This Whodunit is KILLER

This Whodunit is KILLER

by A Killing Affair
Serial Murder Mystery Game Delivered to Your Door Every Month!

Plans as low as

$32.50/ month

Buying Options

Reviews (19)

Loved It!

Feb 20, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Amy C.
1 Review
1 Picture
6 Helpful

I purchased all of season 1 (5 episodes on Etsy ... LOVED IT!!!) I would share more pictures but I am afraid for spoilers. I would recommend the Crate Joy experience as the company has REALLY COOL mailings in between boxes that makes this an extra fun experience.

BETTER THEN HUNT A KILLER!!!!!!

Feb 19, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Lincoln L.
1 Review
1 Picture
4 Helpful

I did A Killing Affair's 1st Season Independence Day. LOVED IT! Bought the full set from their website. Cant stop thinking about how it ended and cant wait to do the next season.

This is the one!!

Jun 19, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Odessa W.
1 Review
4 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

First review I’ve ever left on cratejoy, and I’ve been using it for a few years now the customer service from a killing affair is great. My issue was resolved the same day.
We have tried other murder mystery boxes, (we’ve tried three so far) including the one advertised everywhere and this one rivals that. They have much better customer service and because of the helpfulness and the quick response, not days later but the same day, it didn’t cause an interruption in game play. It’s very rare to find a company who will not only answer but resolve any issue the same day. It made me feel important as a customer and for me at least that’s what will keep me coming back.

Verified Purchase

I’m impressed

Apr 20, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Ann S.
5 Reviews
2 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 years

I’ve only gotten one box so far but was impressed! I’ve done other well-known mystery series, and this is at least as good. The contents were personalized and came with useful things like sticky notes and box labels. The story is interesting, and the puzzles weren’t too hard or too easy. There are documents, physical evidence, and web content to go through. I’m not rushing my next box because I’ve got so many other puzzle boxes to do as it is, but I’ll be glad to get it when it comes. I feel like real effort and attention is being paid to this series by the creator. It’s welcome. The only downside is it’s a touch pricey compared with other series.
Edit: I've now done all of the existing 3 seasons and am waiting on the next. The dedication these guys have to the product--and particularly to hiding clues--is amazing. I appreciate that other things are sent in between the main mailings, like letters and postcards. My only nitpick would be some writing/typographical sorts of issues. It can also be pretty tricky sometimes.
Anyway, if you like these sorts of boxes, I'd give this one a go.

Verified Purchase

Gift that keeps on giving

Feb 28, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
William M.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 2 months

Leaving a belated review as i think this is a pretty good subscription game. The people at a killing affair are pretty good at responding to requests and issues as the first one was to arrive at christmas. I asked for it to arrive in a plain package as i didnt want to spoil the surprise, and they helped me out, even though it was the week of. Same thing in another package. The box came with a blacklight that had a bad battery, so i let them know and they mailed me one out within the week.
As far as the game itself, its very immersive both in story and props. Websites, menus, handwritten notes, newspaper clippings. A lot of things to sort through with your friends and family to figure it out. I like that everything is interconnected and its very hands on when it comes to poring through the investigator notes and city maps for alibis etc. Well worth it to get everyone together and get the brains working!

Verified Purchase

Amazing quality and seller

Feb 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Basma M.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 19 days

I just recieved it. The quality is amazing. I thought it won't be this good but everything looks great. The whole family is excited now 😍😍 Thank you for being so supportive and cooperative with me 💜

Verified Purchase
A Killing Affair said...Feb 26, 2021

Yay thanks so much I am so glad you received your box!!! Hope you have fun!

Excellent!

Jan 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
David H.
1 Review
1 Helpful
Subscribed for 1 month

Great concept and story line. Crime sleuths will love this.

Verified Purchase

Best of the best

Jul 24, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Nicole P.
3 Reviews
Subscribed for 5 months

I have or have had a subscription to pretty much every single mystery solving and escape room type of game available and A Killing Affair is my all time favorite! The creator is amazing and you can tell how much thought and care she puts into her products. Every single piece of evidence is top quality. Even the paper that's used for the documents is high quality. The stories are immersive, interesting, and keep me wanting more. I highly recommend this game to anyone who loves a good mystery or has an interest in detective work.
You will not be disappointed .

Verified Purchase

Love It

Apr 21, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Sara
2 Reviews
Subscribed for 17 days

So far, I love this box! I was really impressed that I even received a letter by mail from Lovely City P.D. That adds so much to the authenticity of detective work. I appreciate the added touches that make solving mysteries so fun.

Verified Purchase

excellent awesome

Apr 19, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Rhonda D.
1 Review
Subscribed for 10 days

i really enjoyed playing the first episode of independence day

Verified Purchase

Great purchase

Dec 31, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Robin S.
1 Review
Subscribed for 1 month

I purchased this as a Christmas gift for my granddaughter, she absolutely loves the concept!

Verified Purchase

Well Worth Subscribing

Nov 04, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Jacqueline B.
1 Review
Subscribed for 6 months

Not only is this a great murder mystery box experience but the customer service is wonderful. Always same day response and usually in less than an hour. There are puzzles with these boxes but also susoects to investigate and eliminate and so I find it to be the most realistic investigative box out there. Love it!!

Verified Purchase

Awesome game!

Apr 04, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Kathryn M.
1 Review
Subscribed for 5 months

This quickly became my favorite subscription game :-) The story was engaging, the contents compelling, and the puzzles intriguing! The free gift at the end was not only a surprise, but so cool that it is personal! Thank you for making the Pandemic lockdown a little easier to navigate!

Verified Purchase

Try A Killing Affair! You won't regret

Feb 08, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Donna D.
6 Reviews
3 Helpful

This was by far the best serial box I have ever done! Good story, easy to remember characters, fun puzzles (many kinds and difficulty levels), and the most high quality props and tangible items I've ever gotten--even with boxes I paid a lot more for. Each and every box contains really fun items in it (not just paper). Clues are given in the most original, fun ways! There is also a website which provides hints and solutions so you can get as much, or as little, help as you want--and never a spoiler. I strongly recommend A Killing Affair! it's a bargain at this price.
I can't wait for the second series to come out!

Amazing

Mar 12, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Mindy S.
1 Review
1 Helpful

Really cool product, would recommend to anyone :)

Like you are on a cop/detective show!

Jul 25, 2021
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Stacey B.
2 Reviews

I recently finished the first season and had to order more. This is just so well done! You get a file folder with witness statements, a case report, and autopsy results for each victim, and there are little evidence bags. Over 5 boxes, the story develops, and you clear some suspects with each box. So much thought went into all of the details! I highly recommend this subscription.
Also, I may or may not have actually squealed after seeing the first letter addressed to Detective with my last name- probably not the best look for a woman in their mid-thirties but that is how much it tickled me....

AMAZING

Oct 20, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
Angelia B.
1 Review

The best murder mystery box i have found. The attention to detail is un matched by any other mystery box i have done,and that would be 4 other companies. YOU receive an amazing amount of physical evidence and puzzles love love..

Amazing!

Jul 09, 2020
Overall
Shipping
Quality
Curation
A M.
1 Review

I got this due to being in lockdown and wanting something new to do. Boy I'm glad I did! While at first I thought it was a bit expensive- I now understand and see why the cost is what it is. The person who is put all of this together has done an amazing job and puts so much work into it. Not to mention they also end up personalizing it quite a bit for you. I was truly impressed with the items I received and the storyline.
Some of the puzzles were very hard but don't let that deter youbecause you can always get a hint and if you still can't get it after that you have the option of learning the solution. I did this by myself over the course of a few months because I bought the entire first season all at once.
Thank you so much for putting together such a fun at home "game"!!!