a fan- not at all my reading preference

Verified Purchase

great expectations

Dec 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Dolly D.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 13 days

..love the title and author book. Sounds great can't wait!

Verified Purchase

My review

Jan 16, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Joanna F.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 12 days

Unfortunately I didn’t get any book that I would have wanted to read. I understand that I would be getting used books but one of them was a discarded library book, which didn’t seem like a good choice.

Verified Purchase

Love it

Dec 04, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lindsay R.
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 6 months

I don’t know if it was intentional, but I did have a repeat book which I know isn’t normal; however, I’m 100% gifting it to a friend so I’m not mad about it! The books they select I have never heard of and they’re all good!!

Verified Purchase

Extremely disappointed

Jan 12, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Michelle H.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

I am extremely disappointed in this product. The person I purchased the subscription for did not like the books. She didn't recieve the books in a timely manner at all. Overall I would never recommend this at all.

Verified Purchase

A great surprise!

Dec 01, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Angie D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

I love getting this box. Most of the books I have read from this subscription have been really good. Last month I got a book that was not the first in the series. That is always aggravating. I will live though!

Verified Purchase

: ) yay

Dec 09, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kristin J.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months

I love this

Verified Purchase

Cancelled my subscription

Jan 09, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Candace G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 3 months

The last purchase contained books that were used to the point I would have passed them up at a yard sale. I can go to the Goodwill and get used books for 50 cents each and make sure they are in decent shape. I cancelled my subscription.

Verified Purchase

Highly disappointed

Jan 06, 2022
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Elizabeth M.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 19 days

I received my shipment today and I was highly disappointed in it I will not be re-subscribing as the books that were sent to me had nothing to do with the interest that I added in the survey they were all thriller/horror novels for adults I specifically requested YA novels in hopes I wouldn’t get adult oriented novels HIGHLY DISAPPOINTED

Verified Purchase

Perfect for book lovers

Dec 05, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Tiffany R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 years

I love getting a surprise book each month! Absolutely no issues.

Verified Purchase

Best subscription I have ever tried!

Nov 02, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Laura M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 8 months

I'm already on my second book! The books are in perfect condition and were shipped promptly. I can't wait for my next shipment!

Verified Purchase

Fast service

Nov 24, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sherri M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

Very fast service and delivery. Interesting selection of books that I think I'll enjoy.

Verified Purchase

A fun and sustainable way to read more!

Oct 16, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Martha H.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

A great used books subscription for people who want to shake up their reading recommendations. I loved getting unexpected books based on the preferences I set. If my spouse didn’t work at a used book store, I would have kept going with my subscription. 10/10 lots of fun!

Verified Purchase

Love the variety and surprises

Nov 03, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Carly Z.
3 Reviews
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 year

I am really enjoying the variety of this subscription month after month. I selected quite a few different genres specifically to expand upon what I normally read. This subscription really delivers! My only complaint is that in a few instances, I've received a book I already own (no fault of the curator) and a book that was a later part in a series I did not already own or had not already read. Being the book nerd I am, I have no problem with reading up on a series via the library or other sources, but this might post a problem for those who are less enthusiastic. Overall, not much to complain about and a whole heck of a lot to enjoy!

Verified Purchase

Second time a charm!!!

Oct 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Leslie S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 9 months

This is my second subscription with Used Books Monthly and the second time is a charm!!! They were having some problems last year that have been resolved. I have been receiving my books on time and they have been great books. I much prefer to have a used book subscription because I appreciate that the books are finding a new home and it isn't all about getting the latest book that most book clubs send. Also, the books I have received have been used, but in great shape!!!! I would encourage people to give this book club a try.

Verified Purchase

Great deal

May 25, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sarah T.
1 Review
1 Picture
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

Books are like new. All seem.right up my alley. Cant wait to dive in.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Jun 04, 2021

Sarah, thank you for your feedback! We are so pleased that you are enjoying your books. Please let us know if there are any ways we can improve your experience.

The constable's tale

Nov 12, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Cathy P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

I'm loving the constables tale, by Donald Smith.

Verified Purchase

Romance books for Grandma

Sep 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Amanda S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

So far very happy with this subscription. It is a gift for my 90 year old grandmother who likes to read romance novels. 3 months in and she hasn’t had a had a book that she has already read. She was also very pleased with the quality of the last book.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Sep 30, 2021

Thank you so much, we are glad she loves them!

“Curators” don’t understand genres

Nov 13, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jeremiah D.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

So when I said that I read science fiction and fantasy the “curators” took it as paranormal and mystery?!? I have never had something so far off the mark. Shipping was decent, and the books are basically new but all 4 are not in the genre that I read. Don’t waste your money.

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Nov 18, 2021

We are sorry to hear you had this experience and did not enjoy your books. Quality fantasy can be hit and miss. You can always reach out to customer service and they will be happy to make any replacements necessary.

Not a huge vampire book fan

Nov 11, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jason F.
1 Review
Subscribed for 4 months

Not my favorite selection this month but looking forward already to next month

Verified Purchase

Affordable way to explore

Sep 10, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sara Z.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

This review will show my subscription to be shorter than it has been because I received a month through another website before subscribing here. So, I’ve had two months of two books so far. I’ve been impressed by how quickly the books ship and also how quickly UBM replied when I switched subscriptions. The first month, I received 2 very good quality trade paperbacks, and the next shipment was 2 hardcovers, also very good quality. They’re all things I wouldn’t have picked myself, which for me is the point of this. Yay! That means I didn’t completely adore everything, but I do think the books are all worth my time to investigate, and I’m glad I can use this to expand my selections.
I don’t know what’s up with other reviews that are less than positive, but I think I have some tips for bringing the right mindset to this service. I’ve tried to leave my subject area options open because I imagine the selection process is based on what’s on their shelves, so the more flexible I am, the more likely I’ll get something of good quality. I’m also truly approaching this as a little adventure in reading new things and not as a highly customized service. For me, this works very well to help me explore because I don’t feel as attached to needing to finish the books if I don’t like them, compared to other subscriptions based on new books.
If anything changes, I’ll be sure to update this...

Verified Purchase

Customer setvice

Oct 05, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Laurie R.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 year

I cannot unsubscribe and no customer service person has been able to resolve the situation

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Oct 08, 2021

Laurie, I see two customeer service requests. One was requesting tracking information and the other a genre change, both of which were answered. I'm sorry to see you go, but your account is cancelled. -Joe

Just ok

Oct 04, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jennifer P.
1 Review
Subscribed for 2 months

First box was ok (subscribed for 3). I at least got 1 decent read from it. Second box was a huge disappointment. At first I was convinced it was sent to me accidentally, considering how far off from my preferences it was. We'll see what happens with box 3.
Update: just received box 3 and it was just as disappointing as box 2. If I wanted to read James Patterson, I would. I subscribed to find new authors and discover new stories, not to read the same boring drivel I can pick up at the drug store. Canceling my subscription and will continue to be mad at myself for spending the money.

Verified Purchase

Well Worth It

Aug 02, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Cheryl G.
1 Review
Subscribed for 11 months

This box is well worth the money.
I joined in April and look forward to receiving the 2 books monthly
One or both are even hard cover
You will not be disappointed!

Verified Purchase
Used Books Monthly said...Aug 03, 2021

Thank you, Cheryl for your response! It makes us so happy that you have enjoyed your subscription! Please let us know if you need anything.

Customers who bought this also bought...